• Publisher: Tecmo
  • Release Date: Oct 25, 2000
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 56 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 45 out of 56
  2. Negative: 6 out of 56

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. BillyL.
    Aug 9, 2002
    1
    The one point goes to the graphics, while not as nice as tekken 4 or even tekken tag's graphics, it certainly looks nice.
  2. Nuño
    Oct 19, 2001
    4
    Just good graphics but lacks a lot of game play. Stories are really short and you don´t get to understand them very well. Realism is not in the game and also moves are very limited. I will rate this game as a JUST RENT.
  3. SethD.
    Jul 31, 2001
    5
    Though entertaining, it lacks in length, realistic characters, and replay value. Arena falls and Instant Replay are nice though.
  4. [Anonymous]
    Sep 26, 2001
    4
    Those 4 points come from graphics... Come on, good looking jacks don't make a game. This is just for the buttonbangers. No depth whatsoever!
  5. MaryC.
    Jun 12, 2002
    5
    I'm gonna go with a "half-&-half" for "DOA2H." I think that this game has nice graphics. (Umm... except for the fact that all the women are basically... uhh... sluts @_@) I like the way the game plays, it looks good (sans the slutty girls), & I like the number of outfits for each character (yet again... sans the slutty & skanky outfits for the females) This game is rather insultive I'm gonna go with a "half-&-half" for "DOA2H." I think that this game has nice graphics. (Umm... except for the fact that all the women are basically... uhh... sluts @_@) I like the way the game plays, it looks good (sans the slutty girls), & I like the number of outfits for each character (yet again... sans the slutty & skanky outfits for the females) This game is rather insultive to girls... they try to make it seem like girls are basically sluts. ~_~ I REALLY dislike that!!! The reason I gave this game a 5 was for 3 main reasons. I don't think it deserves any higher than the score that I gave it. (1) The graphics are very nice. (I've only seen graphics like that for DOA3 (very nice) & Tekken 4 (very nice). (2) The multi-tiered levels... it's fun to knock someone off a building... but it isn't very realistic. (I mean COME ON... how many people can get knocked off a HUGE cliff or building & still survive!!! No one... I rest my case there. (3) The fighting is nice & swift... but it's definately lacking something. This game... I'm sorry to say... only relies on slutty girls fighting in disgustingly revealing outfits to try & get boys to buy it. It's rather pathetic. The game deserves a 5 for what it is... but it definitely isn't all that... Expand
  6. KyleK.
    Nov 17, 2003
    6
    Realistic environments, good characters, it's a damn good fighting game but it won't ever beat the tekken's.
  7. HeatherA.
    Nov 19, 2001
    1
    how in the hell did this game get a Metascore of 91? Dead or Alive 3 had a metascore of only 88 well, you pople must not get out much. "Project Justice" is the best fighting game.
  8. Ed&AprilB
    Aug 10, 2005
    0
    Ok this is a piece of garbage. I bought Tekken, Virtual and Soul Caliber and this piece of junk at the same time and I took it back and was happy that I got 3 dollars for the ten I wasted! 1. The characters SUCK: Chunky chicks in bathing suits cannot kick ass ...sorry so unbelievable I couldn't stand to play it. I hated getting beat by the chunky blond bimbo..hated it. Needs real Ok this is a piece of garbage. I bought Tekken, Virtual and Soul Caliber and this piece of junk at the same time and I took it back and was happy that I got 3 dollars for the ten I wasted! 1. The characters SUCK: Chunky chicks in bathing suits cannot kick ass ...sorry so unbelievable I couldn't stand to play it. I hated getting beat by the chunky blond bimbo..hated it. Needs real characters that look like they could kick ass like in soul caliber and virtual fighter. 2. Controls and response ok but are crap when compared to Soul and Virtual. 3. Sound - garbage again for the same price go get soul caliber or virtual fighter. 4. Graphics: I hate to repeat myself but the ratings for Virtual and Soul Caliber are better and by god there right. The graphics suck compared to these other games. Not worthing owning !!! Take it back ,,,throw it away ! D.O.A. stands for Dont Own At anytime Expand
