Amplitude PlayStation 2

  • Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Mar 24, 2003
User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 25 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 25
  2. Negative: 1 out of 25

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Matt
    Apr 5, 2003
    8
    This game is the shiznick. Awesome.
  2. MetalInc
    Jun 12, 2003
    5
    Why am I the only one who doesn't like this game? I loved Frequency so naturally I was jacked to get Amplitude. I got it....2 hours later had it beat on every level and was incredibly bored with it. What a let down. The new graphic additions were nice as well as the updated multiplayer mode...also slo motion was kinda fun the first few times. All in all it was way too easy. I beat Why am I the only one who doesn't like this game? I loved Frequency so naturally I was jacked to get Amplitude. I got it....2 hours later had it beat on every level and was incredibly bored with it. What a let down. The new graphic additions were nice as well as the updated multiplayer mode...also slo motion was kinda fun the first few times. All in all it was way too easy. I beat 90% of the levels my first time, had all bonus songs unlocked and decent scores on each song all within about 2 hours. Boooooo. If you liked Frequency or lack even basic grade school beat than by all means rent it before you buy. Expand
  3. ChrisH.
    Aug 1, 2003
    10
    I really dont want to sound like an asshole or brag or anything, so if i do.....that sucks. This is one AMAZING game. As a Frequency veteran, i became really good, really quick. Amplitude has took the liberty in providing a difficulty about a notch above "expert" on frequency, so if you thought no one could touch you in that game, you need to realize that this "once virtually underground"I really dont want to sound like an asshole or brag or anything, so if i do.....that sucks. This is one AMAZING game. As a Frequency veteran, i became really good, really quick. Amplitude has took the liberty in providing a difficulty about a notch above "expert" on frequency, so if you thought no one could touch you in that game, you need to realize that this "once virtually underground" game is attracting more and more players, meaning people are playing this a lot, especially online. Also, if someone out there is similar to me in thinking they are the "best" freQ out there......I apologize but i will absolutely destroy anyone.......and i am definitely willing to prove myself. E-Mail me or catch me online.....look for DJ Dank Expand
  4. MattM.
    Apr 13, 2003
    10
    This game is awesome. period. remix mode is better on frequency, though, and theres no jukebox. besides that, it rules.
  5. ManitsX
    Apr 19, 2003
    10
    This game is incredible. I had a friend over and we played all night and the next morning he woke up, turned my PS2 on and told me he had to play because he was dreaming about the game in his sleep. Be warned though, this game is ADDICTING. I mean, I HATE some of the music in here but I still love the game, which says a lot about the gameplay. And not to sound like a Burnout, but hitting This game is incredible. I had a friend over and we played all night and the next morning he woke up, turned my PS2 on and told me he had to play because he was dreaming about the game in his sleep. Be warned though, this game is ADDICTING. I mean, I HATE some of the music in here but I still love the game, which says a lot about the gameplay. And not to sound like a Burnout, but hitting the Slow-Mo powerup while you're high is really trippy. If you like music at all...GET THIS GAME! Expand
  6. Onlinegames
    Apr 5, 2004
    10
    This game is so good!
  7. ManitsX
    Apr 19, 2003
    10
    This game is incredible. I had a friend over and we played all night and the next morning he woke up, turned my PS2 on and told me he had to play because he was dreaming about the game in his sleep. Be warned though, this game is ADDICTING. I mean, I HATE some of the music in here but I still love the game, which says a lot about the gameplay. And not to sound like a Burnout, but hitting This game is incredible. I had a friend over and we played all night and the next morning he woke up, turned my PS2 on and told me he had to play because he was dreaming about the game in his sleep. Be warned though, this game is ADDICTING. I mean, I HATE some of the music in here but I still love the game, which says a lot about the gameplay. And not to sound like a Burnout, but hitting the Slow-Mo powerup while you're high is really trippy. If you like music at all...GET THIS GAME! Expand
  8. GhettoicemanEzekeal
    Sep 14, 2003
    10
    This game is off the hinges. when you paly u get into a trance and play it for three hours straight.
  9. aspentitan
    Jan 15, 2010
    10
    This game rocks! (pun intended). It is 2010 as I write this and I'm puzzled because even though this game came out in 2003 it is the first game I'm rating as a perfect 10. It has been a while since I played this but I honestly can't remember anything at all that bothered me about this game and I remember really enjoying it from start to finish. Graphics, gameplay, design, This game rocks! (pun intended). It is 2010 as I write this and I'm puzzled because even though this game came out in 2003 it is the first game I'm rating as a perfect 10. It has been a while since I played this but I honestly can't remember anything at all that bothered me about this game and I remember really enjoying it from start to finish. Graphics, gameplay, design, controller mapping, replay value, online, unlocking, remixing songs. At no point in any area of the game could I find any flaws. I started to replay in 2009 and also enjoyed just as much as when I first picked it up. It is so well done and fun it is still worth looking for and picking up, but unfortunately the online aspect has been terminated. It's till a 10 offline only anyway though. Now that it is 2010 I'm really glad to own this because although I don't mind rhythm games, I'm not enough of a fan of them to pretend to play them with a fake guitar controller such as with guitar hero. Collapse
  10. CosmoWilliams
    Apr 15, 2003
    10
    A great, exciting, and fun game. I wish it had better music, though. Get this game. It's extrememly addictive, and better than Frequency.
  11. RazorX
    Oct 18, 2004
    8
    It was fun for a couple months but it eventually will get boring...Especially since I beat it in 2 months time!
  12. Revolutionist
    Jan 22, 2004
    10
    This is much better then Frequency. Absolutely, completely, unbelievably, awesome!
  13. Dexx
    Feb 12, 2005
    10
    Super game! i'm addicted!
  14. Inn0cence
    Apr 29, 2005
    10
    I play anyone online, and i'll take you down.
Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 35 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 35
  2. Negative: 0 out of 35
  1. Nothing but simple, addictive fun. [May 2003, p.68]
  2. The way that Amplitude is structured lends itself more to good reflexes, the memorization of patterns, and concentration rather than simply a good ear for music.
  3. 86
    Graphically, Amplitude is as trippy as some of the songs it features.