Goblin Commander: Unleash the Horde Image
Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 21 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 12 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In Goblin Commander: Unleash The Horde, you lead your goblin clans through ceaseless battle in the war-torn land of Ogriss, a world ruled by goblins. Advancing through dark subterranean caves, lush woodland cities and towering storm-swept castles; you wage war with an army of specialized goblin warriors and fearsome monsters to prevent the ultimate destruction of Ogriss. Goblin Commander: Unleash The Horde sets itself apart from other Real-Time Strategy games with fast arcade-style action, richly detailed and destructible environments, and an easy-to-master control scheme designed specifically for console game pads. [Jaleco Entertainment] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 21
  2. Negative: 1 out of 21
  1. Hands down, this is by far the best console RTS that I have played to date, and it really helps console owners who haven’t played PC RTS titles to see what all the fun is about.
  2. It's guaranteed not to frustrate the hell out of you while offering a challenge for each and every game.
  3. 80
    We're more than happy to except the game's flaws in exchange for a stellar RTS experience. Though it certainly hasn't reached the same level of excellence as its forbearers from the 16-bit era (or matched the complex brilliance of its PC counterparts for that matter), Unleash the Horde is still the best of its kind to hit consoles in a very long time.
  4. If you like the idea of an RTS but never manage to get the hang of all the complicated tactics and procedures this is the perfect game for you. It's got some good ideas well implemented, it's fun to play and essentially it plays like an introduction to the world of RTS.
  5. It may not win a beauty contest, or leave you humming its soundtrack in the shower, but these are faults I can overlook considering the amount of fun it delivers. The lack of any significant multiplayer hurts as well, and may very well be a deal breaker for some.
  6. Tactically, it's pretty boring, but if you can get into the goblins' expendable-offense mindset, it's a smashing time.
  7. Ironically, the developer has actually been very successful in mapping a superbly intuitive control system to the gamepad, and by enabling direct control of your Titan a basic action element is introduced. Yet by totally amputating any strategic scope from the RTS equation, the ensuing battles becoming virtually pointless affairs. [Mar 2004, p.111]

See all 21 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. JordieC.
    Nov 11, 2003
    10
    Genius.
  2. JasonK.
    Nov 20, 2003
    10
    First night i got this i was up till 2 in the morning playing 1 on 1 with my little brother. a rue masterpeice no one should be with out.
  3. KrogothK.
    Dec 11, 2003
    10
    Great game, simple for RTS fans that don't want to memorze 500 pages of controller information. Great storyline, great species. The funny character modeling actually gives it an old skool arcade look. Dazzling. Expand
  4. LannyP.
    Nov 15, 2003
    9
    This game is a gem in the darkness of console RTS'! Graphicly speaking it's ok. The real fun is in the two player mode!! God that's fun! Expand
  5. NickW
    Oct 5, 2008
    8
    It's important to look at this as a CONSOLE RTS, and not compare it to PC RTS's. Of course the PC will have superior RTS games, it's got better controls and more support in the form of online multiplayer.

    So what am I trying to say? I'm saying that Goblin Commander is a worthy RTS, and worth buying used from Gamestop or Ebay or wherever. It's challenging without being frustrating, fun without being too easy, and a success as a console RTS. So stop comparing it to its PC cousins, and go out and get this fun game.
    Expand
  6. JasonM.
    Sep 2, 2004
    8
    An incredible piece of work to say the least. The simplicity of it all really made me enjoy it, the story line wasnt great as opposed to some other games, a little more thought could've been put into that area. However, the storyline in any RTS isnt what your interested in, am I right? You want war, big brutes, power and the ability to set up a suitable defence well running off to lay seige to your enemys encampment, well that all is in Goblin Commander, to be honest. At first I thought, 'This can't be so great, I mean, you must only be able to use like one type of goblin' But boy was I wrong you can pick up to 36 different units ont he map for each team, which can end in a catacylismic brawl of 72 units. Which is very reasonable for RTS on a console. You can also take direct control of units allowing you to zoom in and get close up's of the area aroudn you, to be honest, this is an adventure game crossed with and RTS game. You can buy a bunch of upgrades for your goblins attack, defense, health and even a special bonus upgrade for each clans special unit, or support unit that hones special abilities that vary from healing your units, to dissolving other units armor. The maps aren't flat out, but rigid and bumpy, allowing for a more realistic experiance. Climb the mountains with your units, or wade through dark swamp waters. Watch as the games elements come into play, lightning strking in frn tof you add's a shock to the game, while rain, sleet, hail and snow make it mysterious. Fog can also shadow forcoming danger, that why in this game, you need to hunt in groups, as theres enemies around every nook, cranny, and bend. And another great thing are the runestones, they grant you god like powers to pour meteors down upon your enemies, lash down a thunder bolt upon them, or even cause acid rain. But the favorite, and possibly most enjoyable part of this game for many fans like myself was the titans, huge brutes that deal out massive damage and some even have one hit kill attacks. One of them has the ability to eat units to recover its health, were another can transform itself into a moving tornado and blow them away. Incredible is what this game is, it is a definte must buy. And for those that say titans arent worth their gold, I must object. If you know how to use them, their worth every penny. Just dont let them become swarmed by high level units. Collapse
  7. JorgeR.
    Dec 4, 2003
    6
    A couple of the levels are great but overall the game is only sort of ok. kudos on getting RTS controls to work right but where's the polish? I thought these guys were big guys at Blizzard who left to make this game. If this is the best they can do Blizzard is better off without them. Expand