Enter the Matrix PlayStation 2

  • Publisher: Atari
  • Release Date: May 14, 2003
  • Also On: PC
Metascore
62

Mixed or average reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 30
  2. Negative: 6 out of 30
Buy On
  1. It is blighted on so many levels by the blundering stupidity of its malformed stillborn design that recommending it is beyond us. The blue pill never looked so tasty.
  2. Enter the Matrix isn't a perfect slice of interactive entertainment, but it does provide at least a dozen hours of action-packed fun and serves as a clever vehicle to expand on the events in "The Matrix Reloaded."
  3. Yet another licence that fails to deliver in the same way as its celluliod counterpart but a tasty, violent adventure nonetheless. [PSM2]
  4. When we hear the words “movie” and “license” we automatically start sharpening knives. In this case we were to busy moistening to the sight of total and unashamed gun-porn to want to draw blood. Yes, we feel ashamed.
  5. Hardcore Matrix fans will definitely love this game and find it everything they expected. For everyone else, ETM won't be anything more than an average game that seems too similar to many other titles already out there.
  6. Every single kung-fu move that I had hoped I could perform, I can. Every single slow motion cinematic I had hoped would be present, certainly is. And every single story detail I could have hoped for is present and accounted for.
  7. 72
    A decent game... The fundamental flaw with this game is that it looks and feels slightly unfinished, from the unpolished textures to the bad camera and sparse level design.
  8. That's the key problem with Enter the Matrix...it feels so 2+ years ago.
  9. The game's story isn't strong enough to stand on its own, and the gameplay simply doesn't save it, making the game worth a look for hard-core fans of The Matrix films, but a buggy disappointment for just about anyone else.
  10. A prime example of a good idea gone bad. If it weren’t for the annoying controls and the ho-hum nature of the game it would actually have been pretty good, but as it stands unless you are a huge fan of the movies this game isn’t worth buying.
  11. If anything is to be learned here, it's that the Wachowski Brothers are not gamers -- this title is proof of it. If they really were, they would never have allowed this mediocre title to have been released. The game is buggy, has bad graphics, and terrible controls.
  12. The game is by no means a weak attempt to cash in on a franchise...Gamers not only get tons of extra movie action but also get to run, kick, and shoot in a fully realized Matrix universe.
  13. Fans of "The Matrix: Reloaded" will want to jack in for the stylish focus moves and original movie footage that fleshes out the events depicted in the film. Everyone else, however, will want to pull the plug and run to the nearest exit.
  14. While Enter the Matrix ties in really well with the movie franchise, it isn’t much of a game.
  15. The PS2 version is the ugliest, with the Gamecube a close second and the Xbox looking the best, but even the green machine version won't be winning any awards.
  16. The implementation here is nearly a complete waste, considering the richness of the universe involved. Lousy controls, sterile and anemic environments, and weaksauce driving environments all pull down the good work done in the sound, character graphics and new footage departments.
  17. PSM Magazine
    60
    Hand-to-hand combat within the game requires zero skill. [Aug 2003, p.31]
  18. The main problem beyond the visual execution is the poor overall level design, which is one dimensional and linear.
  19. GMR Magazine
    40
    As passive entertainment, ETM isn't bad...As interactive entertainment (as a game, that is), this Matrix is quite simply spectacularly average. [Aug 2003, p.76]
  20. Game Informer
    85
    The Matrix vibe is in full effect, and I can give you my personal guarantee that you won't be able to put it down until you've seen all the new footage. [June 2003, p.100]
  21. While the original plot and movie footage are an interesting look into the backstory between The Animatrix, Reloaded and the original film, the lackluster action, replayability and glitches severely hamper this title from truly being great.
  22. Fans of action titles are almost certainly also big fans of The Matrix, and will be disconcerted by such a pallid tie-in.
  23. Due to repetitive and extremely linear gameplay and an overall lack of polish, Enter the Matrix ends up being not all it could have been.
  24. 55
    PS2 owners get the worst console version of a weak game.
  25. Electronic Gaming Monthly
    43
    In more than 20 years of playing games, I have never seen a console game as obviously unfinished and rushed to market as Enter the Matrix...This game is a complete mess, and that's the only complete thing about it. [Aug 2003, p.114]
  26. Seems to split its aim between hardcore "Matrix" fans and experienced gamers; if you find yourself with a foot in both camps, you may well find this one of the most faithful movie-to-game experiences in recent memory.
  27. 60
    Lovers of Le Matrix should play just to see all the official Wachowski peripheral story stuff—it’s really quite cool, and actually adds to the story—but the PS2 game was jacked out of its own development Matrix too early.
  28. Official U.S. Playstation Magazine
    60
    Take the red pill. And by "take," I mean "rent." [Aug 2003, p.96]
  29. Play Magazine
    83
    All is not perfect in Enter the Matrix, but for its few flaws, the game delivers what it is meant to: a very convincing experience inside The Matrix that looks, smells, and feels like... The Matrix. [July 2003, p.76]
  30. Entertainment Weekly
    75
    Wants to be so many different games that it doesn't excel at any one of them. [13 June 2003]

Awards & Rankings

#8 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2003
User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 135 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 66
  2. Negative: 11 out of 66
  1. Jun 25, 2016
    8
    Plunged hours into this title several years ago. Remember it having pretty neat gamplay, neat controls, good characters and a pretty goodPlunged hours into this title several years ago. Remember it having pretty neat gamplay, neat controls, good characters and a pretty good story. Really captured the feel of the real film with the emphasis on the focus mode and the new abilities that were granted when you start that up. A solid game with a few great moments. Full Review »
  2. Oct 3, 2015
    3
    Si bien no he sido un amante de la peli matrix pero me hice con este juego ya hace un par de años porque estaba a precio baratisimo y porSi bien no he sido un amante de la peli matrix pero me hice con este juego ya hace un par de años porque estaba a precio baratisimo y por suerte porque los gráficos fueron unos de sus puntos mas débiles de este juego si bien para su época no era una maravilla escenarios algo pobres y texturas de baja calidad aunque los modelados de los personajes estaba bien en resumen habían muchas cosas que no era de mucho agrado en cuanto a términos visuales y de positivo bien poco la luchas a un no estaban tan mal . Pero podemos decir que fue un juego realmente pobre en todo los apartados . Full Review »
  3. Feb 23, 2014
    5
    The terrible controls and no checkpoint system is why this game is getting a 5 from me. There's no doubt that this was rushed to releaseThe terrible controls and no checkpoint system is why this game is getting a 5 from me. There's no doubt that this was rushed to release alongside Reloaded. Biggest complaint is two campaigns which basically follow the same plot. They should have stuck with one, but that's not the point, is it? Full Review »