User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 207 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 13 out of 207
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. AdrianaM.
    Apr 3, 2006
    10
    I disagree with what others have said, this game is, in my opinion the best out of the three. The first two had ridiculous enemies and in this, the last game, we finally get to see the beginning of the story.
  2. MartR.
    Feb 25, 2005
    9
    It's been a long run before this here got out, but it was worth the wait. The action is now even more over-the-top, the characters gritty and styled at the same time, the action is pulsating with energy and the boss encounters can still knock your socks off with tension. A good run with the style RPG-like development, even though three levels feels just like a tease before the real It's been a long run before this here got out, but it was worth the wait. The action is now even more over-the-top, the characters gritty and styled at the same time, the action is pulsating with energy and the boss encounters can still knock your socks off with tension. A good run with the style RPG-like development, even though three levels feels just like a tease before the real power runs in. I miss the graphic finesse of the first game's architecture, in this one there's been a trade-off between character design and the environments design, leaving the latter often lacklustre and hollow. The fast-paced storyline keeps it all together and a selection of now a bit more Onimusha-like weaponry makes stuff even more fun. Expand
  3. ErikoT.
    Mar 2, 2005
    10
    The opening cinematic alone is worth a 10.
  4. ApocalypseBrown
    Nov 21, 2005
    9
    A welcome come for dante, this is easily the best in the series. Albeit as hard as your mother-in-laws facial hairs its very enjoyable when you manage to progress levels and the boss battles are so beautiful to play and watch for that matter. Its excellent but not too original and the annoying puzzles remain. Better than Ninja Gaiden as its more engaging.
  5. Jun 19, 2011
    10
    i just loved this game there were a few flaws but they were easily forgivible and then all the fun weapons and classes this game is great for anyone who loved spawn and/or god of war
  6. MikeD.
    Mar 1, 2005
    10
    I KNEW IT !!! The moment i played the game i knew that these gay american medias(1up, edge etc) will cry because its too hard... well boohoohoo learn how to play before you rate games. Allmost perfect game... and the difficulty level is just right, easy to learn but challenging to master.
  7. Ben
    Mar 20, 2005
    9
    Graphics look great, gameplay is solid, music is good, the replayability is there; the game does include some cheesy-ness though it just adds to the humor, it does not take away from the overall depth of the game. I was blindsided by the use of a guitar as a weapon, that was odd for me, all the same, the game is VERY fun to play and that is what is important.
  8. NaomiM.
    Mar 7, 2005
    10
    Hell ya! I loved Devil May Cry I've beat it twice and on different difficulty levels each time. I love Dante and his moves and all. Devil May Cry 2 then came out. I must say I wanted to cry because of all the repetative fighting and the horribally stupid ass story line. Where'd Trish go? Anyway, that game sucked. Then after waiting and waiting. Devil May Cry 3: Dante's Hell ya! I loved Devil May Cry I've beat it twice and on different difficulty levels each time. I love Dante and his moves and all. Devil May Cry 2 then came out. I must say I wanted to cry because of all the repetative fighting and the horribally stupid ass story line. Where'd Trish go? Anyway, that game sucked. Then after waiting and waiting. Devil May Cry 3: Dante's Awakening came out. I bought it March 1st and played it all night. I'm only on the 6th mission now because damn its hard. But it was everything I hoped and dreamed of. Dante and Lady are total kick ass and i love it. Vergil is even cool. I was hoping that this game would be everything that I wanted and it is. And more since it's so damn hard! Sorry I rambled on so much i just love this game! Best DMC ever? YES! Sweet dreams! Expand
  9. VSei'lar
    May 21, 2005
    10
    This game had me hooked from the opening scene right through every level, at ever difficulty level. The 'new' Dante is beautiful; his cocky character allows for a relief from the overly-serious characterisations of the 'previous' two games, while his twin brother Vergil's cool-tempered attitude allows you to see where the Dante of the other games comes from. The This game had me hooked from the opening scene right through every level, at ever difficulty level. The 'new' Dante is beautiful; his cocky character allows for a relief from the overly-serious characterisations of the 'previous' two games, while his twin brother Vergil's cool-tempered attitude allows you to see where the Dante of the other games comes from. The game play is delicious, and will never allow you to get bored; is it getting tedious? Switch styles! Switch weapons! And may I say...the Sparda skin is HOT. Expand
  10. NabeelK.
    Mar 10, 2005
    10
    The best game i ever seen... really amazing.
