• Publisher: Capcom
  • Release Date: Mar 18, 2003
User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 32 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 32
  2. Negative: 6 out of 32

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. KellieU.
    May 10, 2003
    10
    THIS GAME ROCKS ALTHOUGH LORD DARCY BURROHS IS VERY HARD TO BEAT. I LOVE THE CUTSENES I WOULD VOTE THIS GAME 100000 IF I COULD ALTHOUGH I HARDLY PLAY VIDEOGAMES ANYMORE BEACAUSE OF MY LITTLE HEART PALPITATION FROM THE FREAKIN GRAND THEFT AUTO VICE CITY. BUT I DO PLAY VIDEOGAMES BUT NOT AS MUCH AS i DID.
  2. HaiderS.
    May 3, 2003
    10
    Well, this game is the best game that i have ever played......
  3. CyberW.
    Mar 4, 2008
    2
    Utterly bland game with a few original ideas which have been let down by repetitive uninspiring game play. Avoid this like the plague!
  4. BrettG.
    Apr 28, 2003
    10
    It's very fun, and interesting. She should run faster than in the game. the graphics are also awesome.
  5. JamieH.
    Jul 7, 2003
    9
    Truly the best of the Clock Tower series. A perfect blend of puzzles and underwear soiling scares!! The cut scenes are brutal and violent just how I like them and for me anyway, the game has come back appeal again and again.
  6. Rick
    Aug 10, 2003
    0
    This game is one of the most highly inappropriate games I have ever played. The game developers and KINJI FUKASAKU should be ashamed to make such(can't find a better word) SICK game...I was appalled to see a little(age6 or 7) year old girl get smashed in the face by some grotesque freak 15 minutes in the game... Ok, I am well old enough to buy M rated games, but what about the kids This game is one of the most highly inappropriate games I have ever played. The game developers and KINJI FUKASAKU should be ashamed to make such(can't find a better word) SICK game...I was appalled to see a little(age6 or 7) year old girl get smashed in the face by some grotesque freak 15 minutes in the game... Ok, I am well old enough to buy M rated games, but what about the kids that actually buy this sick Japanese game... Maybe its ok in japan to see a little girl brutally killed, but over in these post 9/11 times its highly disturbing....This game should have clearly have had a rating off A(adult).... Even big budge Hollywood movies don't show the suffer-cation of little children to that extent, it doesn't make it right that this is a just a game....It comes of as sick and almost perverted to see such a sight in a game, Maybe Kinji Fukasaku likes to animate and create such graphic scenes(they actually sat down and thought this up and created it), but over here in America, we don't want Capcom's(Fukasaku) disgusting garbage..... Expand
  7. RayF.
    Aug 7, 2003
    7
    A decent enough game but too much running away from the stalkers makes the game a big pain in the buttcheeks and it is a tad on the short side.
  8. Dave
    Sep 2, 2004
    2
    This game was stupid and boring, the only thing that had any interest was the cut scenes, which was by far the sickest i have ever seen, thus far. Look there is horror and then theres sick, if people like Robby wanna see little girls get killed so horrid, be my guess and play this game, but for me, it was far to gross, and yes i agree with Rick, because far too much Sick ##it come out ofThis game was stupid and boring, the only thing that had any interest was the cut scenes, which was by far the sickest i have ever seen, thus far. Look there is horror and then theres sick, if people like Robby wanna see little girls get killed so horrid, be my guess and play this game, but for me, it was far to gross, and yes i agree with Rick, because far too much Sick ##it come out of Japan, case in point would be alot of animes(hentai), which almost Pray on child porn.. So yes manhunt is violent, so is GTA, and Alot of games for ps2, but show me anything that is produce in Usa that shows disturbing conduct of children in this Nature and is sold.
    Next time understand not everyone tolerates garbage like this. I read from a videogame mag, that the guy who made this game was heavy into bondage movies and teens, and made a few him self. I also heard the guy who created the game died,Best news i got of of this game!
    Expand
  9. ZachH.
    Aug 5, 2005
    8
    I thought the game was freakin awesome. The Cutscenes were incredibly well designed and this is the only game that ever made me jump and turn off the system. All these people are like its stupid to watch lil kids get killed, but does this mean its ok to watch adults get killed? I think of it as the same thing. The whole game from beginning to end leaves your heart pumping. I gave it an 8 I thought the game was freakin awesome. The Cutscenes were incredibly well designed and this is the only game that ever made me jump and turn off the system. All these people are like its stupid to watch lil kids get killed, but does this mean its ok to watch adults get killed? I think of it as the same thing. The whole game from beginning to end leaves your heart pumping. I gave it an 8 though because I couldn't finish this game without a strategy guide, id rather not be lost while a 10 foot monster with a sledgehammer is chasing me around. Plus the British girl in the skirt was damn hot lol, well i thought so anyway. Bottom Line: The whole game is awesome except for the fact the game is so damn confusing, and sometimes u dont know where u r going. Expand
  10. Emil
    Feb 3, 2006
    8
    Okay Rick, I'm gonna need you to shut up now. Stop judging the game based solely on your own moral codes and look to the aspects of the game instead. It IS a horror game, it is SUPOOSED to be horrifying. And just what the heck does 9/11 has to do with the game? Maybe you should stick to the boardgames?
