• Publisher: Capcom
  • Release Date: Jan 25, 2003
User Score
6.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 135 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 85 out of 135
  2. Negative: 29 out of 135

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. OrenM.
    Apr 8, 2003
    10
    This game is so fun, I really feel 7 years younger now playing tomb-raid 1, or even more younger playing Quake 1. What doubles the fun is the double adventure of dante and lucia. I already wait for the DMV3...
  2. MarkH.
    Apr 5, 2003
    10
    OK so everyone says this game has a bad story line...And infact that is quite true. But you have to stop comparing this to the first one. The first one was based more upon a storyline game. Which everyone loved. (one of the best games ever) but in Dmc 1 there was alot of roaming without battle. So In dmc2 there giving you less of a story and more action,because in the first one some might OK so everyone says this game has a bad story line...And infact that is quite true. But you have to stop comparing this to the first one. The first one was based more upon a storyline game. Which everyone loved. (one of the best games ever) but in Dmc 1 there was alot of roaming without battle. So In dmc2 there giving you less of a story and more action,because in the first one some might say"oh this is boring not enough action" so dmc 2 is for them. But those who love a great story you have dmc1. You need to understand The differences between the two games. Yes i will agree the 1st was better, but 2 was nothing less than an awsome kick ass game. I hate alot of games. But dmc2 is not one of them. Expand
  3. Chris
    Apr 8, 2003
    10
    In my opinion devil may cry 2 is graphically superb and has much better gameplay,bosses and musical scores then the original. dante is cooler and has much more of a playability factor ten the original with all the new outfits and difficulty settings and also the characters a big thumbs up.
  4. Jonh
    Feb 7, 2005
    10
    This game is very nice but the first devil is better but if you play the devil may cry 1 i think that you'll like this 1.
  5. AssL.
    Feb 26, 2003
    10
    Excellent game.
  6. DrakeD.
    Aug 9, 2005
    10
    What in the f**k are you people thinking? this game is frickin` awesome it deserves a 10!
  7. AkeemG.
    Apr 3, 2008
    10
    The two main reasons why I love Devil May Cry 2 More than part 1 and 3 is because it is the only game in the series that contains massive atmospheric levels to play in and super cool ass kicking acrobatic attacks to combat the enemy with. I also love to play this game because I love to see the way Dante uses his guns,especially when doing the rain storm attack with ebony and ivory (it is The two main reasons why I love Devil May Cry 2 More than part 1 and 3 is because it is the only game in the series that contains massive atmospheric levels to play in and super cool ass kicking acrobatic attacks to combat the enemy with. I also love to play this game because I love to see the way Dante uses his guns,especially when doing the rain storm attack with ebony and ivory (it is ten times more cooler than the Rain Storm attack in part 3). More reasons why I love Devil May cry 2 the most is because the movements of the characters when attacking and evading an enemy are more realistic and cooler than the other Devil May Cry games in my opinion and I also believe that Devil my cry 2 is one of the best games for the play station 2 because it has one of the most intense final boss battles that I I have ever experienced, The Despair Emdodied is the name of the final boss on Dante's Disc and fighting him is truly an exciting experience. Why is it that most of the original games that truly separate themselves from the rest are always receive a low rating from critics. Expand
  8. PhillipR.
    Feb 8, 2003
    10
    Despite whats said above, anyone who loved the first game will certainly enjoy this game as well. I like the first DMC better, but thats just because it wuz the original, both excelent games....sometimes I think the game critics are just a tad too nit picky.
  9. ChadR.
    Apr 16, 2003
    10
    The game play is one of the moset intresting and difficult to master but I'd have to say I'll play it for a long time yet.
  10. MarkL.
    Dec 1, 2003
    9
    I throughly enjoyed this game even so that i have done all the modes.
  11. LeeK.
    Apr 8, 2008
    9
    Graphics are one of the best I've seen. Boss battles are hard and fun. Fighting can be pretty entertaining. Although you have to be good at jumping in order to finish the level. You have to play for quite awhile before you may upgrade your guns or your swords but overall, a well built game.
