User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 211 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 17 out of 211
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. RyanFeightner
    Feb 2, 2006
    8
    I thought this game was very, very innovative. It was extremely fun-as Criterion said-to shoot a wall. I personally think it's really hard to aim, but that just might be the PS2 controller. I'm sure it's better on Xbox. BLACK seems tough enough to keep hardcore gamers playing, but like all Criterion games, they are insanely hard. I watched and laughed as my friend died lessI thought this game was very, very innovative. It was extremely fun-as Criterion said-to shoot a wall. I personally think it's really hard to aim, but that just might be the PS2 controller. I'm sure it's better on Xbox. BLACK seems tough enough to keep hardcore gamers playing, but like all Criterion games, they are insanely hard. I watched and laughed as my friend died less than 20 seconds into a level. Good game, great innovations, and big explosions=Criterion game. Expand
  2. DripG.
    Mar 5, 2006
    9
    A little short, but definitely one of the best shooters for the PS2. I think the industry has found the limits of the PS2 platform with Black. Pros: Great gun selection that feel good to shoot Unlockable stuff Destructable items Varied mission objectives Difficulty settings Easy controls Selectable 480p 16:9 prog scan support looks great Fair retail price of $39.99 Excellent music score A little short, but definitely one of the best shooters for the PS2. I think the industry has found the limits of the PS2 platform with Black. Pros: Great gun selection that feel good to shoot Unlockable stuff Destructable items Varied mission objectives Difficulty settings Easy controls Selectable 480p 16:9 prog scan support looks great Fair retail price of $39.99 Excellent music score and audio Fire and explosion effects some of the best on PS2 Totally customizable controller with button remapping Looks "Next Gen" and Xbox version looks even better Cons: Unskippable cutscenes (1st playthrough) Limp storyline - lacks immersion No H/V sensitivity adjustment Not coming to Xbox 360 (Black 2 maybe?) No online play Expand
  3. HarleyK.
    Mar 9, 2006
    6
    It was a fair game to play but why do we still have to follow halo in holding only two weapons, lets go back to the best fps doom's motto of more weapons more killing more fun.
  4. ConradA.
    Apr 2, 2006
    8
    Amazing FPS, but I agree with many of the criticisms. Too short, no online, no map, needs more save points. But beautifully designed environments (the asylum level has gorgeous room after gorgeous room that forces you to be creative, i.e use the shotgun to blast through thin walls to get around guys with shields) that have to be played through a couple of times to be appreciated. A great Amazing FPS, but I agree with many of the criticisms. Too short, no online, no map, needs more save points. But beautifully designed environments (the asylum level has gorgeous room after gorgeous room that forces you to be creative, i.e use the shotgun to blast through thin walls to get around guys with shields) that have to be played through a couple of times to be appreciated. A great rental or bargain buy. Expand
  5. MateusC.
    Sep 9, 2006
    10
    The PlayStation 2 has a lack of great FPS games but Black come to solve this: the game is superb in all aspects, from gameplay to graphics, from mechanics to AI. It's incredible see PS2 hardware running this game without any slowdown with incredible graphics and scenario interaction. If you don't like FPS games reconsider and try Black: your opinion will change.
  6. ChadH.
    Jul 4, 2007
    6
    Hmm, ok I guess. Graphics are astounding - 'specially on a PS2 but the game itself didn't do much for me. Not a lot of depth and coming from a PC I can safely say that it's one of the weaker FPS's out there in terms of story!? and gameplay.
  7. KennethP.
    Feb 7, 2008
    10
    I have played a lot of war based games. But this is the far most best war game I've ever played. I was very impressed with this game.
  8. Wanderer
    Feb 23, 2006
    9
    Really sharp audiovisual presentation that makes a great first impression. An exellent FPS.
  9. UweP.
    Feb 24, 2006
    5
    Quite impressive technically in some ways, but it feels like all the other generic FPS'es with crap AI out there after the initial thrills of blowing stuff up wears off. Also, several fundemental flaws haven't been ironed out, such as the obvious lack of checkpoints in some places.
  10. JackK.
    Feb 24, 2006
    10
    Truly amazing what the PS2 is actually capable of doing. S-video with Dolby Pro Logic II surround is the way to go here. Such an intense experience I played standing up most of the way. Took me 8.5 hours on normal difficulty. I heard you can unlock a bunch of stuff if you finish on hard...that's what I'm doing next. Also because I'd like to pay a little closer attention to Truly amazing what the PS2 is actually capable of doing. S-video with Dolby Pro Logic II surround is the way to go here. Such an intense experience I played standing up most of the way. Took me 8.5 hours on normal difficulty. I heard you can unlock a bunch of stuff if you finish on hard...that's what I'm doing next. Also because I'd like to pay a little closer attention to the story and figure out if some of those terrorist cell docs are legit. Great work Criterion!!! Expand
  11. StressMaster
    Feb 25, 2006
    9
    The most intense FPS I've ever played. Truly the Burnout of shooters. So much fun, you wont miss the argument or story line.
  12. GerS.
    Feb 27, 2006
    10
    Depth? Sorry -it's unashamedly a balls out shooter, and I'm not really looking for huge amounts of emotion out of a FPS, and Black steams through like a tank through a china shop. Shameless explosions and shooting - Top draw!
  13. P.B.
    Mar 2, 2006
    10
    I think the IGN review gets it and GameSpot misses the point. This game is just plain FUN. And for $39, it's priced just right. I'll definetely play through again. Nice package too.
  14. CozoniW.
    Mar 2, 2006
    8
    No plot to speak of but when a game is this much fun, why bother?
