User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 773 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. ScottB
    Feb 4, 2010
    10
    A very rewarding experience and a majestic soundtrack. Whilst previous Final Fantasy games were rather linear, Final Fantasy 12 lets you go exploring for yourself in a large open world. A fantasic new 'License Board' system brings new depth to levelling up, blowing Final Fantasy 10's 'Sphere Grid' completely out of the water. A true masterpiece.
  2. Aug 25, 2012
    10
    A game people seem to either love or hate. I loved it, loved the characters, story and more importantly gameplay and the world you explore. I disagree about the music from some comments, as i thought it was excellent and matched the zones perfectly, Feywood is a great example, plus the different weather was a great idea and how it changed areas. Lots of exploring to do and some places areA game people seem to either love or hate. I loved it, loved the characters, story and more importantly gameplay and the world you explore. I disagree about the music from some comments, as i thought it was excellent and matched the zones perfectly, Feywood is a great example, plus the different weather was a great idea and how it changed areas. Lots of exploring to do and some places are shockingly hard if you stumble upon them too soon, which makes for a challenge. The best since FFVII, and different armour and weapon bonuses. Great game. Expand
  3. Ferret
    Mar 18, 2009
    9
    The game's storyline is not for impatient, action-driven fans. As earlier comments have said, the plot centers on the situation and it's implications on Ivalice rather than the characters. Considering the relative maturity of the characters, I found this refreshing compared to other RPGs. It's not a game for everyone, but a lot of the hate and dislike at it is by no means The game's storyline is not for impatient, action-driven fans. As earlier comments have said, the plot centers on the situation and it's implications on Ivalice rather than the characters. Considering the relative maturity of the characters, I found this refreshing compared to other RPGs. It's not a game for everyone, but a lot of the hate and dislike at it is by no means earned; most seem unable to express that this game was just not for them, citing instead 'I didn't see any story!' when indeed the plot was rather interesting. The game has some pacing problems, but rest assured the storyline is there, and fleshed out. Expand
  4. AnonymousMC
    Dec 11, 2006
    10
    I just love the game! people who think it sucks probably just didn't play it enough or wait for the cool stuff and besides sometimes I like a change in gameplay not always atb gauges. I mean do you really want to have that repeated for future ff games all the time?
  5. BreeH.
    Dec 5, 2008
    10
    Quite simply one of the best in the series. However those people with short attention spans, who want everything to just kick off without knowing the story, will not find this game to be their cup of tea. The battle system allows you to either, have all character run on auto-pilot or wait for your every command. You can be as lazy or active as you want. The game has an engaging and Quite simply one of the best in the series. However those people with short attention spans, who want everything to just kick off without knowing the story, will not find this game to be their cup of tea. The battle system allows you to either, have all character run on auto-pilot or wait for your every command. You can be as lazy or active as you want. The game has an engaging and realistic storyline centering on the evils of power, corruption, and war. These three topics are ever prominent in governments and can easily be seen in recent history if one looks close enough. Even though there is really no "major character" everyone has an equal contribution in the story. The characters, in general, are enjoyable. Each one has their own quirks and weaknesses and in one way or another develops as the story progresses. The graphics were absolutely breath taking with so much detail and lighting it felt as though you were actually standing there. The voice acting was quite simply the best I have ever seen in a game. The words and mouths match up perfectly and each actor put there whole being into the characters which really brought them to life. It was easy to tell what the characters were feeling. The game was all round great with intellectual conversations and a mature and intense stories of the evils man is capable of. I would easily recommend this game to others. Expand
  6. IsaacM
    May 15, 2008
    9
    This game isn't worth a 10 (no FF is except for FF7) but I really enjoyed the concepts explored here. The story was OK sort of a cross between Tactics and FF9 but nothing to shout out about. The character development certainly needed work, though I enjoyed not really having a main character. What seals the deal for me is the gameplay. The battle system is truly great, with the gambit This game isn't worth a 10 (no FF is except for FF7) but I really enjoyed the concepts explored here. The story was OK sort of a cross between Tactics and FF9 but nothing to shout out about. The character development certainly needed work, though I enjoyed not really having a main character. What seals the deal for me is the gameplay. The battle system is truly great, with the gambit system being awfully complex at first (I found it to be quite useful for getting rid of the grunts in the game without too much effort though) but once used to it a truly inspiring decision. This does defeat the purpose of actually PLAYING the game though. Now I played this on 'Active' mode (I have never played a Final Fantasy on 'Wait' and I don't intend starting now) so I found the battles, even with what looked like easy monsters to beat in a new area, extremely challenging (I dare all you FF fans out there to try and finish this game on Active mode to see what I mean) and the bosses were just plain cruel at times (yes I'm talking about you Bomb King and Zodiark) but as long as you set the gambits up right and build up your characters solidly it becomes truly addictive to play this game completely seamlessly without any pause in the action, though if you slip up in a boss fight you will be mercilessly destroyed. I really liked all the sidequests and have gotten thoroughly sidetracked with these. I've just beaten Yiazmat (yeesh what a painful guy he is to beat it took me 5 and a half hours on Active!!) and I've somehow managed to swallow up 118 hours!! Just got Omega Mark XII to beat and I can finish the game. All in all a very nice little addition to my FF library (7, (Dirge of Cerberus and Advent Children included), 8 (complete with PocketStation), 9, Tactics, 10, 10-2 and 12) Expand
  7. BazzmasterB
    Jun 22, 2008
    10
    A refreshing change to a great series with fun side quests and an amazing story.The characters are not as good as previous games in the series but the rest more then makes up for that.
  8. JeremyW.
    Jul 12, 2008
    10
    Of all the 3D FF games this is the most original and sophisticated since Cloud Strife premiered. It is different, but unlike many of these childish reviews, I am not going to disregard it simply on the grounds that it is not using materia, and doesn't feature Sephiroth. Each FF game is a unique entity on its own, and should thus be reviewed on its own merits, not on the expectation Of all the 3D FF games this is the most original and sophisticated since Cloud Strife premiered. It is different, but unlike many of these childish reviews, I am not going to disregard it simply on the grounds that it is not using materia, and doesn't feature Sephiroth. Each FF game is a unique entity on its own, and should thus be reviewed on its own merits, not on the expectation that it should resemble a prior effort. There are several brilliant design aspects to 12, such as the gambit system. This allows a player to take command of his party instead of being a micromanager of all its aspects. You can interrupt a Gambit sequence anytime you want to take charge in a difficult fight. You can also simply turn them off all together if you so choose. So knocking a game based off an optional feature is not logical nor fair. Secondly, the customization options are fantastic. You can designate any character you chose as a healer or tank etc. The Marks (creature hunts) are also extremely fun and a much better side quest than say Chocobo racing. Graphically speaking this is the best FF to date and the monster designs are original and offer a ton of variety. I have played all the FF games and can say this is a fantastic effort and an instant classic. For true fans who have played the Tactics games you will not be disappointed as this seems to merge the two concepts in some ways. The story is epic and the voice acting is grand. The score is also very good, although not quite as memorable. You will understand why the toughest reviewers (Famitsu) game it a 40/40. Expand
  9. RhodyT.
    Sep 6, 2008
    10
    As someone who has played every Final Fantasy since IV, I can honestly say this is one of the best Final Fantasy games. Instead of trying to make every game into Final Fantasy VII, Squenix has taken a different route with XII. Instead of focuson in the characters, the story focuses on the situation. Instead of repetitively selecting the same few commands every time you run into a As someone who has played every Final Fantasy since IV, I can honestly say this is one of the best Final Fantasy games. Instead of trying to make every game into Final Fantasy VII, Squenix has taken a different route with XII. Instead of focuson in the characters, the story focuses on the situation. Instead of repetitively selecting the same few commands every time you run into a foreseeable situation, XII allows you to plan ahead. The strategy is still there, but it's done in advance. Perhaps the best thing about this game is that it's so engrossing. The world of Ivalice takes on a life of it's own. For type of regular enemy, there's a page that describes one aspect of Ivalice, whether it's a place or a clan or an event. My advice to anyone who gives this game a score around 7 is to go back and play it a second time, because if you like it the first time, you'll love it the second time. Expand
  10. AlejandroD
    Mar 28, 2009
    9
    I do not understand all the negativity from some of the so called fans of the series. You guys probably think that Final Fantasy started with the part VII. However, this not only has that sense of old final fantasy, but it adds an extra layer of intensity and depth to it. This is truly a great game, not perfect, because it starts very slow, but after a while it is excellent!!
  11. AnonymousMC
    Mar 7, 2009
    10
    Square-Enix boldly takes its flagship series to an all-new direction that combines the best qualities of Western and Japanese RPGs. Finally removing the random battles makes Final Fantasy XII the most immersive and fluent game in the series. Some of the characters actually break the traditional and tired JRPG mold, and the quality of the storytelling and the dialogue with its differentSquare-Enix boldly takes its flagship series to an all-new direction that combines the best qualities of Western and Japanese RPGs. Finally removing the random battles makes Final Fantasy XII the most immersive and fluent game in the series. Some of the characters actually break the traditional and tired JRPG mold, and the quality of the storytelling and the dialogue with its different dialects is on a level previously unseen in any video game. Expand
  12. driver01z
    Apr 17, 2009
    9
    I have enjoyed each Final Fantasy and RPGs in general. Definitely enjoyed this game. The new battle system is different, but I liked that it allows for quicker battles and more "direct" action, which can become kind of addictive in my opinion. Plenty of things to do in the game. I spent over 100 hours playing through it, and I certainly haven
  13. Will
    Dec 27, 2006
    10
    First off, let me say that I am not a Final Fantasy fanboy or enthusiast. I have only played Final Fantasy III, VII, X, and Tactics. And of course, XII. I did enjoy all of them, but XII is just better in every way. FFXII is not X. It is not VII either. It is DEFINITELY not like oldschool FFIII. For all these reasons, I love it. The same trite turn based gameplay of past Final Fantasies First off, let me say that I am not a Final Fantasy fanboy or enthusiast. I have only played Final Fantasy III, VII, X, and Tactics. And of course, XII. I did enjoy all of them, but XII is just better in every way. FFXII is not X. It is not VII either. It is DEFINITELY not like oldschool FFIII. For all these reasons, I love it. The same trite turn based gameplay of past Final Fantasies and console rpgs is just past its prime. Time to move on people. This is a modern rpg and is just plain better. I'm sorry but i can't go and play Chrono Trigger and honestly say its better than FFXII. Same for all those other old rpgs with insanely boring mechanics. They have no difficulty, little complexity, and ffs people, the stories weren't that great MOVE ON. The SNES age is over! If you wan't FFIII or FFVII or w/e it may be, go play them. If you want progress in game sophistication and playability to stand still, tough noogies. That said, FFXII is a remarkable game on just about every front. Graphically impressive, beautiful sound, and a non-trite story make this game really revitalize the stagnating console rpg market. This game is GOOD! Expand
  14. JamesT.
    Jun 18, 2008
    10
    awsome game this is amazing. Some people think this game is bad but have you seen the graphics wow. The gameplay is amazing along with the coolest characters. To the dumbass that said you can't move the camera it's called the right analogue stick try useing it. So this game has a good storyline to it and the people that said this game has a bad storyline you probaly skipped awsome game this is amazing. Some people think this game is bad but have you seen the graphics wow. The gameplay is amazing along with the coolest characters. To the dumbass that said you can't move the camera it's called the right analogue stick try useing it. So this game has a good storyline to it and the people that said this game has a bad storyline you probaly skipped trough all the scenes. Expand
  15. AdrianR.
    Jun 19, 2008
    10
    The best gameplay ever in the FF series for me. I'm glad to hear FFXIII will expand on FFXII's formula. Now lets get the crazy plot/characters back!
  16. MiG
    Aug 15, 2008
    10
    I'll be the first to admit that this game won't appeal to everyone; however, to claim it's not as good as a prior Final Fantasy is a worthless assertion as each game is completely different. The music in this game does not suffer one bit from Uematsu's departure; it is grand, epic, and pleasant to the ears. The combat system is highly entertaining and ONLYlets you be I'll be the first to admit that this game won't appeal to everyone; however, to claim it's not as good as a prior Final Fantasy is a worthless assertion as each game is completely different. The music in this game does not suffer one bit from Uematsu's departure; it is grand, epic, and pleasant to the ears. The combat system is highly entertaining and ONLYlets you be as lazy as YOU want to be. I just wanted to stress that. Whoever says this game plays itself has not played in excess of the first 5 hours, I can promise you that. The characters in this game are well-developed with their own personalities and quirks. If you've liked the previous FF games, or if you'd just like a wonderful RPG well worth anyone's time, this is for you. Enjoy it for what it is. Expand
