Grand Theft Auto III PlayStation 2

User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 649 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 57 out of 649
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 12, 2013
    9
    As a game Grand Theft Auto III certainly has its flaws’, including fairly poor controls as well as some horrendous difficulty spikes. Very few games however claim to be as influential on video game design to the point where, more than a decade after its release, games are still imitating its formula.
  2. Nov 7, 2011
    10
    This is an infinitely replayable game that has so much to do. You are crazy if you don't like this game. It is so fun because you can do anything in this game, whether it is free roaming the Liberty City streets or playing the missions.
  3. Jul 30, 2012
    5
    This is of course one of the greatest games of all time both in its own merits and for its innovations for gaming as a whole. Unfortunately however, the PS2 controls make this game extremely awkward to play. nlike the PC version, you can't choose between classic and PC-style controls. Obviously this game would be much easier with a mouse and keyboard but despite the auto-aim even the startThis is of course one of the greatest games of all time both in its own merits and for its innovations for gaming as a whole. Unfortunately however, the PS2 controls make this game extremely awkward to play. nlike the PC version, you can't choose between classic and PC-style controls. Obviously this game would be much easier with a mouse and keyboard but despite the auto-aim even the start of the game can be difficult due to the awkward camera (both in car and on foot), clunky movement and looking around. To turn the camera you go into first person and can't do anything, and the sensitivity is too low. The game is an iconic masterpiece but the controls make it almost unplayable. It owuld be nice to at least be able to use the PC style controls with a controller. Expand
  4. Mar 27, 2012
    9
    GTA III is a classic , Rockstar's creativity to make an open-world/sandbox game at that time was innovative. You can send hours goofing on the streets killing,destroying or crashing cars , set with an interesting story that will not be forgotten for those that payed attention. GTA III delivers enough to satisfy last generation and current/future generation alike.
  5. Oct 3, 2010
    9
    The game that transformed the genre and the industry~ I remember staying at a friends place, me and a few others taking turns to play this game I could never forget how much fun this game has brought me over time and how long it stayed relevant and fun.
  6. Mar 16, 2013
    10
    Cool am Ivan is 0% right. GTA III is the best PlayStation 2 game ever so dont listen to um..."Cool" am Ivan. The story-line is breathtaking and has a awesome set of missions, including Toni Cipriani!
  7. Jul 29, 2013
    4
    A mediocre shooter/gangster game where you can kill people on the streets without any reason. I would say, games like this should be banned because they teach kids that being a criminal is fun. And that's a dangerous thing. Criminals should be in prison, that's the normal state of events, and you should teach kids that.
  8. Oct 30, 2013
    8
    the two firsts gta games were nothing special,but in the third game and with another generation they made something really special and terrific,this game would change this series forever.
  9. Oct 19, 2014
    9
    Players are put at the heart of their very own gangster movie, and let loose in a fully-realised 3 dimensional city with a cast of hundreds, 50 plus vehicles, ranging from sports cars to ice cream trucks and from boats to buses, 3 hours of music, including opera, reggae, house, drum and bass, pop and disco, and a huge array of street ready weapons.
  10. Sep 28, 2015
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. If Someone Were To Play This Game, Having Played Grand Theft Auto IV And it's Subsequent Add-Ons You Would Definitely See! How Dated And Sloppy Some Areas Of Grand Theft Auto III Can Be. But At The Time Of It's Release, It Was An Absolute Landmark In Gaming. It Set The Standard For Open World Games As Know It And Introduced Gameplay Elements That Are Now Common Ground. It Can Be Hard To Appreciate This Game As Much As Expand
  11. Dec 4, 2012
    10
    **** yeah, **** I played this when I was six and I swear to god, I saw Jesus. Maybe not literally but I saw what video games could be. I saw what every gamer should see. It's amazing.
  12. Dec 16, 2012
    7
    Amazing game. Good graphics and big city, for its times, and very good plot. The gameplay is great because you can do a lot of things (although it isn't even comparable to GTA San Andreas). 100% recommended.
  13. Jul 25, 2016
    8
    It's a fun game, but not by today's standards. It's very fun, but the driving is clunky and the voice acting feels really raw. It's a fun game to f*ck around in, but the story is lack luster.
    The graphics are nice for it's time, and how big the game is.
  14. Jan 1, 2014
    8
    Grand Theft Auto 3 was a huge leap forward for videogame history as it featured one of the first fully 3D open world environments and a good story mode.
  15. May 21, 2016
    4
    GTA 3 is a terrible game. Compared to any of the other 3D GTA games, this is by far the worst. I get that it is one of the pioneers, but that doesn't change any of my criticisms for the game. The main character doesn't even talk, he just follows orders from whoever tells him what to do. The driving experience is poor as well. Cars take damage far too easily, and when a car flips over, itGTA 3 is a terrible game. Compared to any of the other 3D GTA games, this is by far the worst. I get that it is one of the pioneers, but that doesn't change any of my criticisms for the game. The main character doesn't even talk, he just follows orders from whoever tells him what to do. The driving experience is poor as well. Cars take damage far too easily, and when a car flips over, it explodes. You can't even swim in this game! The controls are a mess, and by far the worst aspect of the game is the gun controls. You can't even freely aim your gun! The main character just holds it at is waist and it looks like he is fapping instead of shooting a gun. Overall this is a horrible game. Play Vice City or Liberty City Stories instead. Expand
  16. Sep 30, 2015
    8
    When the game Grand Theft Auto (1997) came out on the original Playstation, it was an amazing game but with a top down view which I really didn't like. A few years later the amazing game Driver (1999) came out and I remember how impressed I was with that game's freedom to drive anywhere you want in the city in full 3D! Then came GTA III for the PS2, which combined the excellent gameplay ofWhen the game Grand Theft Auto (1997) came out on the original Playstation, it was an amazing game but with a top down view which I really didn't like. A few years later the amazing game Driver (1999) came out and I remember how impressed I was with that game's freedom to drive anywhere you want in the city in full 3D! Then came GTA III for the PS2, which combined the excellent gameplay of GTA with the 3D view of Driver.

