User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 843 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 52 out of 843

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. DanijelJ.
    Sep 4, 2004
    10
    This is the best game ever given from ff creators.
  2. MaresF.
    Mar 6, 2005
    10
    This game is great.
  3. VarunB.
    Aug 11, 2005
    10
    A one-of-a-kind gaming experience...a must-have for the PS2, even for the non-fans of RPGs!!!
  4. DavidM.
    Nov 2, 2006
    9
    Great game with dozens of side quests and missions to keep you playing for months, the game isn't over till you own that grid.
  5. AnsonG.
    Apr 1, 2006
    9
    Nice graphics, good story and good game.
  6. MarkJ.
    Jun 11, 2006
    9
    this game is very fun to play.it's got a great storyboard and you can never tell whats going to happen next.you cant go wrong with those graphics.the only thing i would change would just be little things like the battle music, and when you win a fight tidus does clouds winning battle thing y'know just tiny things.
  7. MaryT.
    Feb 25, 2007
    10
    This game is truly a fun game the characters the graphics the story wow I have been a big final fantasy fan for the longest time i will say the only thing i didn't like was the game ending thats a bum deal for Tidus and Yuna however I thought the romance in the game was a little cheesy this game was far better though than its sequel 10 2 was good but this was way better more to do This game is truly a fun game the characters the graphics the story wow I have been a big final fantasy fan for the longest time i will say the only thing i didn't like was the game ending thats a bum deal for Tidus and Yuna however I thought the romance in the game was a little cheesy this game was far better though than its sequel 10 2 was good but this was way better more to do than most all in all fantabulous game 10+++ Expand
  8. Sophie
    Aug 15, 2007
    10
    Wow - this is the first Final Fantasy game I played, and I have to say I enjoyed every moment of it. Difficult, but not so difficult that newer RPG players can't approach it. Beautiful, graphics, wonderful CGI sequences. Voice acting could be better, but some performances were excellent including voice of Wakka, i.e also John DiMaggio, voice of Bender in the wonderful comedy Wow - this is the first Final Fantasy game I played, and I have to say I enjoyed every moment of it. Difficult, but not so difficult that newer RPG players can't approach it. Beautiful, graphics, wonderful CGI sequences. Voice acting could be better, but some performances were excellent including voice of Wakka, i.e also John DiMaggio, voice of Bender in the wonderful comedy animation Futurama. A fantastic, addictive, game that I reccommend to anybody of any age interested in video games. Expand
  9. CharlieN
    Jun 11, 2009
    10
    A compelling story with unique outlooks on a classic gameplay style. With tons of depth to both the main storyline in gameplay and story, with hours of sidequests that contain incentive to complete, you will be glad to have gone on one of the most prized experiences the PS2 has to offer.
  10. AntonioV
    Sep 8, 2009
    10
    I love this game. The battle system is the greatest, no stress to choose action. The story is really good and sad. I like the game so much I've played it like five times
  11. SeanA.
    Dec 29, 2001
    10
    This is a great game for the final fantasy series. I have played almost every game in the final fantasy series (available in America at least) and this is by far the best one yet! The voices are awesome much better than the constant reading of old. And the ability to switch out all of the players in battle is the best idea square has added since the ability to summon. I love this game but This is a great game for the final fantasy series. I have played almost every game in the final fantasy series (available in America at least) and this is by far the best one yet! The voices are awesome much better than the constant reading of old. And the ability to switch out all of the players in battle is the best idea square has added since the ability to summon. I love this game but i must point out the flaws blitzball is not really that fun of a game they make it WAY too hard at first giving you the shaft for the first couple of games. And some of the voices seem like bad dubs from old godzilla movies. And their is no leveling which is a real bummer add the disenchanting way of obtaining abilities( it looks more like a maze) this are problems that need to be addressed in the next game. But i hear it will be online so i guess we can kiss the game goodbye. if only a system like ff7 matera was incorporated this game would be almost perfect but it is still a 10 because the graphics are ungodly and you will love playing it. Expand
  12. JadeisthA.
    Nov 30, 2002
    10
    This is the most amazing game ever made!
  13. TidusL.
    Jan 15, 2002
    10
    The best game in the world there is. A must own game
  14. R.Sady
    Jan 17, 2002
    10
    It's Final Fantasy on Playstation 2! Who needs more incentive to buy it than that!? Nothing short of outstanding, fantasic and worthy of all the praise and hype given to it. Forget Xbox, forget Gamecube! Playstation 2 has Final Fantasy X!
  15. SammytheBull
    Dec 17, 2002
    10
    This game is so friggin awesome. It has awesome graphics, story, and even good voice-overs. Plus Blitzball is a blast (why am I the only one who thinks so). Definitely a must-buy for any remote RPG fan, or just anyone who owns a PS2.
  16. PederN.
    Jan 27, 2002
    10
    Too Short. I want more dang it! Please just a little bit?
  17. AmandaK.
    Mar 11, 2002
    9
