Final Fantasy X PlayStation 2

User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 967 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 57 out of 967
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. CharlieG.
    Jun 6, 2006
    7
    Maybe I just hate RPG's, but I think this game really sucked because it is difficult and repetitive in a bad way.
  2. TitaniumDragon
    Nov 23, 2007
    8
    This is a solid square RPG; it is not amazing for a Final Fantasy game, but it isn't terrible either. The story is fairly engaging and the pacing is quite good; there is a mixture of puzzles and the fights are entertaining. Additionally due to the sphere grid your characters feel different but it also feels like you have control over what they are capable of doing, which makes for This is a solid square RPG; it is not amazing for a Final Fantasy game, but it isn't terrible either. The story is fairly engaging and the pacing is quite good; there is a mixture of puzzles and the fights are entertaining. Additionally due to the sphere grid your characters feel different but it also feels like you have control over what they are capable of doing, which makes for pretty good gameplay. The battles are quite good and not monotonous and the difficulty level, while a bit low for my tastes, is tolerable. All around a solid RPG title and well worth playing. That said, it does have some flaws; the main characters, Yuna and Tidus, are very unlikable and not really all that interesting, and towards the end the game does begin to drag a little in places. All in all though, a good game. Expand
  3. MaryT.
    Feb 25, 2007
    10
    This game is truly a fun game the characters the graphics the story wow I have been a big final fantasy fan for the longest time i will say the only thing i didn't like was the game ending thats a bum deal for Tidus and Yuna however I thought the romance in the game was a little cheesy this game was far better though than its sequel 10 2 was good but this was way better more to do This game is truly a fun game the characters the graphics the story wow I have been a big final fantasy fan for the longest time i will say the only thing i didn't like was the game ending thats a bum deal for Tidus and Yuna however I thought the romance in the game was a little cheesy this game was far better though than its sequel 10 2 was good but this was way better more to do than most all in all fantabulous game 10+++ Expand
  4. Sophie
    Aug 15, 2007
    10
    Wow - this is the first Final Fantasy game I played, and I have to say I enjoyed every moment of it. Difficult, but not so difficult that newer RPG players can't approach it. Beautiful, graphics, wonderful CGI sequences. Voice acting could be better, but some performances were excellent including voice of Wakka, i.e also John DiMaggio, voice of Bender in the wonderful comedy Wow - this is the first Final Fantasy game I played, and I have to say I enjoyed every moment of it. Difficult, but not so difficult that newer RPG players can't approach it. Beautiful, graphics, wonderful CGI sequences. Voice acting could be better, but some performances were excellent including voice of Wakka, i.e also John DiMaggio, voice of Bender in the wonderful comedy animation Futurama. A fantastic, addictive, game that I reccommend to anybody of any age interested in video games. Expand
  5. CharlieN
    Jun 11, 2009
    10
    A compelling story with unique outlooks on a classic gameplay style. With tons of depth to both the main storyline in gameplay and story, with hours of sidequests that contain incentive to complete, you will be glad to have gone on one of the most prized experiences the PS2 has to offer.
  6. mikec
    Aug 28, 2009
    8
    in theory this game SHOULD be a 10. but it loses one point for the flawed battle system and one for the flawed blitzball. why oh why do i have to switch in a character to perform a perfunctory action like blocking just to get him some exp? why cant all characters level up together? this makes battles drag on literally twice as long as they should do. *wags finger at squaresoft* , bad in theory this game SHOULD be a 10. but it loses one point for the flawed battle system and one for the flawed blitzball. why oh why do i have to switch in a character to perform a perfunctory action like blocking just to get him some exp? why cant all characters level up together? this makes battles drag on literally twice as long as they should do. *wags finger at squaresoft* , bad squaresoft. and blitzball, while awesome, is so damn easy i can win the league first year with hardly trying and winning 6-0 every time gets old fast. but the battles and blitzes are still good enough as they are for this to be a damn fine game. graphically it stills holds up even now in 2009. people whining that tidus isnt whiny and emo are just whiny and emo. so what if he's cheerful for once, big deal. and if the previous FF games had voice acting, do you really think it would be much better sounding? how id love to hear yuffie and aeris peircing my eardrums with their shrill whining. such a SHAME i cant hear cait sith or squall moaning about how his big gunblade hurts his girly arms. lastly, for me the religious mumbo jumbo was completely yawn inducing and the 'fantasy' element was seriously lacking. traipsing through long boring nameless woods or mountain ranges is just dull. at least the previous games could make such locations really shine but that seems to be lost with the more modern graphics that were still in their infancy in 2001. ok, done, just had to vent my spleen. chow. oh and er, play it! Expand
  7. AntonioV
    Sep 8, 2009
    10
    I love this game. The battle system is the greatest, no stress to choose action. The story is really good and sad. I like the game so much I've played it like five times
