Devil May Cry PlayStation 2

  • Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Devil May Cry Image
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 37 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 458 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In a large American metropolis, a man named Dante, a private investigator of the supernatural, is seeking revenge for the death of his mother and brother. The world is waiting, for Dante is no ordinary man, and with his father's sword in hand, he must enter the demon realm and avengeIn a large American metropolis, a man named Dante, a private investigator of the supernatural, is seeking revenge for the death of his mother and brother. The world is waiting, for Dante is no ordinary man, and with his father's sword in hand, he must enter the demon realm and avenge mankind. [Capcom] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 37
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 37
  3. Negative: 0 out of 37
  1. Cheat Code Central
    100
    Perhaps the coolest evolution of the survival horror series yet, even besting "Onimusha Warlords," without breaking a sweat.
  2. 100
    Quite possibly the game of the year – if you liked "Onimusha," then Devil May Cry will definitely possess you.
  3. Official U.S. Playstation Magazine
    100
    With the exception of a rather throwaway plot, absolutely no part of Devil May Cry escapes the realm of coolness superior. [Nov 2001, p.152]
  4. Control wise, this setup is a major improvement over the stiff and cumbersome control scheme of RE series. Everything moves swiftly, smoothly, with dead on response to your button action.
  5. 92
    The fastest, sexiest, loudest, and, like all things spawned from the bowels of hell, intensely addictive assault on your senses to hit the PS2 thus far.
  6. Above all else, this game is spooky, stylish and most importantly, fun from beginning to end.
  7. While camera problems are nothing new, Devil May Cry's biggest flaw is that it ends too quickly. Thus, its biggest strength is also its biggest weakness: the fast-paced nature of the game makes it easier to finish.

See all 37 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 5 out of 121
  1. Dec 6, 2011
    10
    Very fun and old school game. it still is the best in the series and the game has lots of soul. Very nice environments, character and enemyVery fun and old school game. it still is the best in the series and the game has lots of soul. Very nice environments, character and enemy designs, good music, really cant go wrong with this game. Expand
  2. JamesN.
    Jul 21, 2002
    10
    I liked that game it's Adventure & Action. I like it because you have to figure things out. It's like a mystery you find things andI liked that game it's Adventure & Action. I like it because you have to figure things out. It's like a mystery you find things and you put something in and something starts to happen there would be some new creature and you have to fight them then can get passed them. I was wondering are you going make Devil May Cry 2? If they did I would rent it or buy then quickly. Expand
  3. VahagnM.
    Dec 15, 2004
    10
    Best game ever.
  4. May 20, 2014
    9
    The best shooting & sword fighting hybrid I have ever seen while also shows some of the best graphics and character models of the year. It'sThe best shooting & sword fighting hybrid I have ever seen while also shows some of the best graphics and character models of the year. It's music fits perfectly with the game's style then the acting it's simple but the cut scenes are amazing. The only things that I hate is the part that you go to space which is bad and the camera ruined some moments and I also wish that I could have been a little longer. My review to the Fifth best game of the year 9.0005. Expand
  5. Dec 3, 2011
    9
    Extremely over the top, yet extremely awesome. It sort of takes the fixed camera angles that we see in old Resident Evil games and much of theExtremely over the top, yet extremely awesome. It sort of takes the fixed camera angles that we see in old Resident Evil games and much of the Silent Hill franchise except incorporates action packed gameplay. It's like a mixture of horror, action, and fantasy. The gameplay in this game has heavily influenced countless other games such as the Kingdom Hearts franchise, God of War, and Dante's Inferno. This is a classic. Expand
  6. KyleB.
    Oct 22, 2002
    9
    This game was both fun and frustriating. The graphics were some of the best I have seen, and the game play was great. The weapons though This game was both fun and frustriating. The graphics were some of the best I have seen, and the game play was great. The weapons though limited were great and were fun to use such as the pistols. But Dante still pissed me off! He was built up with all this attitude but he fell for the girl, that is a boring. They fall in love and the main thing that attracts him to her is the fact she looks like his mom. The enemies look nice and there are a wide range of original ones, The back grounds look very good and the bosses are huge! The challange can become a bit overwhelming. The difficulty Dante Must Die! should have come with a free control coupon because you will through the control a couple times. But overall this is a good game worth buying. Expand
  7. [Anonymous]
    Dec 16, 2001
    0
    I was TOTALLY turned off by the extremely show-stopping camera angles. This is a virtually unplayable game to my opinion. I feel so sorry to I was TOTALLY turned off by the extremely show-stopping camera angles. This is a virtually unplayable game to my opinion. I feel so sorry to have bought that one! Expand

See all 121 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings

#5 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2001
#4 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2001