Black PlayStation 2

User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 205 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 17 out of 205
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 21, 2017
    10
    This game is my first shooting game that i played
    I'll never forget how amazing it is
    remembering it makes me say it's maybe better than COD and BF today
  2. Nov 10, 2016
    10
    I remember playing this game with my uncle when it first came out. Great graphics and game mechanics. Great FPS for a PS2. I will recommend this game to any gamer!
  3. Mar 10, 2016
    10
    Este jogo é incrível! Eu recebi e ainda não posso parar de jogar. Os gráficos são tão detalhadas para um game e é desafiador, mas divertido e terá que jogar por horas! A história é complexa e profundamente pensado. O melhor jogo que eu já joguei de forma
  4. Oct 7, 2015
    9
    Black is one of those good games that I just have mixed feelings for, the game came out in 2006 for the ps2 and original xbox, and was published by EA, the reviews were good, but I cant really see why, although the game has many strong points, for one thing the sound design is shattering, everything just sounds loud, metallic and heavy, and the graphics look excellent for the ps2,in fact,Black is one of those good games that I just have mixed feelings for, the game came out in 2006 for the ps2 and original xbox, and was published by EA, the reviews were good, but I cant really see why, although the game has many strong points, for one thing the sound design is shattering, everything just sounds loud, metallic and heavy, and the graphics look excellent for the ps2,in fact, the visuals are so good, I would go as far to say that the xbox version looks almost like an early xbox 360 game, the music is amazing as well, Michael giacchino at his best, so why do I have mixed feelings towards this game? Well, the gameplay is kinda repetitive, its shooting Russians and moving between set pieces, a foreshadowing of the call of duty franchise now, and I feel like said Russians take far too many hits before they are downed, it feels like a whole magazine is needed just to take down one guy, and as dor the story, well, i found It very boring, its played out via unskipable, yes, unskipable cutscenes, and I found it hard to pay attention to it, this is all opinion however, some people may find black an excellent purchase for your 6th gen console, and believe me, so did i, but something just felt missing Expand
  5. Sep 26, 2015
    9
    Black has to be one of my favorite FPS on the PS2. It has nice graphics for its time (love the shadows), the sound is very cinematic and the gameplay is spot on!

    The enemy AI is for the most part very good, enemies will shoot a few rounds and then hide behind walls, sometimes they'll even attack you from behind if you don't pay attention. Your partner is most of the times doing her job,
    Black has to be one of my favorite FPS on the PS2. It has nice graphics for its time (love the shadows), the sound is very cinematic and the gameplay is spot on!

    The enemy AI is for the most part very good, enemies will shoot a few rounds and then hide behind walls, sometimes they'll even attack you from behind if you don't pay attention. Your partner is most of the times doing her job, though there was one time that she was just standing there while an enemy was standing right next to her. He also didn't seem to mind her and they didn't shoot at each other.

    Black is not an easy game, even on 'easy' level a well placed RPG (i hate those things!) can blow you away and you'll have to do the mission allover again. This can get very tedious. There should definitely be more save points in my opinion! Also the game is a bit on the short side.

    This game is highly recommended, especially if you want a break from WW II shooters like Medal of Honor and COD.
    Expand
  6. May 24, 2015
    10
    Black is the best first-person game! Its has black ops Difficulty the ultimate test/task with an M16A2, it has the best graphics the best sound. its about guns and explosives. if only there could be Black 2. Halo-killer
  7. Apr 9, 2015
    10
    Oh, the chIldhood memories playing this. The shotgun guys scared the crap out of me the first time I met them. The shied guys with the magnum are annoying, though. Anyways, this game has the best soundtrack, arguably better than Halo 3, IMO. The graphics & ai were good for it's time. The gameplay is the best I've ever seen in my life! The only downsides is that there is no multiplayerOh, the chIldhood memories playing this. The shotgun guys scared the crap out of me the first time I met them. The shied guys with the magnum are annoying, though. Anyways, this game has the best soundtrack, arguably better than Halo 3, IMO. The graphics & ai were good for it's time. The gameplay is the best I've ever seen in my life! The only downsides is that there is no multiplayer mode. But who shuns a childhood game? Expand
  8. Jun 20, 2014
    9
    Black is one of the most satisfying and challenging FPSs I've ever played.

    Pros: Engaging, explosive and challenging combat with the option to be stealthy at times. Gorgeous graphics and graphical effects. Partial destructible (cars, walls, etc.) and interactive (mines) environments. Large variety of weapons that, most importantly, feel very satisfying when used. Real-time blur
    Black is one of the most satisfying and challenging FPSs I've ever played.

    Pros:
    Engaging, explosive and challenging combat with the option to be stealthy at times.
    Gorgeous graphics and graphical effects.
    Partial destructible (cars, walls, etc.) and interactive (mines) environments.
    Large variety of weapons that, most importantly, feel very satisfying when used.
    Real-time blur while reloading which adds depth of field and perspective.
    Slow motion mode when at the brink of death.