  12. RobertL.
    Apr 20, 2003
    9
    Being new to Devil may cry, I must say the first game was awsome. A week later I bought DMC2, I love it the action is just as good as the first (though I do miss thumping demons into the air and holding them there) witch is not something easily done in the second game. All in all i feel that I did not waste my money. Who missed Dantes smart mouth?! I beileve thats what made the first one Being new to Devil may cry, I must say the first game was awsome. A week later I bought DMC2, I love it the action is just as good as the first (though I do miss thumping demons into the air and holding them there) witch is not something easily done in the second game. All in all i feel that I did not waste my money. Who missed Dantes smart mouth?! I beileve thats what made the first one so much fun. Expand
  13. Feb 24, 2013
    9
    It may not be as good as the first Devil May Cry, but Devil May Cry 2 is still an awesome game. I had an absolute blast with this game. I loved the soundtrack, the creepy environments, and the cool boss fights. One particular cool feature DMC 2 offers is that it has two different campaigns that tie into each other. One is the Dante campaign and the other gives us a new character to play asIt may not be as good as the first Devil May Cry, but Devil May Cry 2 is still an awesome game. I had an absolute blast with this game. I loved the soundtrack, the creepy environments, and the cool boss fights. One particular cool feature DMC 2 offers is that it has two different campaigns that tie into each other. One is the Dante campaign and the other gives us a new character to play as named Lucia. It's all very cool it's just kind of disappointing that so much content is the same in both campaigns (same bosses, levels, and objectives). But still there's enough differences between the campaigns to warrant another playthrough. While the is still an awesome DMC game there are some things that are going to disappoint fans. The first being it's a short game, you can complete both campaigns in about 4-6 hours and it's a lot easier than the first was. The high replay value makes up for the short length, but the dip in difficulty is likely going to turn off most fans. The camera is also a slight issue this time around, you still don't have control over it which means it isn't always in the best position. But still even with it's flaws I had tons of fun with this game. So I do recommend this game, it's a super fun hack and slash with loads of style. Just keep in mind it's not going to be as good as the first DMC. Expand
  14. Jan 5, 2013
    9
    When I first played this I found the addition of a new playable character, the ability to fly, the ability to run superfast along with interesting puzzles and enemies to be a good + point for gameplay. Another thing I appreciated was the fact that you can approach a situation in two different ways since you get to play as two characters, each with their own perspectives. However, at theWhen I first played this I found the addition of a new playable character, the ability to fly, the ability to run superfast along with interesting puzzles and enemies to be a good + point for gameplay. Another thing I appreciated was the fact that you can approach a situation in two different ways since you get to play as two characters, each with their own perspectives. However, at the same time the gameplay was heavily damaged due to the slower/sluggish fighting overall as compared to Devil May Cry 1. But this is just my personal opinion as some people might prefer this type of gameplay instead. Gameplay: 8.5/10

    As for the graphics, they are quite dumbed down compared to the original Devil May Cry 1 and the camera angles are EXTREMELY bad compared to the first's amazing camera angles. Still, the game does manage to do some things better like have more shiny effects and give a more detailed character model to Dante. Graphics: 7.5/10

    Finally the story. The story of this game is not at all as good as the original's more personal story. Dante's story is just okay and Lucia's story is the only good and actual interesting part. Nevertheless, the introduction and the endings are just as well delivered as the first game IMO. Since this game has two stories and I actually liked Lucia's story, I'll give it a break. Story: 8.5/10
    Expand
  15. TarikT.
    Feb 8, 2003
    8
    Great fun Great action, horrible camera, great controls, and a kick ass game (Not as good as first one though).
  16. MitchO.
    Feb 8, 2008
    8
    I can barely remember this game, i played it so long ago... But it's what got me hooked on the franchise.
  17. Theimminent26
    Mar 4, 2003
    8
    I'm not one to be rude but how could play magazine say this game had even something close to a plot with all five(sarcastic) of the cutscenes scattered about mindlessly, it is clear that this is an all action game which there is nothing wrong with. Now the fact that the action is not as intense as the first is unsettling and there are less moves is also bad, however it is still I'm not one to be rude but how could play magazine say this game had even something close to a plot with all five(sarcastic) of the cutscenes scattered about mindlessly, it is clear that this is an all action game which there is nothing wrong with. Now the fact that the action is not as intense as the first is unsettling and there are less moves is also bad, however it is still inhuman to not enjoy the action in this game. Not better than the first but worth a rental. Expand
  18. 3rdPerson
    Mar 5, 2003
    8
    This game is fun and I like it a lot, but the things that make me give this game 8 instead of a 10 is the camera, you can't which enemy you are hitting if the camera is too far out. Another thing is the way the gun shoots in the DMC2. The the first one, the gun would shoot non-stop, but in this game it shoots 2 bullets at a time. I also don't like ungrading in weapons. I liked This game is fun and I like it a lot, but the things that make me give this game 8 instead of a 10 is the camera, you can't which enemy you are hitting if the camera is too far out. Another thing is the way the gun shoots in the DMC2. The the first one, the gun would shoot non-stop, but in this game it shoots 2 bullets at a time. I also don't like ungrading in weapons. I liked it when you got to buy your moves and not worry about getting your weapons up to the right level. I like the new enemies though. I also like the two characters you can be. Another thing I like are the cut scenes, they have great graphics. If you don't think you want to buy this game, at least give it a rental. Expand
