User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 843 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 52 out of 843

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 19, 2015
    4
    this game sucks main character is a assaine asswipe, blitzball sucks yuna sucks, rikki was fin as hell, auron was cool. final fantasy game to damn simplistic for my taste, the graphics have advanced but nothing else has including the difficultty , last boss is a joke as usual in a final fantasy game
  2. Sep 7, 2012
    2
    I remembered seeing this every where ten years ago so I pulled out my old ps2 and paid $3 for a copy. And for all the perseverance I had, all the hours I put in trying to get quality back out, this game might be one of the most disappointing endeavors of my life. The story is god awful; the relationships are rote and simple; there is absolutely no thematic development; the only good songI remembered seeing this every where ten years ago so I pulled out my old ps2 and paid $3 for a copy. And for all the perseverance I had, all the hours I put in trying to get quality back out, this game might be one of the most disappointing endeavors of my life. The story is god awful; the relationships are rote and simple; there is absolutely no thematic development; the only good song out of a horrendous soundtrack plays maybe twice; the villain might have the worst cliche name in gaming history; but possibly by far, the biggest, most torturous, agonizing flaw is the voice acting - it might have been decent in japanese but the american actors gave no effort, only stretching out insignificant dialogue (which was poorly written to begin with) with complete lethargy, or yelling through the pseudo dramatic moments. It may aspire to be a dramatic story but it fails miserably in every way possible. The gameplay is alright for a FF game; it allows for decent strategizing, but be aware that the only wit involved in FFX will have to be on your part because the creators had none. If you play video games for stories foremost, avoid, or better yet go out of your way to break copies of this if you see them lying around. Expand
  3. May 2, 2013
    3
    The final fantasy series took a downward plunge after the SNES titles n my opinion, but this one really did not appeal to me, the story was slow paced, and the level up system was just not to my liking, I prefer to know what level I am and base my choices of combat on that, not on how many pieces of a grid I have.
  4. Oct 4, 2012
    2
    This game is one of the worst JRPG-s to this date, and worst FF game. Storyline is stupid, characters are annoying and underdeveloped. Main character is a whining brat Tidus who joins a group chosen to stop great evil monster Sin. Story also just stops at some points and you do stupid quests for random people. And those last for app. 10 hours. Final boss is also a slap in a face to everyThis game is one of the worst JRPG-s to this date, and worst FF game. Storyline is stupid, characters are annoying and underdeveloped. Main character is a whining brat Tidus who joins a group chosen to stop great evil monster Sin. Story also just stops at some points and you do stupid quests for random people. And those last for app. 10 hours. Final boss is also a slap in a face to every person that finished this game. Gameplay and battle system is much better than previous games and there is a full voice acting for every cut scene. But voice acting sucks and cut scenes cannot be skipped. Basically this game is horrible and very, very overrated. Expand
  5. AnonymousMC
    Apr 2, 2003
    2
    I don't see what all the hype is about. This game is hardly a game but more of an interactive movie. I like RPG games alot, but this game is weak. It's really only and RPG in a very minimalist sense.

    Even as a movie goes it's rather bad. The acting, dialogue, and plot are cheesy. I didn't like the characters either. They're rather cheesy.
  6. AkeemG.
    Feb 20, 2007
    1
    All of the Final Fantasy games for the PlayStation 2 SUCK!, especially the sequel to this one which is Final Fantasy 10-2. All of them are nothing but a bunch of crap compared to Final Fantasy 7,8,and9 which were made for the psone.If you have ever played 2 out of 3 of the Final Fantasy games for the psone you will be VERY,VERY,VERY disappointed when you play any of the ones for the All of the Final Fantasy games for the PlayStation 2 SUCK!, especially the sequel to this one which is Final Fantasy 10-2. All of them are nothing but a bunch of crap compared to Final Fantasy 7,8,and9 which were made for the psone.If you have ever played 2 out of 3 of the Final Fantasy games for the psone you will be VERY,VERY,VERY disappointed when you play any of the ones for the ps2.The only thing that gets better with each Final Fantasy is the graphics,but graphics alone cannot make a good game.What the new final fantasy games are lacking is energizing battle music,an awesome battle system,a gripping story and very interesting characters. The only reasons anybody could ever played a Final Fantasy game for the PS2 without being disappointed in it in some way is if you have never played any of the previous ones on the psone or if you have never experienced The Legend of Dragoon,also for the psone. If you're looking for a real turn based game you should definitely check out Xenosaga. Expand
  7. JamesB.
    Mar 16, 2007
    4
    This game is highly overrated. This game got really boring after some time for me - I mean, it seemed like I was fighting the same six monsters over and over again, but each time they were a different color. The story is great and highly original, but it just doesn't balance out the constant feeling of repetitiveness that makes me want to go and play something else.