    Almost rivaling FF7, FFX is a masterpiece. I'll say that it was a bit odd that there were sections of te game where you couldn't walk two steps without a cinematic scene, and the encounter rate was a bit high. But other than those two technically miniscule details, I cannot see much else in glitch- blissful graphics, a gripping storyline (better than a lot of movies I've Almost rivaling FF7, FFX is a masterpiece. I'll say that it was a bit odd that there were sections of te game where you couldn't walk two steps without a cinematic scene, and the encounter rate was a bit high. But other than those two technically miniscule details, I cannot see much else in glitch- blissful graphics, a gripping storyline (better than a lot of movies I've seen lately) and some entertaining minigames- this is an awesome experience. The only thing I can say actually bugged me was that the game was pretty linear for a while, but after that, I cannot find complaint. I recommend this game to everybody- extremely impressive. Expand
  18. DevinH.
    Mar 19, 2002
    10
    This game is awesome. The battles never get boring and the graphics are great. By far the best game for the PS2 yet.
  19. DragonKnightofFinalFantasy
    Dec 17, 2003
    10
    If FFVII didn't exist FFX & FFIX would be must-buys 4 any RPG fan out there. FFX BEAUTIFUL,creative & immensly fun.The only problem I have w/ it is sometimes it feels like a DVD instead of a game.
  20. TidusC.
    Dec 20, 2003
    10
    I like the game 2 MAIN REASONS my name is Tidus and the char is Tidus but FFV was great better story line but i like the first time u fight Sin in the game it shows like a movie but i hate fighting the jely fish after. and i just like the FReakin thang.
  21. LeighM.
    Dec 31, 2003
    10
    Best Game Ever!!
  22. MatthewB.
    Mar 17, 2003
    10
    The best RPG I've ever played and I have played a lot.
  23. RyanM.
    Apr 28, 2003
    10
    I find it physically impossible to say something bad about this game. The graphics are unbelievable, the storyline is in depth and well developed. The characters have feeling, and i can't get over the graphics. Once again my good friends at Squaresoft created another winner. Tidus rocks! Best final fantasy, but wait until x-2...
  24. JiloverzP.
    Nov 27, 2004
    10
    I think ffx was the best series of ff. especially the soundtrack was absolutly stunning . i didn't liked the Yevon and al bhed and all that crap though i juss loved tidus but yuna is a bitch after ffx-2.-_-
  25. Adray
    Jan 14, 2004
    10
    now, this is my favorite game of ALL TIME even better that x-2(which is also great) man, this game is even better that FF7! please i read some of these reviews...and some people said that it has no storyline... i think that they are not aware of what a "storyline" is, because if you know final fantasy like i do, and a lot of others...youll know that final fantasy has THE best storylines now, this is my favorite game of ALL TIME even better that x-2(which is also great) man, this game is even better that FF7! please i read some of these reviews...and some people said that it has no storyline... i think that they are not aware of what a "storyline" is, because if you know final fantasy like i do, and a lot of others...youll know that final fantasy has THE best storylines out there...so if you are a RPG fan...pick this game up RIGHT NOW! you will not regret it...also its at a great price, pick it up its amazing. Expand
  26. TrixieJ.
    Feb 21, 2004
    10
    If you are looking for a game with exellent graphics, amazing sound effects, an amazing plot, and outstanding battle scenes, this is the game.
  27. LukeA.
    Mar 18, 2004
    10
    This is the best game ever created!!
  28. SteveT.
    May 29, 2004
    10
    One of top 3 rpgs ever.
  29. Chopin
    Jul 16, 2004
    9
    Not the best final fantasy, doesnt come close to IX, but a masterpiece all the same. The good things: Auron is supercool, Seymour is cool if you can get past his voice, you learn to kinda appreciate Tidus later on, AMAZING graphics, good battle system, good music, and blitzball is fun despite what some people think. Okay, but there were some problems- Tidus is by far the worst main Not the best final fantasy, doesnt come close to IX, but a masterpiece all the same. The good things: Auron is supercool, Seymour is cool if you can get past his voice, you learn to kinda appreciate Tidus later on, AMAZING graphics, good battle system, good music, and blitzball is fun despite what some people think. Okay, but there were some problems- Tidus is by far the worst main character in an FF, Yuna's voice was badly cast(especially when she laughed) too easy once you figure out a little trick involving aeons overdrives(i blazed through every ending boss battle without having to use any real strategy), seymour's final fight is a real letdown(2 holy spells=dead). also the storyline didnt develop as much as it did in 7 or 9, even 8, you kinda know what to expect what with Sin(you know your not gonna defeat him halfway through the game). my biggest dissapointment probably didnt bother a lot of peoploe but it bothered me. The fact that no one ever says "Tidus" in the whole game led you not to bond with him or your characters as much, and it seemed kinda....empty. Especially the love story, I mean, Yuna never says his name? I didnt connect to that love story at all, whereas in 9 I really felt it. I know I had a lot of negative stuff to say, but the locations, bosses, music, and most of the voice acting and the battles easily make up for it. In the end you will feel very satisfied, and it does have the highest replay value of any of the final fantasies. Expand
  30. Johndoe
    Nov 2, 2005
    10
    AMAZING graphics!
  31. SiljeL.
    Nov 29, 2005
    10
    One of the best FF games I have ever played!;)
  32. Time_devil
    Oct 31, 2005
    10
    This game is great. It has great graphics and a very unique storyline. It really is a great game worth playing.
  33. JJHesseltine
    Mar 12, 2005