  19. MattO.
    May 17, 2003
    8
    I borrowed the game off a friend, and i never put it down, in this way it is a great game, however i felt that i spent too long trying to upgrade my weapons in the blody palace Lucia was disappointing at first, but was definitely a challenge, and Thrish is awesome, but not as interesting as the first one, love the battles tho whoever thought of a last boss being bits of all the others,I borrowed the game off a friend, and i never put it down, in this way it is a great game, however i felt that i spent too long trying to upgrade my weapons in the blody palace Lucia was disappointing at first, but was definitely a challenge, and Thrish is awesome, but not as interesting as the first one, love the battles tho whoever thought of a last boss being bits of all the others, that is just lame!! Expand
  20. Ryan
    Feb 13, 2003
    8
    They should call this game Devil may disapoint. It does keep all of the bad-ass action but it falls in the category of new moves and creativity. While the walking on walls is a welcome addition, pretty much most of the moves from the first game are missing, plus it is pretty much shorter than the first. However though this game is still a very enjoyable experience.
  21. TravisT.
    Mar 21, 2003
    8
    This is an excellent game packed with action, moves, unlockable items and the works. The only thing bad is the storyline.
  22. JamesdamanD.
    Oct 28, 2003
    8
    Yes the storyline is kinda disappointing but the action and controls are a lot better than the first. The bloddy palace is cool because instead of after beating it you get that and you want to continue playin cause i personaly dont like playin the story mode over and over. And the devil trigger was so much better. The thing that really bugs me is that you have no clue what the hell Yes the storyline is kinda disappointing but the action and controls are a lot better than the first. The bloddy palace is cool because instead of after beating it you get that and you want to continue playin cause i personaly dont like playin the story mode over and over. And the devil trigger was so much better. The thing that really bugs me is that you have no clue what the hell happened to trish and how he ended up in vie de maril. Expand
  23. Raul
    Jun 24, 2003
    8
    Devil May Cry was an unbelievable game. Devil May Cry 2 left me extremely puzzled. First, the controls are perfect compared to the first. The evasion abilities are a plus. The graphics are amped up. Finally, the Devil Trigger is absoultely beautiful. Unfortunately, the storyline is the laziest I've ever seen, there is no common thread between missions and bosses. The lack of trash Devil May Cry was an unbelievable game. Devil May Cry 2 left me extremely puzzled. First, the controls are perfect compared to the first. The evasion abilities are a plus. The graphics are amped up. Finally, the Devil Trigger is absoultely beautiful. Unfortunately, the storyline is the laziest I've ever seen, there is no common thread between missions and bosses. The lack of trash talking by Dante leaves me hanging. It would be better if there weren't so much time between fights. And where did the unique weapons and techniques go(ie: round trip, kick 13, meteor, and vortex) But, Lucia's nice. Overall its a good game with some very nice improvements, but the flaws are not ignorable. Expand
  24. MattP.
    Apr 13, 2003
    7
    This game just DOES NOT deserve a 10. The camera is terrible, the environments aren't bad but compared to DMC 1 are plain and ugly. It's can be finished in under 5 hours (there are two discs-but there the same game) and dosn't have much replay value. A good rental.
  25. CrazyM.
    Apr 17, 2003
    7
    Graphics are mildly better then the first game but there are many down sides which include: dodgey camera angles and poorly made bosses.
  26. AshleyB.
    Sep 15, 2004
    7
    Very good game and storyline but too short and both discs are too much alike and the attacks are very simple.
