• Publisher: Ubisoft
  • Release Date: Jun 30, 2003
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 31 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 31
  2. Negative: 0 out of 31
  1. I love the satisfying mix of action and puzzles as you find, disarm, and nab rogue apes, and the colorful cartoony graphics and wacky story are top notch. [Aug 2003, p.73]
  2. What it lacks in new ideas is more than made up for in playful exuberance.
  3. A lot of fun, but if it has one problem, it's that it is too similar to the previous game. But hey, the first game was great. [Aug 2003, p.71]
  4. 70
    The game isn’t really innovative, and it won’t wow anyone. But at the end of the day, you’ll find yourself still laughing about how the health meter cookies have the Japanese word for “monkey” on them as well as the subtle joke behind Pierrot the clown monkey.
  5. The game is just too short and easy for the average PS2 action junkie reared on a steady diet of "Sly Cooper," "Ratchet & Clank" and/or "Jak & Daxter."
  6. While the game is still good fun, its kid-friendly finish and slightly dated graphics make less of an impact than it might have if released a year ago. [July 2003, p.79]
  7. 60
    Colourful, charming, frequently funny and most importantly, fun to play. It’s not the biggest or hardest game, but the good controls, pleasing visuals and wonderful monkeys make it worth any platform fans time.
  8. Sony has at least attempted to approach the genre from a quirky and strategic angle, but our lasting impression of the game is one that mostly entertains, but rarely inspires.
User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 28 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 14
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 14
  3. Negative: 2 out of 14
  1. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    WHERE IS NUMBER 4??? This game series is loved, sells good and such. But this is so far the last made. What is sony thinking? They made thisWHERE IS NUMBER 4??? This game series is loved, sells good and such. But this is so far the last made. What is sony thinking? They made this year ape escape move which is a horrible game. Where is number 4??? i would buy it in a heart beat! Full Review »
  2. JakeW.
    Jul 24, 2006
    10
    A great game. Me and my mates spent hours on it!
  3. Spike
    Jun 6, 2004
    10
    Excellant game. And its great for kids! I highly recommend it! Hours of fun and very funny scenes.