  17. Brumbek
    Nov 10, 2009
    10
    FFXII is one case where the critics get it right and the users get it very wrong. FFXII is definitely deserving of
  18. Aug 26, 2012
    10
    This is one of my favorite final fantasies, it has a rich storyline, some memorable characters (but i don´t really like Vaan, Balthier is my favorite character in the game though), the battle system is one of the best in the series, it has a good musical score, and the graphics are amazing.
  19. Sep 17, 2012
    10
    One of the most controversial Final Fantasy game (for its battle system) but (probably) the best Final Fantasy game ever made and one of the best video games for PS2.
  20. Dec 30, 2012
    10
    My favorite game of all time. I'm still enamored by it, and find myself replaying it every other year. Great story, graphics, gameplay. Usually the reason people don't like this game is because of previous expectations, or because final fantasy fans are pricks who enjoy arguing about which is best.
  21. Jun 24, 2013
    9
    The gambit system is the best KI system to date. You can tell your characters exactly what and when they should do something. The battle system by itself is also very good having a nice tempo and style to it. The world is bigger than in previous ff´s and beautiful. The OST backs the atmosphere of the game having some really nice tracks in it. Easily best RPG in the PS 2 Era.
  22. Jan 20, 2012
    10
    I love the game so much. It is the the second best final fantasy game next to FF 13. Up until now. I am still playing it. I'd finished this 11 times. Still ain't boring.
  23. Mar 24, 2013
    10
    The FF XII storyline is one of the best and most mature FF storylines. The story isn't melodramatic or geared toward preteen girls. The dialog in the game is beautiful. The music is beautiful. The gameplay gambit system is fun enough although perhaps not interactive enough. I've played a lot of PS2 games (especially via PCSX2), but I keep coming back to this game in particular. I'dThe FF XII storyline is one of the best and most mature FF storylines. The story isn't melodramatic or geared toward preteen girls. The dialog in the game is beautiful. The music is beautiful. The gameplay gambit system is fun enough although perhaps not interactive enough. I've played a lot of PS2 games (especially via PCSX2), but I keep coming back to this game in particular. I'd have to say it's by far my favorite PS2 game. Expand
  24. Mar 10, 2014
    10
    Back in the day this was one of the greatest games in the PS2 era, sadly it was bashed by a lot of hate because of the direction it took, and although the main character wasn't main at all, this game screams FF all over it.
  25. Jul 14, 2012
    10
    Another miss-score Final Fantasy XII is awesome and done the best out of all FF titles on PS2 for its epic story and FMV's which help immerse players into the game
  26. May 27, 2012
    10
    A masterpiece game. One of my favorite final fantasies and favorite games of all time. You feel like everything happening in this world is happening in real time. You really care about your characters and the outcome of their journey!
  27. Nov 22, 2012
    10
    some people say this game is bad......... WHAT!? most of the things they say are opinion, like "I DON'T LIKE IT BECAUSE THE BATTLE SYSTEM IS DIFFERENT" yeah its different and its BETTER. square enix tried to give us a new battle system that actually made sense, before you were forced into a battle after taking a few steps which was ANNOYING. it wasn't too bad, but i'd say this battlesome people say this game is bad......... WHAT!? most of the things they say are opinion, like "I DON'T LIKE IT BECAUSE THE BATTLE SYSTEM IS DIFFERENT" yeah its different and its BETTER. square enix tried to give us a new battle system that actually made sense, before you were forced into a battle after taking a few steps which was ANNOYING. it wasn't too bad, but i'd say this battle system is BETTER. another thing, people complain about the soundtrack saying it was not as good as previous games................ heres something you should try........... TURN UP THE VOLUME! Expand
  28. Nov 5, 2010
    9
    The JRPG market has been dead and foul-smelling for a long time. Growing up in the 90's I first got my taste of their rpg's back when it was a fresh concept, with Final Fantasy IV and Phantasy Star I being my first, but it's a sad thing to see that their combat mechanics have changed in the way that evolution changes organisms...extremely freakin slow. In that time I've slogged throughThe JRPG market has been dead and foul-smelling for a long time. Growing up in the 90's I first got my taste of their rpg's back when it was a fresh concept, with Final Fantasy IV and Phantasy Star I being my first, but it's a sad thing to see that their combat mechanics have changed in the way that evolution changes organisms...extremely freakin slow. In that time I've slogged through FF VI, VII, VIII, IX, X, and XI and with each new addition, I've felt the same way about their new "changed mechanics" for their combat: It still sucks. I don't know if the developers had a hair up their ass this time, but whatever the case XII is a refreshing new look at this series. First for me is that the combat was actually fun and strategic, as well as engaging. The ability to program your characters routines, via the Gambit System, is an excellent addition to help alleviate the grinding that inevitably dawns on a JRPG, but is still flexible enough to allow you to take control of your characters at any moment. Options is the key, as options can be taken or left depending on your tastes. So you don't have to use the Gambits if you don't want to, but it will always be accessible if you change your mind. This is good. Many people seem to hate the characters, and I do agree Vaan is pretty annoying at times, but in XII the main characters are less obvious. You play through the view point of Vaan, but you'll quickly learn that two of the other characters that join you are the true protagonists of the story. This didn't bother me one bit, and I found the characters to be really different from previous Final Fantasies, and although Penelo seems kind of a throw back, most of the characters are very human and believable. The story is very in-depth and more of one about nations vying for power, politics, and grey areas for motivations, which are all elements that I love. The pacing is pretty fast at times, although there are moments where it does lag and lose focus, but I think it servers as a good moment to side quest to break up the constant advance of the story. These side quests are obviously optional, so you could just rush through the story as quickly as possible, but I wouldn't recommend it. FF XII is as close to a sandbox as you're gonna get for a JRPG, and I really appreciated their attempt to not conform to typical JRPG standards. This is probably the most western approach they've taken that I can recall. One of the things that makes this game shine is the voice over's, which are amazing when compared to pretty much anything. The quality of the voices and the accents are interesting (I can never get enough of Fran's accent) and it makes you look forward to those moments when the characters speak. I can't say the same about the music, however. It isn't bad, but it isn't the best of the series, and sometimes I don't even notice it's there. Overall if you are interested in a non-linear JRPG, with open exploration, great combat mechanics, an interesting and highly political story, and a mostly memorable (if somewhat small) main cast, then this will make you smile. It did for me and renewed my interest in a decrepit and ailing series. (Insert obligatory Final Fantasy XIII jab here) Expand
  29. Sep 28, 2010
    9
    It's a bit late to write a review for this game for I'll just hop in the wagon anyway. It's simple, it's like Final Fantasy XIII, the breaks boundaries when it comes to graphics and gameplay, but snoozes on plot and characters. The score for Final Fantasy XII is easily one of the weakest in the series, but to me gamplay is the heart of all games, and Final Fantasy shines by giving us aIt's a bit late to write a review for this game for I'll just hop in the wagon anyway. It's simple, it's like Final Fantasy XIII, the breaks boundaries when it comes to graphics and gameplay, but snoozes on plot and characters. The score for Final Fantasy XII is easily one of the weakest in the series, but to me gamplay is the heart of all games, and Final Fantasy shines by giving us a similar to MMOPRG style gameplay. I just want to say that I give props to whatever game that's willing to take risk so Square Enix, good for you. Expand
  30. Feb 20, 2012
    9
    When all is said and done with the Final Fantasy franchise, I won't be surprised if VII and XII still stand out to me as the games that completely consumed me while I was playing them. Granted, it took me a couple tries to establish any momentum with this game (but that's fairly common for me). Once I did, I fell in love with the gambit system. It has become the measuring stick by which IWhen all is said and done with the Final Fantasy franchise, I won't be surprised if VII and XII still stand out to me as the games that completely consumed me while I was playing them. Granted, it took me a couple tries to establish any momentum with this game (but that's fairly common for me). Once I did, I fell in love with the gambit system. It has become the measuring stick by which I judge every combat mechanic in a game that goes beyond needing a single player and single character to accomplish everything. I wish ever MMO I played let me set up a FF12-like gambit system for as many characters as I need to fill out a party or raid. Any game that does....just reminds me how much I loved FF12. I finished all but the last hunt (as I could only stomach one four-hour attempt, only to have it end when a rez didn't happen quickly enough while the guy was one-shotting the group), which is more effort I've put into a non-MMO since FF7. Near perfection, this game's only shortcoming, from my perspective, is the vacuous story that was heavy on pageantry and light on having a point. Expand
  31. Nov 19, 2012
    10
    FFXII creates a sensational world to travel through with it's excellent music always adding to the atmosphere. Very absorbing. The combat system is fresh and gambits allow the player to customize as much or as little as desired for more complex or simple combat. The primary story and character development are subdued for a final fantasy game, but there is a surprising amount of detailFFXII creates a sensational world to travel through with it's excellent music always adding to the atmosphere. Very absorbing. The combat system is fresh and gambits allow the player to customize as much or as little as desired for more complex or simple combat. The primary story and character development are subdued for a final fantasy game, but there is a surprising amount of detail involving npcs and lots of rewarding sidequests (especially hunts), which allow you to explore the vivid and vast world of Ivalice. Collapse
  32. JoeMama
    Aug 17, 2008
    10
    Sick, must play for rpg lovers, great story, great voice acting, best rpg out on consoles.
  33. NicholasG.
    Aug 9, 2008
    10
    Definitely the best RPG of our generation, there isn't really a bad thing to be said about the game. However, immature, impatient people will NOT appreciate the story, gameplay, or character developement as much as many others have. All of that said, the Sakimoto soundtrack is so good I freaking bought it, the graphics are as good as you will find anywhere else, and the voice acting is good.
  34. BenF
    Sep 25, 2009
    10
    I love this game. It is huge, addicting, fun, and engaging. The FMV scenes are terrific. The new combat system is excellent, too. Trust me, I love this game and this is not the only Final Fantasy game I have played.
  35. Jan 6, 2011
    9
    Im not going to lie here, the gameplay itself is ok, but the game is more passive due to all the gambits. If you wanted to lvl up in the game and you have enough gambits you can basiclly just go to one map and leave the room because the gambits will do all the work for you. Also, the way they have you moving from one end of the map all the way to the other is kind of annoying. I liked theIm not going to lie here, the gameplay itself is ok, but the game is more passive due to all the gambits. If you wanted to lvl up in the game and you have enough gambits you can basiclly just go to one map and leave the room because the gambits will do all the work for you. Also, the way they have you moving from one end of the map all the way to the other is kind of annoying. I liked the storyline to the game even though it follows Vaan and Bashe. I like the game mainly because you also need skill to play and not just a very high lvl, i like games when i can go up against a boss that is like 10 or 15 lvls higher than me because makes the game more difficult. In this game you dont need to lvl up to go to certain areas and live, also the new way to flee from a battle is ok, i always hated FFVII because when i was trying to get to a save spot I would run into like 50 battles at least Expand
  36. May 18, 2011
    9
    This game pretty much did everything right. Amazing story(older audience), endearing characters, for it's time good graphics, amazing battle system (FFXI style) and great open world experience. Now, the only reason I didn't give this game a 10 is more due to a personal preference and that's the language. They speak in the old shakespearean dialect which i never took time to learn so IThis game pretty much did everything right. Amazing story(older audience), endearing characters, for it's time good graphics, amazing battle system (FFXI style) and great open world experience. Now, the only reason I didn't give this game a 10 is more due to a personal preference and that's the language. They speak in the old shakespearean dialect which i never took time to learn so I missed some parts. Aside from that this was a great game with an insane amount of side content. Expand
  37. Mar 16, 2013
    10
    By far my favorite of the "modern" (PS2/PS3) Final Fantasies. I absolutely love the Gambit system, I cannot say enough about it. The customizability of character AI is beyond anything seen before or since. Although character roles are rather genericb since any character can acquire basically any skill, individual characters are still very tailored towards certain specializations because ofBy far my favorite of the "modern" (PS2/PS3) Final Fantasies. I absolutely love the Gambit system, I cannot say enough about it. The customizability of character AI is beyond anything seen before or since. Although character roles are rather genericb since any character can acquire basically any skill, individual characters are still very tailored towards certain specializations because of base stats and early in the game their different starting positions on the License Board