  27. Alex
    Nov 15, 2005
    7
    DMC 2 is nowhere near the instant classic that its predecessor was, but it still a fairly decent game. the gameplay and fighting jave been reworked a little for the better, and the addition of Lucia as a playable character was a nice touch, but the recycled dialogue (there are exact rip-offs from the first game), used-and-abused storyline, and somewhat redundant boss battles hammer the DMC 2 is nowhere near the instant classic that its predecessor was, but it still a fairly decent game. the gameplay and fighting jave been reworked a little for the better, and the addition of Lucia as a playable character was a nice touch, but the recycled dialogue (there are exact rip-offs from the first game), used-and-abused storyline, and somewhat redundant boss battles hammer the score down from an otherwise playable and even enjoyable game. Expand
  28. AdamW.
    Dec 11, 2007
    7
    This game got a seven from me only because of the ability to play as Trish!
  29. Jul 7, 2013
    7
    Devil May Cry 2 is what happens when you take DMC1, and take away the challenging difficulty, the funny one-liners from Dante (they virtually made him mute), and the great characters (Lucia was one of my main problems with this game). But that doesn't mean it's a bad game. The gameplay improved incredibly in this game, and the bosses were enjoyable. Some of the levels were reallyDevil May Cry 2 is what happens when you take DMC1, and take away the challenging difficulty, the funny one-liners from Dante (they virtually made him mute), and the great characters (Lucia was one of my main problems with this game). But that doesn't mean it's a bad game. The gameplay improved incredibly in this game, and the bosses were enjoyable. Some of the levels were really backtracky, but that's fine. If you happen to pick up the DMC HD Collection, I would recommend you play this, despite it being the weakest of the 4. Expand
  30. Sep 28, 2013
    7
    Gran juego. No está a la altura de el original, pero sin duda alguna divierte convirtiéndose en una secuela fiel de "Devil May Cry". A pesar de los giros de la historia se destaca más que nada por las peleas de jefes y gráficos mejorados
  31. RobertM.
    May 11, 2003
    6
    Not a total disappointment but close. Why do the developers feel they have to take away something kewl to give us something kewl? The human form combos and the devil trigger spin moves of the first game were wonderfull. I like shooting in two directions and running on walls but not if I have to sacrifice my stinger and round trip moves! After I beat DMC2 I was somewhat amazed that it was Not a total disappointment but close. Why do the developers feel they have to take away something kewl to give us something kewl? The human form combos and the devil trigger spin moves of the first game were wonderfull. I like shooting in two directions and running on walls but not if I have to sacrifice my stinger and round trip moves! After I beat DMC2 I was somewhat amazed that it was as short as it was. I like the ruined city streets but I'll take small corridors where I can't really move if it means I get a longer game out of it! All that aside I did have some fun playing the game. The Blood Palace was a challenge at least, unfortunatly it has no end or reward other than Red Orbs. I can still look past all these faults but there is one thing that really frosted me about this game that cannot be forgiven and will make me rent DMC3 instead of buying it to be sure it too does not have the same flaw: Dante's personallity change. How can you take a character as brash and over-the-top, an @zz-kicking straight up trash talker like Dante was in the first game and turn him into such a poser! Dante's character in DMC2 has no personality at all! It's like somebody labotomized, or neutered him or something! So people say don't judge this game based on the 1st one and yeah they are right. Because aside from the main characters of both having the same name there is no similarity. The best thing in the whole game is when you unlock Trish. She's actually the kewlest character to play with. Only drawback is she doesn't get own storyline. All her FMV sequences are either Dante's or Lucia's which is doesn't make any sense but maybe I expect alot. I think the only reason I tried to unlock Trish was in hopes of some new story elements that might be better and I was let down again. And don't get me started on the other supposed extra character, they should have just called it an extra costume like it is. Overall you should rent this game and not buy it like I did. You'll play it for a couple of nights to get all the stuff and then it will collect dust somewhere. Expand
  32. NinjaMafia
    Aug 11, 2003
    6
