User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 843 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 52 out of 843

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. GatsbyJ.
    Apr 28, 2007
    3
    -To paraphrase Tolstoy: Good games are all alike; every bad game is bad in its own way. Reading over all the bad reviews for this game, of which there are surpisingly many, you can see a thread running through the complaints. -What seems to annoy some about FFX (including me) is that it's more like a movie than a game where you're watching rather than playing. The game is way -To paraphrase Tolstoy: Good games are all alike; every bad game is bad in its own way. Reading over all the bad reviews for this game, of which there are surpisingly many, you can see a thread running through the complaints. -What seems to annoy some about FFX (including me) is that it's more like a movie than a game where you're watching rather than playing. The game is way too easy. The sphere system sucks and robs the players of their freedom. Blitzball is a sorry attempt at a mini-game. The characters are HORRIBLE! Tidus is lackluster in all respects except in the fact that he looks like a transvestite in a halloween costume, not to forget his annoying voice acting. Yuna is also annoying and underdeveloped, and her movements are very awkward. And Seymor is a horrible villain: he looks like a hippy and he sounds like he sat on a spike. Wakka is just as big a sterotype as Jar-Jar Binks, the difference being that you can fastforward the parts with Jar-Jar. In other words, FFX has some of the worst voice acting in videogame history (and this includes Resident Evil). The battle system hasn't really improved over previous FF's, and the character are horrible.. -But to give due praise, the graphics are good (though not great, since they do seem insipid at many points), the music, which is the worst out of all the FF's since FF6, is still good. The ability to control summons is something new. The CGI is top quality. -Yet all these do not make up for the game being so bad. Tidus is the worst protagonist to grace the FF series, and Yuna is the worst heroine, and Seymor is the worst villain in FF history. Of course, those who love the game are perfectly entitled to their views: it's all just a matter of opinion. Expand
  2. JK
    Jul 16, 2009
    4
    This (game / Interactive movie) is a step back from other FF games. Unlike previous FF games, the battle system has been oversimplified, there's no longer intricate dungeons to explore, and you can no longer explore the "game world" freely. You will be overwhelmed with random battles every 5 seconds, and you are forced to watch unskippable 45 minute cut-scenes after every 10 minutes This (game / Interactive movie) is a step back from other FF games. Unlike previous FF games, the battle system has been oversimplified, there's no longer intricate dungeons to explore, and you can no longer explore the "game world" freely. You will be overwhelmed with random battles every 5 seconds, and you are forced to watch unskippable 45 minute cut-scenes after every 10 minutes of gameplay! Expand
  3. ZiggyStardust
    Aug 28, 2002
    6
    While I do appreciate the great story, longevity, and sweet video sequences, I actually somewhat regret purchasing FFX. The gameplay is rather boring, and it's difficult to get in to. I wish there was more skill and strategy involved. Perhaps it's best suited to patient RPG fanatics.
  4. DennisG.
    Nov 29, 2003
    3
    I've not played any other FF game, but hearing a lot about this I picked up a copy out of curiosity. While the plot is interesting, my saved game tells me I've been playing for over three hours and of that a few minutes could be considered "playing" and the rest watching cutscenes. Next to the sadly neglected graphic adventure genre, I always considered RPGs to be mentally I've not played any other FF game, but hearing a lot about this I picked up a copy out of curiosity. While the plot is interesting, my saved game tells me I've been playing for over three hours and of that a few minutes could be considered "playing" and the rest watching cutscenes. Next to the sadly neglected graphic adventure genre, I always considered RPGs to be mentally challenging. There is no challenge here. You are guided at every point, your choices only limited in the fight scenes - and they leave a lot to be desired. I have so far failed to see what warrants the sea of 10s on here. Expand
  5. Jul 21, 2011
    7
    "HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA --- HA HA HA HA HA HA --- HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!!!"

    That's really all you need to know. Its very poorly dubbed, but manages to stay pretty original in the vein of JRPG. The storyline is a little silly, but it is accompanied by some rather deliciously fluid cut scenes that really draw you into the experience. However, it is full of some rather uninteresting
    "HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA --- HA HA HA HA HA HA --- HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!!!"

    That's really all you need to know. Its very poorly dubbed, but manages to stay pretty original in the vein of JRPG. The storyline is a little silly, but it is accompanied by some rather deliciously fluid cut scenes that really draw you into the experience. However, it is full of some rather uninteresting characters, some overly tedious (read: overly long) boss battles, and some puzzles that are clearly not there for challenge of any kind. Also the sphere leveling system is pretty boss- although it doesn't quite solve the grinding problem in any of these games. It inspired an uninspired sequel that has nothing to do with anything, but fan service.
    Expand
  6. Nov 21, 2011
    7
    Not a bad game, but it feels like they concentrated more on the graphics and appearance, than the content and merit... Doesn't hold up too well compared to FFIX, but still playing it was enjoyable.