    I thought the story was much more mature than most Final Fantasies (and JRPGs in general). Nothing overly special but it kept me moving forward and I really enjoyed the character developtment and underlying political intrigue. Like I said it's not mind blowing but it is very well toldThe world is large with lots to do, although some areas do feel rather empty.

    I can see where some wouldn't like the Gambit system. You'll love it or hate. If you like absolute control over everything your party does under absolutely any situation, you will love it. If you want the old school RPG status quo of on-your-toes turn based menu selections, this may not be for you.

    Last but not least, the first 2-3 hours (as with many RPGs) are extremely slow, IMO. Once you get full party control and start acquiring Gambits and Licenses, the game absolutely shines. Do not judge this game until you are a few hours in.
    Expand
  38. Dec 26, 2013
    9
    I really enjoyed this one! Final Fantasy XII has a great political fantasy story. The story stays compelling and interesting and it doesn't fall on it's self. Diverse cast of characters and they are all memorable. Also the character development is great. Licenceboard system is great and new gameplay is very deep. Every RPG fun should check this out.
  39. Apr 6, 2014
    10
    Is there something wrong? Why do I see all the negatives? The hate? Have the other Final Fantasies turned you all haters into fanboys/fangirls? Peace friends!

    For one, I love this game. It develops an imaginatory, that's right, storyline and YOU decide the story for your characters. It was time Square let people imagine, not just sit lazy and take in the video game itself. The story is
    Is there something wrong? Why do I see all the negatives? The hate? Have the other Final Fantasies turned you all haters into fanboys/fangirls? Peace friends!