  15. Beauceron1
    Mar 3, 2006
    10
    I think the bottom 4 critics are being to analytical. Just have fun with this. Next Gen excitement Today! I have a projector and HT. When I'm finished playing I've got battle scars and smell like gun powder. This game is what it is! The Guns are great. The AI is great. The physics are great. The sound is great. Play it NOW!
  16. SujanV.
    Mar 3, 2006
    9
    This game is a must buy for all fans of fps.
  17. BradP.
    Mar 5, 2006
    10
    Intense, immersive experience through and through. The length of the game is perfect and I look forward to going back and blasting the heck out of each and every level again.
  18. Sambo
    Mar 6, 2006
    10
    Brilliant FPS, the best on the PS2. Graphically excellent, no slowdown or fuzziness. The AI is sharp with smart enemies, the sounds are great and change appropriately for your location with echoing, crunching of glass underfoot, ricocheting bullet cases when standing close to walls. As for thin plot? What kind of plot do Halo or Doom have? All pretty much non-existant and Black is no Brilliant FPS, the best on the PS2. Graphically excellent, no slowdown or fuzziness. The AI is sharp with smart enemies, the sounds are great and change appropriately for your location with echoing, crunching of glass underfoot, ricocheting bullet cases when standing close to walls. As for thin plot? What kind of plot do Halo or Doom have? All pretty much non-existant and Black is no better and no worse! You're tracking down an ex-CIA operative turned mercenary through the Eastern Bloc! What's not to like in that? Tons of playabilty in it too, with four gradings of difficulty! If you manage it on hard you get to try Black Ops. Most folks will probably manage it, but me being fairly hopeless in comparison find it hard enough in Easy mode and that's entirely satisfying for me even then! Expand
  19. Scarecrow
    Jul 2, 2006
    9
    The gameplay is fantastic. Action packed from start to finish. The gameplay also contains some tactical options but its up to the gamer of how he wants to play. Destructive enviroments compined with amazing graphics tune up the experience. The sound effects and the music are also fantastic. What could have been better is a more interesting story,characters and presentation. Black also The gameplay is fantastic. Action packed from start to finish. The gameplay also contains some tactical options but its up to the gamer of how he wants to play. Destructive enviroments compined with amazing graphics tune up the experience. The sound effects and the music are also fantastic. What could have been better is a more interesting story,characters and presentation. Black also needs more replay value. Still a great game. Expand
  20. AndyL.
    May 10, 2007
    6
    Great looking game but so damn repetitive it becomes boring very quickly. Way too short for my money. Not really up there with the big boys of FPS's. Unfair at times but does look fantastic for PS2. More to it than looks though!
  21. Graeme
    Jun 25, 2007
    6
    What was all the fuss about. Average game, nice graphics.
  22. M.Alex
    Jul 2, 2007
    8
    Very decent. Could use more sniper action IMO. Graphics stunning, gameplay very good. The controls are done very nicely, much better then in Killzone
  23. JeddyK
    Jan 5, 2009
    3
    There are no saves within the mission. It is too difficult even in the easy level. Weapons cannot be added to ones inventory. If I have acquired weapons in one mission it does not mean they will be there in the next mission. Most of the time one cannot tell where one is going and what is the way back.
  24. AmirulH.
    Jan 26, 2010
    9
    Yep, this game is the best fps game on ps2 I wonder if this game will ported on pc or make a multiplayer game,if this game make it definetly cool!
  25. AkosS.
    Oct 10, 2006
    10
    The best game in the history of first shooting games for PS2.
  26. WillKill
    Feb 24, 2006
    10
    Great FPS. Yeah there is no mulitiplayer, but that doesn't take away from the game. This game was designed to do one thing, and thats Kick Ass. When are game reviews and people going to quit bashing EA. Enough Said
  27. Drag-on
    Feb 26, 2006
    7
    It's killzone in a better package.
  28. Spoon
    Feb 28, 2006
    9
    When they call this game "Gun porn" they were right on the money. Weak story, over the top action that puts a smile on your face but leaves you empty inside. Great game.
  29. TomL.
    Feb 28, 2006
    10
    This game is THE best shooter on PS2, regardless. OK, some people say the plot is a bit thin and it is a bit too short, but in all honesty, you are not going to buy a game like this for the plot and the extra weapons and difficulty levels ake you play at least 3 times through and it's still not boring!
  30. SteveB.
    Mar 1, 2006
    9
    Best shooter on PS2 hands-down. Decent graphics, great gun action, lots of bang-bang, you can destroy some types of cover! Minor points: crosshairs should change based on gun type, scoped-in view should stay scoped, ammo capacity seems a little high (500 AK rounds?). But still an awesome game. $40 is a bit much for a short game, though. I reconfigured controls to emulate Halo and picked Best shooter on PS2 hands-down. Decent graphics, great gun action, lots of bang-bang, you can destroy some types of cover! Minor points: crosshairs should change based on gun type, scoped-in view should stay scoped, ammo capacity seems a little high (500 AK rounds?). But still an awesome game. $40 is a bit much for a short game, though. I reconfigured controls to emulate Halo and picked up the game instantly. Loved it from the first to the unsatisfying end nine hours later. Expand

Awards & Rankings

31
5
#5 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2006
5
#5 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2006
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 62 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 48 out of 62
  2. Negative: 1 out of 62
  1. Taken as a whole, BLACK is just your average first-person shooter.
  2. netjak
    65
    "Gun-porn" turns out to be the most accurate descriptor anyone slapped onto the game. I mean, how many times can you rewatch the same bit of pr0n before you're completely unstimulated by it? It's intense for the first experience, but completely diminishing returns every time after that.
  3. An action movie given digital, interactive form. It's a relentless, constant barrage of sensory input, and it's done in a way that no developer thus far can match. Immersive, beautiful and a blast to play, BLACK is a must-have.