  11. etown
    Jun 5, 2006
    8
    Hey dave, there have been far worse cases IN REALITY than that of being described of in this game. and happened long before the game as well. and if you dont know any, just seach Serial Killers in the United states. yeah thats right, good ol' US of A. for shit sakes man, its just an animated video game, for all the homocidal maniacs that have been from the states... i'd beHey dave, there have been far worse cases IN REALITY than that of being described of in this game. and happened long before the game as well. and if you dont know any, just seach Serial Killers in the United states. yeah thats right, good ol' US of A. for shit sakes man, its just an animated video game, for all the homocidal maniacs that have been from the states... i'd be worried more about who my neighbor is that some animated cut scenes. its just make believe... to get your nerves going and to get people , like you, all worked up.
    clock tower rules
    Collapse
  12. LisaM.
    Sep 8, 2007
    7
    Very scary game, but not the best survival horror. The stalkers are on to you all the time, leaving almost no time for thinking. Should have been less run-and-hide more puzzle.
  13. AndrewL.
    Mar 17, 2003
    7
    Based on jap version: Great game in a way great voice acting guess it be the same for usa version, great way of running away from killer, reminds me of the redsident evil nemisis but combat is not very good in which you use holy water to fight, and mainly you just run. You fight the killer near end of stage with a crossbow. Puzzles to sovle etc. The cutscenes are great. The maojr letdown Based on jap version: Great game in a way great voice acting guess it be the same for usa version, great way of running away from killer, reminds me of the redsident evil nemisis but combat is not very good in which you use holy water to fight, and mainly you just run. You fight the killer near end of stage with a crossbow. Puzzles to sovle etc. The cutscenes are great. The maojr letdown in the game is replay. The game takes bout 4 to 5 hours to beat. Once done you get like a gallery, and a key for alternate costumes, also playing second time, the bosses have different weapons thats it really. If completed again, no more save file after. So only take bout few days to complete, so it's a rent and a must play for me. Expand
  14. Frosto
    May 14, 2003
    10
    This game is the best game of the clock tower series.The cutscenes are awesome and just everything else is awesome 2.The only bad thing about this game is that its only 6 hours long.I SAY THIS GAME IS A MUST BUY.
  15. EdR.
    May 20, 2003
    4
    It's beat! the panic meter kills the game--whenever something exciting is happening, you have to "run" away. The scariest part of the game is how stale it feels.
  16. MikeB.
    May 20, 2003
    10
    I think that half those critics need fired. This is one of the funniest games for the Genre. It sure beats the hell out of Diablo2 after you play it for 2 years because nothing else is funner. I recommend this game to any person that does or doesn't have a life. get out of your cuboard and play it there is NOTHING better.
  17. GamesMaster
    Jul 15, 2003
    10
    I have it and basically no words can describe what I see and play. All the bosses are original and beutifully detailed. so I rate this 10 out of 10.
  18. KennethL.
    Jan 21, 2005
    9
    I think this is a good game and would recamend it to every one who would like to get the s**t scared out of them. this is a good game. and i no my games . im only 13 and all the games my parents get me 1-4 disk games.... i've beatin. iv beatin ALL the final fantasy games and clocktower 3 is 1 of the most scariest & hardest games since my final fantasy games. soo that is y i rated it a 9.
  19. AnsonG.
    Jul 11, 2006
    1
    This game is totally garbage. I would expect more about this game more scary but too much gross and very confusing. What is so nice to see those girls was brutally killed? Ouch, it was so annoying and disturbing. Go buy Haunting Ground. It will much better for u.
  20. Mr.Python
    May 19, 2003
    10
    Yo if anybody loves this game as much as i do email me at bgall66@earthlink.net! THIS GAME IS AWSOME! I THOUGHT GTA WAS GOOD UNTIL I PLAYED THIS!
  21. RobbyDigital
    Feb 22, 2004
    6
    Capcom's eerie cutscenes make the game well worth its M rating, but if you are apalled by the violent nature of video games these days, don't bother blaming Japan. Your kids are more than likely bigger fans of Manhunt ...which was developed right here in the good 'ole USA. Unlike Manhunt, Clock Tower 3 isn't worth buying. Its length is best suited for your Blockbuster Capcom's eerie cutscenes make the game well worth its M rating, but if you are apalled by the violent nature of video games these days, don't bother blaming Japan. Your kids are more than likely bigger fans of Manhunt ...which was developed right here in the good 'ole USA. Unlike Manhunt, Clock Tower 3 isn't worth buying. Its length is best suited for your Blockbuster card rather than your Visa. Expand
  22. TieraS.
    Dec 23, 2005
    10
    Scared the crap outta me and my friends. Me and my sister playin it by ourselves certain parts made us scream and run away. Scares us so much we have yet to finish the game. Haunts my dreams.
  23. Dec 19, 2011
    10
    With a captivating story, gameplay, and well thought out races/enemies, Clock Tower 3 offer what I would call a hard to put down game, in my experience this game gave me much enjoyment and scares that most horror games offer little, their are good horror games but this one took the cake.
  24. ERB
    Jul 30, 2013
    8
    Scary game.One of the scariest or creepiest game I have ever played.But still I like this game and I don't get it why this game is underrated.It deserves at least a score of 80 from the critics.
Metascore
69

Mixed or average reviews - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 28
  2. Negative: 2 out of 28
  1. The graphic violence is shocking. The story is captivating and the disturbing scenes are sure to make even hardcore gamers a little queasy.
  2. It utterly breaks the subdued mold of the series.
  3. As an experience of mood and horror - the villain delivers scenes of shocking violence - CT III works. [May 2003, p.62]