    For one, I love this game. It develops an imaginatory, that's right, storyline and YOU decide the story for your characters. It was time Square let people imagine, not just sit lazy and take in the video game itself. The story is full of betrayal, drama, humor (Balthier), and unpredictability... So don't your dare review FF XII without completing it!

    I can assume the haters are rushing the game to simply put it, skipping plotlines and not caring to enjoy the scenery. Why? Well guaranteed you are in favor of another Final Fantasy (VII, like always...) But anyway, the story needs your imagination. That's what Square did. Really smart eh?

    As for the gameplay... Gambits unlock a whole ton of options/accessibility for the players to experiment with and test with. A ton. Thousands of limitless ideas.... As for that, you can also toggle gambits off if you aren't in favor of that general idea.

    The scenery and visuals, are in one word, stunning. Have you ever took the time to look at the architecture of each city? Dungeon? You should.

    The soundtrack takes time to listen to and stick it to your head. Eventually, it will fit in with the theme like a puzzle piece. It is performed orchestrally unlike its predecessors instead of using computerized music which was the case for all the earlier Final Fantasy series.

    I won't spoil the secondaries, but there are a TON of things to do in FF XII... Filling your bestiary/monsterpedia, obtaining all items, completing the "bounties" ( Won't spoil the name), and items to find et cetera.

    The beginning starts out as a Star Wars replica like stated before, but eventually the pod blooms and the story opens up... into the Final Fantasy XII. The beginning isn't even a fun game, but that was Square's smart move. After you continue the story of FF XII the story all ties in together and oh my, the goosebumps you will get later on. After you finish the game you'll hit the climax and will really miss the game...

    Whoever reviewed this game poorly probably is suffering from a long-term headache, is a fanboy/fangirl of another Final Fantasy game, did not get into the "fun boundary", as I stated above, or simply did not complete the game. I am a laxative person and I enjoy games and dislike games, but this game is a like, or love, for me.
    Expand
  40. Jan 8, 2013
    10
    Final Fantasy XII is an amazing game, like all Square Enix games. This game is probably the best Final Fantasy in terms of things to do. You could spend 50 hours on the main story line, and then have content worth another 100 hours still left to do, and whats great about it is that it gives you ultimate freedom. Tired of doing the story line? You can go do mark missions, or find sideFinal Fantasy XII is an amazing game, like all Square Enix games. This game is probably the best Final Fantasy in terms of things to do. You could spend 50 hours on the main story line, and then have content worth another 100 hours still left to do, and whats great about it is that it gives you ultimate freedom. Tired of doing the story line? You can go do mark missions, or find side quests, or just explore and level up. The game has some of the best boss battles of the FF series, and wonderful areas to explore. A lot of people seem to hate the new combat system, but I for one love it and think it was a great change new change to their games up until this point. Expand
  41. Oct 29, 2013
    10
    This is probably the best Final Fantasy game so far, in my opinion, this great tale of deception and political war games bring true thrill to those who seek the finest in storytelling. The battle system is different from it's predecessors, but it works very well. You don't need to worry about cheesy clichés that plague your average RPG, this is a grown up Final Fantasy title and it isThis is probably the best Final Fantasy game so far, in my opinion, this great tale of deception and political war games bring true thrill to those who seek the finest in storytelling. The battle system is different from it's predecessors, but it works very well. You don't need to worry about cheesy clichés that plague your average RPG, this is a grown up Final Fantasy title and it is waiting for open minds to play it. Expand
  42. Nov 13, 2013
    9
    A near masterpiece that will enthral you in it's countless moments of magnificence. Aside from the slow start (which might have trended certain people away from the game's true beauty), the game deserves all the praises it gets, as once you pass those sluggish hours, you'll find yourself spending countless, unregrettable hours in the endless, outstanding world of Final Fantasy XII.
  43. Nov 26, 2013
    9
    On the subject of the game play only, FF-XII introduces a new type of battle mechanic unique to the Final Fantasy games. It gives an air of pseudo-real time combat which strays from Final Fantasy's traditional turn-based actions. Its innovative and adds to the level of immersion because it deliberately demands one's attention. The player technically only ever controls one of the threeOn the subject of the game play only, FF-XII introduces a new type of battle mechanic unique to the Final Fantasy games. It gives an air of pseudo-real time combat which strays from Final Fantasy's traditional turn-based actions. Its innovative and adds to the level of immersion because it deliberately demands one's attention. The player technically only ever controls one of the three characters at a time, as the other two are governed by AI and a new system called "Gambits" which are basically a set of instructions and priorities programmed by the player for the character AIs to follow. This allows the player to essentially control their entire team at once while being in an pseudo-real time battle. Understanding the functionality of gambits will consume time, as it requires experimentation and strategy. Players will need carefully crafted gambits to tackle the most difficult of bosses. Expand
  44. Dec 12, 2013
    10
    Totally awesome game. Its quite a change from the turn base combat system. It feels MMO-like but you build the AI via gambits. Takes a little time to get used to the gambit system, but it become very powerful and handy for grinding exp.
  45. Mar 25, 2014
    10
    When I started a game I was shocked with number of critics about this FF. I wanted to try it and... damn, that's a great game! At the moment I'm after hmm, around 20 hours of playing and I must admit that it's really hard to get bored with this FF. For me new battle style, leveling method etc., all this things are just perfect. For me, now, it's definitely the best FF out there. Story andWhen I started a game I was shocked with number of critics about this FF. I wanted to try it and... damn, that's a great game! At the moment I'm after hmm, around 20 hours of playing and I must admit that it's really hard to get bored with this FF. For me new battle style, leveling method etc., all this things are just perfect. For me, now, it's definitely the best FF out there. Story and characters are great too. Main char is empty and boring? Please... he's 100x better and less annoying than Tidus! He could be his father as well, in the mature of the nature meaning. Open world is great too! Generally, this is THE MUST PLAY jRPG for console. Absolutely. Expand
  46. Apr 16, 2014
    10
    People have been saying that every Final Fantasy under the Square Enix title has sucked, but with XII it is not so. With a great story, an incredibly large open world, a well designed combat system, good soundtrack, and an extremely complex but very fun gameplay. Final Fantasy 12 is definitely my favorite of all the Final Fantasy games.
  47. Dec 6, 2011
    10
    The best game of my gamer life. Final Fantasy XII has a rich world, amazing party and beautiful graphics. Haters gonna hater but the majority liked this game. Just look at 92/100 and 77/100 on user score.
  48. [ANONYMOUS]
    Oct 7, 2009
    10
    Speaking as a lifelong FF fan who has played every single game in the series, this game is a masterpiece. Graphically, it's as beautiful and polished as any game, and moreso - the sheer depth of the environments, NPCs, enemies, and so on creates a fantasy world that is way more realistic than any stand-alone rpg has ever created. If you get bored easily, or you need love stories or a Speaking as a lifelong FF fan who has played every single game in the series, this game is a masterpiece. Graphically, it's as beautiful and polished as any game, and moreso - the sheer depth of the environments, NPCs, enemies, and so on creates a fantasy world that is way more realistic than any stand-alone rpg has ever created. If you get bored easily, or you need love stories or a lot of angsty dialogue to keep your interest, this game probably isn't for you. But, critiques of its plot are misguided - there's definitely a very involved story to the world and each of the characters, you just have to piece it together and maybe play the game twice to get it. There are pacing issues where the story seems to not unfold much for stretches and then quickly in other stretches. And, I might have appreciated greater customization of characters to allow for a little more strategy in choosing different weapons (I'd have also liked espers to be more useful). But, none of that prevents this game from being the best classic rpg experience ever created. Expand
  49. MarhadiashaK
    Feb 5, 2010
    9
    Old school hardcore turn-based rpg gamers hate this (minority), while the rest love it (majority). People who hate this is that because they want all FF become FFVII-alikes and hate change. This game is a breth of fresh air from past FF games. The story is heavy and political, not like past FF, which is teen-like, that's why old FF fans hate it. The system isn't like old games, Old school hardcore turn-based rpg gamers hate this (minority), while the rest love it (majority). People who hate this is that because they want all FF become FFVII-alikes and hate change. This game is a breth of fresh air from past FF games. The story is heavy and political, not like past FF, which is teen-like, that's why old FF fans hate it. The system isn't like old games, which is playing menus. For hardcore FF fans, it's a dissapointment, but overall, it's an excellent entertaining game generally. Expand
  50. JathaineJ.
    Mar 9, 2010
    9
    It's a great game. For a PS2 game the visuals are awesome, you can kinda tell the audio is a bit compressed though... not all that bad however. Much of the music is stellar! The combat system is very customizable whether or not you choose to use gambits (I prefer to use very few gambits as I'd rather not just watch the game, I prefer to interact with it myself for the most part) It's a great game. For a PS2 game the visuals are awesome, you can kinda tell the audio is a bit compressed though... not all that bad however. Much of the music is stellar! The combat system is very customizable whether or not you choose to use gambits (I prefer to use very few gambits as I'd rather not just watch the game, I prefer to interact with it myself for the most part) The game gives you loads of content with the hunts and side-quests. If you want to take a break from the main story, you get plenty of opportunities should you wish to take them. Then there's the story itself, presented in a new way for the Final Fantasy series. Unfortunately subtlety is lost on this generation so many of the players don't appreciate the game's story. If you're not willing to pay attention, this game won't be the one for you but if you really want a gripping story and some of the most memorable characters in the series (Cid, Vayne and Balthier for sure!) get this game! Expand
  51. Jan 16, 2012
    9
    Many fans of Final Fantasy will bash this game because of its dramatically different Gambit battle system. While this is definitely unlike any Final Fantasy game you have experienced, the Gambit system really is an extremely well done battle system that even went on to inspire games like Dragon Age Origins. If you take the time to learn it you will appreciate the strategic aspects ofMany fans of Final Fantasy will bash this game because of its dramatically different Gambit battle system. While this is definitely unlike any Final Fantasy game you have experienced, the Gambit system really is an extremely well done battle system that even went on to inspire games like Dragon Age Origins. If you take the time to learn it you will appreciate the strategic aspects of planning your battle commands beforehand but in the event you really do not like the battle system, Gambits can be turned off for a more traditional Final Fantasy style of gameplay. Once Gamebits have been turned off, the battle system becomes Final Fantasy except with a controllable character and seamless battles, both of which are enormous improvements to the game. I fear many people have dismissed this game far too early, and if they had taken the time to appreciate the mechanics of the game they would have been able to experience one of the most intricate stories and deep characters ever created in a Final Fantasy game. Expand
  52. Jul 21, 2011
    9
    Pretty sweet game. So much to do, awesome battle system. Interesting characters (some are annoying but most are great). One of my faves for Playstation 2
  53. GalvinO.
    Jun 29, 2008
    10
    The best RPG on PS2. Anyone who says FFX is better than this likes linear interactive movies that focus too much on story over gameplay.
  54. Oct 5, 2010
    10
    This is the best final fantasy in almost every aspect, its even artistically superior to XIII, however its not the best overall, because the story and characters plays a fundamental role in Final Fantasy and this entry fails in that department, there is a lack of side quest and minigames that not involves kill monsters, and sidequest that add pieces to the story.