  9. SuzumiN.
    Mar 9, 2006
    10
    That last review was horrible. Doa is a really good game. The only reason why those 2 people would hate it is because they're both stereo types and like games that only contain really good graphics. I'm not really a fan of Virtua fighter because most of the characters some of the street fighters characters but thats no the reason why i dont like it. DOA is a game where you can That last review was horrible. Doa is a really good game. The only reason why those 2 people would hate it is because they're both stereo types and like games that only contain really good graphics. I'm not really a fan of Virtua fighter because most of the characters some of the street fighters characters but thats no the reason why i dont like it. DOA is a game where you can learn how to understand the moves and styles used by different characters. The bad reveiwers just didnt understand what it means to motion cap and make a game where you can actually put moves on your favorite characters. That reviewer doesnt have the right to call him or her self a gamer until they can learn to accept their ways of gaming. Collapse
  10. MichaelM.
    Sep 22, 2001
    9
    I'd give it 9.99999 if i could! This is the best Beat'em up I've ever played. The graphics and soundtrack are ace as are the controls, and there is so much to unlock! I hope all fighting games take note of this game, they should take some pointers. The only improvements would be fully destructible backgrounds and more realism, i.e. Blood!
  11. SvenVanA.
    Jan 9, 2002
    10
    This is the best fighting game I ever played!
  12. Chunkat*(^.^)*
    Jul 9, 2002
    8
    Well, well... for a Streetfighter player, DO2 has certainly caught my intrest. The combos are incredible!! fighting style is a 10/10! I love the tags and graphics! oh and falling of 3 levels of buildings?...MORE!!MORE!!! Its so fast and action packed and its not just like any other fighting game they have little things to collect in survior etc. I think the little extras are what makes a Well, well... for a Streetfighter player, DO2 has certainly caught my intrest. The combos are incredible!! fighting style is a 10/10! I love the tags and graphics! oh and falling of 3 levels of buildings?...MORE!!MORE!!! Its so fast and action packed and its not just like any other fighting game they have little things to collect in survior etc. I think the little extras are what makes a fighting game different from just..."an ordinary fighting game". But i guess ur still wondering why i gave it 8/10... and yes...since im a girl it is my job to stand up for the raunchy look of the girls in the game. At first i was like "OH MY GOD!". I mean do guys even know how much it herts when they wobble that much? are they even wearing bras?!! They should be more worried of thier boobs aching than other parts being bashed up! And what with Jann-Lee!! that throw of his?!where he lifts up the opponent leg then kicks them down?! I mean on a guy..ok...but on a girl..MAJOR "LETS HAVE A LITTLE PERVE B4 I KICK HER DOWN!" and lets go TINA! woah! if her leather bikini aint enuf try her move where she grabs en slams a guy on da floor and she has her head bewteen the guys legs. raunchy! but i guess 'Dark Phoenix' would have a kick out of that eh? haha. If they made the girls so sluttly then they should have made the guys more sexy too! i mean come on!! Ein without his top? WHERE ARE THE PACS??!!! the only thing that ive seen raunghy about a guy is Zack in his telly tubby costume. hahah talk about BUM CRACK! but the whole costume turns you off anyway~ UGH~!!! The gallery dont even have guys only girls.?! and the booklet, if they wanted the girls to wear hardly anything..why not make them naked in da first place?! At first i thought some characters in other fighting games wear so exposed (eg:wrestling chick in marvel vs cap. or Heihachi nappy sack in tekken4), but i dont think nothing is as raunchy as DOA2. My first image that came to mind was... "is one of the guy characters going to have this counter where he rapes the girl?!" or "is a tina going to do this breast punce double slap move?" yeeeeesh!hahaha well at least tina's dad sets his opinion through which then might relate to the guys. Im sure our boyfriends...the decent ones..wouldnt want us girls selling off our body like that on a public streets.Well you girls might get angry with your boyfriends coz they might be influenced by this generalisation of women, but its thier own fault and the creators, that make us girls think every guy in da world who would even think of playing DOA2 be a 100% pervert!...generally speaking~ but anyway at least i get to win alot against my bro hahaha, he's to busy perving at my character to notice im kicking his ass!!! YEah-ah! ^.^ Expand
  13. ChrisR.
    Jul 15, 2001
    9
    Graphics could have been better and playability's a little too complex, but great concept and music is nice.
  14. DeadlyFighter
    Jan 3, 2002
    10
    This is a game you can sit down and play for hours. So many different fighting styles unlike other fighting games that copy the same move list to characters, in DOA2 no two characters are alike.
