• Publisher: Hudson
  • Release Date: Nov 11, 2003
User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 36 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 36
  2. Negative: 3 out of 36

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JayL.
    Feb 11, 2004
    10
    The people that claim the game is nothing more than button-mashing, haven't taken the time to see what the game is all about. Sure, it LOOKS that way from the beginning, but all characters have been equipped with new moves. Only the real BRers will find this game appealing. Those only concerned with how a game "looks" are really missing out on this gem.
  2. LuisH.
    Jul 25, 2005
    10
    Is a great game, i think we have to see the video games like a way to have fun, bloody roar 4 is one.
  3. GaryBall
    Oct 2, 2006
    10
    I love this game!! I wish more games these days would cater to the growing homosexual gaming community. My boyfriend and I go all giddy over the sweet animal-turnin'-into action. This has to be the best game around... until Bloody Roar 5: U Go Girl Turbomax Fashion Edition comes out. And I'm really sorry for Wang P's loss. One time I accidentally killed an old lady.
  4. WangP.
    Nov 3, 2003
    10
    DUDE!!! THIS GAME ROCKS!!! Seriously, don't listen to ANY reviews!!! If you dig INTENSE fighting games, get this freakin' game, it will ROCK YOUR WORLD!!! You'll spend hours and days fighting with your buds! Easily better than Soul Calibur 2, VF4, or Dead or Alive 3!!! I was never a fan of the series before this installment, but this has converted me!! I mean, you morph DUDE!!! THIS GAME ROCKS!!! Seriously, don't listen to ANY reviews!!! If you dig INTENSE fighting games, get this freakin' game, it will ROCK YOUR WORLD!!! You'll spend hours and days fighting with your buds! Easily better than Soul Calibur 2, VF4, or Dead or Alive 3!!! I was never a fan of the series before this installment, but this has converted me!! I mean, you morph into animals!! What else could you want out of life!!! I want to be serious here now, I was going through some tough times before Bloody Roar 4. My girlfriend had just left me, my dog was hit by a car, and to make things worse, I was the one who hit him. And then I found... salvation. Bloody Roar 4, along with it's rockin' animal-turnin'-into action, was that last glimmer of light in my meaningless life. I don't know what I would do without this game... I'd probably just end my life. Expand
  5. HippieChick
    Nov 6, 2003
    10
    As a non-violent girl, fighting games are usually not my cup of tea. I usually stick to cutesy platformers and puzzle games. Then a few months ago my friend showed me Soul Calibur 2, and it changed all my ideas on fighting games!! I fell in love with it and then went back and played some tekken and virtua fighter and dead or alive games. I also played Bloody Roar 3, which was less than As a non-violent girl, fighting games are usually not my cup of tea. I usually stick to cutesy platformers and puzzle games. Then a few months ago my friend showed me Soul Calibur 2, and it changed all my ideas on fighting games!! I fell in love with it and then went back and played some tekken and virtua fighter and dead or alive games. I also played Bloody Roar 3, which was less than stellar to say the least. So the release of the fourth Bloody Roar didn't excite me too much. Without much to play right now, though, I decided to pick it up for some quick, mindless fun. But what I found was a deeply satisfying gaming experience that surpassed even my initial feelings on Soul Calibur 2. BR4 has the best characters ever in a fighting game, and turning into animals rocks hard!!! I truly love this game!!! buy it soon. Expand
  6. WackoManKangaroo
    Nov 6, 2003
    10
    El hard?! You give it a 2?!!!! Have you even seen this game in action? Have you heard of it at all? Because I know you haven't played it if you give it a 2!!! People like him get on my nerves, people who like to come on here and rate games before they ever play them. You have no reason to rate the game!!! Anyway, Bloody Roar 4 is a pretty amazing accomplishment in gaming and the El hard?! You give it a 2?!!!! Have you even seen this game in action? Have you heard of it at all? Because I know you haven't played it if you give it a 2!!! People like him get on my nerves, people who like to come on here and rate games before they ever play them. You have no reason to rate the game!!! Anyway, Bloody Roar 4 is a pretty amazing accomplishment in gaming and the critics are wayyyyy off. Probably just Soul Calibur and Virtua Fighter fanboys blinded by all the hype of those games. If you wanna listen to them go ahead, but you're not a true gamer if you do. Play Bloody Roar 4, just trust me, you'll love it just as I did and all my friends did. Expand
  7. ZEN
    Dec 3, 2003
    10
    IT is an great game with excellent sound and graphics ,combos and stragies to match!!
