Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 18
  2. Negative: 1 out of 18
  1. I liked it. In fact, after the rather bland first level, I couldn't put it down. There's just so much to do. [Dec 2002, p.202]
  2. Agent Bloodrayne's acrobatic dexterity and quick response time would make Trinity jealous. [1 Nov 2002, p.77]
  3. Wehn BloodRayne breaks into an attack she is as fidgety as Bart Simpson on a Slurpee rush. [Nov 2002, p.127]
  4. 75
    My biggest beef with the game is that it never really feels like your hits are connecting. [Dec 2002, p.64]
  5. 90
    It’s a fast and furious action/adventure that oozes style (among other things) but still delivers all the gameplay goods.
  6. It doesn’t seem to take itself too seriously, yet it provides some good gaming.
  7. They toss some gore and sex into the mix and hope to distract us from the fact that it’s a really average action-adventure game.
  8. The slow start can make BloodRayne a tough game to stick with.
  9. 73
    Despite some nice features, the overly repetitive gameplay will probably wear thin after a bit.
  10. Like a good horror movie, BloodRayne is one of those guilty pleasures that will be sure to keep those action gamers’ thirst for action more than quenched.
  11. 75
    Too monotonous to appeal to the masses, and not varied enough to keep fans of the game returning, I think that Bloodrayne is a decent attempt at something different, but ends up being a little too much like the rest of the pack.
  12. Confused by the sometimes clunky camera angles? You can deliver your skull-smashing, thong-flashing high kicks in soothing slow motion.
  13. BloodRayne might surprise you as one of the best bloodsucking adventures outside of Nosgoth.
  14. I welled up every time she said "f--ker" or went into her slow-motion death dance after killing a particularly high-ranking official. [Nov 2002, p.77]
  15. The perfect example of a decent game with a lot of wasted potential. [Dec 2002, p.52]
  16. Lacks the longevity, punch, fun factor (grows too boring and repetitive way too fast) and replayability that separates the best free-roaming hack-and-slash games from the rest.
  17. The controls and camera cause frustration, the visuals severely disappoint, whilst the combat begins to grate after a short time and leaves very little to carry on with.
  18. There's nothing about it that really makes us want to recommend it, or play it for any extended period of time. We think this is simply because by today's standards, it's very average.
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 14 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 10
  2. Negative: 3 out of 10
  1. BrettS.
    Jun 3, 2004
    10
    Realistic Nazis,Great graphics,cool storyline,and the main character is great.I can't wait for Bloodrayne 2.
  2. Aug 13, 2011
    9
    BloodRayne still kicking some tail from triumph (BloodRayne 1 & 2 games/comics) to utter tragedy (Uwe Boil's awful BloodRayne movies). But the original game is the best damn PS2 game period. I have some major problems with the bugs and loading screens, but with stylin' graphics, punishing moves, and a sexy gothic dhampir with an attitude problem, trust me. She can handle it her own way by using her sharp blades and feeds her passion for blood and more blood. Can't wait till Betrayal coming out soon on PSN. I wonder they could put both BloodRayne games and turn it into an HD experience. Full Review »
  3. AlexB.
    May 14, 2003
    10
    Absolutey state of the art stealth assassin, nazi dismembering, jugular ripping horror game, as vital to your ps2 as your brain is to your body! If you have not played this unstoppably subtle, blood-lusting game you have not lived, buy this now! Full Review »