• Publisher: Atari
  • Release Date: May 14, 2003
  • Also On: PC
User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 99 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 71 out of 99
  2. Negative: 15 out of 99

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. LevitonK.
    Jul 12, 2003
    4
    This game was totally and completley rushed. The graphics are decent, but that's about it.
  2. BonehoChane
    Jan 3, 2004
    0
    This game sucks bad. It's extremely irritating, unworthly, horrible, awful, hideous, and horrendous. The most disappointing game of 2003. I was looking forward to this game as soon as they announced they were making it. There was a heck of a lot of hype. When the game came out, I rented and thought "this game sucks!" Everthing is worst than mediocre. The controls, the gameplay, the This game sucks bad. It's extremely irritating, unworthly, horrible, awful, hideous, and horrendous. The most disappointing game of 2003. I was looking forward to this game as soon as they announced they were making it. There was a heck of a lot of hype. When the game came out, I rented and thought "this game sucks!" Everthing is worst than mediocre. The controls, the gameplay, the graphics, and the sound stink. There's barely any music. I remember I was going through a level and there was no music whatsoever. Suddenly some ememies popped out of nowhere about 50 feet in front of me and some sort of rock song started up. I hit the fire button about 5 times, and all the enemies fall over dead. As soon as the enemies die, the music stopped. There's also a huge amount of glitches. I remember I saw kid punch Agent Smith off a building only to see him pop up 20 seconds later in the level. The only thing good about the graphics is most likely Niobe's shiny red coat textures. Other than that, you'll think you're looking at playstation game. Everthing is really dull looking. The difficulty is also really easy. Try handing the control to someone much younger than you, like six. Watch the kid zoom through every level without any trouble. You don't even have to kill all the enemies. Just run right past them and they won't do anything. If I had the game with me, I could start up a level right now, run past every enemy, and run through the exit all in a few minutes or less. Here's another example of an easy mission: You are required to shoot at the front tire of an airplane from the top of a building, before it takes off. Well, this airplane is moving at an extremly slow rate and it won't take off in another 1 minute or so. All you have to do is move the sight of the gun over the tire and fire one bullet. In fact, the sight doesn't have to be perfectly over the tire, it just has to be near it. In all, this mission can take you 10 seconds. Yet another example of how easy this game is: There's a popular screenshot of Enter the Matrix showing Niobe running on the wall shooting a guy. Well if you look, she's not even aiming at him. That's right, you don't even need to aim. Let's say you have to travel down a long hall way but there's 20 guards blocking your way. Okay, now blindfold your self, and hold down the fire button. Now take off the blindfold and look, they're all dead. What about all the new footage made just for the game you ask? It's boring. Just about all of the new footage involves watching people talk. If you want to see some real Matrix footage, watch The Matrix, Reloaded, or Revolutions. It's sad that I actually looked forward to this, because I hate this game. Please do me a favor and don't buy this game. In fact don't even rent it. Collapse
  3. Zack
    Jun 7, 2003
    0
    This game suck!!! Especially the two chraraters.
  4. Msquared-
    Jan 9, 2007
    3
    An awesome game with awesome visuals and awesome game mechanics, combined with a near-perfect rendition of Matrix-like effects and feeling, let down by a poor control system. The PS2 has two directional controls on the controller, yet Enter the Matrix uses the L2 and R2 buttons to control "strafing" (moving sideways without changing the direction you are facing). The right analog stick is An awesome game with awesome visuals and awesome game mechanics, combined with a near-perfect rendition of Matrix-like effects and feeling, let down by a poor control system. The PS2 has two directional controls on the controller, yet Enter the Matrix uses the L2 and R2 buttons to control "strafing" (moving sideways without changing the direction you are facing). The right analog stick is wasted on the "camera mode" control: move any direction to switch in and out of 1st-person. This could have been relegated to a single button, rather than waste a directional control (which could have been used for strafing). To make matter worst, you can't even change the controls. In 1st-person mode you are stuck with aircraft-style Y-axis (push up to look down and vice versa). This is not even a configurable option, either. The final nail in this game's coffin for me was that the more you get into the game the more you realise you need strafing to survive and to take out difficult enemies. Combine that with a control system that doesn't map easily to hand movements, and that spells frequent death for your player character. Also an irritation is that whenever you go into the pause-game menu (and you have to do so frequently to read the tips supplied throughout the game) the in-game music stops, which is very jarring and interrupts the Matrix-like atmosphere that the game otherwise maintains quite well (poor controls notwithstanding). Visuals: 10 Audio: 7 (10 for style, -3 for interrupting while paused) Controls: 1 Gameplay: 5 (10 for faithful Matrix style, -5 for poor controls) Final score: 3 I give this game three as a final score because control is critical in a real-time first-person game. Contrast to Battlefield 2: Modern Combat, where you rarely have to think about what button to press to do something. Simple controls make for enjoyable gameplay. If you can not sufficiently control your player character, you are dead in the water. Expand
  5. POed
    Oct 1, 2003
    0
    Burn 50 bucks rather than buy this game... it'll probably take you longer to light the bills than it will to beat this stinker. I thought that 5 hour games went out of style with the Super Nintendo.