  8. LilRemix
    May 20, 2004
    10
    Yo Forget What the other people told u about BR4 I mean the game is hot 2 Death Espeacially The Dude that transform into a Dragon! that is the hottest and Strongest beast you can transform. Forget the rating of the website that say it was dumb as hell because that $h*T Hott as Hell because it is a Mos Have Game I Hope the Hudson make a Bloody Roar 5 with even more People/Animales to Yo Forget What the other people told u about BR4 I mean the game is hot 2 Death Espeacially The Dude that transform into a Dragon! that is the hottest and Strongest beast you can transform. Forget the rating of the website that say it was dumb as hell because that $h*T Hott as Hell because it is a Mos Have Game I Hope the Hudson make a Bloody Roar 5 with even more People/Animales to choose from like everbody from Bloody Roar 1 Through 4 should be on Bloody Roar 5 and then add more charcters to part 5 then make the beast form more scary then i bet Ratings will all 5 out of 5 because it is that Hot No Joke. Expand
  9. Ehrgeiz
    Apr 29, 2005
    10
    Just so eveyone is clear on this: the critics need to burn in hell! If this game doesn't impress them, then nothing does! Besides, everyone else (the true video-gamers) loves it! It is without a doubt the greatest fighting game every made! It's got everything you want from super-fast gameplay to flashy, devistating combos and finishers. And for the critics who say that this game Just so eveyone is clear on this: the critics need to burn in hell! If this game doesn't impress them, then nothing does! Besides, everyone else (the true video-gamers) loves it! It is without a doubt the greatest fighting game every made! It's got everything you want from super-fast gameplay to flashy, devistating combos and finishers. And for the critics who say that this game is all button mashing: pucker up and kiss my ass! This game is all about strategy like conserving beast power and timing the right combos. The critics just suck at the game, so they choose to whine and complain about it! That's just sad..... Anyways, Bloody Roar 4 is the best of the best, and I would've given it 100, but the rating only goes up to 10. So for all the true gamers out there who love a new kind of extreme fighting, this is the game for you! Oh yeah! Expand
  10. BinhN.
    Jun 6, 2005
    10
    This is 1 the best 3-D graphic fighting game right here.
  11. Kor1134
    Nov 10, 2003
    9
    The newest installment in the Bloody Roar franchise will pick up the slack that newer fighting series have left behind. Finally, a training mode so all those newcomers will have something to teach them how it all works. And a career mode that will unlock more goodies and enable you to customize your characters how ever you choose, be it strength, speed, defense, or borrow a few movies The newest installment in the Bloody Roar franchise will pick up the slack that newer fighting series have left behind. Finally, a training mode so all those newcomers will have something to teach them how it all works. And a career mode that will unlock more goodies and enable you to customize your characters how ever you choose, be it strength, speed, defense, or borrow a few movies from other opponents; the ultimate beast fighter is yours for the creating. Along with 3 new characters, more blood than ever before, and a new twist on fighting mechanics, a fighter with a sidekick, this promises the be the definitive Bloody Roar to date. Don't listen to "professional" reviews, there's as much depth and strategy as any other 3D fighter, sure it's easy to pull of combos, but to know what you're doing takes a lot of experience. This is a guaranteed fun factor game for newbies and masters alike. Expand
  12. BaconMan
    Nov 28, 2003
    10
    Best fighting game ever. better yet, best fighting game franchise ever. street fighter, fatal fury, mortal kombat, tekken, virtua fighter, guilty gear, dead or alive, soul calibur... they all suck compared to bloody roar. buy it now, and don't bother with the reviews, those people are morons.
  13. BigBadBill
    Nov 6, 2003
    10
    El hard is wrong on so many levels. I agree much more with Wang, and I'm am very sorry about his recent personal losses. Bloody Roar 4 is a great game that critics will bash just because of their personal politics and their feelings towards animals. Reviewing this game should not be left in their hands. Hardcore gamers will recognize how amazing this game is the minute they play it. El hard is wrong on so many levels. I agree much more with Wang, and I'm am very sorry about his recent personal losses. Bloody Roar 4 is a great game that critics will bash just because of their personal politics and their feelings towards animals. Reviewing this game should not be left in their hands. Hardcore gamers will recognize how amazing this game is the minute they play it. It's immersive gameplay is second only to my personal favs Metroid Prime, Taz: Wanted, and Britney's Dance Beat. Do yourself a favor and at least rent this game. Even if you are not a fighting game fan. If you are a fan of fighting games, put down your Shadowblade, just throw out your copies of Virtua Fighter 4 and Soul Calibur 2, and drop a few bucks on Bloody Roar 4, the game that will end up being the most underrated of the year. In 20 years, when video games are beyond our wildest dreams, people will still be looking back on Bloody Roar 4 for inspiration. Not just for video games, but for life as well. Expand
  14. BarryWhiteSavedJesusChrist
    Nov 6, 2003
    10
    I rented Bloody Roar 4 today, and I just freakin returned it 5 minutes after I popped the game into my Playstation 2. Was it that bad? No! It was that GOOD! I took it back to Blockbuster and just bought the game, and i've been playing it NONSTOP!! This game has tones of depth, fighting modes, cool characters, killer combos and special moves, beautiful graphics, and is much more fun I rented Bloody Roar 4 today, and I just freakin returned it 5 minutes after I popped the game into my Playstation 2. Was it that bad? No! It was that GOOD! I took it back to Blockbuster and just bought the game, and i've been playing it NONSTOP!! This game has tones of depth, fighting modes, cool characters, killer combos and special moves, beautiful graphics, and is much more fun that Soul Calibur 2 and easier to get into that VF4. Friends, it just doesn't get much better. I had my buddy over here earlier, a diehard fighting game fan and BRUTAL critic, and he agreed that this is the best 3D fighting game on any system, ever!! He just went out and bought it too. He said that it is a HUGE improvement over the third installment. He also said that it is a perfect 10, while soul calibur 2 would be a 7, and VF4 an 8. Now thats saying something. Bravo Hudson for creating such a beautiful fighting game. Expand
  15. LandoCal
    Nov 6, 2003
    10
    ummm.... wang p seems a lil weird but he is right on the money bout bloody roar 4. it is awesome and deep and there's alot of stuff to be doing to keep you busy for days. best ps2 game yet.
