Metascore
55

Mixed or average reviews - based on 10 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 29 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Zack Zero takes you on an action-packed platform adventure with incredible 3D graphics and the playability and entertainment of classic 2D games. Help Zack Zero save his beloved Marlene, kidnapped by the evil Zulrog in an effort to obtain the powerful substance that will allow him to travel back in time. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 10
  2. Negative: 6 out of 10
  1. May 3, 2013
    85
    It aims for fun, and it sure achieves it. There are lots of new features on PC, so those who missed it first appearance should go and check it out.
  2. May 7, 2013
    82
    Take a very good old school 2D platform and make an overhaul in the parts where it needs. The result? An even better game, that's Zack Zero in this PC version, whose gameplay and graphics feel and look better with the new improvements. One of the best indie platformers of 2012, this made in Spain Zack Zero is still too short, but a game all 2D platformer lovers should not miss on Steam.
  3. May 9, 2013
    81
    A great homage to the classics platforms games visually stunning, challenging and very funny. It's not perfect, but is a great opportunity to revive the typically adventures from the past.
  4. May 3, 2013
    43
    Quotation forthcoming.
  5. Oct 7, 2013
    40
    Overall, this is a good attempt on the part of Crocodile. Unfortunately, the combination of frustratingly hard boss fights and cheap traps lets it down. I can’t help but think this would have been a great game with better execution.
  6. May 9, 2013
    40
    Zack Zero could have shot for the star of “inoffensive mediocrity” and gotten higher marks for the effort. What’s on display here, however, is the product of a game development fiasco that dragged some seemingly good people through a gauntlet of emotional and financial insanity.
  7. May 6, 2013
    20
    A game this broken doesn’t warrant a playthrough of any kind and is the sort of purchase that fills one with regret instantly afterward.

See all 10 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 10
  2. Negative: 1 out of 10
  1. Nov 3, 2013
    10
    A fantastic side scrolling arcade action! The graphic is excellent, and the music is very epic! The combat and the enemies are very interesting! One of the best games i ever played! Expand
  2. Oct 27, 2013
    10
    Great platformer game for the PC!
    I already give a 10 after half an hour playing, cause this game really makes fun & is very good in many
    ways:
    + the game-play is not to hard, really fluently (Trine 2 is much harder),
    + graphics are delicious & fresh, models are very good
    + the films are great looking (nothing Bullshrott to click right away),
    + I believe it has a story (see films),
    + German localization is very pro,
    + I even can play it on my WinXP-AGP 1GB-Radeon system (great machine!).
    The special price offer 2,50 is a gift, it´s the 10 bugs normal price worth twice. Also need to say, that I usually avoid jump´n´run games, cause there mostly hate-able when you´re over 15 or 3 times of that, like me
    Expand
  3. May 4, 2013
    9
    Zack Zero brings back the magic of old school retro classic platform games I have always loved. Glad to see there is still developers and gamers that really care about this game genre. The game is utterly brilliant and visually gorgeous. Game-play wise is carefully crafted and balanced, nice controls puzzles and thrilling combat. If you enjoy platform games Zack Zero wont disappoint you, it will amaze you!! Hat off to Crocodile guys! So now just go and get it! Expand
  4. May 4, 2013
    8
    Never heard about it before, but Zack Zero is a rather entertaining game, the powers are really fun to use and it's full of items to collect. I found some secret zones with funny easter eggs, it was a surprise. A really good platformer for PC users, looking forward to the Mac version. Expand
  5. May 4, 2013
    8
    Plays reminiscent of oldschool 16-bit sidescrolling platformers. While it doesn't make much of an attempt to innovate the genre, the game has solid gameplay. Clearly one of the best platformer choices one can make nowadays. Highly recommended game. Expand
  6. Jun 30, 2013
    8
    Rather surprised to find such a pleasurable experience in a game I've heard so little about. Zack Zero does 2.5D platforming very well, in the vein of Trine, with the suit as the changeling instead of 3 characters. Attacks and combat is satisfying, the puzzles are intuitive and there are some nice hidden areas to search for, physics are not quite on the level of Trine2 but are solid and fit the game nicely. Graphics are bright and vibrant, something like Zeno Clash meets The Incredibles. Zack and the overall character ensemble comes across as eye-rollingly stereotypical, save the girl, damsel in distress tropes. However they seem to have fun with knowing that and running with it tongue-in-cheek, very much like Orcs Must Die, and in fact the story is presented exactly the same as OMD, with nicely drawn still shots narrated over between levels, moving the story forward.
    I found no bugs, crashes, framerate issues, or problems installing. Length of the game is medium and there are Steam acheivements to go after.
    The main issue so far is controller support did not work with my controller at all. Forced to use keyboard, I almost gave up on it before I started. Thankfully, I tried it, and the kb only (no mouse) setup worked nicely and I was quickly traversing the world with ease. 2 hands on the kb does cause some wrist pain during long sessions, and I am left to wonder if the experience would be that much better on a controller. For this reason, I have to bump the score down to an 8. Any fan of some solid 2.5D platform physics puzzler will enjoy Zack Zero.
    Expand
  7. Apr 30, 2013
    2
    Just looking at the graphics of the game makes my eyes hurt. Why, oh why everybody thinks that 100% saturation and "special effects" with all colors of a rainbow all over the whole screen is nice? It's horrible. Expand

See all 10 User Reviews