    The music is good but not
    This is the best final fantasy in almost every aspect, its even artistically superior to XIII, however its not the best overall, because the story and characters plays a fundamental role in Final Fantasy and this entry fails in that department, there is a lack of side quest and minigames that not involves kill monsters, and sidequest that add pieces to the story.

    The music is good but not the most memorable. the battle system is great , funniest grinding ever in a final fantasy, the character customization system is good enough but could be better
    Expand
  55. Feb 10, 2012
    10
    The plot failed to attract me, and the characters were generally flat (except Balthier or Basch) but the game hooked me since the first moment. The fighting system is excellent, and I never got bored of it throughout the game.

    Another positive point was the length of the game. A lot of secrets and new weapons that required long walks along the huge maps and had a proper difficulty. The
    The plot failed to attract me, and the characters were generally flat (except Balthier or Basch) but the game hooked me since the first moment. The fighting system is excellent, and I never got bored of it throughout the game.

    Another positive point was the length of the game. A lot of secrets and new weapons that required long walks along the huge maps and had a proper difficulty.

    The gambits were well established, although if you abused them, that could worsen the experience of the game.

    I forgot the OST and other themes. I would stand out the boss fight theme, it was extremely EPIC.
    Expand
  56. RyanG.
    Jan 2, 2007
    10
    Past all the nostalgia, this IS the definite Final Fantasy...or even RPG.
  57. EoghanR.
    Jan 9, 2007
    10
    This game is best game I have ever played, it has amazing visuals. An excellent soundtrack and an utterly brilliant, well thought out story with really interesting characters and locations with the best Final Fantasy battle-system I have ever seen (I still love all Final Fantasy's though!) this has made Final Fantasy look like it should be. p.s. can't wait until Final Fantasy XIII.
  58. MatteoPais
    Feb 17, 2007
    10
    A very revolution in Final Fantasy games.
  59. JamesN.
    Sep 6, 2007
    10
    A definite breath of fresh air...after the drab repition of semi-futuristic Nomura worlds, FFXII brings back the exhiliration of a true adventure, much as IX did. Wonderful world, stunning visuals, very serious story (I loved it, so i wanted to see more of it! make a sequel to it SE, it could use more cut scenes!) and standout gameplay.
  60. ChristienL.
    Nov 1, 2006
    9
    So far (about 5 hours into the game) this is an exceptional example of what an RPG can/should be on the PS2 (hell, it looks like it could belong as a launch title on the 360... the graphics are that pretty.) My main complaints all have to do with control & learning curve. The inability to change look inversion & the control for left/right is a bit irritating, especially since most other So far (about 5 hours into the game) this is an exceptional example of what an RPG can/should be on the PS2 (hell, it looks like it could belong as a launch title on the 360... the graphics are that pretty.) My main complaints all have to do with control & learning curve. The inability to change look inversion & the control for left/right is a bit irritating, especially since most other games allow this & it theoretically should have been an easy thing to put into the game. The learning curve is a bit much.. there's a lot of things to learn from licenses, gambits, "loot", etc.. just so many changes for FFX (I don't count FFX2 as a FF game.. it was that bad). Also the battles are much different. Even after all that though, a few hours in and I love it (minus the controls). The new battle system is fun & as soon as I figure out Gambits, I'm sure I'll love it even more. The only thing stopping a 10 is really the control & learning curve. Expand
  61. AntranikA.
    Nov 1, 2006
    10
    This game is delicious! I love every moment of it thus far! Yes it takes a few moments to get used to. However, being a huge Final Fantasy fan since I was a little kid, this game is a welcome addition to the series, finally! Especially after FFX! You will NOT be dissapointed! Kefka would be proud!
  62. JohnT.
    Nov 1, 2006
    10
    Just too much to say, the game is amazing and it is so easy to get side tracked from the main quest there is just so much to do. A must have.
  63. DanV.
    Nov 3, 2006
    10
    So far this game is just amazing. The beginning movie was mindblowing. Everything is just sooo massive from the towns to the dungeons and the battle system is really cool once you get the hang of it. I even gotta kick out of dying. Trying attacking the T-Rex from behind when you first come across it and see what happens. I couldn't help, but crack up. (sry for the sidetracking, but So far this game is just amazing. The beginning movie was mindblowing. Everything is just sooo massive from the towns to the dungeons and the battle system is really cool once you get the hang of it. I even gotta kick out of dying. Trying attacking the T-Rex from behind when you first come across it and see what happens. I couldn't help, but crack up. (sry for the sidetracking, but it was pretty funny). so anyway get the game. you'll love it. Expand
  64. BrettF.
    Nov 6, 2006
    10
    Square-Enix has successfully managed to create something that is far more than just a game. Final Fantasy XII is, without a doubt, a work of art, in much the same way that a painting, novel, or piece of music is a work of art. The fact that Square-Enix used a video game console as it's medium does nothing, in my opinion, to make their latest masterpiece any less than beautiful. Square-Enix has successfully managed to create something that is far more than just a game. Final Fantasy XII is, without a doubt, a work of art, in much the same way that a painting, novel, or piece of music is a work of art. The fact that Square-Enix used a video game console as it's medium does nothing, in my opinion, to make their latest masterpiece any less than beautiful. Anyone who thinks that video games can be nothing but mindless entertainment should spend some time with this game, as it is sure to convert them. Expand
  65. J.F.
    Nov 7, 2006
    9
    About 27 hours of playtime in and I'm hooked. I can't remember the last time I was this enthralled by a console game. My poor PC is going to be lonely for a long time it seems. I'll admit I was a fan of FF X and this one puts it to shame. To shame I say! Graphically ( except maybe the cutscenes and summons) this game is far superior. The License system is like the sphere About 27 hours of playtime in and I'm hooked. I can't remember the last time I was this enthralled by a console game. My poor PC is going to be lonely for a long time it seems. I'll admit I was a fan of FF X and this one puts it to shame. To shame I say! Graphically ( except maybe the cutscenes and summons) this game is far superior. The License system is like the sphere grid but better. Exploration is open ended which is a huge advancement over many linear or "train track" style RPG's. It kind of reminds me of an offline MMORPG which is perfect. I played FFXI online and WoW and this is like having all the expansive content and immersive world without all the irritatating chatter and ninja drama. Love it! My only gripe against FFXII is probably that some of the most amazing gear ( e.g. Uber sword at beginning) is only reachable if you know secrets that could only be found in game guides. Kind of a bummer since I found out too late but that is a minor scratch on an otherwise flawless game. Sound 9/10 Graphics 9/10 Story 9/10 Battle System 10/10 ( Amazing!!!) Overall 93 % Expand
  66. AnonymousMC
    Oct 10, 2006
    10
    i realy liked that game,it's the best game i see till now on ps2
    the graphic is fantastic and sounds too.and the story it's realy attractive,the charectares are awsome too .
    i would realy like to ask if there is a link how can i get the full story of the game, cause i wanna post it in my documents. i am realy obbsessed in video game specialy RPG game but unluckily i
    i realy liked that game,it's the best game i see till now on ps2
    the graphic is fantastic and sounds too.and the story it's realy attractive,the charectares are awsome too .