    This game is pretty disappointing to me. First off, the storyline is the most horrible storyline in a game i have seen. The characters barely talk in the game... but that seems to be a good thing seeing how the voice actors were bad. The environments were massive and pleasing to the eye...for a while. The game starts out in a dark gothic town and I thought that was great...but eventually This game is pretty disappointing to me. First off, the storyline is the most horrible storyline in a game i have seen. The characters barely talk in the game... but that seems to be a good thing seeing how the voice actors were bad. The environments were massive and pleasing to the eye...for a while. The game starts out in a dark gothic town and I thought that was great...but eventually you find yourself in a gigantic city. I know that may sound good but it is pretty useless seeing how you are usually stuck to one road. The gameplay is a mixed bag for me. I like upgrading weapons in Onimusha, but this game really shouldn't have added that feature to knock out the gaining awesome abilities. You can run up walls in this game which made me really happy because I love wall running. However you rarely find a time in the game where you need to run up the walls. All the weapons were basically the same for Dante. The only tough choice is which one looks cool. The guns are a big letdown seeing how you can't fire your pistols fast anymore. But they still are the only guns I use. The game is only about three hours long with some replay value. But the diffuculty was tuned down way too much. Dante Must Die mode was mediocre at best. Oh and the new character Lucia isn't fun to play with...well not as much as Dante. They say she is faster but by the way she dodges and runs up walls, she seems incredibly slow. Hew attacks are weak so you might find a little challenge with her. Her knives are the equivilent to Dante's guns. But they are thrown incredibly slow. Once you beat the game you can play the Bloody Palace which was a great idea to start with but it ultimately failed. Overall, Devil May Cry 2 is fun for a while, but you will see that it can be a big disappointment. Expand
  33. Sam
    Feb 24, 2006
    6
    It's kind of like a spin-off of a great movie, good, but the director (or in this case, developer) forgot everything that made the original a classic.
  34. Oct 24, 2012
    6
    Devil May Cry 2 is a pale shadow of the original and stands as the worst entry in the series. The camera is annoying, the targeting system is broken, the enemies are tedious, and there is no real story. The worst part is that the difficulty has been dumbed down to the point where the combat is tedious and boring instead of challenging and exciting. There is the potential for a good gameDevil May Cry 2 is a pale shadow of the original and stands as the worst entry in the series. The camera is annoying, the targeting system is broken, the enemies are tedious, and there is no real story. The worst part is that the difficulty has been dumbed down to the point where the combat is tedious and boring instead of challenging and exciting. There is the potential for a good game here but it's obvious that DMC2 was rushed out the door to cash in on the success of the original. Considering that the original DMC is one of the best action games on the PS2 this game is more of an insult to fans than a sequel. Expand
  35. Jun 1, 2015
    6
    Pales in comparison to the original. Hard to put a finger on what it is but it's just nowhere near as fun. The boss fights aren't memorable or difficult like they were in the first, and it doesn't have the closed-in/claustrophobic feel either.
    Story is barely there, and what is there is just random dribble.
    It's still playable, but it's just ok
  36. Enthasius
    Mar 30, 2003
    5
    OH dear.....they took the original game, removed the glamour and the sheer awe stricking beauty of the first, and replaced it with some "Wow that look's cool" gimic's, like shooting in two direction's, which isn't as useful as it may sound. In my opinion, they should have just stuck with Dante, and left his abilities as they were from the first. Now, Dante is a OH dear.....they took the original game, removed the glamour and the sheer awe stricking beauty of the first, and replaced it with some "Wow that look's cool" gimic's, like shooting in two direction's, which isn't as useful as it may sound. In my opinion, they should have just stuck with Dante, and left his abilities as they were from the first. Now, Dante is a sluggish guy with pea-shooter sounding magnum's, which have had their flash name's (Ebony and Ivory) cruely removed to make way for "Handgun's" Sure, every sequal must have strong differences, and sure, old must make way