  8. AnonymousMC
    Aug 26, 2008
    2
    The worst FF in my book. Annoying characters, boring world, way too melodramatic sappy story, way too slow and boring gameplay. The music isn't all that great either and the imagery just falls apart all the time-way too many eye burning colors on every character and place. The whole thing is like a japanese soap opera with a japanese pop star as a main character+ some magic summoner stuff.
  9. NicholasB.
    Mar 1, 2002
    0
    Terrible game, good graphics, terrible story, bad videos an advanced pokemon. Awful.
  10. Chas
    Sep 10, 2005
    4
    It looks good. The voice acting is horrendous. The story is irritating. The wakka is irritating. Tidus is irritating. Yuna is irritating. The story is hokey. FF's before this were probley hokey also but I never noticed because they weren't acted out by terrible voice acting. Its the worst daytime soap opera ever seen (and berely even played). Blitzball !!! FF has gotten It looks good. The voice acting is horrendous. The story is irritating. The wakka is irritating. Tidus is irritating. Yuna is irritating. The story is hokey. FF's before this were probley hokey also but I never noticed because they weren't acted out by terrible voice acting. Its the worst daytime soap opera ever seen (and berely even played). Blitzball !!! FF has gotten exponentially worse with every instalment since FF8. This is the would be the worst FF I've played except it has better graphics than 9 ( 9 remains the worst). 11 may be even worse than this, but its so off the cliff that its become exclusive to the group of nitwits that like this direction of garbage enough to buy a hundred and fifty bucks worth of extra equipment to do it. Square began a downward spiral after PE1 and FF8 ( 1999), and this is just more unfortunate evidence that they cant (or wont) pull out of the skid. Expand
  11. M.Ous
    Sep 2, 2006
    1
    Bad animation and bad graphics date this as an early PS2 title. But bad character designs, voice acting, story, and game play are inexcusable. I really can't be bothered with learning how to play water dodgeball with 20 buttons in an RPG.
  12. anonymous
    Oct 4, 2009
    3
    This game is simply horrible. The main characters are awful and largely unlikable, the character design is Tetsuya Nomura at his worst, and the storyline is convoluted. The supposedly great voice acting is embarrassing to listen to, with lines being delivered awkwardly. The sphere grid system affords the player some flexibility to stat growth, but in practice it usually just requires the This game is simply horrible. The main characters are awful and largely unlikable, the character design is Tetsuya Nomura at his worst, and the storyline is convoluted. The supposedly great voice acting is embarrassing to listen to, with lines being delivered awkwardly. The sphere grid system affords the player some flexibility to stat growth, but in practice it usually just requires the player do what used to be automatic in the SNES era games. The battle system itself is simple and fairly easy to understand, but incredibly slow. The only thing I would consider to be any good would be the music composition. It seems to me that reviewers were largely distracted with the novelty of voice acting and at-the-time tremendous FMVs to notice ruinous flaws and poor game design decisions. Expand
