User Score
6.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 97 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 97
  2. Negative: 16 out of 97
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 2, 2013
    5
    A chore, for the most part. excessive FMV (which is welcome, thanks to the uneven gameplay) Repetitive, dark and gloomy levels populated by a very small pool of annoying enemy types with some very nasty AI scripting many simply spam knockdown attacks at the player (get up, knock down ad infinitum). Controls are poor but serviceable but the main problem is the camera and auto lock-onA chore, for the most part. excessive FMV (which is welcome, thanks to the uneven gameplay) Repetitive, dark and gloomy levels populated by a very small pool of annoying enemy types with some very nasty AI scripting many simply spam knockdown attacks at the player (get up, knock down ad infinitum). Controls are poor but serviceable but the main problem is the camera and auto lock-on system, which the player needs to fight as well as enemies. Only of interest to the FFVII fanatic, Dirge of Cerberus is both an unnecessary extension of Vincent's backstory from FFVII and a wrecking ball that ruins some core characters of that game (Hojo is reduced to a two-dimensional cackling lunatic), and the less said about the new characters the better. Though it is nice to see the gang again, with exception to Yuffie, Reeve (Cait Sith) and Cid, their screen time is very small, the FMV is the game's greatest asset, and is of equal quality to the animation in Advent Children. In fact there are so many cutscenes and pointlessly easy sections Square Enix probably should have just made an OVA instead. Satisfying conclusion, though, but not a keeper. Expand
  2. Sep 16, 2010
    6
    Ooh sumthing different this time! HA! Dirge is better with a keyboard and mouse IMO. I didnt like this game that much jus clearing it for the sake of a FF fan. However this game isnt grand at all. Sure the cg gets everyone excited but at sum point i find myself in circles. If this is ur 1st ff game the hard bosses will chase u away from sqaure! Shelke! lol. Impossible to get perfectsOoh sumthing different this time! HA! Dirge is better with a keyboard and mouse IMO. I didnt like this game that much jus clearing it for the sake of a FF fan. However this game isnt grand at all. Sure the cg gets everyone excited but at sum point i find myself in circles. If this is ur 1st ff game the hard bosses will chase u away from sqaure! Shelke! lol. Impossible to get perfects here. Nice story . Cant belive what a high user score this game got. Id probably give this a 58 Expand
  3. Jan 27, 2011
    6
    Un producto dirigido casi exclusivamente para los amantes del juego original y del universo/personaje en que se basa.
    Técnicamente raya a un buen nivel, pero jugablemente se dedica a pasearnos por lineales escenarios, hasta ver la escena de turno; que por otra parte, es lo que te mantiene pegado la mayor parte del tiempo.
  4. Aug 20, 2011
    6
    Simply forget about the painful gameplay, and focus on the story, overall is just a repetitive, bland, disappointing part of the FFVII series. This is a most play for fans of the series, seriously in terms of story , but those factors. Beauty(graphics) comes with pain(everything).
  5. DanielG.
    Jan 1, 2007
    6
    As far as I can see this was just a very brave experiment, this would've been much better if it kept the original FFVII style of play. A few huge problems knock it down though; aside from Vincent (played by Steve Blum) the voice acting is terrible, especially Cait Sith (man am I glad I have the japanese version of FFVII: AC). As a musician and a composer I have to slate Masashi As far as I can see this was just a very brave experiment, this would've been much better if it kept the original FFVII style of play. A few huge problems knock it down though; aside from Vincent (played by Steve Blum) the voice acting is terrible, especially Cait Sith (man am I glad I have the japanese version of FFVII: AC). As a musician and a composer I have to slate Masashi Hamauzu, I mean why the hell did they get rid of Nobuo Uematsu in the first place? The soundtrack is very blocky and boring and some of it even sounds like Uematsu's work re-hashed. The FMVs are absolutely fantastic, however those kinds of animation graphics are becoming easy to create these days so they aren't anything special. The in-game graphics however are a far cry from the FMVs, they're pretty dull, blocky and boring, not to mention the amount of blocky edges, they definitely should've developed this on the FFXII engine since that looks so much better. The gameplay appears as though Square Enix couldn't be bothered and to be honest i was used to this company giving 100% on their games, even FFIX didn't totally suck. In short I would recommend DoC to people wanting a complete FF collection and FF nerds like myself, Vincent Valentine fans may be sorely disappointed with this game though. Casual gamers may enjoy this but it's not one for the hardcore gamers like myself. A decent attempt but it would've been so much better in an RPG system. Expand
  6. Ben
    Feb 6, 2007
    6
