Zeno Clash II PC

Zeno Clash II Image
Metascore
61

Mixed or average reviews - based on 33 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 129 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Building upon the daring visual design and gratifying first-person fisticuffs of the acclaimed original, Zeno Clash II is bigger, bolder, and better in every way. Zenozoik comes alive like never before, an open world waiting to be explored, one rendered with breathtaking splendor. As Ghat,Building upon the daring visual design and gratifying first-person fisticuffs of the acclaimed original, Zeno Clash II is bigger, bolder, and better in every way. Zenozoik comes alive like never before, an open world waiting to be explored, one rendered with breathtaking splendor. As Ghat, players can fully and freely explore every natural and architectural wonder his world has to offer. In addition to most of the characters, enemies, and items from the first game all of which return with dramatic visual enhancement--Ghat can also expect to encounter awe-inspiring new sights, jaw-dropping new creature designs, and wildly creative new weapons and items. Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 33
  2. Negative: 2 out of 33
  1. May 3, 2013
    85
    Zeno Clash 2 is a much bigger game than the original, although it’s not quite as open world as you’d have been led to believe, as you’re still confined to certain areas while you go roaming.
  2. May 7, 2013
    73
    There are many things to see in this land, but wandering around can feel empty.
  3. May 7, 2013
    70
    An expansion of Zeno Clash’s fantastical world and inhabitants, at the cost of some of the original game’s brutal tactility in combat.
  4. May 13, 2013
    60
    Zeno Clash II has that unique quality about its world and combat that the first game possessed but it’s polish that is sorely lacking from the overall package.
  5. Jun 7, 2013
    60
    Zeno Clash 2 is frustrating in its failure to capitalize on its own potential. It crafts a wonderful, weird, engaging world but wastes most of your time in it.
  6. May 7, 2013
    55
    Just like its predecessor, Zeno Clash II is a mediocre first-person brawler memorable mainly for its psychedelic storytelling and art.
  7. Apr 30, 2013
    40
    If you played through the entirety of the first game and didn’t have a problem with it, this may be your thing. While the collision detection, and some other things have taken some serious hits, there’s still a good story to be found. Otherwise I would skip this and wait for the inevitable sale.

See all 33 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 29
  2. Negative: 3 out of 29
  1. May 5, 2013
    10
    The epitome of innovation, art, and style.

    To anyone one on the fence that isn't afraid of trying something new I implore you to try out
    The epitome of innovation, art, and style.

    To anyone one on the fence that isn't afraid of trying something new I implore you to try out Zeno Clash. There is absolutely nothing like it. The fact that people have to reach as far as the melee in Condemned or Chronicles of Riddick to describe what kind of game it is is self-explanatory on the unique flavor the game brings. It's nothing like those (apart from punching) either.

    It's a shame that reviewers do not realize or emphasize on that point. Not only is it something brand new; it's done very, very well. The work presented (especially in Zeno Clash 2) seems to have more work put into it than many AAA studios are able to put in. And this is only at $20, another point reviewers seem to forget. There are hundreds of different Characters you encounter that add a spice of life and immersion. From complete and awe-inducing variation of environments to unique weapons and abilities never thought of before, it's something I wish more studios would at least take a little inspiration from.

    The lore and story are destined to be a cult classic. Zeno Clash 1 creates many questions. Zeno Clash 2 answers them and leaves more. At face value it seems to be intelligible with no depth. You need to pry it open to realize exactly how much was put into it. The dialogue (Especially among Zenozoiks) is cryptic yet simple for a reason. Many are plagued with habits, deformities, and behavior that can be understood at least on a basic level.

    Please, please, PLEASE support this kind of innovative entertainment from a company like this. It pains me to see the poor reception and likely lack of sales from them when it feels like they are focusing on the game entirely wrong. Technical aspects are talked about and quite frankly are poorly researched. Complaints of locking on, when the option to do it automatically can be turned off. The AI fits the behavior of the world. Sometimes hitting eachother to get them out of the way, but also working together enough to put up a fight. It honestly doesn't feel broken or bad as some reviews have stated. It feels real and the feedback of fighting is fantastic.