    10
    This game rocked, its the first final fantasy game i beat, and i just beat it literally half an hour ago, and yeah im your 17 varsity soccer player jock type and the ending made me cry. It was so beautiful and touching. The story pulls you right in, and its just blah i cant explain it. Heartwrenching is probably right. now i am going straight to blockbuster and renting ffx-2. Play this This game rocked, its the first final fantasy game i beat, and i just beat it literally half an hour ago, and yeah im your 17 varsity soccer player jock type and the ending made me cry. It was so beautiful and touching. The story pulls you right in, and its just blah i cant explain it. Heartwrenching is probably right. now i am going straight to blockbuster and renting ffx-2. Play this game, and beat it. It is so worth the 60+hours i spent on it! Expand
  34. TejiriI.
    Apr 17, 2005
    10
    This game moved me. This was the 1st FF I brought and this is what got me hooked on the Final Fantasy Series. I never get tired of watching the Real-time screenshots. I would give it 10000/10 but its not possible. I loved the music I can listen to it all day. When I'm in a battle I'm usually bopping my head to the theme. You rock.
  35. RegisJ.
    May 15, 2006
    10
    i've been playing this game for 4 years (i have the international version so i wanna defeat the Dark Aeons and the Final Dark Aeon) Love the difficulty of this game and over all gameplay, I wish all FF games were like this!
  36. LeighM.
    Feb 26, 2008
    10
    Best Game Ever!!
  37. ZXZFasheta
    Dec 28, 2003
    10
    First time ive sat to play a FF game but i gotta say this is one of the best game ever created in many aspects, stunning graphics, heavy animation, intriging storyline, a scerene feel to the music and plot animation, charcter's unique personality, the game tops many many RPG's i've played. It gives a sense of scerenity, a feeling of accomplishment as u play, as u unravelFirst time ive sat to play a FF game but i gotta say this is one of the best game ever created in many aspects, stunning graphics, heavy animation, intriging storyline, a scerene feel to the music and plot animation, charcter's unique personality, the game tops many many RPG's i've played. It gives a sense of scerenity, a feeling of accomplishment as u play, as u unravel deep into the game the actions and storys that unfolds is quite intriging and unexpected. U could play the game for 160 hours non stop and still not have completed it in it's entirity. there are many things i still have to get apart from the ones u normally get in the game, i mean things u have to go out of your way to get like their ultimate weapons, the other i think about 4-5 aeons like Anima (The aeon of the guy that wanted to marry Yuna by force and wanted to become sin himself) u know stuff like that. Expand
  38. JasonB.
    Nov 16, 2005
    10
    By far my favorite final fantasy game of all time. And I have high hopes for the future of the series. I have played through this game 3 times, and its worth every hour.
  39. Jul 12, 2011
    9
    ive loved FF since FF2 on the Snes . this is FF evolved for sure with a new combat system thats fun and a new level up system using a sphere grid which is pretty cool since you can really go crazy custimising your charicters. the story is pretty solid the voice acting is a mixed bag some are pretty good are real good like auron or kinda bad or really bad like jecht who i could not standive loved FF since FF2 on the Snes . this is FF evolved for sure with a new combat system thats fun and a new level up system using a sphere grid which is pretty cool since you can really go crazy custimising your charicters. the story is pretty solid the voice acting is a mixed bag some are pretty good are real good like auron or kinda bad or really bad like jecht who i could not stand hearing him talk . the game takes a very very very linear path approtch which felt awkward at first but once the story picked up after about 6 hours i was hooked on what was gona happen next . there is alot of stuff to do especially at the end . my biggest gripe with this game besides the voice acting has to be how freeking EASY the final boss fight is . i mean he is a 0 challenge i mean if you loose to this guy i feel bad for you. i found it harder just getting to him then fighting him. all in all the FFX is a solid RPG and one of the last real good FF games ive played . Expand
  40. Sep 28, 2010
    10
    Currently on a quest to finish reviewing (or at least write short comment) on Final Fantasy games I played before, not surprisingly this is the first PS2 game I ever played. The moment I laid eyes on cutey-pie Tidus... I mean the awesome graphics on Zanarkand being terrorized by sin, I was like wow... thank god I have a PS2. As an hardcore RPG gamer, I love the fact that it stays true to aCurrently on a quest to finish reviewing (or at least write short comment) on Final Fantasy games I played before, not surprisingly this is the first PS2 game I ever played. The moment I laid eyes on cutey-pie Tidus... I mean the awesome graphics on Zanarkand being terrorized by sin, I was like wow... thank god I have a PS2. As an hardcore RPG gamer, I love the fact that it stays true to a much improved turn based gameplay, each one of them is distinct in it's own way just makes the game even better. The characters provided were a cast of memorable characters starting from the naive Rikku to the should be less serious Yuna, each one them have a heart and soul, which to me is a prime sign that RPG should be taken seriously. At the time the graphics were too good to be true and the music is just... well, I have mixed feeling about the music. I just want to say that this is one the best RPG to date. Expand
  41. Sep 13, 2010
    10
    Late Review, but I just recently had time to finish this game.

