Grand Theft Auto III PlayStation 2

User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 637 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 57 out of 637
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. PsychoMantis
    Mar 11, 2002
    10
    A greeeaaat game, lotsa replay value in this title, very nice "radio stations" you can select while in a vehicle, one minor gripe though, the graphics could be better, but considering the scale and fun of this title it's very easily forgiven A+!!!!
  2. PhilW.
    Mar 1, 2002
    10
    I think it's just endless fun which doesn't lack anything.
  3. BrookU.
    Mar 4, 2002
    10
    I'm speechless. This game is amazing.
  4. DaveE.
    Apr 11, 2002
    9
    This is a totally amazing game. The missions vary widely and never get boring, and almost all of them have multiple solutions. This game loses points for a slightly 'floaty' physics engine, and a nearly unusable targeting system. Despite these drawbacks, this title is a must-buy for any PS2 owner.
  5. JonD.
    Apr 16, 2002
    10
    This game is the best in the world. I like running over the person's car you just stole.
  6. IanWendt
    Apr 3, 2002
    10
    this is the best game for playstation 2. Why? Cuz you get to pick up sluts and fuck their brains out. Yes yes i know im a nymphomaniac, but what straight guy isnt? The best part is using the cheat that lets you be a slut and then pick up a slut so they can have lesbo sex!!! Awesome isnt it?
  7. Jimbob
    Jun 10, 2002
    10
    The best game ever, although when I took to a pimp on the side of the road with my baseball bat, he didn't drop money like in the game.
  8. CrisC.
    Jun 21, 2002
    10
    Suppa. Naturally Suppa!
  9. EstebanB.
    Jun 2, 2002
    10
    One of the best games created, since who knows what.
  10. Steve
    Jun 2, 2002
    10
    Do yourself a favor -- if you don't own this game, go buy it. Trust me, you will NOT regret it. Has to be one of the best all time games
  11. SimonO.
    Jun 22, 2002
    10
    This is the best game in the world to ps2, I played it in a store for free and now I have the game at home. It is just addictive!!
  12. J.Bob
    Jun 25, 2002
    10
    One word, AWESOME.
  13. JasonL.
    Jul 11, 2002
    10
    Hey gamemakers, if you produce games like this you will make a lot of money, it is that simple. PLEASE don't change the sequel too much.
  14. UmbertoM.
    Jul 25, 2002
    10
    There is only one thing to say about this game... awesome. The sense of freedom that it gives you cannot be described. GTA III and Medal of Honor Frontline must be owned by anyone. Frankly it's quite impossible to reach their greatness.
  15. J.Lowell
    Jul 8, 2002
    10
    THIS GAME ROCKS! I can't wait for the next one!!!!!! buy this game.
  16. ConsuelaS.
    Mar 11, 2003
    10
    Grand Theft Auto 3 is the best game ever envented. I am really hooked on the game when I play it. My cousin always yells at me for staying on it too long and but I end up having to get of off the game because my cousin ends up beating me up. Thankyou for taking the time to read my comments,
  17. E.G.
    Mar 17, 2003
    3
    The worst graphics I've ever seen. NICE FLIPPER HANDS!!!!!! What a joke. What happened to realism??? Rockstar needs to learn from ubi soft (splinter cell ring a bell??)
  18. DarylR.
    Mar 7, 2003
    9
    This game was the greatest game ever with GTA Vice City!!!!!!!
  19. JoneB.
    Apr 23, 2003
    1
    This game get's an 1 fore it's violence, the rest sucks.
  20. ScottV.
    May 27, 2003
    10
    It's the best game ever made PERIOD!!!!!!!
  21. DonnyF.
    Aug 8, 2003
    10
    This game is awesome for those who say it sucks YOU SUCK!!!!!!
  22. AndyS.
    Dec 29, 2004
    7
    This is definitely a great game, but when it comes to the story, just like the other GTA's, it's not to addctive. All in all, the gam is good, but it needs more color. Comparing it to the new GTA's, Vice City, as well as San Andreas, it doesn't even make a 6.5.
  23. AndrewJ.
    Jan 31, 2004
    9
    A lot of fun.
  24. PIRANHAg.
    Jan 7, 2004
    10
    Rockstar guys I LUV YOU. Simply Perfect.
  25. JasonB.
    Nov 16, 2005
    8
    The criminal underworld backdrop is always fun to have as a storyline, but the gameplay of GTA 3 is fun with or without it.