for the new....but removing the skill buying system to make way for a poor "Level" system isn't what I consider a new innovation. Lucia, the new addition to the game, is more like Dante in movement, fast, flash, and easier to be cool with compared to Dante's slow, sluggish movement and attack's. At leas tthey kept his stinger, but he now hop's forward and stab's the foe gently, instead fo the super awesome stinger level twop from the first. The level system in this game works like this....You get red orbs, which are either hidden away in mysterious corner's of the environment's like the first game, or dropped by the foe's you slay. Ok, the red ob's dropped by enemies react in the same way as before, with the combo meter thing appearing, though it has been replaced by different words, but that's not important (though "Are you ready?" isn't the sort of thing that strikes me as cool) You spend vast quantities of these red orb's on improving your weapon's. Both your moderatly named sword (Yep, Dante seemed to forget about Alastor, and replaced it with a sword called Rebellion) and what does upgrading it do?? It improves the power....great, what else??........nope, it does nothing extra, just power, the same goes for the gun's. You'd have thought upgrading a sword would also give it more abilities (like round trip while NOT in Devil trigger mode) or enhanced the speed or SOMETHING. Instead, you are given a small selection of different sword's, like Merciless, which is longer, but weakerm though undoubtably cooler looking than Rebellion, with its wavy blade and snake motif. Lucia's game is very similar, but she has throwing knive's which, actually work very well, its quiite cool to launch a barrage of knive's and then moving in for the kill is a cool sensation. In short, I much prefered Lucia over Dante. But what kind of weapon name is "Cranky bomb"?!?!?? I couldn't help but laugh my head off when I say this. Perhaps, I thought, they explode at random interval's, or do something to earn the name "Cranky" but no, they do nthing but explode and tend to be difficult to use. In DMC2's defence, however, it retain's a large scale of the adventure of the first, but instead of a castle island, its a city island, ok, thats alright, new area's a the expence of the gothic look of the first I don't really mind. Granted, the environment's are well done, but I can't help but think that this game is ludicrously short, Lucia has about 12 stage's, and Dante has about 18, and they have seperate disc's. The first game had 20 odd mission's, for one person, on one disk, how come's there are such few stage's on this one?? Who know's, I certainly don't. Another defensive part of DVC is that although some of the bosses are downright annoying (Darn Helecopter, how was I supposed to know that you have to RUN from it??) other bosses are quite flash. There is a undead warrior looking guy with two wolves as his pet's. You spend the first part of it on the defencive, dodging sword and tooth alike, as you whittle down the wolves health until they are defeated, then after doing the same to the other one. After this, its a one on one duel with the warrior himself, in a battle not to unsimilar to those against Nero Angelo in the first. That was flash, I admit that. But a few dramatic fight's and some good graphical and sound effect's leave this incarnation of Dante a bit of an disasterous Inferno, a definite disappointment. Expand
  37. May 19, 2011
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Easily the worst of the series, Devil May Cry 2 attempts to streamline the gameplay by doing away with the most interesting game mechanics of its predecessor. Less focus on upgrading weapons and learning new moves, more focus on art and story. STORY, I'll remind everyone, in a game made by Capcom. So since this isn't Resident Evil we're talking about, assume the story here sucks the big one. DMC2 does, however, kick a lot of ass, but the action is poorly split up, and the game is over too soon. The worst part is, once you beat the game you figure out what the second disc is for; replaying the game as a crappier character. Bor-ring. Thankfully, each DMC since this turd has been a blast. Expand
  38. ZiftK.
    Oct 13, 2006
    4
    Not a very good game. Dante's disk is atleast DECENT. Dante moves very slugish, and is a very boring character. So, Play the first, DMC3, because this game isn't even worth a look. However, if you want to play it THAT bad, rent it, or borrow it, however, I even have to say that's not even worth it.
  39. SeptSinstar
    May 22, 2003
    4
    This game is just sad compare to the first Devil Maybe Cry. I feel that to make a good game you need to have a good story line to get the player into... and this game has NONE!