  8. SeanA.
    Dec 29, 2001
    10
    This is a great game for the final fantasy series. I have played almost every game in the final fantasy series (available in America at least) and this is by far the best one yet! The voices are awesome much better than the constant reading of old. And the ability to switch out all of the players in battle is the best idea square has added since the ability to summon. I love this game but This is a great game for the final fantasy series. I have played almost every game in the final fantasy series (available in America at least) and this is by far the best one yet! The voices are awesome much better than the constant reading of old. And the ability to switch out all of the players in battle is the best idea square has added since the ability to summon. I love this game but i must point out the flaws blitzball is not really that fun of a game they make it WAY too hard at first giving you the shaft for the first couple of games. And some of the voices seem like bad dubs from old godzilla movies. And their is no leveling which is a real bummer add the disenchanting way of obtaining abilities( it looks more like a maze) this are problems that need to be addressed in the next game. But i hear it will be online so i guess we can kiss the game goodbye. if only a system like ff7 matera was incorporated this game would be almost perfect but it is still a 10 because the graphics are ungodly and you will love playing it. Expand
  9. JadeisthA.
    Nov 30, 2002
    10
    This is the most amazing game ever made!
  10. TidusL.
    Jan 15, 2002
    10
    The best game in the world there is. A must own game
  11. R.Sady
    Jan 17, 2002
    10
    It's Final Fantasy on Playstation 2! Who needs more incentive to buy it than that!? Nothing short of outstanding, fantasic and worthy of all the praise and hype given to it. Forget Xbox, forget Gamecube! Playstation 2 has Final Fantasy X!
  12. SammytheBull
    Dec 17, 2002
    10
    This game is so friggin awesome. It has awesome graphics, story, and even good voice-overs. Plus Blitzball is a blast (why am I the only one who thinks so). Definitely a must-buy for any remote RPG fan, or just anyone who owns a PS2.
  13. PederN.
    Jan 27, 2002
    10
    Too Short. I want more dang it! Please just a little bit?
  14. N.DeVega
    Feb 28, 2002
    8
    Pretty good, some details could be better. Very entertainning though.
  15. AmandaK.
    Mar 11, 2002
    9
    Almost rivaling FF7, FFX is a masterpiece. I'll say that it was a bit odd that there were sections of te game where you couldn't walk two steps without a cinematic scene, and the encounter rate was a bit high. But other than those two technically miniscule details, I cannot see much else in glitch- blissful graphics, a gripping storyline (better than a lot of movies I've Almost rivaling FF7, FFX is a masterpiece. I'll say that it was a bit odd that there were sections of te game where you couldn't walk two steps without a cinematic scene, and the encounter rate was a bit high. But other than those two technically miniscule details, I cannot see much else in glitch- blissful graphics, a gripping storyline (better than a lot of movies I've seen lately) and some entertaining minigames- this is an awesome experience. The only thing I can say actually bugged me was that the game was pretty linear for a while, but after that, I cannot find complaint. I recommend this game to everybody- extremely impressive. Expand
  16. DevinH.
    Mar 19, 2002
    10
    This game is awesome. The battles never get boring and the graphics are great. By far the best game for the PS2 yet.