  26. MarkG.
    Jan 21, 2005
    10
    A classic title that should be in every gamer's collection. Its success is evident in the endless clones and comparisons that continue even today. Replayability well beyond hundreds of hours.
  27. MikelR.
    Jun 4, 2005
    10
    How could you not like it?
  28. EdwardB.
    Sep 7, 2005
    5
    I have a love hate relationship with this game. Love: Great big cities with many areas to search. Love: Ability to shoot,crash, burn, bash and destroy. Love: realistic environment Love: Ability to steal cars and drive fast as hell and smash and run over people and things. Hate: Radio- horrible music repetitive turned it off second day playing. Hate: Repetitive sayings of pedistrians over I have a love hate relationship with this game. Love: Great big cities with many areas to search. Love: Ability to shoot,crash, burn, bash and destroy. Love: realistic environment Love: Ability to steal cars and drive fast as hell and smash and run over people and things. Hate: Radio- horrible music repetitive turned it off second day playing. Hate: Repetitive sayings of pedistrians over and over they say the same thing by the end of the game if you hear, "my mothers my sister" one more time .... your going to kill someone. Hate: Most missions are just too dam hard..period. I repeat get ready to be unbelivably frustrated and pissed. To add insult to injury when you dont succed on missions (there are many you will not succeed on -like all of them) you have to drive back to the mission trigger location so by the 10th time of doing a mission ( some missions take over 10 to 15 minutes) your swearing more then the game. Hate: Cops are too aggressive they progressively get worse up to 6 levels but by level 2 to 3 they dont stop coming. You cant outrun them as they pop out of no where...unlike Driver which you can. Hate: Targeting system on guns ....this is crap A enemy can be right on you and you cant get him. If mulitple enemie s gather around you forget it. This all adds up to a incredibly frustrating and annoying game...I played Hitman2, rockstars MANHUNT, and the Suffering right before this game and I do not know how this got a higher rating then these other games. I can't see someone playing this game for more then a month and not throwing up -this game gets very repetitive. I played it for two weeks, using cheats ( you will too or you'll be playing it for a year ) and getting 70% that was way enough for me...forever. Expand
  29. BrianD.
    Jan 4, 2006
    1
    Horrible game. The controls are clunky and the story might as well have been made by a 5 year old. It gets 1 point because killing random people is fun for about 4-5 hours, but even mass homicide gets old quick in this game.
  30. JamesN.
    Apr 19, 2006
    4
    I never understood this game. The one thing I will give it credit for is the incredibly in-depth world it allows you to explore. But there is nothing more than that. I get a little tired of the "let's shoot everything" formula. And the story was never all that great. I love violence, but this just gets redundant. This game was not the revolutionary game everyone made it out to be. I never understood this game. The one thing I will give it credit for is the incredibly in-depth world it allows you to explore. But there is nothing more than that. I get a little tired of the "let's shoot everything" formula. And the story was never all that great. I love violence, but this just gets redundant. This game was not the revolutionary game everyone made it out to be. And game developers, please stop trying to copy this game, it's been done to hell. Expand
  31. LouisM.
    Aug 20, 2006
    6
    Mediocre. I picked it up after having much experience with GTAs 1 and 2, with high expectations. The environment is detailed, varied, interesting, and with passable interactivity. There's a wonderful variety and sufficient volume of music included. The missions, however, are abysmal. Perhaps the worst I have ever seen in a game. Almost all are incredibly formulaic, and amount to "go Mediocre. I picked it up after having much experience with GTAs 1 and 2, with high expectations. The environment is detailed, varied, interesting, and with passable interactivity. There's a wonderful variety and sufficient volume of music included. The missions, however, are abysmal. Perhaps the worst I have ever seen in a game. Almost all are incredibly formulaic, and amount to "go to these locations with this time limit". Some missions must be thoroughly scoped (i.e., memorizing the positions of all important locations you must visit) and thus retried many times before victory is even possible, which to me seems ludacrous. Also, I'm very fond of GTA2, so I think the "respect" system and choice of gang you show your allegiance to was much more effective and advanced than the mission structure of this game, which is far more linear. Also, skirmishes between gangs on the streets do not occur often enough. Having to go through enemy territory on certain missions while being shot up is incredibly frustrating, given the already often excessive difficulty. The mechanics (especially shooting) are poorly designed and frustrating. Also, the inability to simply start a mission again from the beginning with the same equipment is bizzare. It's an okay game on the whole, but was and still is incredibly overrated and overappreciated. I really don't see how such a flawed game recieved such universally high reviews. Expand
  32. PhilipP.
    Jan 24, 2007
    10
    The reason I give a ten is not because its the best game out because it isn't but because I really thing this game changed the revolution of the gaming world it was amazing and still is 10/10.