  40. May 10, 2013
    4
    it's short, the storyline is shallow and makes no sense, and there's no real sense of excitement to the combat anymore. Entire boss fights are handled by standing in place and mashing the shoot button for 10 minutes, and enemies present absolutely no challenge. The main character is a cardboard cutout of an attempt at making something "cool", the ending is anti-climactic, and one fullit's short, the storyline is shallow and makes no sense, and there's no real sense of excitement to the combat anymore. Entire boss fights are handled by standing in place and mashing the shoot button for 10 minutes, and enemies present absolutely no challenge. The main character is a cardboard cutout of an attempt at making something "cool", the ending is anti-climactic, and one full half of the game is simply replaying the game start to finish, but with a different character. The story is unappealing, the challenge is unengaging, not only is there little replayability, but I had a hard time finding the motivation to even finish the game once, let alone a second time. Expand
  41. Mar 22, 2015
    4
    Devil may cry 2, like devil may cry wasn't intended to be, however a last second change of plans made the sequel to the hit that is devil may cry came to be. Devil May Cry 2 gives the player the ability to play as a artificial angel named Lucia, and Dante the demon hunter. Both campaigns trail a quest to stop Atrius from reviving Agrosax from the demon world. Lucia travels to defeatDevil may cry 2, like devil may cry wasn't intended to be, however a last second change of plans made the sequel to the hit that is devil may cry came to be. Devil May Cry 2 gives the player the ability to play as a artificial angel named Lucia, and Dante the demon hunter. Both campaigns trail a quest to stop Atrius from reviving Agrosax from the demon world. Lucia travels to defeat Atrius, while Dante travels to hell to defeat Agrosax. Expand
  42. AlCoholic
    Apr 28, 2003
    3
    First off, i loved DMC1, and that is probably why this game is so disappointing to me. the storyline is non-existent, with dante basically just roaming around pointlessly most of the game fighting repetative monsters in gigantic monotonous levels that reduce him to the size of a fly and look like they have been made using ps1 graphics, and the sound of firing your guns and weapon soundsFirst off, i loved DMC1, and that is probably why this game is so disappointing to me. the storyline is non-existent, with dante basically just roaming around pointlessly most of the game fighting repetative monsters in gigantic monotonous levels that reduce him to the size of a fly and look like they have been made using ps1 graphics, and the sound of firing your guns and weapon sounds has been murdered to where you will swear its a popgun and not a shotgun. last but not least, it is only like 5 hours long, and lucia levels are the same game with a different twist. if you like dante slower, smaller, less exciting, more pathetic, and fatter around the stomach, then this game is for you. otherwise, go back to DMC1 and hope capcom can exorcise these flaws with a better game. Expand
  43. Nov 16, 2011
    3
    Dante. You are in some pretty awesome games, Dante. But your initial fame left you confused and searching for an identy. What resulted was the black sheep of the Devil May Cry franchise. The first Devil May Cry is legendary, but in my opinion hasn't aged as well as it should have. I don't like this game beause the first was so good and this game doesn't live up to the original, butDante. You are in some pretty awesome games, Dante. But your initial fame left you confused and searching for an identy. What resulted was the black sheep of the Devil May Cry franchise. The first Devil May Cry is legendary, but in my opinion hasn't aged as well as it should have. I don't like this game beause the first was so good and this game doesn't live up to the original, but instead it took all the horror and creepiness of the first game, chewed it up, spat it out, and said "here's the sequel, enjoy." This game took the horror aspects of the first game and ran with them, but unfortunately made Dante so slow that a snail could actually pose a threat in this game. In the first game, Dante was fast and moved with grace. In this game he moves like a guy who thought it would be cool to run around with a sword today. The open enironments in this game are the only thing this game has to offer that is relatively good, but even then, the game suffers from low resolution and character models that make the first game cry itself to sleep. The plot is pretty dull and boring and is so forgetable it makes my yawns yawn. Playing as Lucia on the second disc is a cool addition and she feels a hell of a lot different from Dante, but her levels are just as boring as Dante's. In fact "boring" is the best word to describe this game. It's so dull and lifeless that it can bairly be considered a game. It is just a time waster, and when you consider the fact that this franchise has three good games out of its four released ones, a time waster doesn't quite cut it. Collapse
  44. Mar 29, 2013
    3
    Utter garbage. Aside from having Dante in it, I really can not think of anything good to say about it. Gameplay is pathetically easy. Controls are awkward and sometimes unresponsive. Voice acting (aside from Dante) is weak. Creature and level design and art direction is decent most of the time, but mostly feels like a rehash of the first game. Overall: A really pathetic attempt at a sequelUtter garbage. Aside from having Dante in it, I really can not think of anything good to say about it. Gameplay is pathetically easy. Controls are awkward and sometimes unresponsive. Voice acting (aside from Dante) is weak. Creature and level design and art direction is decent most of the time, but mostly feels like a rehash of the first game. Overall: A really pathetic attempt at a sequel to a fantastic game. Expand
  45. Oct 31, 2014
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. If anyone needed to know how to take a great game or series and ruin it, Capcom would be the people to ask.

    When this game came out, it was very disappointing. So much had changed from the original game and not for the best.

    The environments were now drab generic city streets. You fight the most generic enemies ever including demonic tanks and evil cooperation CEOs. I dont like to spoil endings in reviews but i feel like it is a must here, so be warned for below is a ***HUGE SPOILER***

    At the end of the game you fight a super generic boss and think to yourself, its finally over. But nope, they needed a way to tie in the first game somehow, so the final boss is a blob consisting of all the bosses from the original game at once. The most unimaginative ending to the most bland and boring sequel ever.

