Gran Turismo 3: A-Spec PlayStation 2

  • Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Jul 9, 2001
User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 310 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 28 out of 310
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 9, 2017
    4
    Graphiquement décevant (le célèbre scintillement et l'aliasing de fou, spécialités de la PS3) un contenu bien chétif -pour ne pas dire sabré- par rapport à GT2 et un comportement routier qui stagne, des sons qui n'évoluent pas...

    Certes, toujours pas de concurrence digne de ce nom à l'horizon (et à son époque) mais ce n'est pas une raison pour se reposer sur ses lauriers comme ça !
    Graphiquement décevant (le célèbre scintillement et l'aliasing de fou, spécialités de la PS3) un contenu bien chétif -pour ne pas dire sabré- par rapport à GT2 et un comportement routier qui stagne, des sons qui n'évoluent pas...

    Certes, toujours pas de concurrence digne de ce nom à l'horizon (et à son époque) mais ce n'est pas une raison pour se reposer sur ses lauriers comme ça ! Créateur du genre, Polyphony délivre une suite qui se laisse jouer mais qui ne convainc plus vraiment au fil des heures : une douche froide incompréhensible.
    Expand
  2. Oct 8, 2012
    5
    This game sadly hasn't aged as well as i'd thought. It was a great game for 2001, but a purchase in 2012 is harder to recommend. The graphics are great for a PS2 game. The gameplay is somewhat good, but there isn't much strategy in races, and the difficulty tends to shift from extremely easy to very hard, The lack of damage that can be done to cars is absent, and when the mph meter saysThis game sadly hasn't aged as well as i'd thought. It was a great game for 2001, but a purchase in 2012 is harder to recommend. The graphics are great for a PS2 game. The gameplay is somewhat good, but there isn't much strategy in races, and the difficulty tends to shift from extremely easy to very hard, The lack of damage that can be done to cars is absent, and when the mph meter says you are going about 70mph, it looks more like 40 mph. A passable game. Expand
  3. Mar 26, 2015
    8
    If you're looking for a realistic racing game, if you're looking for a graphically pleasing game, if you're looking for a game that let's you beef up your cars, then look no further, because Gran Tourismo 3 fits all of the above.
  4. Sep 11, 2012
    10
    Even by the standards of the day, GT3 A-Spec has unbelievable graphics and unmatched driving physics. Framerate is smooth, there are a lot of cars to choose from, a full range of adjustable driving assists and some of the most realistic driving you will ever come across in a racing game. The licesnes are fun and gold medal is actually difficult unlike most modern games. There are a lot ofEven by the standards of the day, GT3 A-Spec has unbelievable graphics and unmatched driving physics. Framerate is smooth, there are a lot of cars to choose from, a full range of adjustable driving assists and some of the most realistic driving you will ever come across in a racing game. The licesnes are fun and gold medal is actually difficult unlike most modern games. There are a lot of cars that are hugely detailed (although admittedly some cars do look noticeably better than others) and controls are simple, responsive and make every corner satisfying. The choice of tracks is dissapointing but you still get some decent ones like Mazda Laguna Seca. The amount of content in this game, the replay value and addictiveness of trying to beat best times even on livesnses where you drive in a straight line and stop inside a box means that it's a game which can be enjoyed at any point, anytime. The attention to detail combined with its simplicity but hidden complexity in trying to get best times makes it both accessible, fun and hardcore. If they added more tracks this would be the ultimate simulator for its time. All it would be missing is interior view. Expand
  5. Jun 26, 2011
    10
    now i wasnt into GT 1 or 2 very much but 3 just changed my whole view of this series . its a driving sim done to pretty much perfection . you get over 500 cars a ton of tracks the controls are fantastic steering wheel or controler i found worked great. the graphics in there day looked fantastic and the music was pretty good some nice tracks like the cult's she sells sanctaury and more.now i wasnt into GT 1 or 2 very much but 3 just changed my whole view of this series . its a driving sim done to pretty much perfection . you get over 500 cars a ton of tracks the controls are fantastic steering wheel or controler i found worked great. the graphics in there day looked fantastic and the music was pretty good some nice tracks like the cult's she sells sanctaury and more. there are a ton of races in this game and to complete it will take you a long long time . i spent over 100 hours i9n this game and it stands to me the best racing game ever made . Expand
  6. May 9, 2016
    8
    Gran Turismo 3 A-Spec and NFS Underground are best Racing Games on PS2 . Gran Turismo 3 is one of the best game of 2001 in my opinion . Graphics in this game is very good for 2001 and Many Different real cars . Gran Turismo 3 A-Spec even better than Gran Turismo 4 . 8/10 .
  7. Oct 3, 2010
    10
    Incredible game, amazing graphics for the time and pretty much the best driving simulator that had come out at the time. This game had insane hype and it's one of those rare cases where a game this hyped lives up to it and then some.
  8. Apr 9, 2013
    10