  33. JesusC.
    Oct 9, 2007
    7
    It's a decent game, but it's also a little stale a little more than 4 hours in.
  34. JohnS.
    Feb 24, 2007
    8
    This game is pretty good, but not perfect. Good use of open-endedness though. Cool Am Ivan, there is no Boggsville. Theres a ghost area that was used for the opening act of GTA 3, but it isnt solid and can be gotten there by dodo going north of shorside vale. There is no blacksmith and no swords and no boss battle there. Don't believe this liar. And the game doesn't suck, either.
  35. DashelJ.
    Jul 27, 2007
    3
    Grand Theft Auto III and its successors comprise the worst examples of controversy mistaken for ingenuity that the gaming industry has ever seen. If you block out the hype and the imbecilic reviews in an honest attempt to judge this game for what it is worth, you would surely arrive at a score no more than 2 or 3 points higher than the one I have submitted. Beyond the initial draw of Grand Theft Auto III and its successors comprise the worst examples of controversy mistaken for ingenuity that the gaming industry has ever seen. If you block out the hype and the imbecilic reviews in an honest attempt to judge this game for what it is worth, you would surely arrive at a score no more than 2 or 3 points higher than the one I have submitted. Beyond the initial draw of 'something unexpected' and the occasional recurrence of a shamefully base desire to clumsily, chaotically, and downright ridiculously murder heaps of random clones wandering the drab streets of Liberty City, I can think of nothing worthy of praise in this over-inflated piece of trash. Expand
  36. Kewlkat
    Aug 22, 2007
    9
    "Beyond the initial draw of 'something unexpected' and the occasional recurrence of a shamefully base desire to clumsily, chaotically, and downright ridiculously murder heaps of random clones wandering the drab streets of Liberty City, I can think of nothing worthy of praise in this over-inflated piece of trash." If you understood a single word I quoted above, than this game is"Beyond the initial draw of 'something unexpected' and the occasional recurrence of a shamefully base desire to clumsily, chaotically, and downright ridiculously murder heaps of random clones wandering the drab streets of Liberty City, I can think of nothing worthy of praise in this over-inflated piece of trash." If you understood a single word I quoted above, than this game is too much fun for you. Sorry. :( Expand
  37. SteveS
    Feb 26, 2008
    10
    The fact is, GTA III is the video game equivalent of Nirvana's Nevermind. This is the one that broke the mold and changed the entire industry. Love it or hate it, you have to appreciate the fact that GTA III is just as important as Super Mario Bros., The Legend of Zelda, Pac-Man or Space Invaders.
  38. MatthewC.
    Apr 26, 2008
    10
    I'm only 10 but i like all GTA games and this is the first GTA game i ever played and it's awesome!!!! I'm getting a PSP and GTA Liberty City Stories and Vice City Stories for my birth day which is in less than 2 weeks. This is a Must have game!!!
  39. MikeB
    Dec 29, 2009
    7
    This was a good game considering the time it was made. GTA 3 can't be compared to GTA SanAndreas or GTA4, because of graphics and range of vehicles, and weapons. People who are saying it is bad are most likely comparing it to brand new games. If you compare it to games that were made in that time period, you will probally find it is a good game. It could use some work though, like This was a good game considering the time it was made. GTA 3 can't be compared to GTA SanAndreas or GTA4, because of graphics and range of vehicles, and weapons. People who are saying it is bad are most likely comparing it to brand new games. If you compare it to games that were made in that time period, you will probally find it is a good game. It could use some work though, like your character doesn't even talk in GTA3. Expand
  40. TenzinR
    Aug 15, 2009
    10
    One of the best game ever! Brought meaning to the term sandbox game, it didnt invent it but it perfected it. The reason I bought my ps2 plain and simple
  41. EricS.
    Nov 28, 2001
    10
    An awesome game, I know it's on my X-mas list!
  42. Lod
    Nov 4, 2001
    10
    From the moment I started playing this game, I couldn't stop! It's an amazing experience, and I would suggest it to everyone with a PS2. In my opinion, GTA3 already has a place with the greatest games of all time.
  43. RanceM.
    Dec 13, 2001
    10
    I would have rated it a 100 but could not. This game is the shiznittlebombbangdiggity.