  17. Klifup
    Dec 12, 2003
    8
    This is the best ff game since ff7 and fft this could be better and Omega could have been so harder like Omega on ff8.
  18. DragonKnightofFinalFantasy
    Dec 17, 2003
    10
    If FFVII didn't exist FFX & FFIX would be must-buys 4 any RPG fan out there. FFX BEAUTIFUL,creative & immensly fun.The only problem I have w/ it is sometimes it feels like a DVD instead of a game.
  19. TidusC.
    Dec 20, 2003
    10
    I like the game 2 MAIN REASONS my name is Tidus and the char is Tidus but FFV was great better story line but i like the first time u fight Sin in the game it shows like a movie but i hate fighting the jely fish after. and i just like the FReakin thang.
  20. LeighM.
    Dec 31, 2003
    10
    Best Game Ever!!
  21. MatthewB.
    Mar 17, 2003
    10
    The best RPG I've ever played and I have played a lot.
  22. RyanM.
    Apr 28, 2003
    10
    I find it physically impossible to say something bad about this game. The graphics are unbelievable, the storyline is in depth and well developed. The characters have feeling, and i can't get over the graphics. Once again my good friends at Squaresoft created another winner. Tidus rocks! Best final fantasy, but wait until x-2...
  23. JiloverzP.
    Nov 27, 2004
    10
    I think ffx was the best series of ff. especially the soundtrack was absolutly stunning . i didn't liked the Yevon and al bhed and all that crap though i juss loved tidus but yuna is a bitch after ffx-2.-_-
  24. Adray
    Jan 14, 2004
    10
    now, this is my favorite game of ALL TIME even better that x-2(which is also great) man, this game is even better that FF7! please i read some of these reviews...and some people said that it has no storyline... i think that they are not aware of what a "storyline" is, because if you know final fantasy like i do, and a lot of others...youll know that final fantasy has THE best storylines now, this is my favorite game of ALL TIME even better that x-2(which is also great) man, this game is even better that FF7! please i read some of these reviews...and some people said that it has no storyline... i think that they are not aware of what a "storyline" is, because if you know final fantasy like i do, and a lot of others...youll know that final fantasy has THE best storylines out there...so if you are a RPG fan...pick this game up RIGHT NOW! you will not regret it...also its at a great price, pick it up its amazing. Expand
  25. TrixieJ.
    Feb 21, 2004
    10
    If you are looking for a game with exellent graphics, amazing sound effects, an amazing plot, and outstanding battle scenes, this is the game.
  26. LukeA.
    Mar 18, 2004
    10
    This is the best game ever created!!
  27. SteveT.
    May 29, 2004
    10
    One of top 3 rpgs ever.
  28. Chopin
    Jul 16, 2004
    9
    Not the best final fantasy, doesnt come close to IX, but a masterpiece all the same. The good things: Auron is supercool, Seymour is cool if you can get past his voice, you learn to kinda appreciate Tidus later on, AMAZING graphics, good battle system, good music, and blitzball is fun despite what some people think. Okay, but there were some problems- Tidus is by far the worst main Not the best final fantasy, doesnt come close to IX, but a masterpiece all the same. The good things: Auron is supercool, Seymour is cool if you can get past his voice, you learn to kinda appreciate Tidus later on, AMAZING graphics, good battle system, good music, and blitzball is fun despite what some people think. Okay, but there were some problems- Tidus is by far the worst main character in an FF, Yuna's voice was badly cast(especially when she laughed) too easy once you figure out a little trick involving aeons overdrives(i blazed through every ending boss battle without having to use any real strategy), seymour's final fight is a real letdown(2 holy spells=dead). also the storyline didnt develop as much as it did in 7 or 9, even 8, you kinda know what to expect what with Sin(you know your not gonna defeat him halfway through the game). my biggest dissapointment probably didnt bother a lot of peoploe but it bothered me. The fact that no one ever says "Tidus" in the whole game led you not to bond with him or your characters as much, and it seemed kinda....empty. Especially the love story, I mean, Yuna never says his name? I didnt connect to that love story at all, whereas in 9 I really felt it. I know I had a lot of negative stuff to say, but the locations, bosses, music, and most of the voice acting and the battles easily make up for it. In the end you will feel very satisfied, and it does have the highest replay value of any of the final fantasies. Expand
  29. Johndoe
    Nov 2, 2005
    10
    AMAZING graphics!
