• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
  • Also On: PC
Batman: Vengeance Image
Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 19 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 10 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Become Batman with blistering martial arts combos, over 500 unique animated moves, and a multi-functional cape with its own A.I. Wield such goodies as Batarangs, Batgrapples, Flash Bombs, Remote Charges, Batcuffs, Nets, the Batlauncher, Batscope, and more. [Ubi Soft]
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. 80
    If you're looking to experience the world of the caped crusader (and walk a mile in his boots), you will surely have bat-barrels of fun with this title. Those gamers interested in more depth of gameplay other than punch, jump, destroy and rescue should look elsewhere.
  2. Main problem: you can only fire your Batgrapple at specific points...We wanted the freedom of Tenchu and all we received was a hook through the nose with a finger pulling us the right way.
  3. In the end, BV succeeds at what it set out to do--it puts you into the role of Batman. Every major aspect of the character is presented in some way in the game...it is one of those incredibly rare birds known as a good licensed game.
  4. It is far from perfect, but that being said, this game is still the best Batman game ever made for any system, and I have played them all!
  5. These intriguing elements can only offset, and not make up for, the often frustrating gameplay. [Dec 2001, p.100]
  6. Its presentation and story make it respectable, nonetheless. [Dec 2001, p.162]
  7. The only time you can use the Bat-grapple is when you get an onscreen signal to look for a huge, out of place Bat-insignia perched on the corner of some overhead location. Oh, I guess I'm supposed use my Bat-grapple here. Sheesh!

See all 19 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 7
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 7
  3. Negative: 4 out of 7
  1. CrashMaster
    Jul 28, 2002
    9
    I'm a big fan of Batman but besides that this is a good game excellent graphics a good storyline and good sound effects but the controls I'm a big fan of Batman but besides that this is a good game excellent graphics a good storyline and good sound effects but the controls get confusing! Collapse
  2. Vik
    Jan 3, 2005
    9
    Very good in all.
  3. Michael
    Dec 3, 2001
    8
    Not a bad game, the best Batman game to come out ever. With an original story line, great action, it's a good consideration for Batman Not a bad game, the best Batman game to come out ever. With an original story line, great action, it's a good consideration for Batman fans. Bads: controls are difficult at times, ecspecially in fine movements and camera angles are difficult to deal with. Goods: incredible city landscape, looks like actual animation from now off air WB tv show. Expand
  4. Jun 5, 2013
    4
    Batman Vengeance is a decent and somewhat stylish super hero/adventure game who's ruined by its terrible controls and lame boss fights. IBatman Vengeance is a decent and somewhat stylish super hero/adventure game who's ruined by its terrible controls and lame boss fights. I don't recommend it, specially for Batman fans. Expand
  5. Mar 7, 2011
    4
    This is one of the games that help give Batman the bad reputation in the video game world, first of all it's to dark to see anything going onThis is one of the games that help give Batman the bad reputation in the video game world, first of all it's to dark to see anything going on screen, and the controls are bad, and the story doesn't keep you hooked either, it's definitely one of Batman's worst games. Expand
  6. Oct 19, 2014
    3
    I think this game isn't that good. i think it's OKAY but things are WAY too dark too see, The controles are HORIBLE, it is alittle cartoonishI think this game isn't that good. i think it's OKAY but things are WAY too dark too see, The controles are HORIBLE, it is alittle cartoonish for a teen videogame, it is boring, you need to use the hook shot at surtin' parts, and you need to hand cuf them when their down. This is the worst batman game in HISTORY!! Expand

See all 7 User Reviews