    Easily one of the best in the series, FFX adds character voices for the first time in the series which, along with captivating cut-scenes, makes this a great game to play anytime of the day. Along with the addition of the blitzball mini-game, FFX changed the way you use summons, fight, and even how you level up. This game
    Late Review, but I just recently had time to finish this game.

    Easily one of the best in the series, FFX adds character voices for the first time in the series which, along with captivating cut-scenes, makes this a great game to play anytime of the day. Along with the addition of the blitzball mini-game, FFX changed the way you use summons, fight, and even how you level up. This game comes with all of this, packed into one of the greatest story-lines to date. The extra dungeons, mini-games, and unlockable end weapons gives you hours of endless gameplay. My personal time before i quit playing for good was 113:46

    The team who created this installment of the FF series truly put their hearts and souls into making this game. A definite must have for any fans of the FF series
    Expand
  42. Sep 23, 2010
    10
    It's closer to a 9.5 than a 10 out of 10, but I feel that the legacy that this game has left behind as a standard-bearer is enough to push it over the top. Final Fantasy X is, from start to finish, THE exemplary RPG on the PS2, and arguably the system's definitive title.
  43. Oct 3, 2010
    9
    This was in my opinion the last of the great modern Final Fantasy games, even if it was a bit too linear (which is now common) it was nonetheless a great RPG with great characters you could get involved with and the story was decent but not amazing. The general graphics and design of the game really brought it to the next level. Oh how I miss you FFX~
  44. Oct 14, 2010
    10
    Final Fantasy X is the last good game in the numbered Final Fantasy series. Great story, great visuals, great mini games, interesting progression system.
  45. Nov 17, 2010
    10
    This game by far is still not only my favorite game of the final fantasy series, it's one of my favorite games of all time! I absolutely LOVE this game to death, i don't think i'll ever get rid of my ps2 heavily due to this game. I LOVE the story line throughout the game and all the obstacles if you to do to accomplish goals and beat the game. Every character shines in there own way, andThis game by far is still not only my favorite game of the final fantasy series, it's one of my favorite games of all time! I absolutely LOVE this game to death, i don't think i'll ever get rid of my ps2 heavily due to this game. I LOVE the story line throughout the game and all the obstacles if you to do to accomplish goals and beat the game. Every character shines in there own way, and i've grown fond of all of them. If you don't have this game, something is seriously wrong with you, and you need to wipe the dust off your ps2 and play this game, NOW!

    i've beaten the game at least 5 times and i've started a new one to play it all over again. I LOVE FINAL FATNASY X!!!!!
    Expand
  46. Dec 18, 2010
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. 4 biggest things (in no particular order): 1. Graphics/aesthetics - one of the best-looking games for PS2, period. 2. Characters - The 7 protagonists were done well. They have unique personalities with their own interests, faults, prejudices, and surprises. You get a decent amount of background on all the essential characters but not so much that there's no room for mystery. Some people say the protagonists were static, but I disagree. Wakka got rid of his prejudice against the Al Bhed, Khimarhi proved himself to his tribe, Tidus came to terms (sort of) with his father, and many of them threw away their religion. Maybe Auron is static, but he has already learned his lesson. There could have been more development in the relationship between Tidus and Yuna so the make-out scene wouldn't seem so out of place, and everything suffered slightly from the voice acting, but for the most part the characters were beautifully done.
    3. Story - You either like it or you think it's ridiculous. It really is a weird and dramatic plot, and it can get pretty cheesy as well as confusing, but it is entirely original. If you get into it, you'll realize there's a really good message behind it all, and the ending will leave you satisfied. Also, like people have said, the story is both linear and static; you can't change the course of the story. In that respect, it leans toward being an interactive movie - especially since you can't skip scenes. But you're in control for nearly all of the action, and it was paced well for the most part. There weren't too many cutscenes that weren't balanced with playable time and, honestly, you spend a ton of time running around and fighting. Besides that, there's plenty more to find out from talking to the numerous people standing around.
    4. Gameplay - I liked the battle system. It's turn-based and you can swap out characters, so you think more about strategy and less about mashing buttons. The overdrives were awesome - each character had unique and appropriate overdrives and they weren't too strong or too weak. The sphere grid is a good way to customize your characters, but your characters are locked into a path until at least halfway through the game, so it's hard to add magic, for example, to a usable level without many extra hours of leveling-up aside from the main story. The mini-games, like blitzball and chocobo racing, were fun and intuitive but too easy.

    Of course this isn't like previous Final Fantasies, and you shouldn't expect it to be. It's on a new platform with new capabilities, just like FFVII was on a (better) new platform compared to its predecessors. I completely appreciate that Square did something different with FFX (and FFX-2). It's not perfect, but I like it.
    Expand
  47. Nov 20, 2010
    9
    Very good game, one of my favourites out the final fantasy series, even thought the battle system has changed. A big risk for Square Enix but they managed to pull it, 3D cinematic cut scenes really showed the quality of the graphics. The only disappointment would have to be Blitz ball, it is very hard to understand no matter how much you read the instructions.
  48. Dec 21, 2010
    10
    for me the best ff ever, i cryed with the final, no other game had me in front of the tv for so many time.