  30. SiljeL.
    Nov 29, 2005
    10
    One of the best FF games I have ever played!;)
  31. Time_devil
    Oct 31, 2005
    10
    This game is great. It has great graphics and a very unique storyline. It really is a great game worth playing.
  32. JJHesseltine
    Mar 12, 2005
    10
    This game rocked, its the first final fantasy game i beat, and i just beat it literally half an hour ago, and yeah im your 17 varsity soccer player jock type and the ending made me cry. It was so beautiful and touching. The story pulls you right in, and its just blah i cant explain it. Heartwrenching is probably right. now i am going straight to blockbuster and renting ffx-2. Play this This game rocked, its the first final fantasy game i beat, and i just beat it literally half an hour ago, and yeah im your 17 varsity soccer player jock type and the ending made me cry. It was so beautiful and touching. The story pulls you right in, and its just blah i cant explain it. Heartwrenching is probably right. now i am going straight to blockbuster and renting ffx-2. Play this game, and beat it. It is so worth the 60+hours i spent on it! Expand
  33. TejiriI.
    Apr 17, 2005
    10
    This game moved me. This was the 1st FF I brought and this is what got me hooked on the Final Fantasy Series. I never get tired of watching the Real-time screenshots. I would give it 10000/10 but its not possible. I loved the music I can listen to it all day. When I'm in a battle I'm usually bopping my head to the theme. You rock.
  34. BryanS.
    Dec 6, 2006
    7
    Amazing story, but too much of it. I felt like I wasn't even playing a game, but watching a movie. Most of the game involved pressing X to continue to the next scene.
  35. RegisJ.
    May 15, 2006
    10
    i've been playing this game for 4 years (i have the international version so i wanna defeat the Dark Aeons and the Final Dark Aeon) Love the difficulty of this game and over all gameplay, I wish all FF games were like this!
  36. LeighM.
    Feb 26, 2008
    10
    Best Game Ever!!
  37. NickB.
    Dec 26, 2003
    8
    Great graphics but to much watching videos and not enough playing the game. In a way it is like watching a movie, which is ok I guess. I have not played X-2 yet but I hear that it is better. There are rumors that Square is making a X-3!
  38. ZXZFasheta
    Dec 28, 2003
    10
    First time ive sat to play a FF game but i gotta say this is one of the best game ever created in many aspects, stunning graphics, heavy animation, intriging storyline, a scerene feel to the music and plot animation, charcter's unique personality, the game tops many many RPG's i've played. It gives a sense of scerenity, a feeling of accomplishment as u play, as u unravelFirst time ive sat to play a FF game but i gotta say this is one of the best game ever created in many aspects, stunning graphics, heavy animation, intriging storyline, a scerene feel to the music and plot animation, charcter's unique personality, the game tops many many RPG's i've played. It gives a sense of scerenity, a feeling of accomplishment as u play, as u unravel deep into the game the actions and storys that unfolds is quite intriging and unexpected. U could play the game for 160 hours non stop and still not have completed it in it's entirity. there are many things i still have to get apart from the ones u normally get in the game, i mean things u have to go out of your way to get like their ultimate weapons, the other i think about 4-5 aeons like Anima (The aeon of the guy that wanted to marry Yuna by force and wanted to become sin himself) u know stuff like that. Expand
  39. JasonB.
    Nov 16, 2005
    10
    By far my favorite final fantasy game of all time. And I have high hopes for the future of the series. I have played through this game 3 times, and its worth every hour.
  40. BryanK.
    Nov 15, 2006
    8
    This game has a great story. its graphics are pretty good for early PS2 titles. The mini game blitz ball was also good! If your a true Final Fantisy fan you got to buy this game.