  7. Oct 4, 2012
    2
    This game is one of the worst JRPG-s to this date, and worst FF game. Storyline is stupid, characters are annoying and underdeveloped. Main character is a whining brat Tidus who joins a group chosen to stop great evil monster Sin. Story also just stops at some points and you do stupid quests for random people. And those last for app. 10 hours. Final boss is also a slap in a face to everyThis game is one of the worst JRPG-s to this date, and worst FF game. Storyline is stupid, characters are annoying and underdeveloped. Main character is a whining brat Tidus who joins a group chosen to stop great evil monster Sin. Story also just stops at some points and you do stupid quests for random people. And those last for app. 10 hours. Final boss is also a slap in a face to every person that finished this game. Gameplay and battle system is much better than previous games and there is a full voice acting for every cut scene. But voice acting sucks and cut scenes cannot be skipped. Basically this game is horrible and very, very overrated. Expand
  8. Sep 7, 2012
    2
    I remembered seeing this every where ten years ago so I pulled out my old ps2 and paid $3 for a copy. And for all the perseverance I had, all the hours I put in trying to get quality back out, this game might be one of the most disappointing endeavors of my life. The story is god awful; the relationships are rote and simple; there is absolutely no thematic development; the only good songI remembered seeing this every where ten years ago so I pulled out my old ps2 and paid $3 for a copy. And for all the perseverance I had, all the hours I put in trying to get quality back out, this game might be one of the most disappointing endeavors of my life. The story is god awful; the relationships are rote and simple; there is absolutely no thematic development; the only good song out of a horrendous soundtrack plays maybe twice; the villain might have the worst cliche name in gaming history; but possibly by far, the biggest, most torturous, agonizing flaw is the voice acting - it might have been decent in japanese but the american actors gave no effort, only stretching out insignificant dialogue (which was poorly written to begin with) with complete lethargy, or yelling through the pseudo dramatic moments. It may aspire to be a dramatic story but it fails miserably in every way possible. The gameplay is alright for a FF game; it allows for decent strategizing, but be aware that the only wit involved in FFX will have to be on your part because the creators had none. If you play video games for stories foremost, avoid, or better yet go out of your way to break copies of this if you see them lying around. Expand
  9. Dec 25, 2011
    0
    This game is the reason I stopped playing the Final Fantasy series, and JRPGs in general. But to be fair, lets just look at this game for its own merits and not have the weight of the entire series hurt or help it. Although, I doubt all the help in the world would save this game. This "game" is absolutely depressing in its structure. FFX is something like a demonic love-child between aThis game is the reason I stopped playing the Final Fantasy series, and JRPGs in general. But to be fair, lets just look at this game for its own merits and not have the weight of the entire series hurt or help it. Although, I doubt all the help in the world would save this game. This "game" is absolutely depressing in its structure. FFX is something like a demonic love-child between a JRPG and an arcade rail-shooter. I guess it can best be described as a "Rail-JRPG", *shudder*. Playing through the game, this was my biggest problem. I felt like I wasn't playing a game, I felt like I was just pressing buttons to advance a dismally terrible story-line. Speaking of said story-line, I think it should win some award for the incredible feat of being equal parts cryptic and terrible. At the start I found it to be okay, some horribly cheesy dunce with a running disorder named "Tidus", gets attacked and eaten by an indecipherable fluorescent lump called "Sin", and gets pooped out into the future where he is met by a bunch of Russians in a poor disposition. The story continues on and only gets worse as you must protect an attractive young religious zealot who's on a quest to "catch them all!" By "all" I mean the same old recycled summons they've been using in the Final Fantasy series for years. In the end, **SPOILER ALERT**, you find out you're actually the physical manifestations of a dream that has been dreamed by a bunch a mysterious cloaked folks. All this dreaming is making them tired of course, so the mysterious cloaked folks give you your life's pink slip. Tidus,being the unemployed bum he is, accepts his pink slip, and by an incredible display of Deus Ex Machina, he wakes up on a beach the next day; driving anyone who had to that point been trying desperately to maintain their grasp of the story-line, to rip their hair out in both frustration and bewilderment. Oh yeah, and there was some stuff about his daddy issues littered about the story-line as well. Honestly, I can find nothing redeemable about this game, in the end, I just found it to be a boring waste of time, the story is linear, the game-play is linear, the leveling system, despite its appearance of complexity, is also depressingly linear. This is literally one of the worst games I've ever played, go ahead and save yourself the trouble by not playing it ever. Expand
  10. Mar 6, 2013
    10
    This is the best JRGP I've ever played. The story is really good, the characters are okay, the gameplay is brilliant. Unlike previous final fantasy games, final fantasy X let's everybody wait their turn. I like this very much. For example, in final fantasy IX the enemies attack when their bar is full, this means I felt rushed and I couldn't take my time to think about my next move. FinalThis is the best JRGP I've ever played. The story is really good, the characters are okay, the gameplay is brilliant. Unlike previous final fantasy games, final fantasy X let's everybody wait their turn. I like this very much. For example, in final fantasy IX the enemies attack when their bar is full, this means I felt rushed and I couldn't take my time to think about my next move. Final fantasy X let's the monsters wait their turn. You won't feel rushed. The gameplay is deep and the overall experience is one that you will not soon forget. Expand
  11. May 2, 2013
    3
    The final fantasy series took a downward plunge after the SNES titles n my opinion, but this one really did not appeal to me, the story was slow paced, and the level up system was just not to my liking, I prefer to know what level I am and base my choices of combat on that, not on how many pieces of a grid I have.
  12. Jan 6, 2015
    5
    Final Fantasy X may be great on it's tactical combat and it's presentation for the time but on a lot of levels it's severely overrated. it's plot while on paper show's promise but it's really doesn't stand up to inspection and it's really undone by the fact that clearly Yuna should be main character and Tidus's presence actively makes the plot worse and is a top contender for worstFinal Fantasy X may be great on it's tactical combat and it's presentation for the time but on a lot of levels it's severely overrated. it's plot while on paper show's promise but it's really doesn't stand up to inspection and it's really undone by the fact that clearly Yuna should be main character and Tidus's presence actively makes the plot worse and is a top contender for worst character Final Fantasy history. I usually really enjoy the art style in final fantasy and i will say there are bright sparks of genius but at other times it's really head scratching and for the love of god the voice acting ranges from passable to god awfully annoying on so many levels honestly the best part about this game is it's soundtrack Expand
  13. DanE.
    Jan 10, 2002
    7
    The cutscreens are too damn long. The graphics are great and the fight sceens are real active. The game blitzball is also fun to play, as long as your guys are good. Another thing is the storyline. Its a little hard to understand at first so I suggest to those of you who cant get it, to visit their official website and figure it out further there.
  14. Adam
    Jan 20, 2007
    8
    I'm about halfway through now. Graphics are good as every Final Fantasy is. The story is alright, the gameplay is better than a lot of Final Fantasy RPG's (more interactive instead of just pressing buttons.) My one big complaint is a common one. WAY too much video footage. Even when it ends, you walk 2 steps and there's another video. Each opponent is harder though which is I'm about halfway through now. Graphics are good as every Final Fantasy is. The story is alright, the gameplay is better than a lot of Final Fantasy RPG's (more interactive instead of just pressing buttons.) My one big complaint is a common one. WAY too much video footage. Even when it ends, you walk 2 steps and there's another video. Each opponent is harder though which is something that is appreciated since its usually to easy. And the level system (with spheres) works better too since you have more choice on how your characters grow. Expand