  15. BenB.
    Jul 2, 2002
    10
    I have played all of the DOA games and it's my opinion that DOA2H is the best. I think it's the best graphiced one the controls are alot easier than DOA3 for X Box.
  16. Der
    Aug 14, 2002
    8
    I like this game. Quite a lot. I like this game so much that, before getting Hardcore, I went out and paid 30 bucks to get the Dreamcast version. Despite what people say, there's quite a bit of depth. The only reason I can think of that could lower any of the "depth" would be to use the D-Pad instead of the analog stick. Realism is nice, most of the times, but there are a few times I like this game. Quite a lot. I like this game so much that, before getting Hardcore, I went out and paid 30 bucks to get the Dreamcast version. Despite what people say, there's quite a bit of depth. The only reason I can think of that could lower any of the "depth" would be to use the D-Pad instead of the analog stick. Realism is nice, most of the times, but there are a few times where they kind of push it (read: Ein's power slam punch and the building falls). But both of those are in the game for good reason. I think giving a player the ability to knock a person off to a different level and continue the fight there, while a bit impossible due to the fall the other player took, is pretty damn cool. So it's forgivable. And, yeah. There are a few somewhat revealing costumes for the female characters. Big whoop. I don't think that's any reason for a reviewer, male OR female, to raise or lower their score. There's more revealing clothing in professional wrestling (read: I'm not sure about these days, but there used to be that Chyna chick, or whatever, who ran around in a flipping bikini). Besides which, since when is a traditional chinese dress slutty? A fancy french attire, for whores? Hardly. And for all you "oh, they just put the girls in for whore-factor and jiggle" kind of people out there, keep in mind that two of the three best characters in the game are chicks: Kasumi and Ayane. So, while I can see where feminists would have a bit of trouble with this game, I don't. And I really think they're out of line if they think that there's too much "slutty clothing for the chicks" in this game. All I can say to that is to tell them to watch some cable TV and take a quick trip to the beach. There's worse in real life. Expand
  17. ShaunC.
    Aug 26, 2002
    9
    I thought that this game was really cool. It had awesome graphics and butt kicking action fighting, I would still think it was better than Vurtua Fighter 4 or Tekken Tag. My favorite level is Demon's Church so you can fall down threw the glass window. So if you don't got this game, I would reckomend it as a great thriller for the PS2!!!
  18. SteveC.
    Feb 20, 2007
    7
    Good graphics, good characters, good fighting game, bad story ending.
  19. NielsK.
    Oct 19, 2001
    10
    Wooaahh - best MartialArt-Game ever seen - hot & real fast action and real hot women ;)
  20. ColdFusion
    Dec 21, 2001
    10
    Darn no 11 rank crudd what to do oh yah opps im soposto be talking about this game eh hehe that?s right oh yah its a kick butt game for a lot even though the graphics could be a bit better its perfect the way it is i don?t care at all and i have most of the suits unlocked it took me and a few friends a while tho but great fun it is with people and i am awesome with most characters its a Darn no 11 rank crudd what to do oh yah opps im soposto be talking about this game eh hehe that?s right oh yah its a kick butt game for a lot even though the graphics could be a bit better its perfect the way it is i don?t care at all and i have most of the suits unlocked it took me and a few friends a while tho but great fun it is with people and i am awesome with most characters its a must buy for everyone above 12 id say and kids keep the age to what you are ok ok its not a jack off game its a fighting game jesus ok well that is all for now oh and bayman is a must unlock i am good with him he is sooo much better then leon heheh the better twin i say. Expand
  21. AllenH.
    Dec 30, 2001
    9
    This game is excellent. The ability to reverse moves makes it great to play a buttonbashing begginer. The graphics are great and there is plenty of things to unlock.
  22. H.W.
    Jul 4, 2001
    9
    For a fighting game, its great overall. The best part is the ladies, though...
  23. JoolzS.
    Feb 12, 2002
    10
    Awesome gameplay, great graphics, and a hellova lot more to do than most fighters.