    Ever since this game, every racing game has been compared to it. It's just the greatest racing game ever. So much has been rightfully said. If you have yet to play it, wtf
  9. Aug 19, 2010
    8
    I need to understand why there was so much hype for this game.Why did it get so high reviews?I've played it over and over,like I do all games before I review,and I took in account the year it came out,the innovations it had-everything.I have to tell you that this game does not deserve more than a straight up 8.That is the perfect score but everybody was so oooh and eeeh over thisI need to understand why there was so much hype for this game.Why did it get so high reviews?I've played it over and over,like I do all games before I review,and I took in account the year it came out,the innovations it had-everything.I have to tell you that this game does not deserve more than a straight up 8.That is the perfect score but everybody was so oooh and eeeh over this game.Same with the first one.Gran Turismo 2 is the best of the bunch,because it's game play was tight as can be with over 500 cars in 1999.also there was no competition against Gran turismo 3, at the time,at all.If there would of just been 1 good driving game back in 2001 it would of been a whole different story.Then Sega Gt 2002 came out which had nothing on this game until PGR 2 came out in 2003 and that was finally a driving game that took the crown from Gran Turismo 3-in a heartbeat!I know games and I know that this game in an 8 and who ever is reading this,if your interested in getting a driving game,simulation or not,get any of the 3 forza games or the burnout games,whatever is to your tastes.Don't get this unless you want to play a game for hours and hours and get no enjoyment from it.Like driving around the block for no reason,to go no where,get what I'm saying. Expand
  10. Nov 3, 2016
    9
    A truly revolutionary racing game for its time, all other Gran Turismos that came after didnt do anyhting as close as to what GT3 did. If only one bad thing i can tell bout GT3 then its the bloody grind.
  11. Sep 5, 2012
    8
    This was the only Gran Turismo I owned and I thought it was very good. The graphics at the time were phenomenal and the car selection was deep. I am not a fan of racing games as this was one of the only ones I've ever owned, but it was definitely a title worth having. The only downfall I think was that you had to do some pretty repetitive tasks to accumulate money. The big thing I wantedThis was the only Gran Turismo I owned and I thought it was very good. The graphics at the time were phenomenal and the car selection was deep. I am not a fan of racing games as this was one of the only ones I've ever owned, but it was definitely a title worth having. The only downfall I think was that you had to do some pretty repetitive tasks to accumulate money. The big thing I wanted to see in this game though that wasn't present was damage on the cars, I've been told that this would cost the creators too much? Expand
  12. Sep 21, 2010
    8
    Gran Turismo 3: A-Spec is a nice racing simulator game. The games graphics showcase what the PlayStation 2 can do, from the design of the cars (which are identical to their real life counterparts) to the lovely track design. The racing is smooth and the cars handle great. You can also tune them up with turbo's, better suspension and tyres. There are a selection of events to try out in theGran Turismo 3: A-Spec is a nice racing simulator game. The games graphics showcase what the PlayStation 2 can do, from the design of the cars (which are identical to their real life counterparts) to the lovely track design. The racing is smooth and the cars handle great. You can also tune them up with turbo's, better suspension and tyres. There are a selection of events to try out in the Simulation (Career) mode like endurance races, Formula 1 races (Fictional Polyphony designed F1 racers)and Rally stages. Also there is an arcade mode to try out if you want to have some fun or play some multiplayer. There are a nice selection of courses ranging from real life to fictional circuits like Laguna Seca and Deep Forest Raceway. A couple of complains though drag this game down: The endurance events are an eyesore and boring (some endurance events have you racing for 2.5 hours), the Test Course is a boring race track to race around (basically its just a big Oval) and no skill needed to drive round it, there are 150 cars or so to buy (or win) and race, which is considerably lower than the previous installment's 600 cars (Gran Turismo 2) and because there is no damage in the game, you can pretty much smash into other racers or walls and survive. However Gran Turismo 3 is a great racing game and should appeal to fans of car simulator games. Expand
  13. Jan 31, 2011
    10
    One of the best racing games ever made for the Playstation 2. Killer soundtrack, great graphics, and fast cars make this game legendary for the racing genre.
  14. May 29, 2012
    8
    Amazing third part of the series. As usual, includes more cars, more tracks and more features than previous games. However, GT3 don't have anything new aside from the amazing graphics. They could have implemented some kind of damage system, more night tracks or some weather effects. Still, the best racing game in PS2.
  15. Nov 6, 2014
    7
    It's an OK racing game, i enjoyed Gran Turismo 2 and 4 much more than 3. What i like about this game are the graphics, and some new cars and courses that never was on Gran Turismo 2, and great licenses.