  6. JohnnyUtah
    May 21, 2003
    3
    This game was a MAJOR UP-SET! All that hype was for nothing. I beat this game in 8 hours,on hard. It's cool for about 20 min.,until it glitches every other time you try to play (PS2). I couldn't even get through the game with Niobe, because the game has a SERIOUS BUG-PROBLEM!!!!!!! It's complete BS!! DON"T WASTE YOUR MONEY!!
  7. SeanD.
    May 20, 2003
    4
    For all the hype that Enter the Matrix was about, I can easily say that I was a little more then disappointed. After seeing many jagged and rough edged screenshots, I thought the game might not be that good, yet all the previews seemed to say different. I was VERY tempted to pick up the game the day it came out but decided (thankfully) to wait until I rented it. After paying $6, I have to For all the hype that Enter the Matrix was about, I can easily say that I was a little more then disappointed. After seeing many jagged and rough edged screenshots, I thought the game might not be that good, yet all the previews seemed to say different. I was VERY tempted to pick up the game the day it came out but decided (thankfully) to wait until I rented it. After paying $6, I have to admit that I am disappointed. The graphics are not as good as I had heard. There are many jagged edges and the dynamic lighting is not even that much to write home about. The cutscenes are poorly done, especially the "transitions" from the matrix to reality, I swear that it looks like your character is dying. The movements are blocky and forced, it seems quite rushed. The sound is excellent, there are no arguements here. The voice acting is great and sound effects are superb. The gameplay is INCREDIBLE for the first 30 minutes, then you realise that you will find yourself doing the same moves over and over and over......yeah, not as exciting as it sounds. Using bullet time (or the aptly named focus) is where things get a little interesting, more moves open up, but you will realise that soon enough they will get repetitive as well. One of the worst things here I find is the camera. While at times it really works for you (like it should) once you get into fights with multiple enemies it really tends to jump around, blocking out all of your enemies so you are really guessing where they are and what you are doing. The camera could really use ALOT of work. The moves in the game are incredible to watch however, the first time you pull one of the three (maybe 4) disarm moves its really cool to watch, however which disarm you pull is random. Thats also the same with the rest of the moves, they are entirely random, however, they are cool to watch. Unfortunately, it also gets rather boring. If anything is the high point of the game (apart from the sound) its the extra movies added into the game. While I am not sure if I could say over an hour extra footage has been shot, it is pretty neat seeing things in the game that lead up to scenes in the movie. THey also have the movie quality and fit together well. If you are a complete Matrix fanboy (or girl) and absolutely MUST have everything thats Matrix related, then I guess you should pick it up (that is, if you havn't already). If you are just a gamer and was REALLY looking forward to the game coming out but are not completely in love with the game, then I suggest you at least rent the game first, that way you will know for sure if you really want it for not. Personally, I am VERY glad I rented it first so I didn't waste $80 (Can) on something I don't really like. Don't listen to the hype.....thats all it is. I gave it a 4 because I was expecting soo much (a la hype) and actually got so little. Expand
  8. T.Anderson
    May 25, 2003
    4
    Guys, it really, REALLY, pains me to do this. I am THE Matrix fan - co-workers call me "Neo" for Pete's sake. But please, PLEASE, rent this game before you buy it. You might read a lot of reviews where people complain about jagged edges in graphics, or unimaginative level design, or long-term replay value, or how easy it was to beat the game in 6.2 hours or less, and you might just Guys, it really, REALLY, pains me to do this. I am THE Matrix fan - co-workers call me "Neo" for Pete's sake. But please, PLEASE, rent this game before you buy it. You might read a lot of reviews where people complain about jagged edges in graphics, or unimaginative level design, or long-term replay value, or how easy it was to beat the game in 6.2 hours or less, and you might just think they are whiners. Well, they are. Get a life. But the truth is, the game just plain falls short. When you first jump in, you are awestruck by all the cool maneuvers (I love bouncing off of a wall in bullet-time and doing a sping-kick into some dude's jaw), and the immersion in the movie that you experience when you realize that you are participating in a scene that builds up to one in the movie. I couldn't wait to email my friends about how coold the game was. But the truth is, if this game was not about a movie I absolutely love, I wouldn't give it the time of day. I really, truly, want to say nice things, and the game certainly is not without it's VERY cool elements, but in the end, I am sure the developers of the game are saying to management, "Just give us a couple more months, and we can make this game REALLY cool (and with a lot fewer bugs)." At least I hope they are saying that. If this is really the best they can do, then they really need to consider a career in custodial engineering. I'm trying not to be distasteful, but guys, please, can we not have my character die for some esoteric reason that is not explained until I have gone through the same painful death 72 times? Just a little continuity would be swell. Yes, the game is still really bug-ridden. Yes, a lot of time was taken to make the bullet-time scenes look outrageously cool, but Barney Rubble looks more natural climbing a ladder than Niobe. And what the heck is up with the contrived, amateurish driving scene? I don't know if there are more to come, but I hope not! I feel like one of those angry grunts that lives in the basement while his mom still cuts the crusts off of his sandwiches, but this game just falls dramatically short of the vision. I'm actually even embarrassed to be one of those goofballs that writes a cranky review, but I really feel like somebody should know! Everybody involved in the Matrix franchise is still going to make a lot of money from this game, but really, truly, they could have made a lot more if the story-telling in the game was a fraction of what the story-telling in the movies have been thus far. I might play this game through to the end, just to get more peeks at the extra footage, but every time the game asks me "Do you want to jack in again?" after I have died for one of the said, esoteric reasons, I really do ask myself, "Do I? Do I really?" Please, don't do this to the fans again. Expand