  13. ReinholdW.H.
    May 31, 2002
    3
    This title falls into the same trap as its predecessors: it's not really a GAME. Really. You have little to no control over the action. You are picked up and moved from place to place by tedious and poorly-scripted cutscenes. Only sparingly do you ever get to fight anything. I wish Square would make more FF titles like those on the NES and SNES and give players control and a sense of This title falls into the same trap as its predecessors: it's not really a GAME. Really. You have little to no control over the action. You are picked up and moved from place to place by tedious and poorly-scripted cutscenes. Only sparingly do you ever get to fight anything. I wish Square would make more FF titles like those on the NES and SNES and give players control and a sense of adventure, instead of the role of a bystander. Expand
  14. Uter
    Oct 28, 2003
    3
    I don't see the appeal of this series as a whole. I tried to like it and invested around 15 hours, but it simply wasn't engaging. The graphics don't impress me either. Talk about poor animation for Tidus. He's only got a walking animation, and a running animation - it looks just so unnatural, especially when he moves from one into the other. The combat rarely involves I don't see the appeal of this series as a whole. I tried to like it and invested around 15 hours, but it simply wasn't engaging. The graphics don't impress me either. Talk about poor animation for Tidus. He's only got a walking animation, and a running animation - it looks just so unnatural, especially when he moves from one into the other. The combat rarely involves strategy, and the game progresses in an unbareably linear way (hint* move forward). The level up system looks complex and deep, but in reality it's very simple. Usually you don't even get to choose what attribute you want to improve, just follow along a set path of leveling up. The only thing that I somewhat liked was the airy fairy story. While wimpy and overly pretend religious, it was entertaining and did make me care about the characters. Even if Tidus is the type of guy you might find in a beauty salon in real life. One more thing I'll complain about... The cut scenes all have different graphical styles and were done by different artists. Some look amazingly real, and others look not quite perfect versions of the characters you see during gameplay. Expand
  15. Marc444
    May 20, 2003
    3
    I just cannot believe how shocking Yuna's voice acting is... and how whiney Tidius sounds. The characters are so irritating, it's beyond the beyond. The game would have been infinitely more enjoyable if they made the time between battles and level explorations random, rather then exactly 20 seconds, sometimes even less. So all you can do is walk a few steps and then... BANG! you I just cannot believe how shocking Yuna's voice acting is... and how whiney Tidius sounds. The characters are so irritating, it's beyond the beyond. The game would have been infinitely more enjoyable if they made the time between battles and level explorations random, rather then exactly 20 seconds, sometimes even less. So all you can do is walk a few steps and then... BANG! you are in a battle. It kills the ability to explore completely!!! What were these guys thinking???? I'm not an RPG player, but I have to say it doesnt take one to see that they made some stupid decisions here. It could have been so much better, with not that much change. Expand
  16. AnonymousMC
    Apr 9, 2004
    0
    Wat the hell is wrong with u idiots?! is there soms thing fun about watching people fight whyle u sit on the couch picking ur ass?? GOD no story no fun NO action. This game is not even worth crap.And jack.p U WANT TO MARRY A VIDO GAME CHARICTER?!!!!!!!!!!! thats kinda sad get some help
  17. Dave
    Jun 18, 2006
    0
    The most amazing thing about this game for me is how many people have bought into the hype surrounding it. In fact I use the word 'game' in its loosest sense, because in truth this is more of a movie, with brief 'game' sequences occasionally. The story is entirely linear, and most of the time you are just sitting watching mind-numbing boring movie sequences which you The most amazing thing about this game for me is how many people have bought into the hype surrounding it. In fact I use the word 'game' in its loosest sense, because in truth this is more of a movie, with brief 'game' sequences occasionally. The story is entirely linear, and most of the time you are just sitting watching mind-numbing boring movie sequences which you CANNOT SKIP! This is the first FF game I've played and I gather the other games in the series are much better, and don't consist of 90% movies which you can't skip. So I'm not slating the whole FF franchise but judging this game on its own merits, there is nothing to recommend it at all. If you want to watch a movie, go to the cinema or rent a DVD. Expand
  18. Eeganrac
    Jul 31, 2006
    3
    Great graphics, boring story, voice acting sucks. Not to mention, i thought i bought a game with cut scenes, not a movie with some interaction. Way too many cut scenes that you can't friggin skip.
  19. Noir
    Aug 7, 2006
    2
    I'm late to the game with this one, but it's pretty clear that this isn't really a video game, per se. It's more like a long, drawn out anime. I quickly grew tired of mundane tasks, like having my character walk from one cut scene to another. There just isn't enough real interaction to make this a video game, unfortunately. I will say, the cut scenes are beautiful I'm late to the game with this one, but it's pretty clear that this isn't really a video game, per se. It's more like a long, drawn out anime. I quickly grew tired of mundane tasks, like having my character walk from one cut scene to another. There just isn't enough real interaction to make this a video game, unfortunately. I will say, the cut scenes are beautiful to look at, but when it comes down to it, I could see a beautiful anime by renting one. Expand
  20. AnonymousMC
    Sep 18, 2006
    4
    Compared to any Final Fantasy before it, this game is crap. It's too easy, too boring, and too much like a movie. Follow the big red arrow and summon Bahamut FTW~! This is the only Final Fantasy in which every single male character is annoying. And that's not saying the girls aren't annoying. Remember, the best thing about this game is its looks.
