• Publisher: Tecmo
  • Release Date: Oct 25, 2000
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 56 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 45 out of 56
  2. Negative: 6 out of 56

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. SuzumiN.
    Mar 9, 2006
    10
    That last review was horrible. Doa is a really good game. The only reason why those 2 people would hate it is because they're both stereo types and like games that only contain really good graphics. I'm not really a fan of Virtua fighter because most of the characters some of the street fighters characters but thats no the reason why i dont like it. DOA is a game where you can That last review was horrible. Doa is a really good game. The only reason why those 2 people would hate it is because they're both stereo types and like games that only contain really good graphics. I'm not really a fan of Virtua fighter because most of the characters some of the street fighters characters but thats no the reason why i dont like it. DOA is a game where you can learn how to understand the moves and styles used by different characters. The bad reveiwers just didnt understand what it means to motion cap and make a game where you can actually put moves on your favorite characters. That reviewer doesnt have the right to call him or her self a gamer until they can learn to accept their ways of gaming. Expand
  2. IriquoisP.
    Aug 25, 2003
    10
    This is the best game in the world. Whoever rated this below 8 has a bad taste for games. This game should be a greatest hits game if it isn't.
  3. ShaunC.
    Aug 26, 2002
    9
    I thought that this game was really cool. It had awesome graphics and butt kicking action fighting, I would still think it was better than Vurtua Fighter 4 or Tekken Tag. My favorite level is Demon's Church so you can fall down threw the glass window. So if you don't got this game, I would reckomend it as a great thriller for the PS2!!!
  4. BenB.
    Jul 2, 2002
    10
    I have played all of the DOA games and it's my opinion that DOA2H is the best. I think it's the best graphiced one the controls are alot easier than DOA3 for X Box.
  5. Carlos
    Apr 23, 2002
    10
    This game is the BEST of the BEST! A full year after buying it, I'm STILL finding new moves, new camera angles, faster AI, and sick ..sick..SICK COMBOS! TekkenTagCrap is literally a beverage coaster now... i could have returned it, but my point is much clearer when i serve a drink with it used as a coaster. Virtual Fighter 4 got played for less than a day, and hasn't been This game is the BEST of the BEST! A full year after buying it, I'm STILL finding new moves, new camera angles, faster AI, and sick ..sick..SICK COMBOS! TekkenTagCrap is literally a beverage coaster now... i could have returned it, but my point is much clearer when i serve a drink with it used as a coaster. Virtual Fighter 4 got played for less than a day, and hasn't been re-opened since...! Those that can't understand own GameBoy's and the X-Box is for rich sheep! Pure AssKickers love DOA2: Hardcore on the PS2!!! -easy Expand
  6. GerritV.
    Apr 22, 2002
    9
    It's my first doa game, and I love it.
  7. DanielV.
    Apr 17, 2002
    10
    This game has very good graphix, a very good story (u could learn the stories from everyones view), and millions of moves. Excellent!
  8. DarkPhoenix
    Apr 13, 2002
    10
    What?! They only give you up to a 10?! How cheap...this game deserves at LEAST an 11. Smooth Graphics, gameplay, sound, controls, and tons of extremely hot women...Tin'as gorgous in my full opinion. Gameplay's awesome....I own The Bouncer, Tekken Tag, and Dead Or Alive 2. They're all a little different, but each kick major ass in their own way. DOA2: Hardcore is a must own What?! They only give you up to a 10?! How cheap...this game deserves at LEAST an 11. Smooth Graphics, gameplay, sound, controls, and tons of extremely hot women...Tin'as gorgous in my full opinion. Gameplay's awesome....I own The Bouncer, Tekken Tag, and Dead Or Alive 2. They're all a little different, but each kick major ass in their own way. DOA2: Hardcore is a must own fighter. I fully agree with S.L...if you don't like it, you obviously can't handle it. But that's okay, for you X-Box fans...DOA2 just MIGHT be a tad too advanced for you....I mean, you've got multi-interactive enviorments, eye-blazing grahpics, sweet control, music that makes the hairs on the back of you're neck stand up, and man, MAJOR hotties which just LOVE to bounce, bounce, and bounce!!! It's such an awesome game. There's a variety of bad-ass characters....Leon, though he's older than a lot of characters, kicks ass. Ein, a younger character, is strong and quick, while Zack, a boxer, is fast, funny, and strong.....there's a ton of more characters to mention, but I'd probably take up too much space. Also, every chick's pretty hot...and each one comes with excellent costumes which reveal more than enough..... ( I'd like to see Ein's C3 costume on Tina...if you know what I mean, guys, hehe ) There's plenty of modes that rule. An extremely quick, up-beat tag feature, Story Mode-- the scenes make some sense....while some are funny. There's versus, tag team, sparring, a recording battle, UPS, loads of options, Survival and plenty more to quench the thirst of any fighting-fans thirst for excellent gameplay. DOA3's pretty cool, but man, the hotties just didn't jiggle enough, there wasn't enough unlockable options, or enough options at that...kind of depressing, but I'm glad the PS2 got the best DOA. So end to end, if you don't like watching sweet graphics, girls that bounce as they kicks ass, many awesome areas to duke it out, and loads more, you're probably attracted to the opposite sex, or just can't handle the sheer perfection of DOA2. Peace out, all! Expand
  9. JoolzS.
    Feb 12, 2002
    10
    Awesome gameplay, great graphics, and a hellova lot more to do than most fighters.