  9. AndoM.
    Aug 15, 2003
    0
    This game hmmmm!!!! let put it into words ......SUCKS F@#%^$# c@#$ i think pushing the same exact buttons the whole time get a little repetitive i mean you have to have no skill at all its just a complete waste of time!!!! you no what i have nothing else to say about this game its not worth the energy coming from my MOUTH ...dont buy it or youll regret it.........i mean .............really!!!!
  10. T.Anderson
    May 25, 2003
    3
    Guys, it really, REALLY, pains me to do this. I am THE Matrix fan - co-workers call me "Neo" for Pete's sake. But please, PLEASE, rent this game before you buy it. You might read a lot of reviews where people complain about jagged edges in graphics, or unimaginative level design, or long-term replay value, or how easy it was to beat the game in 6.2 hours or less, and you might just Guys, it really, REALLY, pains me to do this. I am THE Matrix fan - co-workers call me "Neo" for Pete's sake. But please, PLEASE, rent this game before you buy it. You might read a lot of reviews where people complain about jagged edges in graphics, or unimaginative level design, or long-term replay value, or how easy it was to beat the game in 6.2 hours or less, and you might just think they are whiners. Well, they are. Get a life. But the truth is, the game just plain falls short. When you first jump in, you are awestruck by all the cool maneuvers (I love bouncing off of a wall in bullet-time and doing a sping-kick into some dude's jaw), and the immersion in the movie that you experience when you realize that you are participating in a scene that builds up to one in the movie. I couldn't wait to email my friends about how coold the game was. But the truth is, if this game was not about a movie I absolutely love, I wouldn't give it the time of day. I really, truly, want to say nice things, and the game certainly is not without it's VERY cool elements, but in the end, I am sure the developers of the game are saying to management, "Just give us a couple more months, and we can make this game REALLY cool (and with a lot fewer bugs)." At least I hope they are saying that. If this is really the best they can do, then they really need to consider a career in custodial engineering. I'm trying not to be distasteful, but guys, please, can we not have my character die for some esoteric reason that is not explained until I have gone through the same painful death 72 times? Just a little continuity would be swell. Yes, the game is still really bug-ridden. Yes, a lot of time was taken to make the bullet-time scenes look outrageously cool, but Barney Rubble looks more natural climbing a ladder than Niobe. And what the heck is up with the contrived, amateurish driving scene? I don't know if there are more to come, but I hope not! I feel like one of those angry grunts that lives in the basement while his mom still cuts the crusts off of his sandwiches, but this game just falls dramatically short of the vision. I'm actually even embarrassed to be one of those goofballs that writes a cranky review, but I really feel like somebody should know! Everybody involved in the Matrix franchise is still going to make a lot of money from this game, but really, truly, they could have made a lot more if the story-telling in the game was a fraction of what the story-telling in the movies have been thus far. I might play this game through to the end, just to get more peeks at the extra footage, but every time the game asks me "Do you want to jack in again?" after I have died for one of the said, esoteric reasons, I really do ask myself, "Do I? Do I really?" Please, don't do this to the fans again. Expand
  11. KevinF.
    Apr 16, 2004
    3
    Very poor game.
Metascore
62

Mixed or average reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 30
  2. Negative: 6 out of 30
  1. Fans of action titles are almost certainly also big fans of The Matrix, and will be disconcerted by such a pallid tie-in.
  2. While Enter the Matrix ties in really well with the movie franchise, it isn’t much of a game.
  3. All is not perfect in Enter the Matrix, but for its few flaws, the game delivers what it is meant to: a very convincing experience inside The Matrix that looks, smells, and feels like... The Matrix. [July 2003, p.76]