  41. Oct 14, 2010
    10
    Final Fantasy X is the last good game in the numbered Final Fantasy series. Great story, great visuals, great mini games, interesting progression system.
  42. Mar 22, 2016
    9
    I recently replayed this game on PS3 and I forgot from childhood how amazing this game actually is. I am a huge FF fan and even though this game stood out from previous titles that I really enjoyed, it is a splendid and unique experience that any RPG fan should divulge in at least once.
  43. Oct 25, 2013
    7
    *SPOILERS*
    It is for sure a wonderful game, the first Final Fantasy on Ps2. a of content and over 200+ hours of grinding and at least 50 hours of story mode. except the bad voice-acting (you're getting used to it) and the suprise when you noticed the bald move by Square to move from ATB to CTB, it still works. I could still call it Final Fantasy. The feeling is there. the story is there
    *SPOILERS*
    It is for sure a wonderful game, the first Final Fantasy on Ps2. a of content and over 200+ hours of grinding and at least 50 hours of story mode. except the bad voice-acting (you're getting used to it) and the suprise when you noticed the bald move by Square to move from ATB to CTB, it still works. I could still call it Final Fantasy. The feeling is there. the story is there and the music is definitely there.
    Though you follow an immature and unbelievable stupid main character the plot is preatty obvious but I liked the fact that he actually died at the end of the game... though what I was dissapointed about was the cliffhanger in the secret movie, kinda ruined the ending that you where so suprised over.
    Anyway the battle system is nice, each character is a little better at his or her own job but still everyone can learn there skills. The limit breaks are actually preaddy cool. Nice concept but little too easy to gain as always. It's a good game for plot at grinding as the other final fantasy games, but the extra bosses is on a whole new level. I'll tell ya that
    Expand
  44. Jun 1, 2013
    10
    This is an amazing game. I could write a 10 page report on why it's awesome but you can read what other people are saying. Instead I want to address those emo pricks hating on Tidus and Wakka. Tidus is almost unrealistically cheerful and upbeat. But guess what? his presence bring positivity to the journey. His naiveness and outgoing personality lightens the mood of what otherwise would beThis is an amazing game. I could write a 10 page report on why it's awesome but you can read what other people are saying. Instead I want to address those emo pricks hating on Tidus and Wakka. Tidus is almost unrealistically cheerful and upbeat. But guess what? his presence bring positivity to the journey. His naiveness and outgoing personality lightens the mood of what otherwise would be a depressing journey. Can you imagine what it would be like for if Tidus was replaced with Squall or Cloud? It would be an emo fest. And I don't know what people hate on Wakka either. He is supposed to be slow-wit guy with a big heart. The only flaw he might have is being inflexible when it comes to yevon's teaching. And I don't blame him. If you had to live your whole life in fear of a monster wiping your whole village at any given moment you act like him too. Expand
  45. Apr 2, 2016
    9
    Having just beat this game for the 3rd time I can honestly say this is one of the finest RPG's ever made. It's got a good story that's easy to follow, a good battle system and a really addicting upgrade system that makes you want to keep playing.

    The voice acting can be kind of weird sometimes but honestly it's a small gripe to what is an outstanding game.