  15. AndrewN.
    Jul 7, 2007
    9
    Fantastic game and a definate noteworthy entry in this series. It introduced proper 3D environments which looked stunning. It had voice acting for the first time and a refined battle system. Having the ability to switch characters was a great touch as not having the right abilities in a battle was very frustrating. As well as the stunning visuals, it easily had one of the best storylines Fantastic game and a definate noteworthy entry in this series. It introduced proper 3D environments which looked stunning. It had voice acting for the first time and a refined battle system. Having the ability to switch characters was a great touch as not having the right abilities in a battle was very frustrating. As well as the stunning visuals, it easily had one of the best storylines accompanied by an excellent soundtrack and score. An enthralling adventure. If it wasnt for the linear nature of the game, this would have been a perfect 10. Expand
  16. Val
    Dec 8, 2009
    10
    Absolutely better than any other Final Fantasy (close to 12 and 9 though). The most beautiful and touching game ever
  17. AlexanderS.
    Mar 29, 2009
    10
    This is the best FF, screw FF7! First off the main character is not the "Fuc* the world, I'm so mysterious and lonely" type (which many FF fans claim to be themselves). Tidus is at first a normal teenager but he developes (not degenerates like Cloud) to a responsible figure. The characters are not so stereotypical and predictable like FF7s for example. While Auron may look like the This is the best FF, screw FF7! First off the main character is not the "Fuc* the world, I'm so mysterious and lonely" type (which many FF fans claim to be themselves). Tidus is at first a normal teenager but he developes (not degenerates like Cloud) to a responsible figure. The characters are not so stereotypical and predictable like FF7s for example. While Auron may look like the quiet, strict old warrior he also has a sense of humor, while Barret for example (FF7) is always grumpy. All in all the characters are more alive in FF10. Also FF10 does best at mastering the gap between sci-fi and fantasy setting, while older FFs are more like Final Cyber-Punk. The FF10 story is based on myths and religion but in a world, that is completely different from anything we know. Spira has its own rituals, laws and lifestyle. The gameplay is good and there is tons to do outside of the story. All in all it's the best game for people who love story-driven games. Expand
  18. GlennB.W.
    Dec 29, 2001
    10
    This is the best game I have ever tried. The graphics especially is one of the many great things about this game.
  19. ShyanmarM
    Feb 15, 2010
    10
    FFX is an absolutely awesome game. Yes, the storyline might be more linear than in the past, but that makes the narrative all the better. All those whiny little kids that complain because you "cant f-ing skip thar cutsceneZ, d00d" just don't get that Final Fantasy is, above anything else, about the Story. There's a reason you can't skip the cutscenes. If you could, FFX is an absolutely awesome game. Yes, the storyline might be more linear than in the past, but that makes the narrative all the better. All those whiny little kids that complain because you "cant f-ing skip thar cutsceneZ, d00d" just don't get that Final Fantasy is, above anything else, about the Story. There's a reason you can't skip the cutscenes. If you could, it'd basically take away what the game is all about. The Character design is cool, OK? Just because Tidus doesn't have spiky hair and wears black/deep purple and is all emo doesn't mean that's bad. Just 'cause Yuna doesn't run around in slutty outfits doesn't mean her character design sucks. The voice acting is great, especially considering that it's a series first here! What can you compare it to to say that it's bad? The battle system is absolutely cool and laid back. And especially considering that this game is the first FF title on the PS2, the first featuring voice acting, fully 3D-rendered landscapes and an ability system like the sphere grid (To all those who say that that is too easy or restricitve, just choose the expert mode on beginning the game ... ), this game is revolutionary. One of the best FFs up to date, in quite a lot of aspects even better than VII. Also better than IX, although not by that much. A full 10, anyway. Expand
  20. MaxG
    Mar 3, 2010
    10
    This game has an incredible story, one of the best I have experienced in any game or movie. This is the most emotionally moving game I have ever played with amazing graphics, story, and music.
  21. DavidD.
    Jan 16, 2002
    10
    If the scale was larger I would have given it a better score. The game's storyline alone is worth a 10 alone. The new voice overs worth it as while, the characters are unique & animated very while. Thank you.
  22. NeoW.
    Oct 22, 2002
    9
    This game is frickin good, nice storyline AWSOME graphics this is tha bomb the jenna jameson of the PS2.
  23. RyanT.
    Feb 13, 2002
    10
    This game kicks ass.
  24. JonathanC.
    Feb 17, 2002
    10
    This game is superior to any other RPG games yet! The graphics are superb and teh battle system makse it all interesting. The voice-overs could use some work but it all worked out in the end.
  25. TarikT.
    Feb 27, 2002
    10
    Still not as good as Final Fantasy Seven, but this game is kick ass.
  26. MilesP.
    Mar 16, 2002
    10
    I gave it a ten because it's a ff. It's not the best ff. ff7 waz the best but it still kicks ASS!!!!!
  27. JamesM.
    Mar 20, 2002
    10
    Not as good as FF3 or not even close to FF7 but all 'n all great game.
  28. ChloiC.
    Mar 26, 2002
    10
    I think tidus is hot!!!
  29. ShivonD.
    Mar 3, 2002
    10
    I never play this crappy game but my siblings play it- and they say it is scrumptrulescent- a must have for PS2 owners, but it doesn't top "Final Fantasy 7." I wanna send a shout out to my clever people at Squaresoft for their brilliant series of RPG games.
  30. PatrickK.
    Apr 10, 2002
    10
    Unbelivable! This is the best game I have ever seen!