  44. AliceL.
    Dec 17, 2001
    10
    I don't care what other people say, there is absolutely nothing in this game I could possibly think that can be improved. The game life alone made me give this a ten, not including graphics, story line, cars, weapons, etc. etc. This game is awesome!
  45. ShavarM.
    Dec 21, 2001
    10
    This is the bomb of 2001/2002.
  46. ChrisC.
    Dec 23, 2001
    10
    Off the chain!!! Music from "Scarface," Mafia terms all the good sh*t! The ultimate gangsta game!
  47. DennyD.
    Dec 25, 2001
    0
    The action is great; graphics are great; machine response to player action is superb, but the sexual content and foul language were not necessary to make it a great game. I rate it in the toilet where it belongs.
  48. ajhounshell
    Dec 27, 2001
    10
    this game is fucking sweet pete m said the driving graphics sucked well fuck u the graphics are off the hook how good do u want a fucking game its not allways gonna be perfect. well this site is sweet too.p.s gggggggtttttttttaaaaaaaaa 33333 rocksssssssss bye.ps2 fuck ps2 two next year because next year theres going to be ps 3 and its upgraded like 10 times better. so se ya
    ps 1 more time
    this game is fucking sweet pete m said the driving graphics sucked well fuck u the graphics are off the hook how good do u want a fucking game its not allways gonna be perfect. well this site is sweet too.p.s gggggggtttttttttaaaaaaaaa 33333 rocksssssssss bye.ps2 fuck ps2 two next year because next year theres going to be ps 3 and its upgraded like 10 times better. so se ya
    ps 1 more time im a male im si ngle 13 any girls that are hot email me and put as subject hi boy my email is aj6996@hotmail.com bye.
    Expand
  49. RoyL.
    Dec 27, 2001
    10
    GTA 3 is a masterpiece. Just f... awesome.
  50. RiccardoF.
    Dec 27, 2001
    10
    What can I say? Bellissimo!!! Fantastico!!! The Best! Please give us a sequel soon! Pete and Denny, come on! Just say the truth! CAPISCI A ME!
  51. RobJ.
    Dec 3, 2001
    10
    This game is the best - if u like Crazy Taxi, any shooting game or any driving game this game has it all. If u haven?t played it, u haven't lived.
  52. TerryJ.
    Oct 26, 2001
    10
    This game has great screen play, perfect animation...a must have!
  53. PatrickM.
    Oct 26, 2001
    10
    I didn't care for GTA 1 or 2, so my expectations were a bit low going into GTA 3 -- was I ever in for a pleasant surprise! GTA 3 is HUGELY entertaining. The graphics slow down every now and then, and there is a lot of hardcore mature content (violence and sexual innuendo), but the gameplay is so incredibly good you soon forget you're playing a game at all -- totally immersive I didn't care for GTA 1 or 2, so my expectations were a bit low going into GTA 3 -- was I ever in for a pleasant surprise! GTA 3 is HUGELY entertaining. The graphics slow down every now and then, and there is a lot of hardcore mature content (violence and sexual innuendo), but the gameplay is so incredibly good you soon forget you're playing a game at all -- totally immersive and a must-own for any PS2 owner! Expand
  54. SeanC.
    Oct 27, 2001
    9
    A great game which is truly greater than the sum of its parts. Frustrating at points, though.
  55. DarienA.
    Oct 29, 2001
    9
    At the top of it's game.
  56. ShaunH.
    Nov 26, 2002
    10
    This game is definitely the best i've ever played. I'd really appreciate more info. on the 4th city if its boggeville or boggsville i have heard many rumors about it and would like to know if it really exists. I've also heard of another person to work for and that he gives u 7 more missions i've heard his name is Darkal anyone know about him?
  57. Wowww
    Jan 13, 2002
    10
    Two words: BAD. ASS.
  58. IanT.
    Jan 18, 2002
    10
    Best console game ever. Almost unbelievably huge. Sure it's violent. Sure you can randomly set people on fire and watch them stagger and then fall and burn up. Exactly!
  59. [Anonymous]
    Jan 23, 2002
    10
    Pissed? Pump some bitch fulla lead! And you don't have to go to jail either. GTA3 is the answer. Stop beating that pillow! GTA3 is the ultimate stress reliever. If this game existed since the beginning of time there would be no crime! Extremely satisfying. The one game that everyone should own and you can NEVER get bored of. I give this game 11!
