User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 40 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 40
  2. Negative: 1 out of 40

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. DDRFREEK
    Feb 13, 2003
    10
    man........ i can't beleiuve i gave it a ten...... it deserves 786, not enough room though. 3 words RHYTHM AND POLICE! 2 more MY GENERATION 2 more PARaNOiA MAX 2 more PARANOiA Evolution ( the "i" lower case intentionally lol)
  2. TomG.
    Mar 6, 2003
    10
    This game is absolutely fantastic! It is so much fun! Go and buy it!
  3. Lazer
    Mar 2, 2004
    10
    This game is awesome~!
  4. KyleB.
    Oct 15, 2002
    10
    DDR is the S#@&
  5. SailorStarfire
    Dec 27, 2002
    10
    I've been a fan of both the Japanese and US releases of DDR for quite some time now, and I have to say, this is by far my favorite. There are a ton of songs, and I LOVE the freeze arrows they've added - it adds a whole new dimension to the game! Must buy if you loved the first DDR games!
  6. The7thDragon
    Dec 30, 2002
    10
    OMG i jus bought this game and fell in love with it i played for like 8 hours strait because i was hooked. My calves were burning like hell im tryin 2 get into shape but omg its addicting. I played the earlyer ones a while ago and now i got this one and i suck agian so its like learning a great game over agian which i dont mind if it this good. 65+songs will keep me occupided for quite OMG i jus bought this game and fell in love with it i played for like 8 hours strait because i was hooked. My calves were burning like hell im tryin 2 get into shape but omg its addicting. I played the earlyer ones a while ago and now i got this one and i suck agian so its like learning a great game over agian which i dont mind if it this good. 65+songs will keep me occupided for quite some time and the oni mode thingy. Expand
  7. RaginMom
    Dec 9, 2002
    10
    I bought DDRMax for my kids, but while they are at school, I call my sister over for the funnest workout ever!
  8. ChibiJ.
    Jan 13, 2003
    10
    This is truly a great game. The new game play is nice, the steps are good and the music is great ^^ Keep up the good work Konami!
  9. HenryR.
    Jan 17, 2003
    10
    The game is like Ecstasy a drug you wana keep playin and playin wait till the 6th mix and the 7th mix comes out for playstation 2 the charts will be soo high!!
  10. B.Thompson
    Oct 17, 2003
    10
    This game is my big time banner in this world! The only thing I could possibly love more than this is relatives, friends, and family. And since this game totally rocks. I am going to give you an ideal look at my 3 favorite song. #3 is the mega trance hit "Dark Black Forest (Short Trip)", #2 is the monster rock favorite "I Like To Move It", and #1 comes down on the international monster This game is my big time banner in this world! The only thing I could possibly love more than this is relatives, friends, and family. And since this game totally rocks. I am going to give you an ideal look at my 3 favorite song. #3 is the mega trance hit "Dark Black Forest (Short Trip)", #2 is the monster rock favorite "I Like To Move It", and #1 comes down on the international monster club hit, "Stomp To My Beat". Collapse
  11. CrisJ.
    Feb 11, 2003
    10
    This is a kick major ass game!
  12. CaseyS.
    Feb 8, 2003
    10
    I love this game!
  13. BryanT.
    Feb 9, 2003
    10
    The best game ever
  14. DDRFreeze
    Mar 11, 2003
    10
    Always pick sandstorm and peace out exiotic ethnic is sweet too.
  15. DuncanS.
    Jul 25, 2003
    10
    This is the greatest game ever made! You get to burn calories, get more coordinated with your feet, and listen to cool music all at once! I bought this game on Febuary 16, 2003, and have loved it since. All my friends have it too. This version is an edited version of the arcade version of DDR: MAX (6th mix). The only down sides this would possibly have, would be that is is a littly pricy This is the greatest game ever made! You get to burn calories, get more coordinated with your feet, and listen to cool music all at once! I bought this game on Febuary 16, 2003, and have loved it since. All my friends have it too. This version is an edited version of the arcade version of DDR: MAX (6th mix). The only down sides this would possibly have, would be that is is a littly pricy (about $150 if u are really into it, and about $64 if your new.) and that its hard to learn when you start. But those dont matter once your showing off your skills in the arcades now wil it? Expand
  16. JayN.
    Nov 21, 2002
    10
    DDRMAX (DDR 4) is the best installment ever seen. Why? I'm not answering why. All because I love the 71 song soundtrack. The best songs are from JS16, Darude (Sandstorm is my best song), Reel 2 Real, Even Aurora. My best songs (Vol. 4, Kakumei, and Starian) are still not there in this mix. Man that whomps! Still it's a great mix for this christmas. And I Hope the next DDR for DDRMAX (DDR 4) is the best installment ever seen. Why? I'm not answering why. All because I love the 71 song soundtrack. The best songs are from JS16, Darude (Sandstorm is my best song), Reel 2 Real, Even Aurora. My best songs (Vol. 4, Kakumei, and Starian) are still not there in this mix. Man that whomps! Still it's a great mix for this christmas. And I Hope the next DDR for Playstation 2 will be 400+ songs big. Buy this game if you have $40. Expand
  17. FlameSniper
    Nov 25, 2002
    9
    I can see tomorrow in your dance, we can call it our hope! If you like music and have both feets available then get down and bust a groove...hm..no that was something else...anyway, this makes you feel better in life. Get yourself a dancemat and that game. Play it against friends!!!! CHALLENGING!!!
  18. VGBoards
    Dec 2, 2002
    9
    The best home version yet, this will keep you busy for hours unlocking songs, though it is missing few of the arcade populars, every DDR fan should have this. It's also a great game for people just starting DDR.
  19. QuickStep
    Dec 3, 2002
    10
    DDRmax rocks. now i can practice my skills at home so i dont look like an @$$ at the arcade. Graphics arent the best, but who can see em when youre looking at the arrows? Im losin weight and havin fun. if only there were hundreds of songs. im not bored with the ones ive got, i just dont want to ever run out. hopefully by the time ive mastered these, konami will release a new ddr. there DDRmax rocks. now i can practice my skills at home so i dont look like an @$$ at the arcade. Graphics arent the best, but who can see em when youre looking at the arrows? Im losin weight and havin fun. if only there were hundreds of songs. im not bored with the ones ive got, i just dont want to ever run out. hopefully by the time ive mastered these, konami will release a new ddr. there should be some PANTERA in there too. Expand
  20. MarcusB.
    Mar 11, 2003
    9
    Great but, where are the people dancing in the backround!!!!!!
  21. JumbalumbaDancebeat
    Mar 22, 2003
    10
    I had just played a DDR clone at an arcade, and had frowned upon it at first. WHen I got on I just couldn't stop! I had to go out and get it myself, and what do you know, it's sitting in my living room right now. I played for hours on end and I didn't stop 'till my muscles atrophied.
  22. MaxK.
    Mar 31, 2003
    10
    This game freakin rox, ive been playin for bout a week and so far its fun as hell!
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. If you're a DDR fanatic, there are plenty of songs on here with CRAZY difficulty, heck there's a whole mode that'll give you a heart attack trying to keep up with it. But for a novice player, the easier songs and settings are few and far between.
  2. 100
    It’s a fan’s dream come true.
  3. 93
    Far and away the best DDR compilation available on the home market, and fanatics will find it more than worth the investment.