    Cons:
    Forgettable story.
    Expand
  9. Sep 12, 2013
    9
    Black is a very straight-forward game: Follow objectives and have fun doing it. This game is like an action movie, shoot bad guys and sh*t explodes and that's not a bad thing. The graphics are amazing for the PS2, some of the best I've ever seen. The graphic design for the weapons can pass off as 7th gen graphics. The controls are a bit different from your average shooter, but easy to getBlack is a very straight-forward game: Follow objectives and have fun doing it. This game is like an action movie, shoot bad guys and sh*t explodes and that's not a bad thing. The graphics are amazing for the PS2, some of the best I've ever seen. The graphic design for the weapons can pass off as 7th gen graphics. The controls are a bit different from your average shooter, but easy to get used to. Destructible environments make the gameplay even better and all the more fun. There are plenty of unlockables and great weapons to choose from. The only downsides are a forgettable story and no online/ offline multiplayer. So just pop it in the PS2 and have a good time. Expand
  10. Dec 22, 2012
    10
    Perfect on PS2 ,Best Shooting Game Ever I Played,Controls are Good ,Graphics are Good ,
    sound is awesome i played it in easy mode with health pack it's not that hard not to easy so i feel it's good ,Aim is Too Good For me ,i personally think if you are looking for shooting game You Must Play It ,Good Luck ...
  11. Aug 19, 2012
    10
    Such an underrated game, people are complaining about things that never troubled them in other games such as: Lack of a built in multiplayer mode/split screen: HL2 has no built in multiplayer/split screen, did we complain? Diffuculty in aiming: Every Valve game had no aiming at all, neither did Doom, or Quake. Nobody complained. Anyway, amazing graphics, decent AI, interesting story,Such an underrated game, people are complaining about things that never troubled them in other games such as: Lack of a built in multiplayer mode/split screen: HL2 has no built in multiplayer/split screen, did we complain? Diffuculty in aiming: Every Valve game had no aiming at all, neither did Doom, or Quake. Nobody complained. Anyway, amazing graphics, decent AI, interesting story, awesome amounts of destruction, ad nice sound effects. Expand
  12. Sep 4, 2010
    10
    Black is Burnout but in a first person shooter; one of the finest FPS I've ever played. Criterion's RenderWare engine really showcases what the PlayStation 2 can really do in terms of graphics and sound. The graphics are crisp and the environments are slick looking. The sound of the explosions and the gun sounds sound really realistic. Play Black with loud speakers and listen to the soundsBlack is Burnout but in a first person shooter; one of the finest FPS I've ever played. Criterion's RenderWare engine really showcases what the PlayStation 2 can really do in terms of graphics and sound. The graphics are crisp and the environments are slick looking. The sound of the explosions and the gun sounds sound really realistic. Play Black with loud speakers and listen to the sounds of the guns and explosions blast through the speakers. Parts of the environment like tankers, cars and pipes can be destroyed which is a nice touch. The gameplay is standard for a FPS: just run and shoot through the levels. There is no blood in the game. The game is short (just 8 levels) and very little replay value to keep you going except a few pieces of Intel to collect and 4 difficulties modes to choose from. Despite all this, Black is a really fun shooter and should appeal to fans of the FPS genre. Expand
  13. Aug 12, 2010
    9
    It is one of the best FPS on the PS2! Even though it is a relatively short game, each level took me at least 1 hour to complete, and so it is a fun game that ahs a lot of replay value.
  14. AmirulH.
    Jan 26, 2010
    9
    Yep, this game is the best fps game on ps2 I wonder if this game will ported on pc or make a multiplayer game,if this game make it definetly cool!
  15. CodyB
    Jun 14, 2009
    8
    A real treat for the first-person genre. This game REALLY makes you FEEL. This game is worth a try because of the amazing presentations this game brings out. The only flaw is that it's really short and it's darker than it has to be, although the title is indeed BLACK. Though not as revolutionary as the max payne series, metal gear solid 2, or call of duty 4, BLACK is one impressive FPS.
  16. KennethP.
    Feb 7, 2008
    10
    I have played a lot of war based games. But this is the far most best war game I've ever played. I was very impressed with this game.
  17. SamM.
    Jan 29, 2008
    9
    If Burnout had a sex change into a shooter, it'd be black. It's a brilliant shooter, which although lacks variety you never really notice due to how much that single idea is. and also note that Edge gave it 80, and they are tough cookies.
  18. M.Alex
    Jul 2, 2007
    8
    Very decent. Could use more sniper action IMO. Graphics stunning, gameplay very good. The controls are done very nicely, much better then in Killzone
  19. AdeolaO.
    May 25, 2007
    9
    Wonderful graphics, gameplay and and lots of explosions. A must buy and absolutely brilliant
  20. VroonJ.
    Apr 14, 2007
    8
    PC shooters will always be up there. Console shooter tend to always be lower. This games seriously screams in the physics area of an FPS. But... the game has a few niggles. The game can be quite unfair at times such as the enemies take a whooping so hard that they seem to have skin made out of kevlar. The checkpoint system is harsh and there's no blood...which makes it seem a wee bit PC shooters will always be up there. Console shooter tend to always be lower. This games seriously screams in the physics area of an FPS. But... the game has a few niggles. The game can be quite unfair at times such as the enemies take a whooping so hard that they seem to have skin made out of kevlar. The checkpoint system is harsh and there's no blood...which makes it seem a wee bit lightweight. It would be fantastic if multiplayer was part of the package. Online mode would be wicked. Expand