  24. DarkPhoenix
    Apr 13, 2002
    10
    What?! They only give you up to a 10?! How cheap...this game deserves at LEAST an 11. Smooth Graphics, gameplay, sound, controls, and tons of extremely hot women...Tin'as gorgous in my full opinion. Gameplay's awesome....I own The Bouncer, Tekken Tag, and Dead Or Alive 2. They're all a little different, but each kick major ass in their own way. DOA2: Hardcore is a must own What?! They only give you up to a 10?! How cheap...this game deserves at LEAST an 11. Smooth Graphics, gameplay, sound, controls, and tons of extremely hot women...Tin'as gorgous in my full opinion. Gameplay's awesome....I own The Bouncer, Tekken Tag, and Dead Or Alive 2. They're all a little different, but each kick major ass in their own way. DOA2: Hardcore is a must own fighter. I fully agree with S.L...if you don't like it, you obviously can't handle it. But that's okay, for you X-Box fans...DOA2 just MIGHT be a tad too advanced for you....I mean, you've got multi-interactive enviorments, eye-blazing grahpics, sweet control, music that makes the hairs on the back of you're neck stand up, and man, MAJOR hotties which just LOVE to bounce, bounce, and bounce!!! It's such an awesome game. There's a variety of bad-ass characters....Leon, though he's older than a lot of characters, kicks ass. Ein, a younger character, is strong and quick, while Zack, a boxer, is fast, funny, and strong.....there's a ton of more characters to mention, but I'd probably take up too much space. Also, every chick's pretty hot...and each one comes with excellent costumes which reveal more than enough..... ( I'd like to see Ein's C3 costume on Tina...if you know what I mean, guys, hehe ) There's plenty of modes that rule. An extremely quick, up-beat tag feature, Story Mode-- the scenes make some sense....while some are funny. There's versus, tag team, sparring, a recording battle, UPS, loads of options, Survival and plenty more to quench the thirst of any fighting-fans thirst for excellent gameplay. DOA3's pretty cool, but man, the hotties just didn't jiggle enough, there wasn't enough unlockable options, or enough options at that...kind of depressing, but I'm glad the PS2 got the best DOA. So end to end, if you don't like watching sweet graphics, girls that bounce as they kicks ass, many awesome areas to duke it out, and loads more, you're probably attracted to the opposite sex, or just can't handle the sheer perfection of DOA2. Peace out, all! Expand
  25. DanielV.
    Apr 17, 2002
    10
    This game has very good graphix, a very good story (u could learn the stories from everyones view), and millions of moves. Excellent!
  26. GerritV.
    Apr 22, 2002
    9
    It's my first doa game, and I love it.
  27. Carlos
    Apr 23, 2002
    10
    This game is the BEST of the BEST! A full year after buying it, I'm STILL finding new moves, new camera angles, faster AI, and sick ..sick..SICK COMBOS! TekkenTagCrap is literally a beverage coaster now... i could have returned it, but my point is much clearer when i serve a drink with it used as a coaster. Virtual Fighter 4 got played for less than a day, and hasn't been This game is the BEST of the BEST! A full year after buying it, I'm STILL finding new moves, new camera angles, faster AI, and sick ..sick..SICK COMBOS! TekkenTagCrap is literally a beverage coaster now... i could have returned it, but my point is much clearer when i serve a drink with it used as a coaster. Virtual Fighter 4 got played for less than a day, and hasn't been re-opened since...! Those that can't understand own GameBoy's and the X-Box is for rich sheep! Pure AssKickers love DOA2: Hardcore on the PS2!!! -easy Expand
  28. NsotrosT.
    Aug 21, 2002
    8
    This is a great game! Incredible graphics (makes GT3 look "eh"), easy but sophisticated controls. insane combos, story mode, and plenty of hott women! I give it an 8, for graphics, gameplay, music and controls. I subtracted two points mostly because there is not enough to do. Yeah, yeah, you're looking for big combos for a long time, but once you beat story mode with everyone (story This is a great game! Incredible graphics (makes GT3 look "eh"), easy but sophisticated controls. insane combos, story mode, and plenty of hott women! I give it an 8, for graphics, gameplay, music and controls. I subtracted two points mostly because there is not enough to do. Yeah, yeah, you're looking for big combos for a long time, but once you beat story mode with everyone (story mode is 7 levels) there is not much to do. Unlike Virtua Fighter 4, you cannot continuously play in story mode. All in all, this is an awesome game, and I reccomend it to anyone looking to buy a PS2 Fighter!!! Expand
  29. IriquoisP.
    Aug 25, 2003
    10
    This is the best game in the world. Whoever rated this below 8 has a bad taste for games. This game should be a greatest hits game if it isn't.