    The graphics and sound were great for that time. I loved the many radio channels in the car (opera music!).
    The camera position was sometimes annoying; I particularely didn't like how the view changed to first person view when you wanted to look around. The controls were decent but a lot of times i was shooting at another person than the one i intended to shoot.

    The game has aged quite well and is still a lot of fun to play, but it was surpassed in every way by its successors GTA Vice City and GTA San Andreas.

    I didn't like the dark and gloomy colors of GTA III, it looked like it was dark and raining almost all the time. GTA Vice City threw the darkness out of the window and chose for bright colors. GTA San Andreas added the great multi-player option for two gamers on one screen, swimming, more vehicles and planes etc... but GTA III was the game that made the first step towards the title of best game series in the history of gaming.

    For that reason I rate this game 8 out of 10.
    Expand
  17. Sep 29, 2013
    10
    Si bien para mí "Grand Theft Auto" empezó en Vice City, "Grand Theft Auto III" es legendario y digno de cualquier espectador que siga disfrutando de una de mis consolas favoritas: la legendaria PlayStation 2, y ¿Por qué es mi favorita? Porque juegos como "Gand Theft Auto III" se presentaron para esta increíble consola. Impresionante lo que se es capaz de hacer en este mapa y me acuerdoSi bien para mí "Grand Theft Auto" empezó en Vice City, "Grand Theft Auto III" es legendario y digno de cualquier espectador que siga disfrutando de una de mis consolas favoritas: la legendaria PlayStation 2, y ¿Por qué es mi favorita? Porque juegos como "Gand Theft Auto III" se presentaron para esta increíble consola. Impresionante lo que se es capaz de hacer en este mapa y me acuerdo hace mucho tiempo la primera vez que lo jugué casi estaba por llorar porque directamente era hermoso lo que pasaba por mis ojos. "Grand Theft Auto" manda. Expand
  18. Jul 5, 2016
    5
    Sorry, but I didn't like this game so much. Yeah, I am not an oldschool gamer who tried this title firstly 10 years ago. My first playtime was approximately 3 years ago and that time I didn't enjoy GTA III. After that, I finally completed the storyline and still didn't enjoy the game. I have to admit that this GTA was one of the worst I have played. Seriously, I was not into GTA III.Sorry, but I didn't like this game so much. Yeah, I am not an oldschool gamer who tried this title firstly 10 years ago. My first playtime was approximately 3 years ago and that time I didn't enjoy GTA III. After that, I finally completed the storyline and still didn't enjoy the game. I have to admit that this GTA was one of the worst I have played. Seriously, I was not into GTA III. Sorry, it's just my opinion. It is not interesting as GTA SA is. Expand
  19. Apr 7, 2011
    9
    One of the very first games I ever played. I can remember many a weekend playing this game endlessly. It was fun, the cars were cool, the missions were rewarding and it had one of the most important devices in any GTA game; the idea of being able to go wherever you want, when you want and do what you want. Whether I was blasting pedestrians with a shotgun, doing an insane stunt or beingOne of the very first games I ever played. I can remember many a weekend playing this game endlessly. It was fun, the cars were cool, the missions were rewarding and it had one of the most important devices in any GTA game; the idea of being able to go wherever you want, when you want and do what you want. Whether I was blasting pedestrians with a shotgun, doing an insane stunt or being chased by the police, this game always had a special place in my heart. Only drawback was that even for 2001, the graphics looked primitive. But apart from that, the best GTA on the PS2. Expand
  20. Sep 20, 2013
    10
    GTA III is the 3rd installment in the GTA series. The game remains one of the most contrevisial games ever, the game is violent and cool, the story is the best thing about the game and the gameplay now isn't that unique and the graphics is what everybody is about but this game came out in 2001 and those were the best graphics for those years. GTA III is an amazing game and it's incrediblyGTA III is the 3rd installment in the GTA series. The game remains one of the most contrevisial games ever, the game is violent and cool, the story is the best thing about the game and the gameplay now isn't that unique and the graphics is what everybody is about but this game came out in 2001 and those were the best graphics for those years. GTA III is an amazing game and it's incredibly alot and I mean alot of fun. 10/10 Expand
  21. Dec 27, 2013
    10
    I sold my n 64 and 30 some odd games plus a ps1 and some more games to buy a PS2 and GTA 3. It was worth it. I Love how revolutionary this game was. I brought open real worlds gaming to the millennium. Boy gaming wise this started will an earthquake that shocked the gaming industry. One of the most innovative titles i have ever had the grace to play. Plus the main character does not haveI sold my n 64 and 30 some odd games plus a ps1 and some more games to buy a PS2 and GTA 3. It was worth it. I Love how revolutionary this game was. I brought open real worlds gaming to the millennium. Boy gaming wise this started will an earthquake that shocked the gaming industry. One of the most innovative titles i have ever had the grace to play. Plus the main character does not have an annoying voice nor does he say cheesy cliches. Expand
  22. Apr 12, 2016
    0
    For this game's fault i haven't touched videogames in 20 years, the characters are ugly, the driving sucks, the shooting sucks, the roaming sucks, this game is about nothing, thanks to this game, the industry it's in the sorry state it's in now.
  23. Mar 22, 2015
    8
    The days before Grand Theft Auto became a world of sexual themes was certainly a good one even if I am now shaking my head at the amount of strong language featured here. The graphics here are a bit under par if I do say so myself but the gameplay itself is top notch. Grand Theft Auto III is quite simply put a fun romp through a huge city. It's incredibly innovate yet outlandish at theThe days before Grand Theft Auto became a world of sexual themes was certainly a good one even if I am now shaking my head at the amount of strong language featured here. The graphics here are a bit under par if I do say so myself but the gameplay itself is top notch. Grand Theft Auto III is quite simply put a fun romp through a huge city. It's incredibly innovate yet outlandish at the same time and that is what defines GTA. Expand