    I'd only recommend this game to the FF fan who wants to complete the FF7 story, as the game plays completely differently to any FF game they may be used to. If the idea of playing as Vincent Valentine is the reason you picked up this game, then unfortunately it will disapoint, and I think this is the games biggest problem. It's an inconsistency highlighted by the games own I'd only recommend this game to the FF fan who wants to complete the FF7 story, as the game plays completely differently to any FF game they may be used to. If the idea of playing as Vincent Valentine is the reason you picked up this game, then unfortunately it will disapoint, and I think this is the games biggest problem. It's an inconsistency highlighted by the games own cutscenes; as with Advent Children, Vincent leaps around the environments, spanning massive gaps and dispatching enemy vehicles in a few shots. Cut to the game, and suddenly our hero seems to have lost all previous abilities and finds himself almost permanently glued to the ground level. A double jump is the most he can manage and even though he clearly peaks higher than most obstacles, invisible walls block progress, forcing players down a linear route through the levels. Also, in combat against the same vehicles featured in the videos, a few shots are far from enough to finish them off. Why the designers didn't make a control system and environments that played off the abilities of the main character I honestly don't know, but the final insult came during a brief switch of character during one of the later levels. Whilst playing this other character, the kind of restrictions on movement that Vincent suffers from seem to be removed almost entirely, causing much confusion and frustration when resuming the lead characters role. More inconsistencies came - annoyingly - in some of the level locations, some of which seem to contradict elements of the original game. I accept that they have to be enhanced and enlarged from the original layouts seen in the first game, but some levels take place in areas that shouldn't really exist, and stages that revist areas from the first game share little resembelence with the originals. At the end of the day, the game is a below average shooter that looks like it's trying to play like the original Devil May Cry, falling short, but not so much that it's unplayable. As a fan of Finaly Fantasy 7 I was able to tolerate all this for the almost brilliant story and beautiful cutscenes which give a satisfying conclusion to one of the games most interesting characters in the game universe. Going on style and story alone the game satisfies in truckloads. You simply have to endure some repetitive and badly thought out gameplay to reach these sections. Expand
  7. KevinM.
    Oct 25, 2006
    6
    Its good, but not really. if there were more character usage, i.e- Cloud. It would be better. Very nice split scenes though.
  8. RandyM.
    Aug 24, 2006
    5
    Man, what happened here? I was so hyped up for this game and looking forward to play it before the release of Final Fantasy XII. But after playing this game for a little while, it dawned on me that this game just isn't good. It's a sloppy shooter, but the graphics and story are good at least. I suggest renting it.
  9. ljH.
    Aug 24, 2009
    5
    This game is pretty average. The biggest appeal is for fans to find out the story, nothing else really stands out. The gameplay is enjoyable, but nothing revolutionary, the characters are fairly one dimensional and the levels are very repetitive. I probably would have given this game a higher score if it wasn't for one unbelievably annoying thing that occurs during every cut-scene: This game is pretty average. The biggest appeal is for fans to find out the story, nothing else really stands out. The gameplay is enjoyable, but nothing revolutionary, the characters are fairly one dimensional and the levels are very repetitive. I probably would have given this game a higher score if it wasn't for one unbelievably annoying thing that occurs during every cut-scene: none of the characters can finish a sentence without throwing in a completely unnecessary dramatic pause. It doesn't sound like it would be that annoying, but when all the dialogue is subtitled so you know what they're going to say then it gets unbelievably irritating when they take 5 minutes to say one line. It's as if they have some bizarre stammer! So that is enough to bring it down to a 5. Expand
  10. Sep 28, 2010
    5
    What can I say about this game that hasn't been said... it's just weak, though Square Enix made an effort to try something new, this is one of those time that they missed the mark... way off. I don't need to express much, the gameplay is plausible but weak, the graphic is stunning (the only good thing), the plot... well, it's FF 7, when did the plot ever dissapoint. Cameo characters inWhat can I say about this game that hasn't been said... it's just weak, though Square Enix made an effort to try something new, this is one of those time that they missed the mark... way off. I don't need to express much, the gameplay is plausible but weak, the graphic is stunning (the only good thing), the plot... well, it's FF 7, when did the plot ever dissapoint. Cameo characters in fun, Caith Sith I love YOU!!!... well, it's just a mixed review, don't expect much. Collapse
  11. Mar 11, 2013
    5
    SE nowadays struggles to make good RPGs, let alone good action games. The game has horrible controls and a ridiculous story.
  12. Sep 11, 2013
    5
    An OK spin-off title that is altogether completely forgettable. If it wasn't for the FF 7 affiliation I doubt this game would have seen any sales.