  60. BrianW.
    Jan 27, 2002
    10
    I am going to start out by saying that this game is simple a masterpiece. It has graphics, well thought out plot, comments hilarious, commercials even funnier. GAME=GREAT
  61. AaronB.
    Jan 28, 2002
    10
    I haven't even played the game yet, but still it is a masterpiece.
  62. AliciaR.
    Jan 28, 2002
    10
    I cannot stop playing!
  63. Chris(TheJACK)
    Jan 29, 2002
    10
    This game rules and the guy who rated it in next gen should be fired and learn what games are all about. This has cutting edge graphics and a full graphically interfaceable city! What other game has that?! ANSWER ME Mr. I'm from next gen. gaming magazine and I don't know what games are all about because I've never PLAYED THEM! No other game has that. That's the answer. This game rules and the guy who rated it in next gen should be fired and learn what games are all about. This has cutting edge graphics and a full graphically interfaceable city! What other game has that?! ANSWER ME Mr. I'm from next gen. gaming magazine and I don't know what games are all about because I've never PLAYED THEM! No other game has that. That's the answer. What are you playing virtual reality games that link to your nerve cords?! That's the only step forward from here! Absolute must buy it's the reason I bought PS2!! Expand
  64. JonH.
    Feb 21, 2002
    9
    The best stress reliever I've seen lately.
  65. H.H.Lee
    Mar 22, 2002
    10
    Sure, this game ain't as pretty as other 'next-gen' titles, but anyone who has the brains to take gameplay into consideration, will definitely deem this game as one of the finest games ever made.
  66. Adder
    Jun 15, 2002
    1
    It's a very bad game. When I started it, it worked very SLOW. It shocked. And it even went stock. So if there is someone who had the same problem, please HELP me with this so I can rate this very good game much higher!
  67. MikeyC.
    Jun 18, 2002
    10
    So sweet!!!
  68. J.Bob
    Jun 25, 2002
    10
    One word, AWESOME.
  69. CoolamIvan
    Jul 12, 2002
    3
    It sucks how you have to wtach all the cutscenes each time you enter a new town (especially the long cutscene when you enter boggsville), and it is very linear. And i hate the blacksmith at the items store, he always buys things from you for 1/4 of what they are actually worth. plus it is very short, kinda like diablo but not as good at all. it gets sooo boring when it has to load each It sucks how you have to wtach all the cutscenes each time you enter a new town (especially the long cutscene when you enter boggsville), and it is very linear. And i hate the blacksmith at the items store, he always buys things from you for 1/4 of what they are actually worth. plus it is very short, kinda like diablo but not as good at all. it gets sooo boring when it has to load each battle for about 1 min. before actually fighting. stay away from this trash pile, stay far, far away. Expand
  70. JoshuaK.
    Jul 16, 2002
    10
    Best game ever!
  71. BrandonH.
    Aug 11, 2002
    10
    I have no freakin clue what cool am ivan is talking about. Since when is there a town in gta3 called boggsville, and since when does gta3 have battles in it? I'm pretty sure hes talking about godai: elemental force. Well, this game is great! It is a bit hard at times, but manageable. One thing i would like better in gta vice city is in car views, helicopters that stay in air longer I have no freakin clue what cool am ivan is talking about. Since when is there a town in gta3 called boggsville, and since when does gta3 have battles in it? I'm pretty sure hes talking about godai: elemental force. Well, this game is great! It is a bit hard at times, but manageable. One thing i would like better in gta vice city is in car views, helicopters that stay in air longer than 5 seconds, and better graphics. It would also be cool to go in bulidings. A better ending would be awesome too! Expand
  72. KevinM.
    Sep 16, 2002
    10
    This game is great none-the-less. It has violence, action, and foul language...what else can you ask for? Anyway, I'm curious about this Boggsville story and would like to know more, but I guess I won't get to know the rest to that. Again, GTA III is awesome and Vice City, the next GTA, should be just as good.
  73. RyanM.
    Sep 21, 2002
    10
    Could be the greatest game ever made, but if not, it's the best game for the PS2 and this decade.
  74. NathanN.
    Feb 19, 2003
    10
    I love this game. You can do anything you want. Kill an old woman, steal a cop car, go on a killing spree, anything.
  75. PhoebeR.
    Jun 21, 2003
    5
    This game was ok. Ok so the gameplay and freedom is fantastic, but the graphics are SO PLAYSTATION ONE. Rockstar should maybe put a bit more effort into the graphics and make a better storyline with missions that arn't all the same!
  76. KevinW.
    Jun 23, 2003
    10
    I love this movie. Its awesome.