  31. ThomasG.Jr.
    Apr 29, 2002
    10
    This game rocks. I think it was even better than FF7. There are so many things to do, even after you beat the game. Blitzball alone is good enough to be it's own game! Then talk about the optional bosses! In the monster arena alone ther's at least 20, most of them stronger than the last guy. And everybody loves high damaging games and this one gets you up to 5 digits of damage! This game rocks. I think it was even better than FF7. There are so many things to do, even after you beat the game. Blitzball alone is good enough to be it's own game! Then talk about the optional bosses! In the monster arena alone ther's at least 20, most of them stronger than the last guy. And everybody loves high damaging games and this one gets you up to 5 digits of damage! I'm talking 99,999 damage from 1 hit! Yeah FF7 was a great game but there wasn't much to it once you beat the game. FFX gives you players that start out as individuals but can learn other peoples' moves and abilities! And to be able to switch characters in and out of a fight at will makes the combat scenes never tiresome! All in all the greatest rpg i've ever played! Expand
  32. Luke
    Sep 3, 2002
    9
    What a great game!! Storyline itself has got to be the best yet of any final fantasy game so far. Graphics and soundtrack are truly remarkable. Each character has there own, well-defined personality and u grow to recognise this. Sometimes it's more like watching an amazing film then playing a game. Saying this though, the battle operations are now more complex and user friendly, with What a great game!! Storyline itself has got to be the best yet of any final fantasy game so far. Graphics and soundtrack are truly remarkable. Each character has there own, well-defined personality and u grow to recognise this. Sometimes it's more like watching an amazing film then playing a game. Saying this though, the battle operations are now more complex and user friendly, with even more emphasise on strategy during fights. Very, very, very good game. Bring on FF11!! Expand
  33. DanielA.
    Dec 1, 2003
    9
    This game is awesome, it rocks the badass driving skills well improved from Grand Theft Auto or any other game of the sort. The shooting is way more advanced then like Max Payne or like Dead to Rights. And the Karate style fighting rivals street fighter...ok a little overboard on that one. but it is awesome and the storyline is interesting, the only thing it lacks is length. the bonusThis game is awesome, it rocks the badass driving skills well improved from Grand Theft Auto or any other game of the sort. The shooting is way more advanced then like Max Payne or like Dead to Rights. And the Karate style fighting rivals street fighter...ok a little overboard on that one. but it is awesome and the storyline is interesting, the only thing it lacks is length. the bonus video is the funniest thing ever. Expand
  34. Mr._Rabbit
    Oct 7, 2003
    9
    The only thing i didn't like was how the story happened in the future otherwise the game was great.
  35. MarkL.
    Feb 13, 2003
    10
    This game is amazing squaresoft have done it again.
  36. TitoY.
    Aug 19, 2003
    10
    Once again, squaresoft create a masterpiece. FinalFantasy X can't disappoint their fans. Of course is weird to hear the characters voices but it's great to live your own epic story.
  37. ChaddS.
    Sep 24, 2003
    10
    For a start i would like to point out that marc444 has no taste in games whatsoever. That said,this is 1 of the best games ever to grace our ps2,sure it may be somewhat cheesy but that cant be helped.In any case FFX rocks hands down.
  38. SteveW.
    Oct 11, 2004
    9
    Its Hard To Be Negative About This Game Because It Gives You Everything You Could Want In A Final Fantasy Game But That Said Others Have Done That And More (FF9 , FF7) But On Its Own An Excellent Game That I Cant Fault.
  39. NaomiM.
    Nov 4, 2004
    10
    Best ff game EVER!!!
  40. Mr.Chicken
    Oct 6, 2004
    10
    The first rpg I've ever played and i couldn't be happier.
  41. Pucciocorona
    Feb 28, 2004
    10
    Very cool , graphics and the story.
  42. DanijelJ.
    Sep 4, 2004
    10
    This is the best game ever given from ff creators.
  43. MaresF.
    Mar 6, 2005
    10
    This game is great.
  44. VarunB.
    Aug 11, 2005
    10
    A one-of-a-kind gaming experience...a must-have for the PS2, even for the non-fans of RPGs!!!
  45. DavidM.
    Nov 2, 2006
    9
    Great game with dozens of side quests and missions to keep you playing for months, the game isn't over till you own that grid.
  46. AnsonG.
    Apr 1, 2006
    9
    Nice graphics, good story and good game.
  47. MarkJ.
    Jun 11, 2006
    9
    this game is very fun to play.it's got a great storyboard and you can never tell whats going to happen next.you cant go wrong with those graphics.the only thing i would change would just be little things like the battle music, and when you win a fight tidus does clouds winning battle thing y'know just tiny things.
  48. CharlieG.
    Jun 6, 2006
    7
    Maybe I just hate RPG's, but I think this game really sucked because it is difficult and repetitive in a bad way.
  49. TitaniumDragon
    Nov 23, 2007
    8
    This is a solid square RPG; it is not amazing for a Final Fantasy game, but it isn't terrible either. The story is fairly engaging and the pacing is quite good; there is a mixture of puzzles and the fights are entertaining. Additionally due to the sphere grid your characters feel different but it also feels like you have control over what they are capable of doing, which makes for This is a solid square RPG; it is not amazing for a Final Fantasy game, but it isn't terrible either. The story is fairly engaging and the pacing is quite good; there is a mixture of puzzles and the fights are entertaining. Additionally due to the sphere grid your characters feel different but it also feels like you have control over what they are capable of doing, which makes for pretty good gameplay. The battles are quite good and not monotonous and the difficulty level, while a bit low for my tastes, is tolerable. All around a solid RPG title and well worth playing. That said, it does have some flaws; the main characters, Yuna and Tidus, are very unlikable and not really all that interesting, and towards the end the game does begin to drag a little in places. All in all though, a good game. Expand
  50. MaryT.
    Feb 25, 2007
    10
    This game is truly a fun game the characters the graphics the story wow I have been a big final fantasy fan for the longest time i will say the only thing i didn't like was the game ending thats a bum deal for Tidus and Yuna however I thought the romance in the game was a little cheesy this game was far better though than its sequel 10 2 was good but this was way better more to do This game is truly a fun game the characters the graphics the story wow I have been a big final fantasy fan for the longest time i will say the only thing i didn't like was the game ending thats a bum deal for Tidus and Yuna however I thought the romance in the game was a little cheesy this game was far better though than its sequel 10 2 was good but this was way better more to do than most all in all fantabulous game 10+++ Expand
  51. Sophie
    Aug 15, 2007
    10
    Wow - this is the first Final Fantasy game I played, and I have to say I enjoyed every moment of it. Difficult, but not so difficult that newer RPG players can't approach it. Beautiful, graphics, wonderful CGI sequences. Voice acting could be better, but some performances were excellent including voice of Wakka, i.e also John DiMaggio, voice of Bender in the wonderful comedy Wow - this is the first Final Fantasy game I played, and I have to say I enjoyed every moment of it. Difficult, but not so difficult that newer RPG players can't approach it. Beautiful, graphics, wonderful CGI sequences. Voice acting could be better, but some performances were excellent including voice of Wakka, i.e also John DiMaggio, voice of Bender in the wonderful comedy animation Futurama. A fantastic, addictive, game that I reccommend to anybody of any age interested in video games. Expand
  52. CharlieN
    Jun 11, 2009
    10
    A compelling story with unique outlooks on a classic gameplay style. With tons of depth to both the main storyline in gameplay and story, with hours of sidequests that contain incentive to complete, you will be glad to have gone on one of the most prized experiences the PS2 has to offer.