  11. [Anonymous]
    Mar 2, 2005
    10
    Amazing, that's all i can say, the grafics, gameplay, sound, story, presentation.....everything is amazing. the only problem people might add is that it's too hard, but like ign said, that's your problem, not dante's.
  12. RandallHall
    Mar 31, 2005
    10
    This game is off the chain, it's so ill. I never seen a devil may cry like this one before. Dang this game is tight. Ecscuse my language. Boy I'll tell you as soon as you get your devil trigger with super dante nothing can stand in your way. Nothing. I heard the first dmc was supposed to be resident evil four. In resident evil four Leon sounds just like Dante. I noticed that This game is off the chain, it's so ill. I never seen a devil may cry like this one before. Dang this game is tight. Ecscuse my language. Boy I'll tell you as soon as you get your devil trigger with super dante nothing can stand in your way. Nothing. I heard the first dmc was supposed to be resident evil four. In resident evil four Leon sounds just like Dante. I noticed that during the dodging laser part. Expand
  13. Josh
    Mar 9, 2005
    10
    This game is great! Its got awsome weapons, moves, and cut scenes but the bosses in this game are really hard untill you can find a strategy to fight them. Other than that as long as you take the time to learn the controls in the begining its not as hard as you may think. In all this is the best DMC yet.
  14. PodRod
    Apr 28, 2005
    10
    This game is awsome...... I am rich and buy almost all of the new games. But I must admit that I only have seen very few such games. This game is just awsome. The story, gameplay, graphics are all just perfect.
  15. TraeM.
    Jul 20, 2005
    10
    Best game ever!!!! I love the gunslinger style!!!
  16. TylerD.
    Jan 18, 2006
    10
    Simply put, my favourite game. Ever. Capcom gave one hell of a comeback with this one.
  17. DavidC.
    Apr 25, 2006
    10
    I have played a lot, A LOT of games, but this is quite simply the best game I have ever played.
  18. AnonymousMC
    Oct 26, 2008
    10
    Devil May Cry washes away the sins of the previous installment and brings the series back to full fledged glory with this prequel to the story. It has one of the best, if not the best, combat systems in any action game. Every difficulty is challenging even the easiest. However, it is forgiving as you can accumulate all your red orbs and upgrade as you die on easy. Every weapon isDevil May Cry washes away the sins of the previous installment and brings the series back to full fledged glory with this prequel to the story. It has one of the best, if not the best, combat systems in any action game. Every difficulty is challenging even the easiest. However, it is forgiving as you can accumulate all your red orbs and upgrade as you die on easy. Every weapon is distinct from each other with their own styles of combat and particular uses. The weapons, combos, melee moves, and boss battles will have you in awe for days on end. If you're a fan of action and or challenging games Devil May Cry 3 is a MUST BUY. Expand