    Good Graphics
    excellent history
    nice characters
    perfect combat system
  49. Feb 27, 2011
    10
    I loved everything about this game. I loved the battle system, how it gave you time to think about your actions. And, yes, you will run into fiends every 10 seconds, but you need to level up your characters like crazy to even attempt to finish the game, plus they drop items you need. The cut scenes were long sometimes, but they were beautiful. Some cut scenes made me cry. The scenery inI loved everything about this game. I loved the battle system, how it gave you time to think about your actions. And, yes, you will run into fiends every 10 seconds, but you need to level up your characters like crazy to even attempt to finish the game, plus they drop items you need. The cut scenes were long sometimes, but they were beautiful. Some cut scenes made me cry. The scenery in the game was breath taking. The characters were one of the best things about this game. The back stories, outfits, personalities, weapons, voices, really everything was so unique. This game has the BEST music I have ever heard for a video game, I never got tired of the music. I loved the plot twists and character development. I also liked how there was humor in the stories. The only thing that was bad was Tidus's voice, which was whiny at some times. Over all, I give this game 9 or 10, but you have to be patient with the cut scenes, battles, and characters. You will have to level up your characters a lot, watch many cut scenes, and deal with characters complain, plus, to level up characters and higher your chances of beating the game, you will have to do side quests, like winning blitzball, training chocobos, and going through many cloister of trails to earn aeons. If you are impatient, hate watching cut scenes or characters, I would not recommend this game. To me, this game changed my life, a definite buy. Expand
  50. Apr 10, 2011
    10
    The best game i ever played, with the awesome ost from nobuo uematsu.
    I really cry today when i hear "to zanarkand". have to play this another day
  51. Mar 5, 2013
    9
    The story is good, despite beeing sometimes corny and having the baddest scene in history of rpg with the laughing scene. I also like the battle system very much and the music is pretty good to. Graphics are also nice its just way to linear, letting you only go forward. Nevertheless pretty good RPG.
  52. Jun 18, 2011
    9
    Very in-depth final fantasy. Final Fantasy X easily has one of my favorite fighting styles and leveling up systems in the whole series. The story isn't bad but the overall game play does make up for what it lacks as a Final Fantasy story.
  53. Mar 21, 2013
    9
    Provided players can get used to Tidus, there's a lot in Final Fantasy X that you really have to try to dislike. The mechanics have been overhauled and combat is superb, the Sphere Grid is easy to understand and enjoyable (no "Junction" garbage) but best of all the game never devolves into a grind-fest, though the end-game is a bit of an end-boss gauntlet. Music as ever is incredible, asProvided players can get used to Tidus, there's a lot in Final Fantasy X that you really have to try to dislike. The mechanics have been overhauled and combat is superb, the Sphere Grid is easy to understand and enjoyable (no "Junction" garbage) but best of all the game never devolves into a grind-fest, though the end-game is a bit of an end-boss gauntlet. Music as ever is incredible, as are cinematics/cut-scenes, story is a little formulaic and predictable in places but I couldn't put FFX down until I finished, I actually became a little obsessed with it. Expand
  54. Sep 17, 2011
    9
    I gave "9", and I'm going to tell where that 9 came from and why is 1 missing. The 9 : The game is brilliant, the graphics back in 2001 were the best, in 2001 Final Fantasy X had graphics that started to be considered "normal" in 2007 - 2008. The History behind it was completely complex and full of surprises and subliminal little things that appear in the game that you can only understandI gave "9", and I'm going to tell where that 9 came from and why is 1 missing. The 9 : The game is brilliant, the graphics back in 2001 were the best, in 2001 Final Fantasy X had graphics that started to be considered "normal" in 2007 - 2008. The History behind it was completely complex and full of surprises and subliminal little things that appear in the game that you can only understand when you play it for the second or third time, such as the words in Al-Bhed all over the initial maps that you can only read having the full Al-Bhed Language skill, and you can only understand by watching the entire game history. Also, some people never realize that the ship that Tidus, Auron, Yuna and the other ride later in the game is the same ship wich Tidus helps to get back in the beginning. Why less 1 : I could give a full 10 to Final Fantasy X, but if I give 10 to Final Fantasy X I would have to give 11 to Final Fantasy XII. In this game, the cinematic scenes are kind of Annoying since we can't skip them, but in Final Fantasy XII we can skip all the scenes. (I still see them, since it depends if the player wants to meet the story or not). Blitzball, a stupid sidekick RPG on the real RPG, I never got that game since it is more luck than RPG, anyway you are only obligated to play it one time so it won't annoy much, only if you want to get Wakka's Ultimate Weapon, then you will have to be a Blitzball Champion. Expand
  55. Oct 14, 2011
    10
    What can I say? An experience of a life time. I didnt want it to end! Have to check out X-2, when they realise at Playstation, that it has to be brought to the store.
  56. Feb 13, 2012
    10
    This game will always hold a special place for me amongst my video game collections. I got this game the year it came out and have loved it ever since. There is just something so emotionally involving and deeply engaging between the characters and the player. Itâ
  57. Nov 14, 2011
    10
    If you ever want to experiance a story that will take your breath away,then this is the game for you. With smooth gameplay and amazing CG graphics. It may be the best Final Fantasy games ever made.
  58. Jun 28, 2012
    10
    This is without a doubt one of my favorite Final Fantasy games I've ever played. FFX is the first game in the series to use voice actors. The game provides a likable cast of characters, a interesting world, and a excellent story. My favorite is the battle system, which still uses the turn based battles. The Visuals are lush and magical. The music is beautiful. The game is followed by aThis is without a doubt one of my favorite Final Fantasy games I've ever played. FFX is the first game in the series to use voice actors. The game provides a likable cast of characters, a interesting world, and a excellent story. My favorite is the battle system, which still uses the turn based battles. The Visuals are lush and magical. The music is beautiful. The game is followed by a sequel (Final Fantasy X-2) that is more lighthearted, yet offering extensive amounts of side quests, mini games, and includes a fast paced battle system similar to FF7. Expand
  59. May 15, 2012
    9
    If you could skip the cut-scenes this would be a perfect RPG! however its still an amazing game and the last of the great final fantasy's, Auron ftw!
  60. May 29, 2012
    9
    Best RPG of PS2. Everything in FFX is great, from the beginning to the end. History is really interesting and the soundtrack is amazing. The game mechanic is very deep with the sphere desk. In order to maximize your skills and characters, you'll need probably 100 or 150 hours if you want to face some of the most dangerous enemies in the game. Also, the equipment system which allows you toBest RPG of PS2. Everything in FFX is great, from the beginning to the end. History is really interesting and the soundtrack is amazing. The game mechanic is very deep with the sphere desk. In order to maximize your skills and characters, you'll need probably 100 or 150 hours if you want to face some of the most dangerous enemies in the game. Also, the equipment system which allows you to customize every item's skills is very smart. Also, this game goes back to the turn fighting system (without ATB from previous games). It's one of these games that you just have to play. Expand
  61. Jun 1, 2012
    10
    This is one of my favorite games ever, along with Final Fantasy 7. I'm the type of person that loves a good story and this game has it. They did a great job with pacing and storytelling. Also has a great soundtrack and some really good cut scenes. Can't wait for the remake!
  62. Apr 5, 2014
    9
    Currently replaying this game on the PS3 and I haven't played it since its' release on PS2. Will come back to finish my review when complete but this game is way more magnificent than I remember, I think possibly because I was too young to fully enjoy it.
  63. Sep 10, 2013
    9
    Oh my God, where to start! The blitzball, the sphere grid, the characters, the story, even the ending is something M. Night Shyamalan will NEVER be able to pull off. Final Fantasy X was my first and it will be my last. Definitely worthy to be called the Final Fantasy VII of the next generation.
  64. Jan 8, 2013
    10
    There's a reason why Square has been around for so long, and that's because they make amazing games. Final Fantasy X is an amazing game, at the time of it's release it had amazing graphics and cut-scenes, but it was also bundled with an amazing story and appealing characters, as well as a great combat system, awesome boss battles, and wonderful areas to explore. There was so much to do inThere's a reason why Square has been around for so long, and that's because they make amazing games. Final Fantasy X is an amazing game, at the time of it's release it had amazing graphics and cut-scenes, but it was also bundled with an amazing story and appealing characters, as well as a great combat system, awesome boss battles, and wonderful areas to explore. There was so much to do in this game, I've spent over 300 hours in several playthroughs of this game and I enjoyed every moment of it. Expand
  65. Jan 16, 2013
    10
    This game is extraordinarily captivating, emotional, beautiful and memorable. The story was perfectly thought out and utterly engrossing. I REALLY wanted to know what happened next and why. The music was amazing and the graphics were great for it's time. I've played quite a few games in my time but none have come close to what Final Fantasy X brings to the table. I was literally on theThis game is extraordinarily captivating, emotional, beautiful and memorable. The story was perfectly thought out and utterly engrossing. I REALLY wanted to know what happened next and why. The music was amazing and the graphics were great for it's time. I've played quite a few games in my time but none have come close to what Final Fantasy X brings to the table. I was literally on the edge of my seat on numerous occasions throughout the entire game. The plots twists left my jaw hanging low and the ending left me crying like a wimp.