  53. mikec
    Aug 28, 2009
    8
    in theory this game SHOULD be a 10. but it loses one point for the flawed battle system and one for the flawed blitzball. why oh why do i have to switch in a character to perform a perfunctory action like blocking just to get him some exp? why cant all characters level up together? this makes battles drag on literally twice as long as they should do. *wags finger at squaresoft* , bad in theory this game SHOULD be a 10. but it loses one point for the flawed battle system and one for the flawed blitzball. why oh why do i have to switch in a character to perform a perfunctory action like blocking just to get him some exp? why cant all characters level up together? this makes battles drag on literally twice as long as they should do. *wags finger at squaresoft* , bad squaresoft. and blitzball, while awesome, is so damn easy i can win the league first year with hardly trying and winning 6-0 every time gets old fast. but the battles and blitzes are still good enough as they are for this to be a damn fine game. graphically it stills holds up even now in 2009. people whining that tidus isnt whiny and emo are just whiny and emo. so what if he's cheerful for once, big deal. and if the previous FF games had voice acting, do you really think it would be much better sounding? how id love to hear yuffie and aeris peircing my eardrums with their shrill whining. such a SHAME i cant hear cait sith or squall moaning about how his big gunblade hurts his girly arms. lastly, for me the religious mumbo jumbo was completely yawn inducing and the 'fantasy' element was seriously lacking. traipsing through long boring nameless woods or mountain ranges is just dull. at least the previous games could make such locations really shine but that seems to be lost with the more modern graphics that were still in their infancy in 2001. ok, done, just had to vent my spleen. chow. oh and er, play it! Expand
  54. AntonioV
    Sep 8, 2009
    10
    I love this game. The battle system is the greatest, no stress to choose action. The story is really good and sad. I like the game so much I've played it like five times
  55. SeanA.
    Dec 29, 2001
    10
    This is a great game for the final fantasy series. I have played almost every game in the final fantasy series (available in America at least) and this is by far the best one yet! The voices are awesome much better than the constant reading of old. And the ability to switch out all of the players in battle is the best idea square has added since the ability to summon. I love this game but This is a great game for the final fantasy series. I have played almost every game in the final fantasy series (available in America at least) and this is by far the best one yet! The voices are awesome much better than the constant reading of old. And the ability to switch out all of the players in battle is the best idea square has added since the ability to summon. I love this game but i must point out the flaws blitzball is not really that fun of a game they make it WAY too hard at first giving you the shaft for the first couple of games. And some of the voices seem like bad dubs from old godzilla movies. And their is no leveling which is a real bummer add the disenchanting way of obtaining abilities( it looks more like a maze) this are problems that need to be addressed in the next game. But i hear it will be online so i guess we can kiss the game goodbye. if only a system like ff7 matera was incorporated this game would be almost perfect but it is still a 10 because the graphics are ungodly and you will love playing it. Expand
  56. JadeisthA.
    Nov 30, 2002
    10
    This is the most amazing game ever made!
  57. TidusL.
    Jan 15, 2002
    10
    The best game in the world there is. A must own game
  58. R.Sady
    Jan 17, 2002
    10
    It's Final Fantasy on Playstation 2! Who needs more incentive to buy it than that!? Nothing short of outstanding, fantasic and worthy of all the praise and hype given to it. Forget Xbox, forget Gamecube! Playstation 2 has Final Fantasy X!
  59. SammytheBull
    Dec 17, 2002
    10
    This game is so friggin awesome. It has awesome graphics, story, and even good voice-overs. Plus Blitzball is a blast (why am I the only one who thinks so). Definitely a must-buy for any remote RPG fan, or just anyone who owns a PS2.
  60. PederN.
    Jan 27, 2002
    10
    Too Short. I want more dang it! Please just a little bit?
  61. N.DeVega
    Feb 28, 2002
    8
    Pretty good, some details could be better. Very entertainning though.
  62. AmandaK.
    Mar 11, 2002
    9
    Almost rivaling FF7, FFX is a masterpiece. I'll say that it was a bit odd that there were sections of te game where you couldn't walk two steps without a cinematic scene, and the encounter rate was a bit high. But other than those two technically miniscule details, I cannot see much else in glitch- blissful graphics, a gripping storyline (better than a lot of movies I've Almost rivaling FF7, FFX is a masterpiece. I'll say that it was a bit odd that there were sections of te game where you couldn't walk two steps without a cinematic scene, and the encounter rate was a bit high. But other than those two technically miniscule details, I cannot see much else in glitch- blissful graphics, a gripping storyline (better than a lot of movies I've seen lately) and some entertaining minigames- this is an awesome experience. The only thing I can say actually bugged me was that the game was pretty linear for a while, but after that, I cannot find complaint. I recommend this game to everybody- extremely impressive. Expand
  63. DevinH.
    Mar 19, 2002
    10
    This game is awesome. The battles never get boring and the graphics are great. By far the best game for the PS2 yet.
  64. Klifup
    Dec 12, 2003
    8
    This is the best ff game since ff7 and fft this could be better and Omega could have been so harder like Omega on ff8.
  65. DragonKnightofFinalFantasy
    Dec 17, 2003
    10
    If FFVII didn't exist FFX & FFIX would be must-buys 4 any RPG fan out there. FFX BEAUTIFUL,creative & immensly fun.The only problem I have w/ it is sometimes it feels like a DVD instead of a game.
  66. TidusC.
    Dec 20, 2003
    10
    I like the game 2 MAIN REASONS my name is Tidus and the char is Tidus but FFV was great better story line but i like the first time u fight Sin in the game it shows like a movie but i hate fighting the jely fish after. and i just like the FReakin thang.
  67. LeighM.
    Dec 31, 2003
    10
    Best Game Ever!!
  68. MatthewB.
    Mar 17, 2003
    10
    The best RPG I've ever played and I have played a lot.