    i would realy like to ask if there is a link how can i get the full
    story of the game, cause i wanna post it in my documents.
    i am realy obbsessed in video game specialy RPG game
    but unluckily i havent finish any RPG game befor,becasue i have no time to play the game for a long time.
    is there any solution for that u can advice me.
    thanks for reading my comments.
    Expand
  67. StephenM.
    Dec 4, 2006
    10
    While I will not claim the game to be perfect, and admit that some complaints are valid, this game is simply superb. I have been a fan of the FF series since the first NES game, and this is certainly of the 5 best FF games I have ever played. While I admit, in terms of story, FF3 can never be touched, everything else about this game is fun, fun, fun. Don't miss it. It is my belief While I will not claim the game to be perfect, and admit that some complaints are valid, this game is simply superb. I have been a fan of the FF series since the first NES game, and this is certainly of the 5 best FF games I have ever played. While I admit, in terms of story, FF3 can never be touched, everything else about this game is fun, fun, fun. Don't miss it. It is my belief that every user who complains about the battle system and the challenges of the game simply haven't played it enough, need to learn patience, and should stop playing RPG's. Expand
  68. Friky00
    Oct 31, 2006
    10
    Incredible game, the final fantasy shines again as the best RPG series in videogame history, I feel the gameplay as a mix of Final Fantasy 6 and Knights of the the old republic, the sub quests, will keep you hooked for 100+ hours, Final Fantasy forever.
  69. JoeB.
    Oct 20, 2007
    10
    This game is different to previous Final Fantasys, but amazing in its own right. Despite my worries, the gameplay is refreshing and more enjoyable overall than previous installments. The liscense and gambit systems work well. Sakimoto's music is good although not quite up to Nobuo's standards. The graphics are awesome for the PS2. The opening movie is phenomenal. The voice This game is different to previous Final Fantasys, but amazing in its own right. Despite my worries, the gameplay is refreshing and more enjoyable overall than previous installments. The liscense and gambit systems work well. Sakimoto's music is good although not quite up to Nobuo's standards. The graphics are awesome for the PS2. The opening movie is phenomenal. The voice acting is excellent as well, lending an eloquence ot Final Fantasy that has never been seen before. FFXII has sprawling environments and a fully controllable 360 degree camera which highlights the beauty of the world. However, its biggest weakness is its lack of cutscenes. The story is strong overall, with interesting political intrigue. Each character has their own motivations, and wills clash against each other in compelling ways. But there just isnt enough cutscenes to expand upon the story, which can leave you feeling as if each object is a bit pointless and that there is something missing. Its a big contrast from FFX. Persevere though and you'll find the experience rewarding. Final Fantasy XII is a regular gem of a game, which is definitely worth playing purely for its scope and replay value. Completing the game takes about 60 hours doing an average amount of sidequests. Not the best game ever, IMO (That goes to FFIX), but certainly in my top 5. Go buy it! Oh, and keep your eye out for Gilgamesh. He's a legend. Expand
  70. DavidJ.
    Jan 30, 2007
    10
    If you look through the reviews, you'll notice that most negative ones are from people who never finished the game. Finish the game, you'll love it. It's a bit slow to pick up, but so was Final Fantasy 9, and it hardly "destroyed the Final Fantasy franchise". In the end, this is flat-out the most fun Final Fantasy to date.
  71. ArC.
    Jan 8, 2007
    10
    This is the greatest game I ever played! I never got bored because there was so much to do all the time! The graphics were superb! I Love FF XII!! I wasn't disappointed in buying it. Even the Game Cover was nice.
  72. JimH.
    Feb 19, 2007
    9
    This is my first FF game and I think the graphics and camera work *are* truly amazing, as is the story. I don't like the action, the 'pause and pick' aspect of this. It makes the play disjointed. But all in all this is really enjoyable to play with my young daughter. Many times we come across creatures and go "what the heck is that?!" Final Fantasy XII *is* fantastic.
  73. Mobius
    Feb 28, 2007
    10
    I remember playing Final Fantasy VII all those years ago and remember how amazed i was back then and how I felt after completing it. After FF VII things when down hill, though good games none of the others gave me that feeling of Awe, so much so that i never felt compelled to complete FF8 & FF9, i got myself FFX and probly clocked 10 hours on it before i got bored and traded it in, i I remember playing Final Fantasy VII all those years ago and remember how amazed i was back then and how I felt after completing it. After FF VII things when down hill, though good games none of the others gave me that feeling of Awe, so much so that i never felt compelled to complete FF8 & FF9, i got myself FFX and probly clocked 10 hours on it before i got bored and traded it in, i never bothered with FFX-2. but something completed me to purchase FFXII on day of release even though I had not read anything about it or got caught up in any hype in fact the first i heard of FFXII was about a 2 weeks before its release. but upon loading up and being greeted by a impressive intro I entered the game and was very pleased with what i saw. the new combat system is great as getting into random battles every 6 steps in the previous games became very annoying, this time around I can see the enemy before I decide to fight. the graphics are fantastic with plenty of well written speech and facial expressions. For me playing FFXII is like playing FFVII for the first time all over again. I picked up the game on a Friday and by the Sunday I had already clocked up 19 hours of fun, I think this game may affect my relationship with the wife. Expand
  74. JamesB.
    Mar 16, 2007
    10
    I have to say, this is the best FF game I've seen in a long time. I was really disappointed in FFX, and almost didn't get this game for fear it would be similar, but I'm glad I did. I love the new battle system and everything... I don't see why people say there's no strategy, though. Personally, I think this game takes more strategy than any other Final Fantasy I have to say, this is the best FF game I've seen in a long time. I was really disappointed in FFX, and almost didn't get this game for fear it would be similar, but I'm glad I did. I love the new battle system and everything... I don't see why people say there's no strategy, though. Personally, I think this game takes more strategy than any other Final Fantasy game. I can't think of a single flaw with this game. Expand
  75. LewisT.
    Apr 8, 2007
    10
    I have not completed this game, which automatically makes my opinion less valid indeed, but I am a huge fan of the Final Fantasy's 7 through X-2. Both 8 AND 10 rank in my top 5 favorite games of all time. I was almost reluctant to even purchase this game because I was frightened of this ruining such a grand and renowned series. But after such a small time in the game (around 10 I have not completed this game, which automatically makes my opinion less valid indeed, but I am a huge fan of the Final Fantasy's 7 through X-2. Both 8 AND 10 rank in my top 5 favorite games of all time. I was almost reluctant to even purchase this game because I was frightened of this ruining such a grand and renowned series. But after such a small time in the game (around 10 hours) I'm as hooked as I was with all of the others. I mean, okay the character development isn't brilliant, and the story is certainly, rather baffling at times, but other than that it's more than impressive. The battle system will take any fan some time to get used to, but once you've overcome that, you can definitely appreciate it, and how important tactics are. I love the in-depth systems incorporated into the game, such as gambits and licenses. It makes the game more demanding, but more customizable, and ultimately more satisfying. The graphics as expected, rate amongst the best in the PS2 franchise, and I'm very impressed with the game thus far. And as far as I am concerned, the first few hours of the game are the most important. Expand
  76. MikaL.
    Aug 20, 2007
    10
    Awesom game indeed, FFXII: International Zodiac Job System brings more exciting stuff to already huge game. Job System, new items, new weapons and more! Best FF after FF7 and FFX.
  77. P.Starr
    Sep 2, 2007
    9
    Mike G. had some interesting comments, until he cited VII and VIII as examples of the heights to which a game like this should aspire. VII and VIII are, to my mind, the worst examples of nonsensical plotting and incomprehensible character "development" in role-playing games around, and to suggest the writing and storyline in the vastly superior XII can be compared to those awful games and Mike G. had some interesting comments, until he cited VII and VIII as examples of the heights to which a game like this should aspire. VII and VIII are, to my mind, the worst examples of nonsensical plotting and incomprehensible character "development" in role-playing games around, and to suggest the writing and storyline in the vastly superior XII can be compared to those awful games and found lacking undermines his credibility as a gamer. These things are deeply subjective, but the reality is that I personally would have a very hard time going back to any other FF game after playing XII; I make that statement based on both the gameplay AND the story. Expand
  78. CoryD.
    Nov 10, 2006
    10
    Well for starters I have all most every FF game out there on the market and got to say that this Is one of they best console FF games EVER. Love how there is a mix of all most all the ff's in this game, now only if you can play a Moogle knight that would ROCK Kupo. Love the moogles, thank you SQUARE ENIX I give you 2 thumbs up.
  79. JT
    Nov 13, 2006
    9
