Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 7 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Jun 18, 2012
    85
    Outside of hating action RPGs or not having $20, I can't think of another reason to pass on this game.
  2. Jul 10, 2012
    80
    Between the two Ys games released on Steam this year, I feel that Ys Origin is just that bit better than Ys: The Oath in Felghana. Both are great titles, but Origin builds on the formula with a solid, constructed experience from start to finish that never gets stale, great pacing, multiple and distinctive characters and a fast, in your face combat system. For £12.99 on Steam, you seriously cannot go wrong with checking out this top action RPG.
  3. Jul 9, 2012
    80
    It's not perfect and certainly has its share of hiccups, but if you go in expecting to tear up some mean guys and rock out to some great music, you'll definitely be happy. And with a $20 price tag, you really can't go wrong.
  4. Jun 11, 2012
    80
    Ys Origin is a very tightly crafted experience. Considering that a single playthrough with one character will only take about six to seven hours, it's amazing how much story is packed into that amount of time.
  5. Aug 12, 2012
    71
    A cute, quirky anime dungeon crawl that will cheerfully kick your arse until your nose starts bleeding. [Sept 2012, p.84]
  6. Jul 6, 2012
    70
    Six years after Ys Origin was published in Japan we can finally enjoy it in English. It's not beautiful, it doesn't sound good and doesn't offer an exquisite story. What it does offer is tons of fun. [August 2012, p.63]
  7. 70
    We are deep in fan-service-territory with this one. (…) Y´s Origin is a small nerdy pleasure for everyone who misses the 16-/32-bit era, but does not want to resort to going completely retro.
User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 86 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 28
  2. Negative: 1 out of 28
  1. Jul 24, 2012
    10
    I noticed not many people are capable of writing a proper review, so I had to chime in. Ys Origin is NOT a console experience. Ys Origin is aI noticed not many people are capable of writing a proper review, so I had to chime in. Ys Origin is NOT a console experience. Ys Origin is a PC exclusive. Although Falcom has recently turned to the psp and vita after they lost their PC distributor, they developed almost exclusively PC since the early 80s. The Zelda feeling people are getting should be flipped: the Ys series, which branched off from Dragonslayer, began in 1987. The first LoZ was released in 1986. Dragonslayer began in 1984. The modern day Zelda experience is absolutely nothing like Ys, and serves as a horrible comparison. Ys is traditionally known for its music and difficult boss fights. The composers are from the jdk sound team, which is the remnants of the jdk band from the early 90s. Their primary genre was metal. The boss fights and general gameplay is often cited as using button mashing. Unless you want to die every time, you won't use button mashing. Most boss fights have patterns and tiers, so you can't just inflict massive amounts of damage all at once. Many people also tend to think the gameplay requires grinding. Since levels only affect your base stats, this statement is false. The stages within boss fights do not allow you to do any more than a set amount of damage, so all grinding helps you with is staying alive longer if you get hit a lot. In short, grinding is only necessary if you're bad.

    A single playthrough on Nightmare takes about 30 hours the first time through. There are 3 playable characters with different stories and boss fights, so a full, 100% completion of the story could take you 70 or 80 hours to complete. There is also a time attack mode for boss fights, which helps to add a bit more replay ability to the game. For $20, this is a great game that everyone should consider trying.
    Full Review »
  2. Jun 6, 2012
    9
    So far, so good! I'm getting my old school fix on my PC. The graphics are pretty, the action is quick. It's that Zelda/chrono trigger arpgSo far, so good! I'm getting my old school fix on my PC. The graphics are pretty, the action is quick. It's that Zelda/chrono trigger arpg formula that works so well. 360 game pad is supported out of the box, although the start button or select button don't bring up inventory. I'm sure I can map it, just saying. I love cranking the resolution and aa on these games, and this one responds well. The character models are pretty. The effects are solid. Currently playing on easy, anticipating that it will get plenty hard. If you're a PC gamer like me, who loves some console gaming on the pc , give Ys a shot. Full Review »
  3. Jan 4, 2013
    10
    **For anyone who views this soon: Ys Origin is 50% off ($10) on steam for the next 25 hours. Don't wait! Grab it!**
    I'm new to the Ys series
    **For anyone who views this soon: Ys Origin is 50% off ($10) on steam for the next 25 hours. Don't wait! Grab it!**
    I'm new to the Ys series and I fell in love with the game immediately. It's a solid mix of Zelda, Final Fantasy, Torchlight, and Disgaea for those who are familiar with those franchises. The controls are fully configurable between keyboard, mouse, and game controller; you can have all of one or a mix. I found the defaults to be a bit awkward, but my version is very comfortable and effective for me (WASD: movement, QEZX: diagonal movement, 123: equip skill, left mouse button attack, right mouse button: use skill, middle mouse button: boost). Note that movement using the mouse is also an option. The gameplay is tons of fun and in real-time; I have only played as the melee character so far, but I'm eager to try out the mage character and the third unlockable character. I believe they each have unique stories/dialogue. As the melee character, you have a nice assortment of ground and aerial attacks that flow together and allow for combos and flexibility. The MP consuming skills look really cool, are a lot of fun, play in to different playstyles, and have hidden type-effectiveness against monsters. Your gear can be upgraded as you find better items in chests as well as get blessings or temper your weapon, but there isn't so much of it that you get bogged down with trying to "gear up" like WoW or Torchlight. The plot, character assortment, and character development is akin to watching a TV show; there's enough to keep you interested and know what's going on, but not so much that you get bored and want to skip. You *don't* have to grind much to keep up; clearing the rooms as you go along is enough. However, you *can* grind if you want to, because mobs in rooms respawn when you leave, like Zelda. Bosses are huge, cool, and fun to take down. You build a strategy and learn to read their attacks with each attempt, and it goes from hard to not so bad. On normal difficulty, the game is challenging without being overwhelming, which is really great since easy games get old quickly. There's also hard and nightmare difficulties for the brave and experienced. Healing and boosting items drop from mobs and are consumed instantly, so you have the challenge of not being able to control when you use them while also not having to worry about using them.
    Ys Origin also has great re-playability as I mentioned: Different protagonists with different attack-styles and different stories, many difficulties (very easy to nightmare), lots of upgrades to get (you might miss some on the first play-through), a long list of expensive blessings (permanent buffs) to armor and your character (faster MP regen, debuff duration reduction, etc.).
    I'm so glad I bought this game. I'm passed halfway and I've loved every minute. There's a demo on steam if you'd like to try that first; I haven't played the demo, but I can tell you that the actual game is wonderful.
    Full Review »