  19. ScottI.
    Feb 16, 2005
    10
    Capcom has a masterpiece on it's hands. The rumors are true, the latest in the series bears much more of a resemblance to the 1st than the wholly forgettable 2nd. Graphics are beautiful, with nicely detailed character models and a fantastic sense of scale in the level designs. Enemy designs are cool, but I actually liked the designs from the demo (Included with RE Outbreak 2nd file) Capcom has a masterpiece on it's hands. The rumors are true, the latest in the series bears much more of a resemblance to the 1st than the wholly forgettable 2nd. Graphics are beautiful, with nicely detailed character models and a fantastic sense of scale in the level designs. Enemy designs are cool, but I actually liked the designs from the demo (Included with RE Outbreak 2nd file) more. As far as sound goes, the voiceacting is top notch, and the score is excellent, if a bit metal-heavy. I would have liked a little less metal and more emphasis on more gothic symphonic pieces, which also fit the series perfectly (see the main theme for evidence of this). If I can fault the sound category for anything, it's pretty heavy with Bruce Lee-esque yelps and shouts, which add unintended comedic value to scenes that were meant to be cool ;) Gameplay is tight and focused; with a nice array of moves and weapons to play with. The new on-the-fly weapon switching is fantastic, and gives true motivation to try for those huge combos (not to mention avoiding having to go into the menus, which annoyed me in this series' previous iterations). The other new addition, the Style system, is a good way to encourage multiple playthroughs to try out each one on a given level, but I often found myself wishing certain abilities were universal (wallrunning in particular). The story is appropriately cool, acted out in gorgeous cutscenes. And man, this game is HARD. This one is gonna be sitting in my PS2 for a while. All in all, DMC3 is as much a glorious return to the series' roots as it is an entirely new beast, and the melding of the two produces a game that is nothing short of sublimely awesome in it's presentation. Expand
  20. MuhammadAli
    Feb 21, 2005
    9
    I'm halfway through the game...the games awsome...its narrated somewhat like metal gear solid...with a lot of well directed cutscenes...graphics to die for and amazing sound effects.The artwork in the backgrounds is jaw dropping..and the animation is better than ever...this games the best of the three parts.
  21. Mike
    Mar 19, 2005
    8
    My only complaint is the checkpoint system,which makes the game alot harder than it needs to be.No one wants to play the same level over, just to die at the boss....again...and again.Why not be able to save in the middle of a level? But other than that, thumbs up.
  22. TajK.
    Mar 5, 2005
    10
    Challenge, depth, and playability. It's all there.
  23. DragonKnightofFinalFantasy
    Apr 16, 2005
    9
    This game is great. I loved the first DMC but I never played DMC2 so I don't know if that sucked or not. In my opininon this game is the best out of the two. The graphics are good the gameplay is fast and fun but its hard. Almost harder than Ninja Gaiden hard you'll die alot but you'll still play and have fun. Just like Ninja Gaiden. Also Dante has a number of cool moves This game is great. I loved the first DMC but I never played DMC2 so I don't know if that sucked or not. In my opininon this game is the best out of the two. The graphics are good the gameplay is fast and fun but its hard. Almost harder than Ninja Gaiden hard you'll die alot but you'll still play and have fun. Just like Ninja Gaiden. Also Dante has a number of cool moves and weapons and the story is the best of them which still isn't saying much and the story still isn't all that great overall. The sound well frankly its annoying I don't mind guitar rock that much but I don't want like these Slipknot like guys blowing in my ears all the time and Dante's lines are a bit annoying too. The voice-overs are wll done though. The graphics are great too. I say pick this game up. Expand
  24. SlaynG.
    Apr 23, 2005
    10
    You can kick ass and take names while doing it in complete in a pure and utter choatic style. All i gotta say is "It's gonna be one hell of a party"
  25. DuoX
    Apr 23, 2005
    9
    I am really getting sick and tired of people who play this game because they are drawn in by the gorgeous visuals and mind-blowing cut-scenes, and then they die. And they die again. And this goes on until they "throw the controller in the wall" or "break the disc into tiny shards". I mean, really. Isn't it best to just admit that maybe there are games which are a bit harder than I am really getting sick and tired of people who play this game because they are drawn in by the gorgeous visuals and mind-blowing cut-scenes, and then they die. And they die again. And this goes on until they "throw the controller in the wall" or "break the disc into tiny shards". I mean, really. Isn't it best to just admit that maybe there are games which are a bit harder than others, and they might ACTUALLY involve some learning on your part if you keep dying. At any rate, I think DMC3 is honestly THE action title of PS2 this year, and anyone with at least some experience with action games that require fast reflexes (fighting games are great for that) should immediately pick this up. Given that I usually played this in sessions of approximately 3-5 hours until it was completed on normal difficulty, my hands were often very tired afterwards. And although I died my share in the boss fights, I was never trying one boss more than three times until I passed it. And mind you, I usually play RPGs. :P So don't buy into all that crap about the game being too difficult to play or anything. The Game is certainly tough, but you are too... right? Expand
  26. Velen
    May 13, 2005
    9
    Crazy Let's Rock.
