Def Jam: Fight for NY PlayStation 2

User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 72 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 66 out of 72
  2. Negative: 4 out of 72
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. DarrynM.
    Nov 29, 2004
    1
    Mindless homie crap!!
  2. AdamW.
    Oct 25, 2004
    10
    This game is awesome.
  3. J.Dub
    Oct 20, 2004
    1
    Lousy ... Lousy ... Lousy - what a waste of time and money.
  4. JackM.
    Nov 2, 2004
    10
    Wat a game, its phat da colthes on there are sick, da fighting is sick, jus a sick game.
  5. MoederN.
    Oct 9, 2004
    0
    The game's too easy, and the fighting system too. Normally it takes me months to complete a game, def jam fight for new york took me 2days to complete it. -xxxxxx- to my fans
  6. EricH.
    Sep 21, 2004
    10
    Gritty and intense fighting at its finest! This is one of the closest games to ever come to being like fight club (aka real life fighting) as you can ever get.... It is fast and furious and the pennace of the PSX2's power using the engine at its fullest possible envelope. Anyone who likes fighting games should NOT pass this one up... If you were a fan of the first DefJamV game then Gritty and intense fighting at its finest! This is one of the closest games to ever come to being like fight club (aka real life fighting) as you can ever get.... It is fast and furious and the pennace of the PSX2's power using the engine at its fullest possible envelope. Anyone who likes fighting games should NOT pass this one up... If you were a fan of the first DefJamV game then you MUST own this asap! Expand
  7. KennyH.
    Sep 26, 2004
    8
    Awesome, I really enjoy beating the crap out of rappers!
  8. RickN.
    Jan 24, 2005
    8
    Haven't had this for long, but so far it's a whole load of gangster-pounding fun. One minor problem is that bashing peoples heads against a wall, although it is extremely funny first time, could get a bit repetitive.
  9. EricJ.
    Jan 7, 2005
    9
    The game is a little short, but all in all a very excellent game.
  10. SamM.
    Jun 9, 2005
    10
    This game is great a good story mode lots of fighters cool moves and cool arenas.
  11. joncutter
    Sep 5, 2006
    8
    def jam vendetta & fight for NY! With games like these i aint gotta pack no heat! Come on esse, come at me! Game day punk & your gonna take for the team! Your career ends here! you cant stop me son im gonna dance around you all night! its only a matter of time before you beg for this to end! Your gonna lose your teeth messin' wit me, y'heard! Im the kind thats built to smash youdef jam vendetta & fight for NY! With games like these i aint gotta pack no heat! Come on esse, come at me! Game day punk & your gonna take for the team! Your career ends here! you cant stop me son im gonna dance around you all night! its only a matter of time before you beg for this to end! Your gonna lose your teeth messin' wit me, y'heard! Im the kind thats built to smash you pardner, and ill break your gawd-damn neck! come come now I know you aint serious, your about to get sneeze-smashed! screw the foreplay, lets just do it! save your energy, your going to need it! im gonna rip your tongue out and lick my ass wit it! hey hey hey hey, like this and like that, like this and like this and like that and errr... like this, yeah! My moneyz on me kickin' yo bitch-ass all night long! Great sound track to! Expand
  12. J0nnywilk0
    Nov 20, 2004
    9
    Hey this game is a bit too easy but still its a very good game and there are very good moves but does any1 no how to play 2 player...... if so can u please tell me dam i want to smash all my friends in it.
  13. D.Def
    Oct 13, 2004
    10
    Best!!!
  14. BrianPopa
    Oct 20, 2004
    10
    I've never played Vendetta, but this is easily the most fun I've had playing a fighting game in a long time. I would recommend it to wrestling and hip hop fans alike.
  15. VashS.
    Oct 4, 2004
    10
    The best fighting game ever.
  16. TreyR.
    Oct 4, 2004
    10
    Best game I`ve ever played in my life,Great graphics,violence,blood what else can you ask for.
  17. Reaudjerome
    Sep 7, 2004
    10
    That's a perfect game. that's a great idea integrate rappers as fighter the first one was great but the new one is better more powerfull.. Gotta have it !!
  18. Moomanshooban
    Jun 1, 2005
    10
    This is the best game ever. They should make more like this 1 yo.
  19. VijjermanJ.
    Jul 3, 2005
    10
    This game makes every other fighting game look like a piece o sh..
  20. JosephS.
    Jun 16, 2004
    10
    It is off tha chain !
  21. RyanV.
    Sep 26, 2004
    10
    Great graphics and production. Overall a really great game.
  22. KyleK.
    Jan 19, 2006
    10
    this is great. really fun and enjoyable. only one frustrating fight in the whole game and that is the tag team with you and blaze against crack and ludacris. knocking people out with a cro bar or broom or cue is really funny. great multiplayer. story is more fun than the first def jam. 10/10.