    If you own a PS2 and are a fan of RPGs, there is no reason for you not to have this game.
    Expand
  66. Jan 22, 2013
    9
    it´s the best final fantasy with voice acting you can find today right now. it´s the best final fantasy from ps2 era and deserve being in the pantheon of the best games from the 128 bit era. The playable 3d models from characters and some enviroments are ugly, even for a ps2 system, but the graphics don´t matter when you immerse yourself completely for a compellingit´s the best final fantasy with voice acting you can find today right now. it´s the best final fantasy from ps2 era and deserve being in the pantheon of the best games from the 128 bit era. The playable 3d models from characters and some enviroments are ugly, even for a ps2 system, but the graphics don´t matter when you immerse yourself completely for a compelling storytelling and well executed gameplay. Expand
  67. Feb 14, 2013
    9
    This game is great, because of the fact that it actually takes some time to beat it. I played the international version of it, and i really liked it. Unlike the other games, X has more customization (weapons and armor can be fully customized to your liking) than the other games, and that can both be annoying and great. I disliked the horrible voice acting for Tidus and Yuna though, so i amThis game is great, because of the fact that it actually takes some time to beat it. I played the international version of it, and i really liked it. Unlike the other games, X has more customization (weapons and armor can be fully customized to your liking) than the other games, and that can both be annoying and great. I disliked the horrible voice acting for Tidus and Yuna though, so i am giving this game a 9 instead of a 10. Expand
  68. Mar 29, 2013
    10
    First there is one thing that needs to be said. Don't listen to the reviewers giving this game low scores. They're generally the types of people with little to no attention span. We all have a friend like that.

    Now let's mention a few essential points about this game: - This is a long game. It will take you a long time to complete it. Cutscenes are very prominent. If you can't take
    First there is one thing that needs to be said. Don't listen to the reviewers giving this game low scores. They're generally the types of people with little to no attention span. We all have a friend like that.

    Now let's mention a few essential points about this game:

    - This is a long game. It will take you a long time to complete it. Cutscenes are very prominent. If you can't take the time to enjoy a well crafted story with interesting characters told at a slow pace, don't buy this game.
    - The battle system is very much vintage Final Fantasy. It is fairly similar to that of previous games in the series. It is turn based.

    Graphics: 8/10

    I played this game back in 2003. While the game certainly looks nice, it's definately not 10/10 worthy in this department. The major drawback in terms of graphics is the stiff animations and sometimes awkward facial expressions. Much of this is me subconsiously comparing FFX to that of MGS2, which did far better in this department (in a similar time period). Other than this, the game looks great, plenty of detail, worlds full of life with vibrant colours.