    Anyone who has capability to understand what a game is portraying and looking beyond the face-value mechanics will find this game beyond exceptional. If you're the type of gamer who simply wants to play another game to waste time and kill things, ignore story and message, and rush through things then please save it. Your criticism is drawing away from those who will have one of the best gaming experiences in a long time.
    Expand
  2. Jul 21, 2013
    10
    Really unique game, and a helluva good time if you know what you're doing. It seems like a lot of "professional" critics couldn't figure outReally unique game, and a helluva good time if you know what you're doing. It seems like a lot of "professional" critics couldn't figure out how to string along a decent combo and use the space to move around, i.e. sucked at the game and got mad, subsequently punishing the game for actually requiring a neuron or two to generate a spark by giving them an "OK" score. This game is far from OK. This game is symbolic of the unperturbed vision an artist conceives. It represents the hard work and dedication of artists trusting in the purity of that vision and following through on it.

    What you get is an incredibly fun, simple game with a decent amount of depth, and amazing ambience, all for 20 bucks. Oh and I forgot to mention, it's open world. A simple open world, but still breathtaking in places, with plenty of little nooks and crannys to hide things.

    Be warned, the game is a trip
    Expand
  3. May 7, 2013
    10
    a well written story. beautiful visuals, and unique game play. includes multilayer now. Music reminds me a lot of the finial fantasies beforea well written story. beautiful visuals, and unique game play. includes multilayer now. Music reminds me a lot of the finial fantasies before 10. This is a unique game, that improves a lot from the first one. However, it is a unique game, and i recommend demoing the first one if you are not familiar with Zeno clash, as it may be too weird for some. It includes one of the most unique game play mechanics i have ever seen, a weapon that depends on the position of the sun or the moon, meaning that this games day/night cycle is an important part of the mechanic and fighting!!! Expand
  4. Aug 8, 2013
    8
    What am I doing? Why am I doing this? These are questions I asked myself during Zeno Clash 2. It is truly a wonderful and unique experience,What am I doing? Why am I doing this? These are questions I asked myself during Zeno Clash 2. It is truly a wonderful and unique experience, and a beautiful game. I liked the combat flow but the story was very hard to follow and the game is short, length-wise (I got to 8 hours). Characters are neat and very inventive. The settings (my favorite is Rath-Bird Fields) look like Dr. Seuss places. Very interesting. There are guns and grenades plus a hammer to hit with. I never used the grenades. Some parts of the game are completely hard. Like I was in the End-World and I didn't know what to do at all. You have to shoot stuff at the sun, use green gas to connect orbs, light candles with moving spheres-- it's all extremely weird and hard without a Walkthrough (recommend GameSpot's). It gets pretty intense. I loved punching enemies off of cliffs and stuff. The guns are unlike the ones in a modern fps game. Pistols have no more than 12 bullets. A shotgun would surprise me if it had that much. The missions are a hit or miss. I was sometimes stuck not knowing whether to go to the cave or the End-World, canyon, or both. Some glitches here and there (I could see through protagonist's shoulder when he swung a hammer at a bird). Boss battles are a hit or miss. Sometimes very hard, sometimes easy. In the final boss battle I couldn't really tell what was going on. There are a lot of combat-combos. I can never memorize them all in games. Sometimes I just marveled at the developer's creativity. Like seriously, if there was a creativity award it would go to the Zeno Clash series. Birds hooked to a string used as beacons for fast travel? That's pretty cool. Overall an 8, this is the most amazing world I have ever experienced in a game. Expand
  5. May 3, 2013
    8
    Game industry needs more games like this, especially nowodays.

    PRO: unique, interesting world with weird habitants; beautiful views of
    Game industry needs more games like this, especially nowodays.

    PRO: unique, interesting world with weird habitants; beautiful views of landscapes & cities and often interesting details such as furniture or ornaments; funny voices and nice music; fightings are fun sometimes

    CONTRA: some bugs; maybe boring for different kind of gamers; gameplay is pretty repeatative
    Expand
  6. Jun 3, 2013
    8
    Zeno Clash 2 is a very unique and different first person fighting game with lots of areas to explore and enemies to fight. The combat is veryZeno Clash 2 is a very unique and different first person fighting game with lots of areas to explore and enemies to fight. The combat is very smooth but I would have liked some more variation in weapons. And some of the puzzles can be very confusing when you first encounter them. But the art style and fighting are so good that the flaws aren't very noticeable when you are playing. Collapse
  7. May 13, 2013
    0
    This game is the worst i have ever played, don't stop to develop but such games are like useless things. Sorry for this comment but it's really true!!

See all 29 User Reviews