  23. JGP.
    Nov 14, 2004
    8
    Very good keeps you playing for a long time but there isnt enough moves for each character and th're all too samey.
  24. HerbertJ.
    Nov 28, 2004
    10
    The most realistic advanced story line ive experienced in gaming. I thought doa 3 was a realistic looking game as far as animation, this hands doa its ass.
  25. JoeB.
    Dec 11, 2004
    10
    It's the bomb.
  26. ForFyveSicksAllen
    Dec 14, 2004
    10
    This is the best game ive played in years. Hot music, Hot girls, Hot Celebs, Hot fighting styles, an all around HOT GAME.
  27. TAYLORP.
    Dec 31, 2004
    10
    This game has great graphics.It is one of the best games i've played.I have beat story mode five times.I also have a question about story mode at the end does your girlfriend die of smoke inhalation from the fire or is she just KO?That's all.
  28. Liz
    Dec 31, 2005
    10
    This game is off the chain! It is the Best game made since GTA: Vice City & San Andreas. The songs of the soundtrack were very wise choices and fit game very well. I am proud of the makers and am waiting for the next Def Jam. Thanx!
  29. Dec 15, 2013
    8
    I think that this game is very good! lots of things to do, I used to play this game alot when I was younger and the game was more playable, as in I played with my brother all the time, now we don't play it together anymore, Although, I have been playing it for awhile today. I just like to fight people in this game and earn cash and then buy things. the only problem is that I can't earnI think that this game is very good! lots of things to do, I used to play this game alot when I was younger and the game was more playable, as in I played with my brother all the time, now we don't play it together anymore, Although, I have been playing it for awhile today. I just like to fight people in this game and earn cash and then buy things. the only problem is that I can't earn anymore points to upgrade my stats for my character, but no worries it's almost full anyways. Expand
  30. Jan 13, 2014
    10
    Awesome Game you will never get bored!!!!!!!!!!!!!This game is awesome.
    Def jam vendetta & fight for NY! With games like these i aint gotta pack no heat! Come on esse, come at me! Game day punk & your gonna take for the team! Your career ends here! you cant stop me son im gonna dance around you all night! its only a matter of time before you beg for this to end!
  31. Mar 18, 2014
    10
    On par with Tekken 4, absolutely fantastic game, great story that doesn't necessarily follow on from Vendetta, customisation is brilliant and overall the best fighting game I've ever played... Sorry Tekken
  32. May 19, 2015
    9
    Def Jam: Fight for NY, is when a bunch of artist are street fighters. They fight in 5 fighting styles.
    Martial Arts
    Street Fighting Wrestling Kick-Boxing Submissionist You can use weapons, the enviorment to your adventage, and the crowd can help you. There are so many Characters, and Venues, to unlock and to choose from. This was defintinly an upgrade from Vendetta. The story takes
    Def Jam: Fight for NY, is when a bunch of artist are street fighters. They fight in 5 fighting styles.
    Martial Arts
    Street Fighting
    Wrestling
    Kick-Boxing
    Submissionist
    You can use weapons, the enviorment to your adventage, and the crowd can help you. There are so many Characters, and Venues, to unlock and to choose from.
    This was defintinly an upgrade from Vendetta. The story takes place after, D-mob gets arrested. You rescue him, and you start fighting for him. However, after a while the storyline doesn't really pick off from where you left off in Vendetta. You have to help take over clubs, by fighting Crow's men. (Snoop Dog) The character customizations is great. You can choose you're fighting style, wear some amazing clothes and jewlery, make character look different, get tatoos, and hair cuts. Better blazing moves
    Expand
  33. Nov 29, 2014
    10
    One of the GREATEST fighting games of all time! Full of awesome blazin moves, hip-hop and celebrity fighters, Def Jam FFNY shows great fun! Not very great on the story though.

Awards & Rankings

#24 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2004
#20 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2004
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 46 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 46
  2. Negative: 0 out of 46
  1. The gameplay is marred by the unforgiving AI that brutally destroys you whenever you gain just the slightest advantage. With that being said, Def Jam is at times more stressful than fun to play.
  2. 90
    As far as sequels go, Fight for NY is to "Vendetta" what "The Empire Strikes Back" was to "Star Wars."
  3. The fact that it's got the deepest story ever seen in a fighter simply adds to the realistic feel of the brutal combat within.