    Gameplay: 9/10

    Vintage Final Fantasy. There's not really anything new here. The greatest thing about this game is not the battles themselves, but the ability to build your characters to ungoldy levels. After you finish FFX, you could quite easily spend another 60 hours just finishing post-game content. This includes finding ultimate weapons, fighting various post-game bosses (who are incredibly strong), crafting godly equiptment, maxxing out the sphere grid in ways you never thought were possible ect ect. This is a game where it's entirely possible to max every stat to 255 for every character (and still get your ass kicked by the strongest boss in the game). The game also features several minigames, including blitzball tournaments (underwater football). Most people who actually get into this minigame, find out just how fun and engaging it is. It's almost like another game within FFX.

    Story 10/10

    This is a JRPG. Expect a long melodramatic story. Expect interesting characters that you really care about by the end of the game. Expect plot twists. Expect shocks. I have completed this game over 5 times just to see the story again. It's that good. Yes the voice acting can be a tad cheesy at times (mainly due to the accompanying facial expressions which sometimes look a little comedic), but most of the time it is spot on. People are quick to judge Tidus' personality, because he's not like Cloud of Squall. This is not 7/8. The characters are varied and all bring something to the table. The voice acting is, for the most part, top notch. The people telling you otherwise generally just lack the intelligence to see the comedic value behind certain scenes (the laughing scene was purposely cheesy. That was the point).

    Voice acting 9/10

    Sometimes it isn't perfect, but it is most of the time. No one sounds the same, voices perfectly match appearances. Yuna sounds like an angel, Auron sounds like a boss.

    Sound 10/10

    I don't really pay all that much attention to background music in games, but what I do hear sounds perfect. After you play this game, you'll be hearing the Hymn of the Faith for years.

    Replayability 10/10

    As I said, I have finished this game 5 times.

    Overall 10/10

    This game is one of the best in the FF franchise (and my personal favourite). The only people telling you this game is horrible, are those that either lack the attention span to play games like this, or can't seem to entertain the fact that FFVII isn't the only FF game. VII wasn't even that good. Seriously. This game is better in every way, it's just that good. (and I would give VII a 10/10).

    This is one of the greatest games ever created.
    Expand
  69. Jan 2, 2014
    9
    There is a lot that could be said about this game, it is the first Final Fantasy game on the PS2 which back then was a big deal. Everyone expected it to revolutionize the series much like VII. While X does make huge strides in presentation and gameplay, some of the voice acting and dialog isn't translated in a way that western gamers are used to. Tidus could have been a lot more likeable,There is a lot that could be said about this game, it is the first Final Fantasy game on the PS2 which back then was a big deal. Everyone expected it to revolutionize the series much like VII. While X does make huge strides in presentation and gameplay, some of the voice acting and dialog isn't translated in a way that western gamers are used to. Tidus could have been a lot more likeable, but the dialog he is given and his voice acting make seem like a 12 year old brat instead of a teenage sports jock. As far as the rest of the characters, they're all fine but really no stand-out performances. The graphics on the other hand are absolutely gorgeous even now. The style and the bright vivid color of the environments are wonderful to look at, and the FMV sequences are stunning. The turn-based gameplay won't surprise anyone, but the ability to switch out party members and some neat overdrives keep the gameplay from becoming stale for 50+ hours. The upgrade system called the sphere grid is, for the most part, a unique and interesting way to level up your character even if it is somewhat clunky. Overall, this game an outstanding entry in the series, despite one or two noticeable flaws. Expand
  70. Jun 1, 2013
    10
    This is an amazing game. I could write a 10 page report on why it's awesome but you can read what other people are saying. Instead I want to address those emo pricks hating on Tidus and Wakka. Tidus is almost unrealistically cheerful and upbeat. But guess what? his presence bring positivity to the journey. His naiveness and outgoing personality lightens the mood of what otherwise would beThis is an amazing game. I could write a 10 page report on why it's awesome but you can read what other people are saying. Instead I want to address those emo pricks hating on Tidus and Wakka. Tidus is almost unrealistically cheerful and upbeat. But guess what? his presence bring positivity to the journey. His naiveness and outgoing personality lightens the mood of what otherwise would be a depressing journey. Can you imagine what it would be like for if Tidus was replaced with Squall or Cloud? It would be an emo fest. And I don't know what people hate on Wakka either. He is supposed to be slow-wit guy with a big heart. The only flaw he might have is being inflexible when it comes to yevon's teaching. And I don't blame him. If you had to live your whole life in fear of a monster wiping your whole village at any given moment you act like him too. Expand
  71. Jul 18, 2013
    10
    Um, this is the pinnacle of FF games for me. Everything about it is just good. Was well beyond it's day when released. My brothers and I have played through multiple times. It just never gets boring. Auron is by far my favorite FF character. Story is amazing, I still remember feeling dazed and beyond impressed at the end. Kinda like after just finishing an epic book series like Wheel of Time.
  72. Aug 22, 2013
    10
    I loved this game, probably played through it 3 times, even though we had to take the disc back 3 times because it had been resurfaced badly that had no effect on how great I think this game is. I loved the story, the twists, and how emotional they made the ending. The characters felt real, and the role of the pseudo religion in the game was awesome. This is easily my favorite game in theI loved this game, probably played through it 3 times, even though we had to take the disc back 3 times because it had been resurfaced badly that had no effect on how great I think this game is. I loved the story, the twists, and how emotional they made the ending. The characters felt real, and the role of the pseudo religion in the game was awesome. This is easily my favorite game in the series, including FF7. Great boss battles, excellent story, I don't recall any UI bugs that annoyed me, all in all a very memorable game. Expand
  73. Dec 23, 2014
    10
    I've loved every Final Fantasy game made before next generation systems came out (12 was terrible IMO) but none of them ever made me fall in love with the characters as perfectly as this one did. I actually cried when Tidus faded away. Imagine that, a little fat kid sitting in his chair on a Friday night crying over pixels. It happened.