  27. PeterR.
    May 26, 2005
    8
    I like the gameplay in this game and it gives you endless suprises until the end that is...although it is quite difficult but it is worth the time...the moves are qiuck like a vampire so all you action flipping speed demons gotta get this game.
  28. TitaniumDragon
    Dec 29, 2007
    10
    This game is incredibly difficult on normal mode, but easy mode is easy enough for the average competant gamer, methinks, though even that is a misnomer. Normal mode is very difficult, but once you learn how to play the game properly, it isn't SO bad; it is mostly that the difficulty level ramps up incredibly quickly at the beginning, where you start dying a lot on level 3 or so. This game is incredibly difficult on normal mode, but easy mode is easy enough for the average competant gamer, methinks, though even that is a misnomer. Normal mode is very difficult, but once you learn how to play the game properly, it isn't SO bad; it is mostly that the difficulty level ramps up incredibly quickly at the beginning, where you start dying a lot on level 3 or so. Levels range from average to insane in difficulty, and while a lot of fun, I'm sure this game isn't for everyone. It looks gorgeous though and is truly a challenging and fun game to those who enjoy such things. Its biggest flaw is the lack of ability to save just before some bosses; having to play through the entire level again to fight some of the bosses is annoying as they will kill you a great deal. That said, it is a satisfying challenge and you feel good when you start winning. Expand
  29. Alex
    Nov 25, 2005
    9
    i have one word that can describe this game: ouch. DMC3 is much more difficult than the previous two titles, and fixed many of the problems from DMC2. the one major problem that has remained persistant throughout the series, however, is the camera. DMC3, sadly, has not fixed this problem. but, with the nice level of challenge and fun that this game offers, its easy to forgive most of the i have one word that can describe this game: ouch. DMC3 is much more difficult than the previous two titles, and fixed many of the problems from DMC2. the one major problem that has remained persistant throughout the series, however, is the camera. DMC3, sadly, has not fixed this problem. but, with the nice level of challenge and fun that this game offers, its easy to forgive most of the game's problems. Expand
  30. MikeB.
    Mar 29, 2005
    9
    If you like a challenge, you'll love DMC3. It's one of the best action adventure games I've ever played. It is a difficult game, but it is also a FAIR game. The game pushes you to learn the attack patterns of the bosses and various other enemies. This game reminded me of games like Viewtiful Joe and Ninja Gaiden, because they reward skillful play. If you are a button If you like a challenge, you'll love DMC3. It's one of the best action adventure games I've ever played. It is a difficult game, but it is also a FAIR game. The game pushes you to learn the attack patterns of the bosses and various other enemies. This game reminded me of games like Viewtiful Joe and Ninja Gaiden, because they reward skillful play. If you are a button masher, this game will destroy you. But, if you are patient and take pay attention to enemy patterns this game loses its insane difficulty and becomes very accessible. It'll either addict you or frustrate you. This really is in the upper echelon of action adventure games, on any system. I can only think of a couple games that are better than DMC3. Collapse

Awards & Rankings

#11 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2005
#16 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2005
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 60 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 53 out of 60
  2. Negative: 1 out of 60
  1. A dark mix of revealing narrative and gun-toting, sword-swinging, demon slaying action that works well with a result that's certainly satisfying.
  2. Although there have been many games in this mold, Devil May Cry 3 sets itself apart from others by incorporating fighting styles to keep this game fresh, instead of just repetitive.
  3. Well, we hate to say it, but DMC3 is still no "Devil May Cry." The world has moved on, folks, and a lot of that game's sheen is now standard issue in gaming. [PSW]