Darkwatch PlayStation 2

  • Publisher: Capcom
  • Release Date: Aug 16, 2005
Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 37
  2. Negative: 1 out of 37
Buy On
  1. 76
    A solid first-person shooter that does the genre justice, but it's less than strong presentation elements and disappointing single-player adventure keeps it from living up to its true potential. Luckily the game controls like a breeze.
  2. If you're looking for an intense shooter experience, Darkwatch will not disappoint, offering crisp gameplay, an excellent presentation, and a varied campaign.
  3. This game should have been a 90! But weak plot pacing and that feeling that something is missing kept it from being so. Still, it is a ton of fun to play and still sitting in my console.
  4. Game Informer
    85
    In terms of gameplay quality, this may be another middle-of-the-road shooter, but the unique premise sets it aside from everything else out there. [Sept 2005, p.94]
  5. Just about every aspect of Darkwatch is cool. The environments are cool, the weapons are cool, the characters are cool and while the gameplay is not unique it's definitely one of the best first-person shooters on the Xbox and PS2. The controls alone are worth the price of admission.
  6. 80
    A truly remarkable experience. And, while the game itself may not have broken any new ground, the world it introduces more than makes up for that. It will leave gamers hungry for more.
  7. It's a fun, fast-paced game with enough eye candy to entertain the undead-killing gunslinger that lives deep inside all of us.
  8. A generic and quickly tiresome shooter, with a contrived premise which, unfortunately, does nothing to elevate it.
  9. It’s got its share of issues, but they’re something you don’t have much time to think about between waves of hostile undead. I’d recommend it to any console owner who enjoys a good FPS.
  10. 80
    Darkwatch mixes its Western Roots with gothic horror and steampunk aesthetics, and the results are uniquely engaging...Just darned good fun while it lasts. [Sept 2005, p.64]
  11. Neither multiplayer scheme makes or breaks the game because the single-player is better than both of them, offering a fast-paced, good-looking first-person fragfest for either system.
  12. games(TM)
    60
    The real joy of Darkwatch, however, is its simplicity. It's a pure, no-nonsense shooter, entirely focused on allowing the player to dispose of innumerable undead in ever more amusing ways. [Dec 2005, p.115]
  13. Edge Magazine
    50
    Nearly all enemy behaviour consists of direct charges, calling on the butt of your gun as frequently as its barrel. While it’s undeniably intense, it soon becomes apparent that this intensity is the only string on the designers’ banjo, plucked with increasingly feverish rapidity instead of ever-changing chords. [Nov 2005, p.105]
  14. About the sharpest criticism that can be leveled at Darkwatch is that it really adds nothing original in the gameplay department. Aside from its extremely well executed western/horror environment, Darkwatch is a pretty generic FPS game with a weaker multiplayer mode.
  15. The run and gun gameplay and unique storyline delivers, even if only for a short while.
  16. AceGamez
    70
    The ever changing campaign, which goes from gunplay to horseback and even skeleton crushing buggies, does a good job of offering new experiences to keep the gameplay fresh, which definitely makes Darkwatch one to spend some time with during the next gaming drought.
  17. Play Magazine
    90
    Quotation forthcoming. [Aug 2005]
  18. Playing good or evil has little effect on the loopy story; although the game kept me entertained, I didn't feel the need to replay for the alternate ending.
  19. Pelit (Finland)
    82
    A decent shooter with a vampire-western theme. More Sergio Leone and "Halo," less "Serious Sam" and techno-steam-punk-funk, and it would have been even better. [Oct 2005]
  20. 80
    Stylish, solid, and unique... and on the upper difficulty levels, it's hard as hell. It gives a gothic boost to the first-person shooter genre, and a definite shot in the arm to the criminally underrepresented western video game.
  21. 65
    Darkwatch gives vampires, undead, cowboys and plenty of bullets to fire. But that's about it. Otherwise, Darkwatch is a fairly standard affair that's worth a rental.
  22. This could have been a great original title, but instead it's a waste of shelf space with just one redeeming feature: it only takes around five hours to beat.
  23. The multiplayer co-op mode is nothing to write home about, and the adversarial split-screen is nothing short of totally pointless.
  24. Despite the outlandish setting and undoubted promise, what survives is just an average first-person adventure without bite.
  25. Darkwatch doesn't amount to much more than your run-of-the mill first-person shooter. [Sept 2005, p.91]
  26. The Campaign won't last long, and the multiplayer modes can be played in any first-person shooter; a short-lived title if it's not careful.
  27. Computer Games Magazine
    50
    Quotation forthcoming. [Nov 2005]
  28. PSM Magazine
    80
    Solid and polished enough to please most enthusiasts and supernatural violence. The plot is nearly D.O.A., but we can forgive it. This game is fun. [Sept 2005, p.74]
  29. It’s a wonderful and unique experience that really shows a lot of polish.
  30. I really liked the theme of the game, and the controls are almost perfect. The game does so many things right, but it does lack a deep story.
  31. There's tons of potential here, but it's mired by a lack of variety, pacing that charges through important bits, and a lack of distinct personalities or identifiable characters. It's decent, but what's there wasn't used nearly well enough.
  32. For anyone looking for something a little different out of their First Person Shooter experience, Darkwatch is that game.
  33. The use of the Havok physics engine, however, is almost as much fun to play with as Psi-Ops. I really do enjoy blowing a shotgun hole right through a bandito’s shoulder.
  34. Official Playstation 2 Magazine UK
    80
    Darkwatch has a few neat ideas but wins us over by doing solid shooting well. Fast-paced with cool guns, what's not to like? [Nov 2005, p.120]
  35. Fighting an army of the undead with a six-shooter is rather challenging, but the game has smooth controls and sharp-edged firearms that allow you to get your gunsu on.
  36. 85
    The game's nutty narrative would baffle Roger Corman, but the six-shootin' gameplay would make even Yosemite Sam giddy.
  37. While its multiplayer might leave something to be desired, its single player hits its mark.

Awards & Rankings

#63 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2005
#40 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2005
User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 39 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. Sep 14, 2016
    7
    Currently Im going back and checking out ps2 games that may still hold up today (2016). I think I played about half of this game then put itCurrently Im going back and checking out ps2 games that may still hold up today (2016). I think I played about half of this game then put it down and Im not sure what happened but I sold it even though I thought it was pretty decent. Something about this game just didn't appeal to me as a keeper. The graphics seemed decent, the gameplay was not too bad, the game was glitch free and the theme seemed ok. The chapters seemed the right length, and there was enough player choice. So, I'm not sure why i sold the game but something seemed missing somehow. It is just possible there are too many shooter games that Ive played and although solid this game somehow didn't elevate itself to my likings for whatever reason. But still I would recommend this game it was decent and clean and I can't honestly define what it is about it that didn't catch with me so i have no hesitation saying this game deserves a go even today. Full Review »
  2. ColeH.
    Jul 10, 2007
    8
    It is a great game to play I love how Jerico slauters the zombies and punishes teh EVIL!!! It is a very good game and It is definatly one of It is a great game to play I love how Jerico slauters the zombies and punishes teh EVIL!!! It is a very good game and It is definatly one of my favorite game to play. Full Review »
  3. Anonymous
    Apr 30, 2007
    10
    Vampires...cowboys...hmmmmm.