  30. AnnO.
    Jan 9, 2005
    8
    This game is great for it's time. good graphics,solid fighting system, although sometimes it can be a bit cheap (jan lee's bruce lee style punch and tengu's repeated whirlwind attack.) the english voice acting is not bad for a fighting game. the movements are realistic (mostly for the girls)but its not as good as soul calibur wich came out at the same time. as a girl I sayThis game is great for it's time. good graphics,solid fighting system, although sometimes it can be a bit cheap (jan lee's bruce lee style punch and tengu's repeated whirlwind attack.) the english voice acting is not bad for a fighting game. the movements are realistic (mostly for the girls)but its not as good as soul calibur wich came out at the same time. as a girl I say this game is solid for its time. Expand
  31. Robert
    Nov 3, 2001
    10
    This game is the best fighting game in the the world. I could even say its the best game in the world. Graphics are as smooth as a baby's ass and the game play is out of this planet. It also has some sexy ladies.
  32. S.L.
    Dec 11, 2001
    8
    An excellent game, fairly realistic, good graphics. anyone who doesn't like it obviously can't handle it.
  33. Serra
    Dec 4, 2001
    7
    You really can't judge how one game is compared to another similar game on another system. Saying that, I love the speed and graphics, but there are TOO many moves with many similar button combos...I feel like I am getting lucky mashing random buttons more than anything.
  34. AbeH.
    Sep 13, 2001
    10
    Absolutely a fantastic game. Amazing 3-d graphics and special effects make it all worth while. Each character with a cool variety of costumes and special techniques to satisfy the mind. A++ in my book.
  35. ZackW.
    Jan 19, 2002
    10
    This game is outstanding. With real lifelike motion and great graphics, Dead or Alive has reached new heights. Dead or Alive 3 is a great game. But they tried to over do it a little too much. Not making the game as good, and perfect as said.But deaf or alive 2 hardcore is another story. With many costumes, fun game modes, and wonder fight techneques. Makes this top fighting for any Dead This game is outstanding. With real lifelike motion and great graphics, Dead or Alive has reached new heights. Dead or Alive 3 is a great game. But they tried to over do it a little too much. Not making the game as good, and perfect as said.But deaf or alive 2 hardcore is another story. With many costumes, fun game modes, and wonder fight techneques. Makes this top fighting for any Dead or Alive series! Expand
  36. ZackW.
    Jan 19, 2002
    10
    This game is outstanding. With real lifelike motion and great graphics, Dead or Alive has reached new heights. Dead or Alive 3 is a great game. But they tried to over do it a little too much. Not making the game as good, and perfect as said.But deaf or alive 2 hardcore is another story. With many costumes, fun game modes, and wonder fight techneques. Makes this top fighting for any Dead This game is outstanding. With real lifelike motion and great graphics, Dead or Alive has reached new heights. Dead or Alive 3 is a great game. But they tried to over do it a little too much. Not making the game as good, and perfect as said.But deaf or alive 2 hardcore is another story. With many costumes, fun game modes, and wonder fight techneques. Makes this top fighting for any Dead or Alive series! Expand
  37. Jason
    Dec 19, 2001
    8
    Great game, though the story lines are short and hard to follow. Excellent graphics and lots of playing options.
  38. Jul 21, 2011
    8
    Eh... so its the Dreamcast port of the same game with blockier characters? No I'm not kidding- read up about Sony's porting teams and their overall inconsistency in porting this game over the Playstation hardware. Its almost a travesty. Fantastically fun fighting game though and probably one of the few outside of Soul Calibur that I ever got into (although the first one on dreamcast isEh... so its the Dreamcast port of the same game with blockier characters? No I'm not kidding- read up about Sony's porting teams and their overall inconsistency in porting this game over the Playstation hardware. Its almost a travesty. Fantastically fun fighting game though and probably one of the few outside of Soul Calibur that I ever got into (although the first one on dreamcast is still pretty awesome). Tight controls, good mechanics, more boobs... this game has it all! It does happen to have a bunch more features (that may be irrelevant if you just like the game though) than the Dreamcast version. I don't really care though. Expand
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 20
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 20
  3. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. Incredible at the time, DOA2 did things the "big boys" hadn't even dreamed of. [Oct 2004, p.122]
  2. 80
    The action is fast and exciting, the breasts still jiggle and the scene interaction could actually see you saying the word "wow!"
  3. 100
    One of the best looking fighters so far for the PS2, it eclipses "Street Fighter EX3" and "Tekken Tag Tournament" for beauty.