Def Jam Vendetta PlayStation 2

User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 38 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 38
  2. Negative: 3 out of 38
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 1, 2016
    8
    One of the best fighting games of all time and one of the best fighting games on PS2 . Normal Graphics , many submissions and grapples and strikes . Awesome characters and enemies . This is wrestling game . Def Jam Vendetta even better than WWE SmackDown Here Comes The Pain . 8/10
  2. Aug 12, 2010
    9
    I remember when I first started to play videogames, thiswas one of the first games that I ever played, and I have to say, it is one of the most entertaining fighting games ever to come out for the PS2.
  3. [Anonymous]
    Mar 30, 2003
    10
    In the name of the street !!! Great music, great playabe characters, great grafix, great wrestling engine, GREAT GAME !!! This is absolutly a must-have.
  4. DavidP.
    Mar 20, 2003
    8
    I played the demo at the mall a couple of days ago and I gotta admit, it was addictive. I thought it was going to be corny, but the rap thing really works. A likely addition to my PS2 collection.
  5. RACINO
    May 26, 2003
    10
    THIS GAME IS THE SH*T. Even if u dont like wrestlin games theres so many characters with different fightin styles ule find ureself luvin it in no time. Theres nuthin like piss*in on ure mates in a 3-1 handikap by kickin dem 50 ft into tha air. If nething tha finishin moves make tha game. Get to BLAZIN and ure likely to break da arms, necks and balls of ure opponent with tha touch of a THIS GAME IS THE SH*T. Even if u dont like wrestlin games theres so many characters with different fightin styles ule find ureself luvin it in no time. Theres nuthin like piss*in on ure mates in a 3-1 handikap by kickin dem 50 ft into tha air. If nething tha finishin moves make tha game. Get to BLAZIN and ure likely to break da arms, necks and balls of ure opponent with tha touch of a button! This is truly incredible and i aint even mentioned the graphics and soundtrack. Expand
  6. EricD.
    Mar 20, 2003
    8
    I played the demo 2 and all i have 2 say is why isnt there vendetta for xbox?!?!?!
  7. SnoopDoggydog
    Apr 17, 2003
    10
    Two words. The Best!!!!!!!!!!
  8. AlexD.
    Apr 30, 2003
    10
    This Game is so cool.
  9. HeHeMichealJackson
    May 9, 2003
    10
    Quality.
  10. JakeD.
    Jan 4, 2005
    10
    This game friging roxxx.
  11. DoggChild
    Mar 19, 2003
    10
    The best wrestling game from anyone... WWE WHO?!?!
  12. PercyP.
    Mar 25, 2003
    9
    I?ve been playing the demo and reading the reviews on DJV and now I'm really jonezing for it. I'm still all about No Mercy for the N64 and Def Jam looks like it'll give me the same kind of endless violent love. I?ll be the first in line to buy it.
  13. ScottM.
    Mar 28, 2003
    10
    This game looks so tight! I can't wait to bust heads with my friends.
  14. JoMacR.
    Mar 29, 2003
    10
    Yo SON, This game is off the heezie fo sheezie ya feel me, dog! Im buyin this joint on the first day it comes out, HOLLA back youngin, pop yo coller. HERE COMES APRIL 1ST. WORD
  15. CalebM.
    Apr 13, 2003
    10
    it is da bomb forsizzle.
  16. JoeS.
    Apr 17, 2003
    10
    this game is the best game i ever played in a long time.
  17. TysonM.
    Apr 8, 2003
    8
    Hits: - quick, smooth, addictive gameplay - dark urban look - dark urban characters - crazy blazin' (finisher) moves - great music (if you like hip hop) - intriging storyline mode misses: - could be more moves per wrestler(WWF No Mercy, which was also made by AKI, was released a few years ago on a weaker system (N64) and yet still manages to have more moves (per wrestler) than thisHits: - quick, smooth, addictive gameplay - dark urban look - dark urban characters - crazy blazin' (finisher) moves - great music (if you like hip hop) - intriging storyline mode misses: - could be more moves per wrestler(WWF No Mercy, which was also made by AKI, was released a few years ago on a weaker system (N64) and yet still manages to have more moves (per wrestler) than this game) - no create-a-wrestler (though it definetly doesnt weaken the game in anyway, having it would definetly be a bonus) - lack of match styles (triple threat, tornado tag, ect...) Expand
  18. RomerS.
    Aug 9, 2003
    10
    I picked 10 cuz this is the hot's game between smackdown5 and raw2 plus wrestle mainia 19.
  19. KyleK.
    Nov 15, 2003
    9
    A good story line with heaps of characters. Great finishing moves with many different styles of fighting. One let down is a good play, and you'll finish it in no time. (Me 2 days)
  20. JeromeW.
    Mar 19, 2003
    10
    The demo is kick ass - Only AKI knows wrestling games... The best there is, and will be!!!
  21. DarrellL.
    Mar 28, 2003
    10
    This game is flat out amazing. Whoever reviewed the game in EW is on crack. The review wasn't even accurate -- I doubt the redneck cracker even played the game at all.
  22. StevenL.
    Apr 22, 2003
    10
    A 10 A f***in 10..
  23. RyanA.
    May 24, 2003
    10
    The Graphics are awsome and the gameplay is to extreme to not like. I Gave It a ten cuz it ROCKS!!

Awards & Rankings

#62 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2003
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 33
  2. Negative: 1 out of 33
  1. Entertainment Weekly
    58
    When all is said and done, Vendetta is an uninspired wrestling title that lacks Def Jam's trademark sheen. [21 Mar 2003, p.120]
  2. Official U.S. Playstation Magazine
    80
    The key to Vendetta's success (I mean, seriously, rappers wrestling?) is that it's fast, fluid, and features an almost perfectly balanced wrestling engine. [Apr 2003, p.86]
  3. This is the first time EA BIG have gotten the mix between style and substance truly wrong. But that's what you get for listening to the marketing department - and not the gamers.