    The racing on this game was too repetive, for example on many tournaments you will find the same 20 lap-course, it gets boring to play the same course 20 laps again and again...
  16. Jan 4, 2016
    10
    A PS2 Classic and absolutely amazing! Sleek menu interfaces, challenging, and tons of cars! Hours and hours of replay value. Gran Turismo 3 It never gets old.
  17. Oct 30, 2012
    10
    I remember this game well, it's still the best racing game that I've ever played. I've spent countless hours on this game for years. So many cars to buy, so many championships, I don't think I've ever got to complete it fully due to the difficulty to gain the 'S' license, but the game itself is so diverse. There's something for everyone. Highly enjoyable, beautiful songs, beautifulI remember this game well, it's still the best racing game that I've ever played. I've spent countless hours on this game for years. So many cars to buy, so many championships, I don't think I've ever got to complete it fully due to the difficulty to gain the 'S' license, but the game itself is so diverse. There's something for everyone. Highly enjoyable, beautiful songs, beautiful graphics for 2001.. A triumph. Expand
  18. Oct 8, 2014
    10
    This is the best racing game i have ever played!
    featuring over 180 cars, with an incredible graphics (for a ps2 game).
    the physics is really great.
    this game is really the first GT game that change my life forever.
    ive even learned to drive from gt3.
    the best racing game that i have ever played (over 400 hours on it)
  19. Sep 23, 2016
    10
    perfect************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************
  20. Jul 10, 2013
    4
    I can't wrap my head around that this game has a 95 on Metacritic. Gran Turismo 3: A-Spec is just plain overrated. The visuals, car designs, and soundtrack are really good, but that's all. The controls are awkward and sluggish. When you move left (or right), you are locked in moving left until you move right. You try it for yourself and see how it is. But I must be seeing things because II can't wrap my head around that this game has a 95 on Metacritic. Gran Turismo 3: A-Spec is just plain overrated. The visuals, car designs, and soundtrack are really good, but that's all. The controls are awkward and sluggish. When you move left (or right), you are locked in moving left until you move right. You try it for yourself and see how it is. But I must be seeing things because I think I'm the only one who's mentioned this. You might say that I need a better car (since I just started playing), but that right there is another problem. Any drivingracing game should never be that dependent on the car selection. That is a life lesson on racing games. Expand
  21. ToddT.
    Aug 7, 2001
    3
    Great graphics, but lacked something. Found the game to be very boring. Owned it for 5 days and traded it in for "Wild Wild Racing," which is a totally awesome and underrated game!!
  22. NateMiracle
    Jan 2, 2003
    10
    New, phat, fast cars. Better graphics, and music. Additional tracks but only 150+ cars. but still an addictive racing game!
  23. JamieR.
    Jun 10, 2007
    5
    This game is no where near as good as gt4 and i can't believe people are saying it is. To start off with it takes a while to get going since you only have 18K to start with and you can only get one decent car which handles rubbish anyway. And the endurance races are anoying because you have to drive all of it. And the variety of cars okay but again not as good gt4. So basically if This game is no where near as good as gt4 and i can't believe people are saying it is. To start off with it takes a while to get going since you only have 18K to start with and you can only get one decent car which handles rubbish anyway. And the endurance races are anoying because you have to drive all of it. And the variety of cars okay but again not as good gt4. So basically if you are looking for a good racing sim, forget GT3, get GT4. Expand
  24. SashaK.
    Dec 1, 2001
    8