  24. May 13, 2016
    10
    Самая значимая игра в серии и одна из самых значимых вообще в игровой индустрии. Одна из первых игр, которая продвинула PS2. Первая 3D-игра в серии. Незамысловатый простой сюжет, где грабителя по имени Клод, предала Каталина. Естественно главный герой хочет отомстить. Этого он и пытается добиться в течении всей игры. Ему придется стать водителем, наёмником, убийцей. Он всё сделает радиСамая значимая игра в серии и одна из самых значимых вообще в игровой индустрии. Одна из первых игр, которая продвинула PS2. Первая 3D-игра в серии. Незамысловатый простой сюжет, где грабителя по имени Клод, предала Каталина. Естественно главный герой хочет отомстить. Этого он и пытается добиться в течении всей игры. Ему придется стать водителем, наёмником, убийцей. Он всё сделает ради денег. Геймплей тоже порадовал. Теперь это открытый мир без коридора, где можешь делать всё что захочешь. Графика на PS2-версии устарела, но всё равно ту мрачную атмосферу не передать словами. Абсолютно 10/10. Expand
  25. Jan 1, 2012
    10
    If someone were to play this game, having played GTAIV and its subsequent add-ons, you would definitely see how dated and sloppy some areas of GTAIII can be. But at the time of its release, it was an absolute landmark in gaming. It set the standard for open world games as know it and introduced game-play elements that are now common ground. It can be hard to appreciate this game as much asIf someone were to play this game, having played GTAIV and its subsequent add-ons, you would definitely see how dated and sloppy some areas of GTAIII can be. But at the time of its release, it was an absolute landmark in gaming. It set the standard for open world games as know it and introduced game-play elements that are now common ground. It can be hard to appreciate this game as much as it should be appreciated, considering it is definitely outdated nowadays, but respect is still deserved for one of the greatest games ever made. Bring on GTA5! Expand
  26. Dec 14, 2011
    10
    When i heard this was coming out for the PS2, i turned my nose up at it. I wasn't a GTA fan i hated the birds-eye view. After a few months of my cousin pestering me to get it off my friend, i did. I tell you now i loved it, i have NEVER EVER played a game where its ok to cruise, listen to music and kill people. This game was brilliant. The maps were huge, the missions vaired. The rise fromWhen i heard this was coming out for the PS2, i turned my nose up at it. I wasn't a GTA fan i hated the birds-eye view. After a few months of my cousin pestering me to get it off my friend, i did. I tell you now i loved it, i have NEVER EVER played a game where its ok to cruise, listen to music and kill people. This game was brilliant. The maps were huge, the missions vaired. The rise from a street punk to a top gangster was just pure brilliance. Expand
  27. Mar 10, 2012
    7
    This Game Is Alright For Gamers. I Would Rather Play This Game If I Had Nothing To Do Though. But It Is A Good Game. i Just Wish The Voice, Sound And Lighting Would Improve.
  28. Apr 16, 2013
    10
    Grand Theft Auto III is, quite simply, one of the greatest video game accomplishments in history. It single-handedly invented the sandbox genre, and it's my favorite video game of all time. It gets nearly everything it tries to do right, and in doing so, made history. The open ended gameplay is always fun, but that's what most people focus on, but who could blame them? Before GTA III,Grand Theft Auto III is, quite simply, one of the greatest video game accomplishments in history. It single-handedly invented the sandbox genre, and it's my favorite video game of all time. It gets nearly everything it tries to do right, and in doing so, made history. The open ended gameplay is always fun, but that's what most people focus on, but who could blame them? Before GTA III, gamers had never played anything like this before. However, there is a story here revolving around structured missions that shouldn't be missed. GTA III combines action/adventure and driving games flawlessly. With its respectable amount of vehicle and weapon choices, alongside the size of the map and the progressively tougher story missions, this is an extremely varied game that will almost sate anyone's appetite for a lengthy adventure to sink their teeth into. The story itself is, admittedly, nothing special, but with the sheer size of this game (for its time), to even incorporate a flowing narrative is, without a doubt, something to marvel. That's basically how I saw this game when it was released; something I was absolutely in awe at. The controls are spot on for driving, walking around, punching random pedestrians, etc., but the targeting system for aiming weapons will leave a bad taste with some gamers. Does that make it bad? No. Once you learn how to use it (along with conserving health and armor) you can get through any mission with minimal trouble. Any reviewer who could possibly label this masterpiece as a bad game simply has no business reviewing video games. That Sleeping Dogs, Crackdown, Infamous games you've been playing? All of those owe GTA III, big time. This game is the blueprint for sandbox games, and a damn fine model to go from, at that. Even games like the Tony Hawk franchise took note of the open world design in later entries, and it's hard to say that GTA III didn't have a hand in inspiring any of the games I've mentioned above. It's simply a monumental title that must be played by anyone who's mature enough to handle its visceral, gritty violence. I'll be the first to admit that it's not perfect, but it's so, so close to it, and is easily my favorite game in the GTA series. I'd even dare say that if you give this game a bad review, you had no business playing video games in general. GTA III has so much great going for it, you'll easily overlook the bad if you simply just take the time to get used to it. Which sadly, a minority of people won't. Their loss. 10/10. Expand
  29. Aug 22, 2010
    9
    Too all those people who are calling the game bad: Sure, everything about GTA III is dated. The graphics are horrible by todays standard. The AI is, too. But when GTA III first came out, it was revolutionary. It's still a great game, and fun just to run around the city and get a six star wanted level. It's still a very good game, by 2001's standards.
  30. Sep 25, 2013
    10
    EN: Grand Theft Auto III isn't just a superb game, he's also the most influential and revolutionary title of its generation and was able to become the ground zero of modern third-person gaming.