  16. MulletMan5
    Nov 6, 2003
    9
    Hardcore man!! fun fighting game. definitely try it out. the only thing that brings down the score is the less than perfect sound. but everything else fires on all cylenders. my advice is to not read the reviews, they are irrelevent, and at least rent the game.
  17. KashataH.
    Dec 3, 2003
    10
    I just have to say, I love this game. It's my favorite game and it easily beats Soul Caliber 2 and VF4.
  18. KHarris
    Apr 22, 2004
    10
    I think it sucks-the critics, that is. I mean they have no clue to as what a gamer these days, really enjoys. Bloody Roar is an above exceptional game and I feel that Hudson did an awesome job with this series. I do agree withn the critics with one thing-they gave a plain old English word, as a morphing ability, to a person - Nagi, the Spurious (look it up). That's kind of I think it sucks-the critics, that is. I mean they have no clue to as what a gamer these days, really enjoys. Bloody Roar is an above exceptional game and I feel that Hudson did an awesome job with this series. I do agree withn the critics with one thing-they gave a plain old English word, as a morphing ability, to a person - Nagi, the Spurious (look it up). That's kind of ridiculous, but if you play this game and look up the word "spurious," you know why they call her that. As Randy Jackson might say, "U go dawg!" Keep up the good work Hudson. Expand
  19. ScottM.
    Apr 29, 2005
    10
    It is without a doubt the greatest fighting game ever made! I really hope they make a Bloody Roar 5!
  20. RachelH.
    May 12, 2005
    10
    This game looks awesome! Even though I haven't really played it yet I still can't wait to buy it! i think that the critics really need to change their minds a bit!
  21. RagaLover
    Nov 13, 2003
    10
    I loved the first PS installment of Bloody Roar and my favorite character the fox was dismissed along with the boar and the gorilla (he was weak but at least he added variety). I was not impressed with the second installment (the boar and gorilla moves were combined into the Stun character who didn't talk bad to you like the Boar in BR1). I love the third installement and was I loved the first PS installment of Bloody Roar and my favorite character the fox was dismissed along with the boar and the gorilla (he was weak but at least he added variety). I was not impressed with the second installment (the boar and gorilla moves were combined into the Stun character who didn't talk bad to you like the Boar in BR1). I love the third installement and was disappointed that the fourth version did not include more violent looking creatures. After I starting playing Bloody Roar 4 all my other games have been gathering dust. The game is just so much more fun than Soul Calibur and VF4. A Bloody Roar expert like myself was astounded by the additional strategy needed to beat my friends. The darker look is really cool. I never liked the music of the series much (BR4 included) so I always play with it down. The sound effects are to die for. The official game critics who review the franchise are definitely novices to say that no strategy is involved. There is no better way to beat a friend on a big screen TV with sound effects maxed out. I hope the series does well and that they bring back the fox, the gorilla and big mama boar for a final installment. XBOX can keep the elephant. Bloody Roar 4 is a must buy for any fighting game fan. The only other downside to BR4 is that there are many more ferocious animals that could have been added to the franchise (5 feline-like characters is overkill and a crow/spurious/little dog won't be giving anybody nightmares). Expand
  22. Weeblepie
    Nov 13, 2003
    10
    Soul Calibur 2 is crap Bloody Roar 4 is the best, if people wat a fighting game get bloody roar 4 its is just the best.
  23. [Anonymous]
    Nov 17, 2003
    10
    One word...beautiful.
  24. AJMiller
    Nov 26, 2003
    10
    OMG this is the finest verion of Bloody Roar. The new characters like Reiji, Nagi, and Ryoho & Mana, they are fine upgrades in this game. I also like the new looks they r the best.
Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 25
  2. Negative: 5 out of 25
  1. I was also disappointed to see that BR4 is still lacking in the ever-important single-player experience. [Holiday 2003, p.44]
  2. Being able to upgrade you characters is fantastic, but instead of offering interesting challenges or match types to do this with, career mode presents a boring glut of one-round bouts. [Nov 2003, p.92]
  3. There's nothing good to say about the gameplay, which ignores skill and encourages button-mashing. Stay away from this beast -- it bites. [Dec 2003, p.222]