  69. RyanM.
    Apr 28, 2003
    10
    I find it physically impossible to say something bad about this game. The graphics are unbelievable, the storyline is in depth and well developed. The characters have feeling, and i can't get over the graphics. Once again my good friends at Squaresoft created another winner. Tidus rocks! Best final fantasy, but wait until x-2...
  70. JiloverzP.
    Nov 27, 2004
    10
    I think ffx was the best series of ff. especially the soundtrack was absolutly stunning . i didn't liked the Yevon and al bhed and all that crap though i juss loved tidus but yuna is a bitch after ffx-2.-_-
  71. Adray
    Jan 14, 2004
    10
    now, this is my favorite game of ALL TIME even better that x-2(which is also great) man, this game is even better that FF7! please i read some of these reviews...and some people said that it has no storyline... i think that they are not aware of what a "storyline" is, because if you know final fantasy like i do, and a lot of others...youll know that final fantasy has THE best storylines now, this is my favorite game of ALL TIME even better that x-2(which is also great) man, this game is even better that FF7! please i read some of these reviews...and some people said that it has no storyline... i think that they are not aware of what a "storyline" is, because if you know final fantasy like i do, and a lot of others...youll know that final fantasy has THE best storylines out there...so if you are a RPG fan...pick this game up RIGHT NOW! you will not regret it...also its at a great price, pick it up its amazing. Expand
  72. TrixieJ.
    Feb 21, 2004
    10
    If you are looking for a game with exellent graphics, amazing sound effects, an amazing plot, and outstanding battle scenes, this is the game.
  73. LukeA.
    Mar 18, 2004
    10
    This is the best game ever created!!
  74. SteveT.
    May 29, 2004
    10
    One of top 3 rpgs ever.
  75. Chopin
    Jul 16, 2004
    9
    Not the best final fantasy, doesnt come close to IX, but a masterpiece all the same. The good things: Auron is supercool, Seymour is cool if you can get past his voice, you learn to kinda appreciate Tidus later on, AMAZING graphics, good battle system, good music, and blitzball is fun despite what some people think. Okay, but there were some problems- Tidus is by far the worst main Not the best final fantasy, doesnt come close to IX, but a masterpiece all the same. The good things: Auron is supercool, Seymour is cool if you can get past his voice, you learn to kinda appreciate Tidus later on, AMAZING graphics, good battle system, good music, and blitzball is fun despite what some people think. Okay, but there were some problems- Tidus is by far the worst main character in an FF, Yuna's voice was badly cast(especially when she laughed) too easy once you figure out a little trick involving aeons overdrives(i blazed through every ending boss battle without having to use any real strategy), seymour's final fight is a real letdown(2 holy spells=dead). also the storyline didnt develop as much as it did in 7 or 9, even 8, you kinda know what to expect what with Sin(you know your not gonna defeat him halfway through the game). my biggest dissapointment probably didnt bother a lot of peoploe but it bothered me. The fact that no one ever says "Tidus" in the whole game led you not to bond with him or your characters as much, and it seemed kinda....empty. Especially the love story, I mean, Yuna never says his name? I didnt connect to that love story at all, whereas in 9 I really felt it. I know I had a lot of negative stuff to say, but the locations, bosses, music, and most of the voice acting and the battles easily make up for it. In the end you will feel very satisfied, and it does have the highest replay value of any of the final fantasies. Expand
  76. Johndoe
    Nov 2, 2005
    10
    AMAZING graphics!
  77. SiljeL.
    Nov 29, 2005
    10
    One of the best FF games I have ever played!;)
  78. Time_devil
    Oct 31, 2005
    10
    This game is great. It has great graphics and a very unique storyline. It really is a great game worth playing.
  79. JJHesseltine
    Mar 12, 2005
    10
    This game rocked, its the first final fantasy game i beat, and i just beat it literally half an hour ago, and yeah im your 17 varsity soccer player jock type and the ending made me cry. It was so beautiful and touching. The story pulls you right in, and its just blah i cant explain it. Heartwrenching is probably right. now i am going straight to blockbuster and renting ffx-2. Play this This game rocked, its the first final fantasy game i beat, and i just beat it literally half an hour ago, and yeah im your 17 varsity soccer player jock type and the ending made me cry. It was so beautiful and touching. The story pulls you right in, and its just blah i cant explain it. Heartwrenching is probably right. now i am going straight to blockbuster and renting ffx-2. Play this game, and beat it. It is so worth the 60+hours i spent on it! Expand
  80. TejiriI.
    Apr 17, 2005
    10
    This game moved me. This was the 1st FF I brought and this is what got me hooked on the Final Fantasy Series. I never get tired of watching the Real-time screenshots. I would give it 10000/10 but its not possible. I loved the music I can listen to it all day. When I'm in a battle I'm usually bopping my head to the theme. You rock.
  81. BryanS.
    Dec 6, 2006
    7
    Amazing story, but too much of it. I felt like I wasn't even playing a game, but watching a movie. Most of the game involved pressing X to continue to the next scene.
  82. RegisJ.
    May 15, 2006
    10
    i've been playing this game for 4 years (i have the international version so i wanna defeat the Dark Aeons and the Final Dark Aeon) Love the difficulty of this game and over all gameplay, I wish all FF games were like this!
  83. LeighM.
    Feb 26, 2008
    10
    Best Game Ever!!
  84. NickB.
    Dec 26, 2003
    8
    Great graphics but to much watching videos and not enough playing the game. In a way it is like watching a movie, which is ok I guess. I have not played X-2 yet but I hear that it is better. There are rumors that Square is making a X-3!
  85. ZXZFasheta
    Dec 28, 2003
    10
    First time ive sat to play a FF game but i gotta say this is one of the best game ever created in many aspects, stunning graphics, heavy animation, intriging storyline, a scerene feel to the music and plot animation, charcter's unique personality, the game tops many many RPG's i've played. It gives a sense of scerenity, a feeling of accomplishment as u play, as u unravelFirst time ive sat to play a FF game but i gotta say this is one of the best game ever created in many aspects, stunning graphics, heavy animation, intriging storyline, a scerene feel to the music and plot animation, charcter's unique personality, the game tops many many RPG's i've played. It gives a sense of scerenity, a feeling of accomplishment as u play, as u unravel deep into the game the actions and storys that unfolds is quite intriging and unexpected. U could play the game for 160 hours non stop and still not have completed it in it's entirity. there are many things i still have to get apart from the ones u normally get in the game, i mean things u have to go out of your way to get like their ultimate weapons, the other i think about 4-5 aeons like Anima (The aeon of the guy that wanted to marry Yuna by force and wanted to become sin himself) u know stuff like that. Expand
  86. JasonB.
    Nov 16, 2005
    10
    By far my favorite final fantasy game of all time. And I have high hopes for the future of the series. I have played through this game 3 times, and its worth every hour.