    PT-BR: Grand Theft Auto III não só um jogo soberbo, ele também o título mais influente e revolucionário de sua geração e foi capaz de se tornar o marco zero dos jogos modernos em terceira pessra
    EN: Grand Theft Auto III isn't just a superb game, he's also the most influential and revolutionary title of its generation and was able to become the ground zero of modern third-person gaming.

    PT-BR: Grand Theft Auto III não só um jogo soberbo, ele também o título mais influente e revolucionário de sua geração e foi capaz de se tornar o marco zero dos jogos modernos em terceira pessra pessoa
    Expand

Awards & Rankings

#3 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2001
#1 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2001
Metascore
97

Universal acclaim - based on 56 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 56 out of 56
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 56
  3. Negative: 0 out of 56
  1. The end-all, be-all of console action games. Period...For me GTA3 is the best action game I have ever played on a console system and I highly recommend it to adults (the intended audience of this game) who know the difference between good and evil.
  2. An insanely deep game that offers a lot to do outside of the 70+ missions. If you understand that it's just a game and that these selfsame actions are not healthy in the real world, you'll enjoy a well-developed world disguised as a deviously fun game.
  3. Next Generation Magazine
    80
    Adding to the frustration is the fact that your targeting system is practically useless, and the vehicle physics model is annoyingly floaty. [Jan 2002, p.78]