  21. GatsbyJ.
    Apr 28, 2007
    3
    -To paraphrase Tolstoy: Good games are all alike; every bad game is bad in its own way. Reading over all the bad reviews for this game, of which there are surpisingly many, you can see a thread running through the complaints. -What seems to annoy some about FFX (including me) is that it's more like a movie than a game where you're watching rather than playing. The game is way -To paraphrase Tolstoy: Good games are all alike; every bad game is bad in its own way. Reading over all the bad reviews for this game, of which there are surpisingly many, you can see a thread running through the complaints. -What seems to annoy some about FFX (including me) is that it's more like a movie than a game where you're watching rather than playing. The game is way too easy. The sphere system sucks and robs the players of their freedom. Blitzball is a sorry attempt at a mini-game. The characters are HORRIBLE! Tidus is lackluster in all respects except in the fact that he looks like a transvestite in a halloween costume, not to forget his annoying voice acting. Yuna is also annoying and underdeveloped, and her movements are very awkward. And Seymor is a horrible villain: he looks like a hippy and he sounds like he sat on a spike. Wakka is just as big a sterotype as Jar-Jar Binks, the difference being that you can fastforward the parts with Jar-Jar. In other words, FFX has some of the worst voice acting in videogame history (and this includes Resident Evil). The battle system hasn't really improved over previous FF's, and the character are horrible.. -But to give due praise, the graphics are good (though not great, since they do seem insipid at many points), the music, which is the worst out of all the FF's since FF6, is still good. The ability to control summons is something new. The CGI is top quality. -Yet all these do not make up for the game being so bad. Tidus is the worst protagonist to grace the FF series, and Yuna is the worst heroine, and Seymor is the worst villain in FF history. Of course, those who love the game are perfectly entitled to their views: it's all just a matter of opinion. Expand
  22. JK
    Jul 16, 2009
    4
    This (game / Interactive movie) is a step back from other FF games. Unlike previous FF games, the battle system has been oversimplified, there's no longer intricate dungeons to explore, and you can no longer explore the "game world" freely. You will be overwhelmed with random battles every 5 seconds, and you are forced to watch unskippable 45 minute cut-scenes after every 10 minutes This (game / Interactive movie) is a step back from other FF games. Unlike previous FF games, the battle system has been oversimplified, there's no longer intricate dungeons to explore, and you can no longer explore the "game world" freely. You will be overwhelmed with random battles every 5 seconds, and you are forced to watch unskippable 45 minute cut-scenes after every 10 minutes of gameplay! Expand
  23. DennisG.
    Nov 29, 2003
    3
    I've not played any other FF game, but hearing a lot about this I picked up a copy out of curiosity. While the plot is interesting, my saved game tells me I've been playing for over three hours and of that a few minutes could be considered "playing" and the rest watching cutscenes. Next to the sadly neglected graphic adventure genre, I always considered RPGs to be mentally I've not played any other FF game, but hearing a lot about this I picked up a copy out of curiosity. While the plot is interesting, my saved game tells me I've been playing for over three hours and of that a few minutes could be considered "playing" and the rest watching cutscenes. Next to the sadly neglected graphic adventure genre, I always considered RPGs to be mentally challenging. There is no challenge here. You are guided at every point, your choices only limited in the fight scenes - and they leave a lot to be desired. I have so far failed to see what warrants the sea of 10s on here. Expand
  24. Dec 25, 2011
    0
    This game is the reason I stopped playing the Final Fantasy series, and JRPGs in general. But to be fair, lets just look at this game for its own merits and not have the weight of the entire series hurt or help it. Although, I doubt all the help in the world would save this game. This "game" is absolutely depressing in its structure. FFX is something like a demonic love-child between aThis game is the reason I stopped playing the Final Fantasy series, and JRPGs in general. But to be fair, lets just look at this game for its own merits and not have the weight of the entire series hurt or help it. Although, I doubt all the help in the world would save this game. This "game" is absolutely depressing in its structure. FFX is something like a demonic love-child between a JRPG and an arcade rail-shooter. I guess it can best be described as a "Rail-JRPG", *shudder*. Playing through the game, this was my biggest problem. I felt like I wasn't playing a game, I felt like I was just pressing buttons to advance a dismally terrible story-line. Speaking of said story-line, I