  21. DecklinW.
    Mar 19, 2007
    10
    One of the coolest games I've ever had the sheer pleasure to come across. The titanic waves of bullets and destruction and the seemingly console-defying graphics both serve to create a top quality game, which really serves as more of a sensory 'experience' than a true game.
  22. YvetteA.
    Jan 23, 2007
    10
    Incredible first person shooter. Best ever. Great intelligence build into the game!
  23. Pegasus
    Jan 18, 2007
    9
    Absolutely fantastic, just so short, I finished an awesome 8 missions and spent half an hour looking for the 9th mission before realising that was it, 6 hours gameplay, way way way to short, but I'm hoping to get Lennox on a sequal.
  24. th00pE.
    Dec 16, 2006
    9
    Black is the most intense and incredible FPS available; however, the 8 missions prove to be incredibly short, and although new objectives and scenery do appear, the game is terribly short-lived. The only bonus is that it leaves you with a fierce need to keep going, and hopefully Black 2 will have the multiplayer capabilities we'ev all been waiting for.
  25. TuaineT.
    Oct 28, 2006
    10
    Simply awsome. The intro ochestral soundtrack and overall sounds is top notch. The game itself is a sight to behold. War is about destruction and Black brings that to you without the blood and gore that most games display. I'm sure Criterion has it's critics but i'm just itching to hear about part 2.
  26. AkosS.
    Oct 10, 2006
    10
    The best game in the history of first shooting games for PS2.
  27. PedroR.
    Sep 29, 2006
    8
    I first heard of this game... what, 2 years ago? I wanted to play the second I heard about it. This could have been the Halo-Killer we all wanted for our PS2. But, like Killzone, psh... It's nothing more than a good looking FPS with some nice innovations. The story, its just an excuse to move from location to location. I've seen Cartoons that have better stories. Now that I have I first heard of this game... what, 2 years ago? I wanted to play the second I heard about it. This could have been the Halo-Killer we all wanted for our PS2. But, like Killzone, psh... It's nothing more than a good looking FPS with some nice innovations. The story, its just an excuse to move from location to location. I've seen Cartoons that have better stories. Now that I have gotten most of the bad out of thew way, let's see whats good: 1 Graphics. Best in-game graphics I have ever seen on the PS2. 2 Freaking awsome guns. While there may not be too many guns, the ones thye have are the coolest I have ever seen. I will never look at an AK47 the same way again. Or an RPG for that matter. 3 Destructible Enviroments. This is actually another area where the game fails to live up to it's expectations. But it's PS2, what can they do? It's still the most destructible that I've ever seen on current gen. The final nail in the coffin of this " Halo-Killer" is the lengh of the levels. IDK how many people want to play a game where one level could take up 1 hour (Up to 1 hour and 45 minutes if you want to get everything) just to kill the same 5 enemies over and over and over and over and over. Also, it's FREAKING hard. But it still gets an 8, cuz shooting terrorists in the face never gets old. Also, Black 2 should have Blood and Gore. Expand
  28. MateusC.
    Sep 9, 2006
    10
    The PlayStation 2 has a lack of great FPS games but Black come to solve this: the game is superb in all aspects, from gameplay to graphics, from mechanics to AI. It's incredible see PS2 hardware running this game without any slowdown with incredible graphics and scenario interaction. If you don't like FPS games reconsider and try Black: your opinion will change.
  29. Scarecrow
    Jul 2, 2006
    9
    The gameplay is fantastic. Action packed from start to finish. The gameplay also contains some tactical options but its up to the gamer of how he wants to play. Destructive enviroments compined with amazing graphics tune up the experience. The sound effects and the music are also fantastic. What could have been better is a more interesting story,characters and presentation. Black also The gameplay is fantastic. Action packed from start to finish. The gameplay also contains some tactical options but its up to the gamer of how he wants to play. Destructive enviroments compined with amazing graphics tune up the experience. The sound effects and the music are also fantastic. What could have been better is a more interesting story,characters and presentation. Black also needs more replay value. Still a great game. Expand
  30. BrianN.
    Jun 28, 2006
    9
    One of a kind among first person shooters. Bullets ricochet all over as soon as they hit their target. Very realistic physics for a playstation game. Could of had blood.

Awards & Rankings

31
5
#5 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2006
5
#5 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2006
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 62 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 48 out of 62
  2. Negative: 1 out of 62
  1. Taken as a whole, BLACK is just your average first-person shooter.
  2. netjak
    65
    "Gun-porn" turns out to be the most accurate descriptor anyone slapped onto the game. I mean, how many times can you rewatch the same bit of pr0n before you're completely unstimulated by it? It's intense for the first experience, but completely diminishing returns every time after that.
  3. An action movie given digital, interactive form. It's a relentless, constant barrage of sensory input, and it's done in a way that no developer thus far can match. Immersive, beautiful and a blast to play, BLACK is a must-have.