ESPN NHL 2K5 PlayStation 2

  • Publisher: Sega
  • Release Date: Aug 30, 2004
User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 18 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 18
  2. Negative: 2 out of 18
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. BobP.
    Sep 6, 2004
    8
    I'm not much of a sports fan, so the real draw for me was the game's $20 price tag. It's a bit much on the full sims side of sports but the graphics and gameplay tend to be on the better than I'd expected it to be for a $20 game. The weekest point is that the game still has last year's roster/stats.
  2. JamesC.
    Apr 21, 2005
    10
    Way better than EA sports. you wont get much better. last years rosters a bit disappointing.
  3. AndreP.
    Sep 2, 2004
    9
    Break free of the EA spell. ESPN NHL 2K5 is an AMAZING game. An at a fraction of the price of EA NHL 2005, you'll feel dumb if you don't give it a shot.
  4. JordanH.
    Sep 9, 2004
    9
    Put simply, the best NHL game i have ever played.
  5. H.H.
    Sep 6, 2004
    10
    Bomb.
  6. Tim
    Jan 11, 2005
    10
    It could have better goal judging.
  7. TonyM.
    Oct 11, 2004
    9
    Simply awesome. One of the most realistic, fun hockey games i've ever played. It also brings a level of control that wasnt quite there in any previous hockey game.
  8. AaronS.
    Jul 22, 2004
    10
    This game is unbelievably better than ea sports it's in the crappy game.
  9. Nov 18, 2016
    9
    Likely the best hockey game released by 2K sports. The gameplay is fluid, the controls are great, the graphics are not as good as in NHL 2005, but still serviceable . I really like the historic teams 2K included in the game.

Awards & Rankings

#68 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2004
Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 25
  2. Negative: 0 out of 25
  1. An incredible hockey package that's filled with more game modes than you'll probably know what to do with. And once again they've orchestrated the best hockey gameplay you're going to find anywhere.
  2. When you combine the depth of gameplay, breadth of modes and quality of delivery with the salary-cap friendly $19.99 price tag, it’s easy to see how ESPN NHL 2K5 stays on top of its division.
  3. PSM Magazine
    80
    The actual hockey is a bit of a mixed bag in 2K5. It still controls beautifully (that "smoothness" we mentioned earlier), and the gameplay is again top-notch - once you tweak it that is. The default settings are pretty awful. [Oct 2004, p.31]