    Combat is dumbed down, removing all the style from the last game. Weapons are now hidden throughout the level instead of being requirements of moving forward with a puzzle, so i found myself missing a lot of them throughout the play though because it is never explained they had changed it. About the 5th or 6th level in I found a sword floating on top of a building and finally realized why i hadn't gotten any new weapons. Now that i had found a new weapon does that change up how combat is? No or not at least what you would expect out of getting a different weapon. It isn't rewarding at all.

    The story was never amazing in the first place, but it made sense and at least kept me intrested. This story though is the most generic and boring ever. Lucia is a demon and doesn't know it, cooperations are evil, ect.

    There is no redeeming factors here. At least in the timeline this takes place at the end of the 4 games, so pretend it never happened and you'll enjoy the other 4 games a lot more.
    Expand
  46. JonJ.
    Oct 7, 2004
    2
    All of you who have given this game a score of 5 or above, i have but 2 questions for you: "Did you play the first Devil may cry?" and "Did you see the stinger?" So, I guess I have only one question, because if you DID rate this game higher than a 5, if that, then its appearent you havent played the first one. .... did you see the stinger?
  47. Jack
    Feb 5, 2005
    2
    So disappointing that I want to cry! They take the franchise of the original stylish-action genre and then give it to a crap developer so that the action is weak and easy, the enviroments are bland, the characters from an after-school special, and the pacing poor. If you've played the first, don't play this one. This is just the originals sick little brother.
  48. BobMarley
    Sep 15, 2004
    1
    No woman no cry.
  49. [Anonymous]
    Oct 26, 2008
    0
    In sharp contrast to Devil May Cry, the sequel dumbs down the difficulty an extreme amount. It caters to everyone who whined that the first was too hard, the game play it watered down, it ruins Dante's lovable cocky, confident, and competent personality, and the characters and storyline are absolutely unengaging.
  50. Dante399L.
    Jan 31, 2008
    0
    It shouldn't have been named Devil May Cry! This title is way too good for this disappointment.
  51. Jul 19, 2011
    0
    This game was an utter waste of my money and time. The graphics may have been good, but that's it. He is waaaaay too serious in the whole thing and the story moves waaaay too fast. There is nothing good at all about this game and i suggest not even renting it. There is nothing amusing or amazing about this game at all.
  52. Nov 16, 2011
    0
    Dante. You are in some pretty awesome games, Dante. But your initial fame left you confused and searching for an identy. What resulted was the black sheep of the Devil May Cry franchise. The first Devil May Cry is legendary, but in my opinion hasn't aged as well as it should have. I don't like this game beause the first was so good and this game doesn't live up to the original, butDante. You are in some pretty awesome games, Dante. But your initial fame left you confused and searching for an identy. What resulted was the black sheep of the Devil May Cry franchise. The first Devil May Cry is legendary, but in my opinion hasn't aged as well as it should have. I don't like this game beause the first was so good and this game doesn't live up to the original, but instead it took all the horror and creepiness of the first game, chewed it up, spat it out, and said "here's the sequel, enjoy." This game took the horror aspects of the first game and ran with them, but unfortunately made Dante so slow that a snail could actually pose a threat in this game. In the first game, Dante was fast and moved with grace. In this game he moves like a guy who thought it would be cool to run around with a sword today. The open enironments in this game are the only thing this game has to offer that is relatively good, but even then, the game suffers from low resolution and character models that make the first game cry itself to sleep. The plot is pretty dull and boring and is so forgetable it makes my yawns yawn. Playing as Lucia on the second disc is a cool addition and she feels a hell of a lot different from Dante, but her levels are just as boring as Dante's. In fact "boring" is the best word to describe this game. It's so dull and lifeless that it can bairly be considered a game. It is just a time waster, and when you consider the fact that this franchise has three good games out of its four released ones, a time waster doesn't quite cut it. Collapse
Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 40 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 40
  2. Negative: 3 out of 40
  1. 75
    Games this intense are rare, and DMC2's minor flaws are well worth dealing with. [Mar 2003, p.45]
  2. A solid game with plenty of action, but the original set new standards for this genre, and DMC 2 just doesn't match its level of personality or polish. [Mar 2003, p.34]
  3. It's just disappointing to see such an uninspired sequel that simply goes through the motions of being an action game rather than taking advantage of concepts introduced in its predecessor.