    This is by far the most challenging, beautiful, and entertaining and thought provoking game I have ever experienced from any RPG manufacturer. And I have been playing video games since I was 3 years old and now am 24. I am pleased to see that they have different strategies to kill monsters by using the Gambit command, by setting up the right conifg. to kill monsters even faster. With the This is by far the most challenging, beautiful, and entertaining and thought provoking game I have ever experienced from any RPG manufacturer. And I have been playing video games since I was 3 years old and now am 24. I am pleased to see that they have different strategies to kill monsters by using the Gambit command, by setting up the right conifg. to kill monsters even faster. With the old Final Fantasies, you would just go beef up your characters and get the best of everything and not use the variety of spells, and special skills (or at least I didn't) to beat up monsters. This makes it a lot more thought provoking besides mashing X on your controller all day. The use of the FFXI battle system and the way monsters can be aggro'd to you is very challenging. I never died on FF 1~10 because of always getting the opprotunity to cure after a battle. Sometimes in this you may find yourself suprised and get clobbered by a monster linking with one that you already have on you! The maps on this game are just like FFXI, you must buy them to view the area, except in this case, if you investigate some areas without a map, it will draw it for you. Very nice so you dont get lost like in Vana'diel (FFXI) if you have no clue where to purchase one. Viewing this world is very beutiful, and give your right analog stick a whirl every now and then and look at the time and thought that they put into every detail. It is worth it just for the eye candy, even if you are in a dank dungeon, or a beutiful city. Cut scenes are once again, over the top in this game and is a nice thing to see and blends in with in game engine very well. Very long cut scenes, but as usual, the best in the business of RPG's. Why I have to give this game a 9 sadly is because of no two player control. Why is there no two player control? I thought it would of been like Secret of Mana from the old SNES console where you can hack and slash your way through enemies. I loved playing that game with friends and family because it's rare to have an RPG that two people can play. There was no sense in why it couldn't be two player and very dissapointing. I figured since it was using the FFXI battle System/engine that it would be simple enough. I guess I am deeply dissapointed in this because I won't be able to play along side my father of our favorite RPG of all time. No big deal though. We will just have to resort to who beat the game the fastest and gloating, instead of teaming up! And last but not least, times change, people change, and games change. This change was for the good of this great legacy of FF that I have been playing since Nintendo. People that don't like to read and learn about how to utilize the new structure will most likely be left in the dust and get frustrated about dying all the time and quit. Well if you don't like reading and learning, this isn't the game for you. For any open minded adventurer, this is it! This game we will look back five years ago and say "now that was ground breaking." Enjoy it as much as I have for the first 3 hours! LoL! Expand
  80. JohnO.
    Nov 2, 2006
    10
    I can't believe how complete this game is! I'm left with no doubt that the wait was worth it. This is the first game where I actually went out of my way to explore. Not for some super weapon, or a side quest, but just because I wanted to see everything. And there is a LOT to see! Calling this game massive would be an understatement. Another improvement is of course, the battle I can't believe how complete this game is! I'm left with no doubt that the wait was worth it. This is the first game where I actually went out of my way to explore. Not for some super weapon, or a side quest, but just because I wanted to see everything. And there is a LOT to see! Calling this game massive would be an understatement. Another improvement is of course, the battle system. Now that there are no more random encounters, which made battles annoying, you are free to travel how you see fit. But the new battle system is so fun that you'll probably end up wanting to fight anything you come across. You might have heard that there is less story in this FF than in any previous. This is completely untrue. Everything you could want in an FF story is here. But now that the game is longer, the story is much more spread out. Also it's not as sentimental as previous entries. Instead the story is a lot more realistic, and mature. It's no longer about saving the world, and there isn't anymore teenage angst. The charecters are some of the most interesting to appear in a game, (especially Balthier, who's kind of a mix of Indiana jones, and James Bond. Hilarious.) Don't let the slow begginning put you off. Also don't be afraid of change. That's my only advice for enjoying this game. Expand
  81. Wookie
    Nov 6, 2006
    10
    This game rocks. Disclaimer--I'm not done with it yet, I'm 30 hours in. The new battle system is genius. You can program character behavior to do just about anything. For example, you can set your main healer to cast Cure any time a party member drops below 70% HP. That's easy though--how about setting your secondary healer to cast Cura (area of effect group heal) when This game rocks. Disclaimer--I'm not done with it yet, I'm 30 hours in. The new battle system is genius. You can program character behavior to do just about anything. For example, you can set your main healer to cast Cure any time a party member drops below 70% HP. That's easy though--how about setting your secondary healer to cast Cura (area of effect group heal) when anyone drops below 30%? Try setting all members to prioritize killing any enemy with a critical level of HP, or make your Black Mage cast the AOE Dark spell by default. It's a micro-managing RPG player's dream. I used to be a turn-based combat diehard, but FFXII has totally changed my mind. I loved the ability to customize your turn based combat, but eventually, I began to sleepwalk through the battles. "Attack, attack, attack, cast Hastega." And again, "attack, attack, attack, cast Firaga." Now, you literally walk through battles, watching your characters carry out orders. Tweak away their performance to your heart's content--I find myself using spells and abilities in FFXII that I never used in any of the prior series. Have fun! Expand
  82. SandyY.
    Dec 5, 2006
    9
    I have been playing the game for hours and it definitely looks like I am addicted . The game has great graphics and its hard to tell the cutscenes from the movies . Has an ultra-addictive battle system , beautiful chracters but I gave it a nine because it lacks in the character development department and you hardly feel connected. Still love it a lot.
  83. NaelMZM
    Oct 31, 2006
    10
    what an amazing game! I can't wait to leave the work everyday to start playing & leveling up, i don't sleep much these days and you all know why, lol nice caracters, amazing beasts, lovely world, very good new game play & Great game!! thank you Square-Enix again for this & I cant wait for FF XIII.
  84. Biggles
    Oct 31, 2006
    10
    They fixed what we thought wasn't broken and showed us how broken it really was in doing so. An absolutely fantastic game, and an epic 100+ hour adventure. Coming from a long-time fa of the series, this is a well-deserved 10/10 and a breath of fresh air for both the genre and the series.
  85. EricA.
    Oct 30, 2006
    10
    There is something just grand to this new approach to Final Fantasy. In every way that FFX-2 failed, FFXII succeeds and more. The story is in top form, characters are detailed and interesting (yet still a little angsty for me in typical Final Fantasy tradition), and the big payoff, the Summons, are AMAZING. Restated, AAAAAMAZING! Ahem. Good stuff. Love it.
  86. GregG.
    Jan 12, 2007
    9
    Very good game. The graphics in the cut-scenes and during gameplay are amazing. The battle system takes a little getting used to, but the change is refreshing. The only shortcoming of this game, to me at least, was that the voice acting did not match the images at all. But other than that, this game is great, even comparable to classics like FF7 or FFX.
  87. JackC.
    Jan 14, 2007
    9
    Stop whining about something you don't like, it won't make it better. To those who haven't tried it yet, do it. You may like it, you may not. It's an acquired taste.
  88. Andrew
    Feb 21, 2007
    10
    Too many people knock this game for being just what it is - a bold, new direction for the series. As a longtime Final Fantasy fan, I was thrilled to be rid of ridiculous amounts of annoying random battles, and hopefully they are gone for good. The rest of this game is certainly worthy of being called a Final Fantasy game (epic storyline, enjoyable character, massively destructive battles). Enjoy.
  89. Barry
    Feb 26, 2007
    10
    Best game on PS2, this year at the least. Even more so than Okami. Battle system is perfect, graphics are the best on PS2 and the size of the map is just awesomely huge. It's a different experience for FF fans. Amazing.
  90. Mithyus
    Mar 25, 2007
    10
    Although Final Fantasy XII strays a bit off the path that has credited the series it's notoriety, it is nevertheless a great gaming experience.
  91. Sep 3, 2011
    9
    FFXII is a step in the right direction. Its the most dynamic Final Fantasy to date, which can make it good or bad depending on how you play it. If you have to do alot of grinding then you are not using all of the tools available correctly.
  92. MannyF.
    Mar 27, 2007
    10
    For those of you with good taste and patience, prepare to play the best RPG ever made. To the others... don't bother, I can't stand the thought of another ignorant negative review of this game on here. THIS IS FINAL FANTASY! Period.
  93. JoeM.
    May 15, 2007
    10
    Did I hear someone talking about a bad camera angle - did they fail to notice that the camera angle can be adjusted throughout with the right analogue stick depending on where you want to look? Even if this game did have a bad camera angle (which it doesn't) that isn't enough justification to give it a 0/10. Now i'm going to justify why it deserves 10/10 - superb graphics Did I hear someone talking about a bad camera angle - did they fail to notice that the camera angle can be adjusted throughout with the right analogue stick depending on where you want to look? Even if this game did have a bad camera angle (which it doesn't) that isn't enough justification to give it a 0/10. Now i'm going to justify why it deserves 10/10 - superb graphics with a massive expansive world, great characters and voice acting, a beautiful musical score, fun and strategic battles, loads of sidequests and a long game meaning you can spend over 100 hours on it and an immersive story. Seriously though, what more could you want from an RPG? I challenge anyone to suggest, and even if they do come up with something, Squaresoft will probably right these wrongs in thier next spellbinding installment to this deservedly long running series. In other words, yep, they've done it again. Well actually, not only that, but this is the best of the lot since number 7, and that's a big claim but it really is an outstanding game and comes with my highest reccomendation. Expand