    At it's core it is a generic third person action shooter. The combat is bland, the gameplay is bland, the story is uninteresting. Overall: It isn't a bad game as it technically delivers a functioning game. But it is so unbelievably bland
    An OK spin-off title that is altogether completely forgettable. If it wasn't for the FF 7 affiliation I doubt this game would have seen any sales.

    At it's core it is a generic third person action shooter. The combat is bland, the gameplay is bland, the story is uninteresting.

    Overall:
    It isn't a bad game as it technically delivers a functioning game. But it is so unbelievably bland I get sleepy just thinking about it. But, at the very least, Vincent is still cool and it's always a pleasure to see him on screen.
    Expand
  13. Mar 29, 2013
    5
    Gameplay and features are mediocre. However, if you were a huge FF7 fan, this game expands greatly on the FF7 universe. It takes place after the events of the movie. The story picks up almost painfully slow, but once the twist hits, you will find yourself flung back into an extremely in depth conspiracy with an excellent story. It is unfortunate that this amazing story of the FF7 world wasGameplay and features are mediocre. However, if you were a huge FF7 fan, this game expands greatly on the FF7 universe. It takes place after the events of the movie. The story picks up almost painfully slow, but once the twist hits, you will find yourself flung back into an extremely in depth conspiracy with an excellent story. It is unfortunate that this amazing story of the FF7 world was delivered in a game that fails to deliver. This game receives a bad score from me for the actual gameplay, however if you liked FF7 and if you liked Vincent, you may want to try to experience this story before the gamplay becomes to outdated and unbearable. Expand
  14. Apr 4, 2014
    7
    This game is more like a huge movie, full of cutscenes , and scripted scenes. If you are into complex storytelling and a fan of the FF universe, this game will treat you right. But if you want more ,for example like playing the actual game , this is not for you. The actual game, where you get to control the character is terrible. Not only is it repetitive, but ugly too. the level designThis game is more like a huge movie, full of cutscenes , and scripted scenes. If you are into complex storytelling and a fan of the FF universe, this game will treat you right. But if you want more ,for example like playing the actual game , this is not for you. The actual game, where you get to control the character is terrible. Not only is it repetitive, but ugly too. the level design is as low quality as it gets, and rarely will entertain you. The game tries to reward you with the cutscenes, sort of trying to make up for the gameplay. There are parts in it, where you wish you were Japanese, so you would not get weirded out, like when some bosses are making those totally unnecessary evil laughs, or when things just sort of happen without explanation , and the outcome repetitively changes just to keep you from wanting to skip the movie parts. This game will entertain you, but if the creators would have payed more attention to the non-movie elements of the game, this should have been an awesome title. Expand
  15. Aug 3, 2016
    7
    This game I thought I would give an 8 but no it is a 7. The game is mixed but fine with me. The game is fun but repetitive and bland as well as unoriginal but everything else ranges from okay to great.
  16. Sep 28, 2010
    0
    What can I say about this game that hasn't been said... it's just weak, though Square Enix made an effort to try something new, this is one of those time that they missed the mark... way off. I don't need to express much, the gameplay is plausible but weak, the graphic is stunning (the only good thing), the plot... well, it's FF 7, when did the plot ever dissapoint. Cameo characters inWhat can I say about this game that hasn't been said... it's just weak, though Square Enix made an effort to try something new, this is one of those time that they missed the mark... way off. I don't need to express much, the gameplay is plausible but weak, the graphic is stunning (the only good thing), the plot... well, it's FF 7, when did the plot ever dissapoint. Cameo characters in fun, Caith Sith I love YOU!!!... well, it's just a mixed review, don't expect much. Collapse

Awards & Rankings

#12 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2006
#9 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2006
Metascore
57

Mixed or average reviews - based on 51 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 51
  2. Negative: 10 out of 51
  1. 65
    For those not as blinded by fandom, this game proves to be just a ploy for money and a demonstration of slow degradation of the Final Fantasy series.
  2. Mediocre at best gameplay coupled with graphical bliss and a lengthy story guarantee huge sales, but you’d be much better off waiting a month and getting FF XII as this is no RPG and it’s no picnic. [JPN Import]
  3. It's a unique take on the FPS, RPG and action genres, but at the same time Dirge of Cerberus doesn’t execute either of these genres extremely well. If you’re willing to be patient with the game’s controls Dirge of Cerberus offers a new experience and more background on the Final Fantasy VII universe. [JPN Import]