    This game didn't invent the premise of RPGs nor
    I've loved every Final Fantasy game made before next generation systems came out (12 was terrible IMO) but none of them ever made me fall in love with the characters as perfectly as this one did. I actually cried when Tidus faded away. Imagine that, a little fat kid sitting in his chair on a Friday night crying over pixels. It happened.

    This game didn't invent the premise of RPGs nor did it do anything overly revolutionary with regards to battle sequences or graphics, but the story was simply amazing. I grew to absolutely hate Seymour and my heart broke when Auron's true motive was revealed. The settings were whimsical without being stereotypical and the sphere grid remains my favorite RPG leveling system ever.

    I felt like this game, along with FFX12 and Legend of Dragoon didn't get the praise they deserved from critics because those critics expected the same kinds of things that they currently expect from huge franchises who are stuck between a rock and a hard place. It's impossible to fully revolutionize a successful series without changing something about its successful past and I think that's evident in the lacking grades on here. I think the remaster of this game is bringing it back to life and I'm excited about it.

    FFX remains one of the best games I've ever played and, as far as stories and character development go, may be the best I've ever encountered. I've played hundreds of RPGs from front to back and none of them kept me quite as engaged as FFX did. Hats off to the incredible development team and especially to the musicians who made this score; music is always forgotten in movie and game reviews!
    Expand
  74. May 17, 2015
    10
    Greatest story ever. You need to love it, absolutely amazing game. Year 2001? Are you kidding me? Everyone should play this game at least once in their life.
  75. Feb 1, 2015
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is the game in the series that gets the most negative feedback in the form utterly false statements; yes, it is linear in the beginning, but once you get the airship, you are able to visit all the towns of the world, exploring for new weapons and defeating a plethora of optional bosses, all requiring different strategy and approach. There's hidden temples, hidden bosses, hidden weapons to acquire, a battle arena to conquer, everything. If someone says FFX to be linear in the vein of FFXIII then they are, quite simply, false. The characters are customizable in the sense that one CAN follow different paths in determining the stats of one character, and although in the end every character has maxed out the entire grid, it is by no means even remotely similar to FXIII crystarium nonsense. Similar to earlier entries, FFX also offers hidden Summons to acquire, although only usable by one character. It also features a minigame in the form of blitzball which includes a team recruiting where the player can search the world for better blitzball players. The only downside is that in the end the blitz minigame becomes broken and the player will steamroll every opponent. That's when the player realizes that he has to defeat two seasons of the game for getting Wakka's best weapon, and the task becomes quite tedious.

    All that aside, FFX still has all the content that in my opinion made VII so great; a handful of optional bosses, customizable (to an extent) characters, a nice minigame (idea), hidden dungeons and secret temples. For all that, I'd probably give it 8.5 were it possible. Because it's not, 9/10.
    Expand
  76. Dec 26, 2012
    0
    How dare anybody say the long cutscenes are a bad point in this game. They MAKE the game.
    Still, after 9 years of playing it a total of 4 times through, and clocking 400+ hours of gametime, there are a few scenes which I will never forget. The story is something to behold, and had me so emotionally involved that I were playing the game just to find out what happens in the next scene. The
    How dare anybody say the long cutscenes are a bad point in this game. They MAKE the game.
    Still, after 9 years of playing it a total of 4 times through, and clocking 400+ hours of gametime, there are a few scenes which I will never forget. The story is something to behold, and had me so emotionally involved that I were playing the game just to find out what happens in the next scene. The addition of Blitzball was perfect - It could be a standalone game! I played that minigame for SO long, and it had you exploring the world scouting for players while doing all of the extra stuff. And that's the thing - There is so much more to do beyond the main story! The additional Aeons to discover, finding the Celestial Weapons (A few of them was very difficult to obtain!) and the Monster Arena were simply amazing additions to the game.
    In short:
    Best story I've ever come across. Ever.
    Best progression system in any game I've ever played (the Sphere Grid)
    Best cutscenes I've ever seen in a game. (In terms of what happens in them and their involvement in the story)
    Best 'additional' tasks I've come across. (The monster arena mixed with the pursuit of celestial weapons and aeons easily doubles/triples your gametime)
    Collapse
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 53 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 50 out of 53
  2. Negative: 0 out of 53
  1. We've seen the Final Fantasy epic take us on a memorable journey, but now it all seems like it's been done before. 10 is good, great at times, but it is no longer original.
  2. The replay value is very low, and the design is flawed by an inability to skip past sequences, even in replay mode. The playability also suffers by a lack of freedom of movement.
  3. Great RPG and certainly the best one on the PS2 currently, however, I feel it isn't as great as past FF's have been due to its lack of freedom.