• Publisher: Konami
  • Release Date: Mar 23, 2004
Metascore
53

Mixed or average reviews - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 28
  2. Negative: 10 out of 28
  1. One of the best-looking games on the Playstation 2, Cy Girls' character models are absolutely gorgeous, as are the game's levels. [May 2004, p.11]
  2. Cy Girls has more than a few new tricks up its sleeve, adopting a "Matrix"-style "Some rules can be bent; others can be broken" philosophy. [Apr 2004, p.28]
  3. The excitement sometimes flags, but with combatants this bootylicious, who cares? [19 Mar 2004, p.L2T 14]
  4. 70
    Slick targeting systems let you lock onto enemies and blast away from every angle: Hug walls, perform evasive maneuvers and slide across the floor all while emptying your guns on your foes.
  5. The epitome of a solid game: smooth engine, well-balanced gameplay, slick interface...My only real problem with the game is the amount of backtracking involved. [Mar 2004, p.59]
  6. This pair of butt-bashing bints may be big in Japan, but we don't see the game taking off here. Some nice touches, but we've seen it all already.
  7. Note to Japanese game designers – when you kill somebody they had better stay dead unless you give me a real good reason why they keep coming back. Clones, holograms, “beaming” in from remote barracks, anything!
  8. Playing through Cy Girls is straight-up torturous at times. It's as if the level designers threw dice to figure out the flow of certain stages. [Apr 2004, p.84]
  9. A sloppily produced tedious affair with little going for it other than the fact that it had the potential to be good.
  10. Even backed by "Metal Gear Solid 2" technology, Cy Girls' long stretch of frustrating puzzles will leave players feeling more blonde than Bond.
  11. If Cy Girls had stronger gameplay to support the story, or a more compelling story to support the "backtrack and wander aimlessly" puzzle solving, Konami may have had a sleeper hit.
  12. 58
    The big problems are the cut and paste nature of the gameplay, the endless backtracking and the long, tedious puzzles.
  13. No matter who you play as, the near constant, incredibly frustrating puzzles paralyze the otherwise decent gameplay. [Apr 2004, p.122]
  14. Whatever minimal amount of sleekness the game has to offer is completely overshadowed by unimpressive graphics and sound, sloppy combat mechanics, and an almost nonstop assailment of long, boring, and mind-numbingly frustrating puzzles.
  15. Tedious puzzles, monotonous action and some of the worst English voice-overs ever committed to DVD-ROM sink into oblivion what little chance Cy Girls had to impress an American audience not exposed to the original TV show that inspired its creation.
  16. 50
    It's sort of like "Charlie's Angels" meets "The Matrix" - with all the derivative plot lines that implies. [Apr 2004, p.38]
  17. The puzzle aspects of Cy Girls is about as fun as watching the cheese-creation process. [Apr 2004, p.99]
  18. Cy Girls is in desperate need of a makeover; even an entire facelift. The gameplay is short on original ideas and even the generic elements that it does use are shallow and repetitious - like a lot of good looking girls I know.
  19. Sluggish, unresponsive, and slow. Luckily, all you got to do to win is constantly hammer on the “shoot” button.
  20. 41
    The game is large and the dedicated gamer will be kept busy for quite a while but I personally cannot imagine why on earth anyone would chose to subject themselves to such an undertaking. With so many superior games on the market there is no obviously legitimate reason to recommend Cy Girls.
  21. Remember the time when we were playing Cy Girls and we had to backtrack to the bathroom in an earlier part of a level to get to the controls of a robotic vacuum cleaner so we could open that door? That was awesome! [Mar 2004, p.107]
  22. 40
    Even given how solid Cy Girls combat elements are, the shoddy level design really makes it more frustrating to play than anything else. If you're going to play it, we recommend using a walkthrough.
  23. It is one of the most superficial Playstation2 titles we've seen in ages.
  24. The game is so simple and repetitive that it's like watching TV. It requires no brainpower at all and will lull you with the ease of play.
  25. 40
    You would have to be an insanely devoted fan of the action-figure line from which the characters originate and a fan of repetitive level exploration to gain any type of enjoyment from Cy Girls. [Apr 2004, p.74]
  26. There is some great action to be had, it just happens so sparingly it’s not worth the effort of fetching like my golden retriever.
  27. Cy-Girls may pretend to offer a path through interesting virtual worlds, but delivers nothing like that. The choice to play as Aska or Ice, or both, is just like having to choose being punched in the face or in the gut. Or both.
  28. Feels like a total waste of time, and if we had any white boots right now we'd ram our studs through its rubbish cover so it could never bother us again.
User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 4 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 3
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 3
  3. Negative: 0 out of 3
  1. VAYA
    Oct 24, 2006
    9
    It's amazing and very interesting!
  2. Vik
    Jan 3, 2005
    8
    Some hard in the puzzles, but the engine is very good.
  3. ALB.
    Apr 13, 2004
    8
    It's like playing MGsolid 2, killswitch and dead to rights all in one game.