    GT3 kicks ass! What is up with all these formulas and stuff? From GT 1 all the way up the game was based on typical cars racing like the scca. While the graphics in part 3 are amazing I miss the 500 car selection from part 2. Cars that no one cares about have been put in this game for no reason they took out the Eclipse which was in the lineup in both of earlier parts. IN part 2 a certain GT3 kicks ass! What is up with all these formulas and stuff? From GT 1 all the way up the game was based on typical cars racing like the scca. While the graphics in part 3 are amazing I miss the 500 car selection from part 2. Cars that no one cares about have been put in this game for no reason they took out the Eclipse which was in the lineup in both of earlier parts. IN part 2 a certain amount of hp is allowed in every race and that was cool because it kept a challenge in the game. While talks about tougher A.I I?ve had no problem with the game. The soundtrack is terrible there is no real racing music. Rock is NOT racing music Techno and some rap IS racing music. But all an all GT3 could have seen a LOT better but its still a great game. Expand
  25. DavidS.
    Aug 30, 2001
    8
    Overall, the game is beatiful! Great graphics, sounds, and lighting effects. There aren't as many cars as before, but 150+ is still plenty. On the downside, it takes way too long to acquire enough money for a car that competes. Also, I'm disappointed that the used car lot is gone now. It's a great game, but it feels like the first GT with better graphics. Nothing new here, Overall, the game is beatiful! Great graphics, sounds, and lighting effects. There aren't as many cars as before, but 150+ is still plenty. On the downside, it takes way too long to acquire enough money for a car that competes. Also, I'm disappointed that the used car lot is gone now. It's a great game, but it feels like the first GT with better graphics. Nothing new here, but I'd still recommend it! Expand
  26. BrianB.
    Jan 7, 2002
    10
    Just bought this game and I can't put the damn controller down, I haven't put any other game in my ps2 since.
  27. B.S.
    Oct 9, 2002
    9
    Great but the shadows that go over your car sometimes really bug me! You should rent before you buy... There really isn't to much to say about a perfect game.
  28. EdwinM.
    Jun 30, 2002
    10
    This game, although flawed in some ways, is the best console racing game I have ever played. The physics are great. The graphics are good, though not as good as, say, Project Gotham Racing or RalliSport Challenge for the XBOX. There are nowhere near as many cars as in GT2, and the ability to do racing modification is missed. There is also no used car lot. The AI could use some work, but This game, although flawed in some ways, is the best console racing game I have ever played. The physics are great. The graphics are good, though not as good as, say, Project Gotham Racing or RalliSport Challenge for the XBOX. There are nowhere near as many cars as in GT2, and the ability to do racing modification is missed. There is also no used car lot. The AI could use some work, but it's not all that bad. Overall, this is a great game. All that's left to say is: Bring on Gran Turismo 4!!! Expand
  29. RobertG.
    Aug 1, 2002
    10
    This game rocks! Yeah, it's hard at first to get money... but hey, THAT'S LIFE! You just have to stick to it... after a week, I was to the point where I was winning all the cool, fast cars. NISSAN SKYLINES RULE!!!
  30. Beavis
    Feb 20, 2003
    10
    Cool.

Awards & Rankings

#5 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2001
#2 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2001
Metascore
95

Universal acclaim - based on 54 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 53 out of 54
  2. Negative: 0 out of 54
  1. GT3 simply is one of the best looking racers to date on any system. In fact, it's one of the best looking games available for the PS2, even being two years past its initial release date.
  2. Better physics, smarter opponents, and a huge leap in its visual presentation make GT3 a racer well worth playing.
  3. The gameplay is rock solid and the graphical upgrade makes everything feel fresh and new.