think it should win some award for the incredible feat of being equal parts cryptic and terrible. At the start I found it to be okay, some horribly cheesy dunce with a running disorder named "Tidus", gets attacked and eaten by an indecipherable fluorescent lump called "Sin", and gets pooped out into the future where he is met by a bunch of Russians in a poor disposition. The story continues on and only gets worse as you must protect an attractive young religious zealot who's on a quest to "catch them all!" By "all" I mean the same old recycled summons they've been using in the Final Fantasy series for years. In the end, **SPOILER ALERT**, you find out you're actually the physical manifestations of a dream that has been dreamed by a bunch a mysterious cloaked folks. All this dreaming is making them tired of course, so the mysterious cloaked folks give you your life's pink slip. Tidus,being the unemployed bum he is, accepts his pink slip, and by an incredible display of Deus Ex Machina, he wakes up on a beach the next day; driving anyone who had to that point been trying desperately to maintain their grasp of the story-line, to rip their hair out in both frustration and bewilderment. Oh yeah, and there was some stuff about his daddy issues littered about the story-line as well. Honestly, I can find nothing redeemable about this game, in the end, I just found it to be a boring waste of time, the story is linear, the game-play is linear, the leveling system, despite its appearance of complexity, is also depressingly linear. This is literally one of the worst games I've ever played, go ahead and save yourself the trouble by not playing it ever. Collapse
  25. Dec 25, 2011
    0
    This game is the reason I stopped playing the Final Fantasy series, and JRPGs in general. But to be fair, lets just look at this game for its own merits and not have the weight of the entire series hurt or help it. Although, I doubt all the help in the world would save this game. This "game" is absolutely depressing in its structure. FFX is something like a demonic love-child between aThis game is the reason I stopped playing the Final Fantasy series, and JRPGs in general. But to be fair, lets just look at this game for its own merits and not have the weight of the entire series hurt or help it. Although, I doubt all the help in the world would save this game. This "game" is absolutely depressing in its structure. FFX is something like a demonic love-child between a JRPG and an arcade rail-shooter. I guess it can best be described as a "Rail-JRPG", *shudder*. Playing through the game, this was my biggest problem. I felt like I wasn't playing a game, I felt like I was just pressing buttons to advance a dismally terrible story-line. Speaking of said story-line, I think it should win some award for the incredible feat of being equal parts cryptic and terrible. At the start I found it to be okay, some horribly cheesy dunce with a running disorder named "Tidus", gets attacked and eaten by an indecipherable fluorescent lump called "Sin", and gets pooped out into the future where he is met by a bunch of Russians in a poor disposition. The story continues on and only gets worse as you must protect an attractive young religious zealot who's on a quest to "catch them all!" By "all" I mean the same old recycled summons they've been using in the Final Fantasy series for years. In the end, **SPOILER ALERT**, you find out you're actually the physical manifestations of a dream that has been dreamed by a bunch a mysterious cloaked folks. All this dreaming is making them tired of course, so the mysterious cloaked folks give you your life's pink slip. Tidus,being the unemployed bum he is, accepts his pink slip, and by an incredible display of Deus Ex Machina, he wakes up on a beach the next day; driving anyone who had to that point been trying desperately to maintain their grasp of the story-line, to rip their hair out in both frustration and bewilderment. Oh yeah, and there was some stuff about his daddy issues littered about the story-line as well. Honestly, I can find nothing redeemable about this game, in the end, I just found it to be a boring waste of time, the story is linear, the game-play is linear, the leveling system, despite its appearance of complexity, is also depressingly linear. This is literally one of the worst games I've ever played, go ahead and save yourself the trouble by not playing it ever. Collapse
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 53 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 50 out of 53
  2. Negative: 0 out of 53
  1. We've seen the Final Fantasy epic take us on a memorable journey, but now it all seems like it's been done before. 10 is good, great at times, but it is no longer original.
  2. The replay value is very low, and the design is flawed by an inability to skip past sequences, even in replay mode. The playability also suffers by a lack of freedom of movement.
  3. Great RPG and certainly the best one on the PS2 currently, however, I feel it isn't as great as past FF's have been due to its lack of freedom.