24: The Game PlayStation 2

24: The Game Image
Metascore
62

Mixed or average reviews - based on 53 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 40 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: 24: The Game is set between seasons two and three and provides the answers to many unanswered questions: who was really behind the assassination attempt on President Palmer? How did Kim Bauer get a job in the L.A. CTU? How did Jack Bauer and Chase Edmunds first start working together? The24: The Game is set between seasons two and three and provides the answers to many unanswered questions: who was really behind the assassination attempt on President Palmer? How did Kim Bauer get a job in the L.A. CTU? How did Jack Bauer and Chase Edmunds first start working together? The game has jaw-dropping revelations for '24' fans and thrilling, non-stop time-pressure gameplay. 24: The Game has multiple character plots and strands and over 100 missions covering multiple genres of game-play including: on-foot sections with shooting, stealth, puzzles and sniping; driving challenges varying from stealthy tailing to high-speed pursuits; interrogations where you have to coerce information out of suspects and gadget sections including decoding information and examining satellite images. [SCEE] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 53
  2. Negative: 7 out of 53
  1. Pelit (Finland)
    88
    Captures the frenetic atmosphere of the popular TV-show successfully. The game is fun to play, although the controls feel a bit clunky. The car chase scenes could have used a bit more thought. [Mar 2006]
  2. AceGamez
    80
    It's like one of those paintings by Rembrant (or was it Monet?) where up close it's all dots and squiggles, but when you back away and appreciate the whole thing, it becomes a beautiful composition.
  3. Topical, political, preposterous, dynamic, frustrating and addictive in equal measure.
  4. Be prepared for a odd mixture of other games with the 24 presentation and story.
  5. For all its faults, 24 is strangely compelling largely due to the snappy story-telling, but non-fans of the show may well disagree.
  6. 50
    The developers were a bit too ambitious with the project and crammed in far too many gameplay styles, none of which are terribly exciting. This game is an injustice to the phenomenal TV series.
  7. As a game, 24 The Game is absolutely horrible, an unfinished, barely playable, multigenre wreck. But judged as a lost season of 24, the game fares notably better. In this sense, 24 The Game is simultaneously one of the best and worst licensed titles to hit in some time.

See all 53 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 16
  2. Negative: 1 out of 16
  1. JalexD.
    Aug 5, 2007
    10
    This game is actually what got me back into video games. i love 24, but i'd probably love the game anyway. This game's shooting This game is actually what got me back into video games. i love 24, but i'd probably love the game anyway. This game's shooting system is actually my favorite. It's long enough as well. Usually, i prefer more non-linear games, but this is one level-oriented game that i regularly play. If you like 24, you should love this game. If not, then you should still find enough enjoyment from the gameplay to justify buying it. Expand
  2. SeanB.
    Sep 1, 2006
    10
    It's really good if u love mission type games. you need 2 have brains aswell as stratergy to play a game like dis and most importantly u It's really good if u love mission type games. you need 2 have brains aswell as stratergy to play a game like dis and most importantly u need 2 b able 2 work under presher! Expand
  3. MarcusS.
    Sep 12, 2006
    9
    Excellent experience, very authentic to the show. Varied gameplay (if not the best in each area), great cinematics, good art & sounds. Loved it!
  4. JimmyJ.
    Mar 8, 2006
    8
    I you like 24 you'll love this game. It looks, sounds, and feels like 24. Plus it fills you in on everything that happened between I you like 24 you'll love this game. It looks, sounds, and feels like 24. Plus it fills you in on everything that happened between seasons 2 and 3. How Chase and Chloe came to be with CTU Los Angeles. How Kim Bauer joined CTU. What happened to President Plamer. Who was behind his assasination attempt. These questions and more are answered. And its really really fun. No its not mulitplayer, no its not online, neither is the TV show and it still great. So just try it out with an open mind and enjoy. I know I did! Expand
  5. BarryM.
    Jan 15, 2008
    8
    Very enjoyable. Flawed however. 24 fans simply must play. Non fans can also enjoy the variety. The aiming system is very well done, but in Very enjoyable. Flawed however. 24 fans simply must play. Non fans can also enjoy the variety. The aiming system is very well done, but in frantic situations with too many enemies it faulters. The driving is enjoyable, but feels scripted and is a bit slow at times. The mini games(interrogatoins and hacking) are great fun. And of corse the story is very well constructed. Expand
  6. MikeC.
    Mar 3, 2006
    7
    i rented this and black and i got to say i like it better then black i dont watch the show but game is enjoyable it has it flaws but they are i rented this and black and i got to say i like it better then black i dont watch the show but game is enjoyable it has it flaws but they are not a big thing the only grip i have is the driving missions cars responses bad but if you looking for something to hold you over till new splinter cell this should do nowhere near it but cool ctu game. Expand
  7. [Anonymous]
    Mar 20, 2006
    2
    This game is TERRIBLE! I am a huge fan of the show, and aside from the cut scenes' good presentation, this is a joke. The mini games are This game is TERRIBLE! I am a huge fan of the show, and aside from the cut scenes' good presentation, this is a joke. The mini games are laughable, and the choppy framerate and poor controls aren't even good enough to be a beta, let alone a final release. The story is also really shallow, almost as if someone said "Here is an outline of our story" and they just used that as the main plot. [***SPOILERS***] This game does such a terrible job of bridging seasons 2 and 3 together as well. You'd think they would mention a bunch of terrorists invading ctu and michelle wasting all of them in season 3. Or, if Jack got Kim the job at CTU because he wanted her safe, I don't think she'd still be working there after she gets kidnapped on her first day. Also, there's a bug on mission 11 where if you fail (the part right after the sniping part), it restarts you with only 1 enemy to fight and the rest never show up. So you can't advance in the game. Since it auto saves, you're stuck here forever and have to go back and play the whole game over again. The only reason this gets a 2 is because of the unintentional humor of running around yelling "CTU!" "Federal Agent!" while handcuffing all of your co workers, civilians, enemies and swat team members, then punching them in the face with no reprocussions. Also, it is really funny when you get hit by a car. It's like the physics get turned off and you go flying into the air doing a series of backflips and twists that only a dead person with no skeleton could emulate. Only rent for the above mentioned unintentional humor, and nothing else. Collapse

See all 16 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings

#33 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2006