  10. ZackW.
    Jan 19, 2002
    10
    This game is outstanding. With real lifelike motion and great graphics, Dead or Alive has reached new heights. Dead or Alive 3 is a great game. But they tried to over do it a little too much. Not making the game as good, and perfect as said.But deaf or alive 2 hardcore is another story. With many costumes, fun game modes, and wonder fight techneques. Makes this top fighting for any Dead This game is outstanding. With real lifelike motion and great graphics, Dead or Alive has reached new heights. Dead or Alive 3 is a great game. But they tried to over do it a little too much. Not making the game as good, and perfect as said.But deaf or alive 2 hardcore is another story. With many costumes, fun game modes, and wonder fight techneques. Makes this top fighting for any Dead or Alive series! Collapse
  11. ZackW.
    Jan 19, 2002
    10
    This game is outstanding. With real lifelike motion and great graphics, Dead or Alive has reached new heights. Dead or Alive 3 is a great game. But they tried to over do it a little too much. Not making the game as good, and perfect as said.But deaf or alive 2 hardcore is another story. With many costumes, fun game modes, and wonder fight techneques. Makes this top fighting for any Dead This game is outstanding. With real lifelike motion and great graphics, Dead or Alive has reached new heights. Dead or Alive 3 is a great game. But they tried to over do it a little too much. Not making the game as good, and perfect as said.But deaf or alive 2 hardcore is another story. With many costumes, fun game modes, and wonder fight techneques. Makes this top fighting for any Dead or Alive series! Expand
  12. SvenVanA.
    Jan 9, 2002
    10
    This is the best fighting game I ever played!
  13. DeadlyFighter
    Jan 3, 2002
    10
    This is a game you can sit down and play for hours. So many different fighting styles unlike other fighting games that copy the same move list to characters, in DOA2 no two characters are alike.
  14. AllenH.
    Dec 30, 2001
    9
    This game is excellent. The ability to reverse moves makes it great to play a buttonbashing begginer. The graphics are great and there is plenty of things to unlock.
  15. ColdFusion
    Dec 21, 2001
    10
    Darn no 11 rank crudd what to do oh yah opps im soposto be talking about this game eh hehe that?s right oh yah its a kick butt game for a lot even though the graphics could be a bit better its perfect the way it is i don?t care at all and i have most of the suits unlocked it took me and a few friends a while tho but great fun it is with people and i am awesome with most characters its a Darn no 11 rank crudd what to do oh yah opps im soposto be talking about this game eh hehe that?s right oh yah its a kick butt game for a lot even though the graphics could be a bit better its perfect the way it is i don?t care at all and i have most of the suits unlocked it took me and a few friends a while tho but great fun it is with people and i am awesome with most characters its a must buy for everyone above 12 id say and kids keep the age to what you are ok ok its not a jack off game its a fighting game jesus ok well that is all for now oh and bayman is a must unlock i am good with him he is sooo much better then leon heheh the better twin i say. Expand
  16. Robert
    Nov 3, 2001
    10
    This game is the best fighting game in the the world. I could even say its the best game in the world. Graphics are as smooth as a baby's ass and the game play is out of this planet. It also has some sexy ladies.
  17. NielsK.
    Oct 19, 2001
    10
    Wooaahh - best MartialArt-Game ever seen - hot & real fast action and real hot women ;)
  18. MichaelM.
    Sep 22, 2001
    9
    I'd give it 9.99999 if i could! This is the best Beat'em up I've ever played. The graphics and soundtrack are ace as are the controls, and there is so much to unlock! I hope all fighting games take note of this game, they should take some pointers. The only improvements would be fully destructible backgrounds and more realism, i.e. Blood!
  19. AbeH.
    Sep 13, 2001
    10
    Absolutely a fantastic game. Amazing 3-d graphics and special effects make it all worth while. Each character with a cool variety of costumes and special techniques to satisfy the mind. A++ in my book.
  20. ChrisR.
    Jul 15, 2001
    9
    Graphics could have been better and playability's a little too complex, but great concept and music is nice.
  21. H.W.
    Jul 4, 2001
    9
    For a fighting game, its great overall. The best part is the ladies, though...
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 20
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 20
  3. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. Incredible at the time, DOA2 did things the "big boys" hadn't even dreamed of. [Oct 2004, p.122]
  2. 80
    The action is fast and exciting, the breasts still jiggle and the scene interaction could actually see you saying the word "wow!"
  3. 100
    One of the best looking fighters so far for the PS2, it eclipses "Street Fighter EX3" and "Tekken Tag Tournament" for beauty.