  87. BryanK.
    Nov 15, 2006
    8
    This game has a great story. its graphics are pretty good for early PS2 titles. The mini game blitz ball was also good! If your a true Final Fantisy fan you got to buy this game.
  88. Jul 12, 2011
    9
    ive loved FF since FF2 on the Snes . this is FF evolved for sure with a new combat system thats fun and a new level up system using a sphere grid which is pretty cool since you can really go crazy custimising your charicters. the story is pretty solid the voice acting is a mixed bag some are pretty good are real good like auron or kinda bad or really bad like jecht who i could not standive loved FF since FF2 on the Snes . this is FF evolved for sure with a new combat system thats fun and a new level up system using a sphere grid which is pretty cool since you can really go crazy custimising your charicters. the story is pretty solid the voice acting is a mixed bag some are pretty good are real good like auron or kinda bad or really bad like jecht who i could not stand hearing him talk . the game takes a very very very linear path approtch which felt awkward at first but once the story picked up after about 6 hours i was hooked on what was gona happen next . there is alot of stuff to do especially at the end . my biggest gripe with this game besides the voice acting has to be how freeking EASY the final boss fight is . i mean he is a 0 challenge i mean if you loose to this guy i feel bad for you. i found it harder just getting to him then fighting him. all in all the FFX is a solid RPG and one of the last real good FF games ive played . Expand
  89. Sep 28, 2010
    10
    Currently on a quest to finish reviewing (or at least write short comment) on Final Fantasy games I played before, not surprisingly this is the first PS2 game I ever played. The moment I laid eyes on cutey-pie Tidus... I mean the awesome graphics on Zanarkand being terrorized by sin, I was like wow... thank god I have a PS2. As an hardcore RPG gamer, I love the fact that it stays true to aCurrently on a quest to finish reviewing (or at least write short comment) on Final Fantasy games I played before, not surprisingly this is the first PS2 game I ever played. The moment I laid eyes on cutey-pie Tidus... I mean the awesome graphics on Zanarkand being terrorized by sin, I was like wow... thank god I have a PS2. As an hardcore RPG gamer, I love the fact that it stays true to a much improved turn based gameplay, each one of them is distinct in it's own way just makes the game even better. The characters provided were a cast of memorable characters starting from the naive Rikku to the should be less serious Yuna, each one them have a heart and soul, which to me is a prime sign that RPG should be taken seriously. At the time the graphics were too good to be true and the music is just... well, I have mixed feeling about the music. I just want to say that this is one the best RPG to date. Expand
  90. Sep 13, 2010
    10
    Late Review, but I just recently had time to finish this game.

    Easily one of the best in the series, FFX adds character voices for the first time in the series which, along with captivating cut-scenes, makes this a great game to play anytime of the day. Along with the addition of the blitzball mini-game, FFX changed the way you use summons, fight, and even how you level up. This game
    Late Review, but I just recently had time to finish this game.

    Easily one of the best in the series, FFX adds character voices for the first time in the series which, along with captivating cut-scenes, makes this a great game to play anytime of the day. Along with the addition of the blitzball mini-game, FFX changed the way you use summons, fight, and even how you level up. This game comes with all of this, packed into one of the greatest story-lines to date. The extra dungeons, mini-games, and unlockable end weapons gives you hours of endless gameplay. My personal time before i quit playing for good was 113:46

    The team who created this installment of the FF series truly put their hearts and souls into making this game. A definite must have for any fans of the FF series
    Expand
  91. Sep 23, 2010
    10
    It's closer to a 9.5 than a 10 out of 10, but I feel that the legacy that this game has left behind as a standard-bearer is enough to push it over the top. Final Fantasy X is, from start to finish, THE exemplary RPG on the PS2, and arguably the system's definitive title.
  92. Oct 3, 2010
    9
    This was in my opinion the last of the great modern Final Fantasy games, even if it was a bit too linear (which is now common) it was nonetheless a great RPG with great characters you could get involved with and the story was decent but not amazing. The general graphics and design of the game really brought it to the next level. Oh how I miss you FFX~
  93. Oct 14, 2010
    10
    Final Fantasy X is the last good game in the numbered Final Fantasy series. Great story, great visuals, great mini games, interesting progression system.
  94. Nov 17, 2010
    10
    This game by far is still not only my favorite game of the final fantasy series, it's one of my favorite games of all time! I absolutely LOVE this game to death, i don't think i'll ever get rid of my ps2 heavily due to this game. I LOVE the story line throughout the game and all the obstacles if you to do to accomplish goals and beat the game. Every character shines in there own way, andThis game by far is still not only my favorite game of the final fantasy series, it's one of my favorite games of all time! I absolutely LOVE this game to death, i don't think i'll ever get rid of my ps2 heavily due to this game. I LOVE the story line throughout the game and all the obstacles if you to do to accomplish goals and beat the game. Every character shines in there own way, and i've grown fond of all of them. If you don't have this game, something is seriously wrong with you, and you need to wipe the dust off your ps2 and play this game, NOW!

    i've beaten the game at least 5 times and i've started a new one to play it all over again. I LOVE FINAL FATNASY X!!!!!
    Expand
  95. Dec 18, 2010
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. 4 biggest things (in no particular order): 1. Graphics/aesthetics - one of the best-looking games for PS2, period. 2. Characters - The 7 protagonists were done well. They have unique personalities with their own interests, faults, prejudices, and surprises. You get a decent amount of background on all the essential characters but not so much that there's no room for mystery. Some people say the protagonists were static, but I disagree. Wakka got rid of his prejudice against the Al Bhed, Khimarhi proved himself to his tribe, Tidus came to terms (sort of) with his father, and many of them threw away their religion. Maybe Auron is static, but he has already learned his lesson. There could have been more development in the relationship between Tidus and Yuna so the make-out scene wouldn't seem so out of place, and everything suffered slightly from the voice acting, but for the most part the characters were beautifully done.