  94. Sciros
    May 21, 2007
    10
    An amazing game through-and-through. Visually impressive in every way. The sheer number of detailed facades, monsters, items, and characters in the game gave me a great respect for the designers and artists, who are the without question at the top of their field. The music is epic and comples, and it gives the game a unique mood. The combat system is an improved version of KOTOR's An amazing game through-and-through. Visually impressive in every way. The sheer number of detailed facades, monsters, items, and characters in the game gave me a great respect for the designers and artists, who are the without question at the top of their field. The music is epic and comples, and it gives the game a unique mood. The combat system is an improved version of KOTOR's (which was a 3-D adaptation of the Baldur's Gate system). In other words, it takes some adjustment at first but once you get the hang of it it's amazing. The Gambit system gives you the option of being as active or inactive during the battle as you prefer. The story is actually GOOD; I am not sure why people claim it has no story. Not only did the writers put effort into the plot, but the dialogue is top-notch and the voice acting (in the US release, at least) is the best I have ever heard in a game. In my mind Gideon Emery's Balthier stands out as the most perfectly executed character in games, period. Altogether, FFXII is a must-play and deserves every bit of praise. The only shortcoming: leveling takes a long time so if one wants to fully explore the entire game and all sidequests, it will take some real patience. But the fact that the game even *has* so *many* high-level sidequests is astounding, and far more than one should be used to expecting from a single game. In every way, it goes above and beyond what is typical. Expand
  95. Dr.Avery
    Jun 24, 2007
    10
    In a single word? Epic. Squaresoft's flagship series has finally returned to its roots -- rejecting the insipid, childish plot and dialog which plagued IX, X and X-2. Instead of dumbing it down for the youngsters, the story and speech have been elevated to an almost shakespearian bearing. A most refreshing change of pace from the usual condescending puerile drivel we are usually fed In a single word? Epic. Squaresoft's flagship series has finally returned to its roots -- rejecting the insipid, childish plot and dialog which plagued IX, X and X-2. Instead of dumbing it down for the youngsters, the story and speech have been elevated to an almost shakespearian bearing. A most refreshing change of pace from the usual condescending puerile drivel we are usually fed as gamers. The gameplay could have been a bit more complex and customizable (as with VII or VIII), but the graphics, and overall style puts this game in a class of it's own. A class which will likely remain the sole domain of FF XII until the fourteenth installment of the series is released (the thirteenth will, no doubt, be rushed through development too quickly to be any good) The architecture is particularly noteworthy. The tombs and ancient places of this game seem to have come forth from the wildest dreams of the engineers of ancient Egypt -- What might have been built if they had an army of 1000 foot tall men to do their work. Your enjoyment of this game will depend largely on your level of education. School-age children and semi-literate adults, are likely going to struggle to keep up with the shades of meaning hidden behind some very obfuscatory and stylized language. However, those with a mastery of the English language are in for one of the best plots to be found in any media. Expand
  96. Angelbane
    Jul 22, 2007
    10
    Anyone who gave this game a 6 or less can go throw all their videogames out and start reading a good book. If you don't like the camera angles, the story, or the battle system I'm sorry to say, but your thought stray not far from incompetence. Simply put: Smart people made it so the stupid won't play it. Sometimes harsh words are the simplest to understand. If you really Anyone who gave this game a 6 or less can go throw all their videogames out and start reading a good book. If you don't like the camera angles, the story, or the battle system I'm sorry to say, but your thought stray not far from incompetence. Simply put: Smart people made it so the stupid won't play it. Sometimes harsh words are the simplest to understand. If you really can't keep up with the greatness of a game like this then you've seriously not been going to school or something, because to the more educated I'm sure the features were very simple. Square, please don't listen to any review thats 6 or less because honestly I think you're doing great. If Square people really are reading this don't rush into FF13 because of the hype. Make sure that the story is as solid as FF12 and just as entertaining. I could play FF12 over 100 times... You know what? I think I will. Can't wait for 13 and 14. Like I said though, there might be a problem if FF13 is rushed. Keep it real Square Enix, keep it real. Expand
  97. FFFan
    Aug 9, 2007
    10
    I give this game a ten on pure entertainment value. I don't always have the time to play, but when I do I can play for a few hours and even though I don't get alot of gameplay done it is still great. The only beef I have with the game is the way the enemies jump up in level so fast. I have needed to spend alot of time running around leveling up to get further. Other than this, I give this game a ten on pure entertainment value. I don't always have the time to play, but when I do I can play for a few hours and even though I don't get alot of gameplay done it is still great. The only beef I have with the game is the way the enemies jump up in level so fast. I have needed to spend alot of time running around leveling up to get further. Other than this, FFXII is the greatest game that I have ever played. Graphics are awesome, surround sound for the sound is fantastic, and the story is sweet. I hope that Square will come out with a sequel that is PS2 or PS3 playable, not just Nintendo DS. Though I will buy that one too. Expand
  98. AJL.
    Nov 11, 2006
    9
    Amazing this game has drawn me in. I'm half way done and I can say im amazed by what I see the game is truly a masterpeice. I love everything about it including its new battlesystem. The battle system is disliked by some because it can be a difficult concept for a console gamer. the Gambit system is a set of macros which is commonly used in online games. in fact ff12 takes alot of Amazing this game has drawn me in. I'm half way done and I can say im amazed by what I see the game is truly a masterpeice. I love everything about it including its new battlesystem. The battle system is disliked by some because it can be a difficult concept for a console gamer. the Gambit system is a set of macros which is commonly used in online games. in fact ff12 takes alot of aspects from online games in effort to create a uniqe console final fantasy and not just an rpg clone. some of the main characters are not well developed and uninteresting, however thats the only flaw.everything else is exciting and enthralling. Expand
  99. MikeJ.
    Nov 16, 2006
    10
    Best game in Final Fantasy Series by far. 50 hours into game and not nearly halfway done with game. Tons of sidequests to do many options to explore. The new battle system takes away the long wait of screen loading and makes battles much more realistic. The license board is absolutely wonderful with actual board points that do HELP you in your game. The espers are phenominal and actually Best game in Final Fantasy Series by far. 50 hours into game and not nearly halfway done with game. Tons of sidequests to do many options to explore. The new battle system takes away the long wait of screen loading and makes battles much more realistic. The license board is absolutely wonderful with actual board points that do HELP you in your game. The espers are phenominal and actually are a part of the battle. Not a one time summoning. Expand
  100. BonbonA.
    Nov 18, 2006
    10
    A solid storyline, brand new ideas, best graphic ever, beautiful gameplay, hundreds of challenges n quests. All composed in one game. There's only one word to describe this. "Perfect".
  101. Nov 19, 2012
    0
    FFXII creates a sensational world to travel through with it's excellent music always adding to the atmosphere. Very absorbing. The combat system is fresh and gambits allow the player to customize as much or as little as desired for more complex or simple combat. The primary story and character development are subdued for a final fantasy game, but there is a surprising amount of detailFFXII creates a sensational world to travel through with it's excellent music always adding to the atmosphere. Very absorbing. The combat system is fresh and gambits allow the player to customize as much or as little as desired for more complex or simple combat. The primary story and character development are subdued for a final fantasy game, but there is a surprising amount of detail involving npcs and lots of rewarding sidequests (especially hunts), which allow you to explore the vivid and vast world of Ivalice. Collapse
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 64 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 61 out of 64
  2. Negative: 0 out of 64
  1. The story soars, but not so often. The dungeons are long and meandering. The gameplay is effective, but not engrossing. It's a staggeringly well-made game that throws more at you than any other RPG on the PS2... but well-made doesn't necessarily mean "fun."
  2. This is absolutely my favorite Final Fantasy title, a claim I probably would have laughed at two years ago when rumors about the game’s battle system began to circulate.
  3. One of those rare games that can be appreciated by both hardcore and casual fans alike, Final Fantasy XII may very well be Square's last great adventure, and a fitting sendoff, for the PlayStation 2.