  46. Mar 7, 2016
    10
    Perhaps the best JRPG in the history of videogames, I can only think of Final Fantasy VII and Final Fantasy IX as maybe being on this level. First of all, visually it was a HUGE improvement for anything we had seen at those times. Even nowadays it's still visually elegant. The story is the best I've seen in probably any videogame, the love story in the game is not the typical easy "ohPerhaps the best JRPG in the history of videogames, I can only think of Final Fantasy VII and Final Fantasy IX as maybe being on this level. First of all, visually it was a HUGE improvement for anything we had seen at those times. Even nowadays it's still visually elegant. The story is the best I've seen in probably any videogame, the love story in the game is not the typical easy "oh we've felt in love, let's be happy together" we tend to see on videogames. Every character is detailed and designed in a perfect and accurate way, the music is simply extremely good, the sphere grid system is a big improvement to the previous systems, you finally have the sensation of really developing your characters the way you want. Blitzball could be a game on it's own already and it's just a mini-game. I just can't think of anything that could've been done better in this game. Expand
  47. Mar 14, 2016
    7
    This game is great - an amazing story, amazing characters, amazing soundtrack, but it's so LINEAR! More than XIII (which is better). Your only exploration is the Calm Lands, and even that is so boring and dull. the battle system isn't bad, but it's boring as hell. So repetitive, with every now and again you shift up once or twice. The sphere grid wasn't that great - it's one grid for all 7This game is great - an amazing story, amazing characters, amazing soundtrack, but it's so LINEAR! More than XIII (which is better). Your only exploration is the Calm Lands, and even that is so boring and dull. the battle system isn't bad, but it's boring as hell. So repetitive, with every now and again you shift up once or twice. The sphere grid wasn't that great - it's one grid for all 7 of you. You could have Yuna as your primary warrior with max strength, you could even have Auron and Rikku your Primary and Secondary White Mages. Go one wrong way in the grid and you end up with all sorts of crap. The Aeons were pretty good, but Overdrives were mediocre. The worst things is the Cloister of Trials. The CLOISTER OF FU**IN TRIALS - what kind of Bullsh*t idea was that?! X is a good game, but not as good as most. X-2 is so much better. Expand
  48. Apr 23, 2016
    10
    One of the greatest RPGs all the time. A must play game for any player . Extraordinary story , impressive visuals, marvellous play-system and music which is captivating. Thanks you square for creating such a great game.
  49. May 4, 2016
    10
    One of the best, if not the best game ever made. Compelling story, great characters, beautiful music, fun gameplay. really a must play for anyone. if you havnt played it get it now.
  50. May 10, 2016
    10
    For me FFX is one of the best rpgs I've ever played (if not the best). In my opinion it's perfect in all the possible ways. The graphics, soundtrack, plot, etc, everything has been really thought-out. One of the things that caught me was the long dialogues that all the people had. I mean you coud talk with them like 3 or 4 times and all that they told you was new and interesting. I reallyFor me FFX is one of the best rpgs I've ever played (if not the best). In my opinion it's perfect in all the possible ways. The graphics, soundtrack, plot, etc, everything has been really thought-out. One of the things that caught me was the long dialogues that all the people had. I mean you coud talk with them like 3 or 4 times and all that they told you was new and interesting. I really love this game. You can't miss it if you're fan of rpg games. I can't understand the people who rate it with an score of less than 9. Expand
  51. Mar 24, 2013
    0
    My favorite feature in this game is the sphere grid talent system. The sphere grid is probably one of the most well done character development systems in any game. The worst part, gameplay-wise, are some of the mini-games. Blitzball wasn't very fun, and the lightning-strike-dodge-game was mind numbing and frustrating if you want the final prize from it. However, the only reason I'm notMy favorite feature in this game is the sphere grid talent system. The sphere grid is probably one of the most well done character development systems in any game. The worst part, gameplay-wise, are some of the mini-games. Blitzball wasn't very fun, and the lightning-strike-dodge-game was mind numbing and frustrating if you want the final prize from it. However, the only reason I'm not giving this game a 10 is because of the poorly implemented voice-overs. The 'press X to continue the dialog' made it seem entirely unnatural, and the voices they chose for the characters were from a well known and cliche team that otherwise translates anime sitcoms. The bad voices marred the character personalities. I have to keep in mind, however, that Square Enix deserved some slack for the voice-overs since it's the first time they ever tried it. Collapse

Awards & Rankings

#2 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2001
#5 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2001
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 53 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 50 out of 53
  2. Negative: 0 out of 53
  1. We've seen the Final Fantasy epic take us on a memorable journey, but now it all seems like it's been done before. 10 is good, great at times, but it is no longer original.
  2. The replay value is very low, and the design is flawed by an inability to skip past sequences, even in replay mode. The playability also suffers by a lack of freedom of movement.
  3. Great RPG and certainly the best one on the PS2 currently, however, I feel it isn't as great as past FF's have been due to its lack of freedom.