    3. Story - You either like it or you think it's ridiculous. It really is a weird and dramatic plot, and it can get pretty cheesy as well as confusing, but it is entirely original. If you get into it, you'll realize there's a really good message behind it all, and the ending will leave you satisfied. Also, like people have said, the story is both linear and static; you can't change the course of the story. In that respect, it leans toward being an interactive movie - especially since you can't skip scenes. But you're in control for nearly all of the action, and it was paced well for the most part. There weren't too many cutscenes that weren't balanced with playable time and, honestly, you spend a ton of time running around and fighting. Besides that, there's plenty more to find out from talking to the numerous people standing around.
    4. Gameplay - I liked the battle system. It's turn-based and you can swap out characters, so you think more about strategy and less about mashing buttons. The overdrives were awesome - each character had unique and appropriate overdrives and they weren't too strong or too weak. The sphere grid is a good way to customize your characters, but your characters are locked into a path until at least halfway through the game, so it's hard to add magic, for example, to a usable level without many extra hours of leveling-up aside from the main story. The mini-games, like blitzball and chocobo racing, were fun and intuitive but too easy.

    Of course this isn't like previous Final Fantasies, and you shouldn't expect it to be. It's on a new platform with new capabilities, just like FFVII was on a (better) new platform compared to its predecessors. I completely appreciate that Square did something different with FFX (and FFX-2). It's not perfect, but I like it.
    Expand
  96. Nov 20, 2010
    9
    Very good game, one of my favourites out the final fantasy series, even thought the battle system has changed. A big risk for Square Enix but they managed to pull it, 3D cinematic cut scenes really showed the quality of the graphics. The only disappointment would have to be Blitz ball, it is very hard to understand no matter how much you read the instructions.
  97. Dec 21, 2010
    10
    for me the best ff ever, i cryed with the final, no other game had me in front of the tv for so many time.

    Good Graphics
    excellent history
    nice characters
    perfect combat system
  98. Feb 27, 2011
    10
    I loved everything about this game. I loved the battle system, how it gave you time to think about your actions. And, yes, you will run into fiends every 10 seconds, but you need to level up your characters like crazy to even attempt to finish the game, plus they drop items you need. The cut scenes were long sometimes, but they were beautiful. Some cut scenes made me cry. The scenery inI loved everything about this game. I loved the battle system, how it gave you time to think about your actions. And, yes, you will run into fiends every 10 seconds, but you need to level up your characters like crazy to even attempt to finish the game, plus they drop items you need. The cut scenes were long sometimes, but they were beautiful. Some cut scenes made me cry. The scenery in the game was breath taking. The characters were one of the best things about this game. The back stories, outfits, personalities, weapons, voices, really everything was so unique. This game has the BEST music I have ever heard for a video game, I never got tired of the music. I loved the plot twists and character development. I also liked how there was humor in the stories. The only thing that was bad was Tidus's voice, which was whiny at some times. Over all, I give this game 9 or 10, but you have to be patient with the cut scenes, battles, and characters. You will have to level up your characters a lot, watch many cut scenes, and deal with characters complain, plus, to level up characters and higher your chances of beating the game, you will have to do side quests, like winning blitzball, training chocobos, and going through many cloister of trails to earn aeons. If you are impatient, hate watching cut scenes or characters, I would not recommend this game. To me, this game changed my life, a definite buy. Collapse
  99. Apr 10, 2011
    10
    The best game i ever played, with the awesome ost from nobuo uematsu.
    I really cry today when i hear "to zanarkand". have to play this another day
  100. Jun 9, 2013
    7
    Arguably the last Final Fantasy with an interesting plot it is easy to get lost for hours at a time completing the main storyline or many, many sidequests. While it certainly retains, and indeed improves upon, many of the core mechanics from the PSone titles however Final Fantasy X, for me at least, just isn't quite as memorable as those earlier games in the series and Final Fantasy VIIArguably the last Final Fantasy with an interesting plot it is easy to get lost for hours at a time completing the main storyline or many, many sidequests. While it certainly retains, and indeed improves upon, many of the core mechanics from the PSone titles however Final Fantasy X, for me at least, just isn't quite as memorable as those earlier games in the series and Final Fantasy VII still remains its crowning glory. Expand
  101. Feb 27, 2011
    0
    I loved everything about this game. I loved the battle system, how it gave you time to think about your actions. And, yes, you will run into fiends every 10 seconds, but you need to level up your characters like crazy to even attempt to finish the game, plus they drop items you need. The cut scenes were long sometimes, but they were beautiful. Some cut scenes made me cry. The scenery inI loved everything about this game. I loved the battle system, how it gave you time to think about your actions. And, yes, you will run into fiends every 10 seconds, but you need to level up your characters like crazy to even attempt to finish the game, plus they drop items you need. The cut scenes were long sometimes, but they were beautiful. Some cut scenes made me cry. The scenery in the game was breath taking. The characters were one of the best things about this game. The back stories, outfits, personalities, weapons, voices, really everything was so unique. This game has the BEST music I have ever heard for a video game, I never got tired of the music. I loved the plot twists and character development. I also liked how there was humor in the stories. The only thing that was bad was Tidus's voice, which was whiny at some times. Over all, I give this game 9 or 10, but you have to be patient with the cut scenes, battles, and characters. You will have to level up your characters a lot, watch many cut scenes, and deal with characters complain, plus, to level up characters and higher your chances of beating the game, you will have to do side quests, like winning blitzball, training chocobos, and going through many cloister of trails to earn aeons. If you are impatient, hate watching cut scenes or characters, I would not recommend this game. To me, this game changed my life, a definite buy. Collapse
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 53 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 50 out of 53
  2. Negative: 0 out of 53
  1. We've seen the Final Fantasy epic take us on a memorable journey, but now it all seems like it's been done before. 10 is good, great at times, but it is no longer original.
  2. The replay value is very low, and the design is flawed by an inability to skip past sequences, even in replay mode. The playability also suffers by a lack of freedom of movement.
  3. Great RPG and certainly the best one on the PS2 currently, however, I feel it isn't as great as past FF's have been due to its lack of freedom.