Cold Fear PlayStation 2

  • Publisher: Ubisoft
  • Release Date: Mar 15, 2005
  • Also On: PC
User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 27 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 27
  2. Negative: 3 out of 27
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. GooreW.
    Apr 5, 2005
    10
    It is not horror anymore it is the most atmospheric shooting game on PS2 !
  2. GeorgesD.
    Apr 5, 2005
    10
    Excellent Game!
  3. JeffA.
    Jun 3, 2005
    10
    The atmosphere is amazing. You are at sea on a ship that rolling in the waves with rain pouring down. Think of it as A Perfect Storm meets Resident Evil. The graphics, sound, controls, weapons and gameplay are top notch. This is a must have game if you are into survival horror games. 1010. Take a few breaks during the game if it makes you seasick. The games makes you believe you are on a The atmosphere is amazing. You are at sea on a ship that rolling in the waves with rain pouring down. Think of it as A Perfect Storm meets Resident Evil. The graphics, sound, controls, weapons and gameplay are top notch. This is a must have game if you are into survival horror games. 1010. Take a few breaks during the game if it makes you seasick. The games makes you believe you are on a ship at sea in story weather with lots of zombies. The game totally immerses you. Expand
  4. SanchezC.
    Nov 3, 2005
    10
    Sweet.
  5. BrianS.
    Mar 20, 2005
    9
    I think this game is fantastic! Many people will compair it to resident evil, but the controls really couldn't be more different. When you're in the over-the-shoulder view it plays just like a first person shooter. You can move while you shoot! The normal view plays similar to RE: Outbreak, but this is mostly for exploration. Another new idea here is that you have to shoot them I think this game is fantastic! Many people will compair it to resident evil, but the controls really couldn't be more different. When you're in the over-the-shoulder view it plays just like a first person shooter. You can move while you shoot! The normal view plays similar to RE: Outbreak, but this is mostly for exploration. Another new idea here is that you have to shoot them in the head. Sure, we've all seen it in movies, but I can't think of another zombie game where that's the only way to kill them. You can shoot these zombies 30 times and they they'll keep getting back up until you land a head shot. The game makes this extra difficult by putting you on a derelict ship caught in a storm. Your aim sways back and forth as the zombies come towards you and it's very realisticly accomplished. I seriously get a touch of sea sickness! This game is like resident evil with excellent combat for a change. The only downsides to this game would be that I've heard it's rather short and that there is a few seconds load time between major rooms. Nothing too serious, just enough time for me to finally take a sip of my drink or take a drag on a much needed cigarette before unloading a clip into some more rotted corpses in a dimly lit hallway. If you like shooting zombies, this game has a lot of innovation for the genre! Expand
  6. ScottG.
    Mar 14, 2005
    9
    Great game.
  7. JimmyD.
    Mar 14, 2005
    8
    Besides the regular camera short comings, this title would best be described as a combination of titles such as Silent Hill, Suffering, Resident Evil...gory,fun,and keeps you wanting to find out what is going to happen next...solid effort.
  8. JoelP.
    Mar 18, 2005
    8
    In respects to Classics like Resident Evil and Silent Hill. I rated this title a 8 just because the genre needs new material and efforts such as this one are really appreciated. But then again Survival Horror games are a big part of my gaming collection.
Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 39
  2. Negative: 1 out of 39
  1. Edge Magazine
    60
    Taken in isolation, there’s no denying Cold Fear’s panache - RenderWare has rarely been used to such strong visual effect - and there is a fair helping of survival horror entertainment to be had here, it’s just that you have to dig through several layers of frustration to get at it. [Apr 2005, p.96]
  2. There are some good ideas here, but the game is more frustrating than frightening.
  3. I enjoyed Cold Fear for what it was – an average thriller with some above average story-telling and terrific use of atmosphere.