  77. KevinS.
    Mar 13, 2004
    9
    I love this game because it is fun and it's always somethin' to do.
  78. SeanB.
    Jul 15, 2004
    10
    Dark, intriguing, addicting. Nice to play when youre having a bad day. Story is probably the best on any platform for any game ever in eternity- even though I thought it ended kind of abruptly.
  79. pierreb.
    Jun 11, 2005
    0
    This game was not worth my money.
  80. KashiK.
    Oct 22, 2006
    4
    This game sucks. Yeah, it's fun to "explore" the world but THE WORLD IS SMALL. It's interactive, detailed, and has alot of people to kill for no reason. Killing people gets fun for about 1-3 hours then you will TRY to get past the story. I was in shock on how lousy the story was. This game is recommended to people that are just stupid only. DO NOT GET THIS GAME!
  81. Mr.x
    Aug 29, 2006
    0
    Bad art no original music and bad sound bad acting encurages savage behavior hmmm can I sue that they wasted my time? lol
  82. JoshuaK.
    Dec 14, 2001
    10
    Best game ever!
  83. PeterC.
    Dec 25, 2001
    10
    There is only one thing I can say about this game:WOW!
  84. Shills
    Dec 26, 2001
    10
    Everything you could have ever dreamed in a game - realism is unbelievable. A shame the attitude of people like Denny D. hinder games such as these being released.
  85. CoreyR.
    Dec 28, 2001
    10
    This is one of the few games that is fun to watch other people play.
  86. WesG.
    Dec 29, 2001
    10
    The Best game I have played yet! I have yet to play a game that conducts as much fun as this title. BUY THIS GAME! That's all there is to it. I would like to pat Rockstar and the other designers of this title on the back. KEEP UP THE GOOD WORK BOYS/GIRLS!!!
  87. GaborA.
    Nov 11, 2003
    4
    The most overrated game of all time (besides Vice City). Elements of every game are adapted, but in the most pathetic and simplistic manner. Driving is boring, and racing impossible. Combat is like a pathetic platform game. If you want large environments play Tony Hawk where at least interesting play can be done in them.
  88. MatthieuR.
    Dec 16, 2004
    10
    The greatest videogame ever made.
  89. TimG
    Dec 23, 2007
    10
    Who cares about the controversy?!?!?! Get to grips DASHEL J its a game and probably the bet I've ever played on so stop whining!!!
  90. Aug 22, 2010
    9
    Too all those people who are calling the game bad: Sure, everything about GTA III is dated. The graphics are horrible by todays standard. The AI is, too. But when GTA III first came out, it was revolutionary. It's still a great game, and fun just to run around the city and get a six star wanted level. It's still a very good game, by 2001's standards.
  91. Dec 4, 2012
    10
    **** yeah, **** I played this when I was six and I swear to god, I saw Jesus. Maybe not literally but I saw what video games could be. I saw what every gamer should see. It's amazing.
  92. Oct 3, 2010
    9
    The game that transformed the genre and the industry~ I remember staying at a friends place, me and a few others taking turns to play this game I could never forget how much fun this game has brought me over time and how long it stayed relevant and fun.
  93. Dec 16, 2010
    9
    Grand Theft Auto III was the revolutionary video game in 2001, but now some people say this game is dog &$#@, but not really!The 18 content is not really 18!The violence is not extreme and no sex!But Foul language is WTF.The action blazes,but with some small bugs!This review is short and this game isn't perfection like Super Mario Galaxy and Ocarina of Time!Those are perfect!
  94. Apr 7, 2011
    9
    One of the very first games I ever played. I can remember many a weekend playing this game endlessly. It was fun, the cars were cool, the missions were rewarding and it had one of the most important devices in any GTA game; the idea of being able to go wherever you want, when you want and do what you want. Whether I was blasting pedestrians with a shotgun, doing an insane stunt or beingOne of the very first games I ever played. I can remember many a weekend playing this game endlessly. It was fun, the cars were cool, the missions were rewarding and it had one of the most important devices in any GTA game; the idea of being able to go wherever you want, when you want and do what you want. Whether I was blasting pedestrians with a shotgun, doing an insane stunt or being chased by the police, this game always had a special place in my heart. Only drawback was that even for 2001, the graphics looked primitive. But apart from that, the best GTA on the PS2. Expand
  95. Mar 27, 2012
    9
    GTA III is a classic , Rockstar's creativity to make an open-world/sandbox game at that time was innovative. You can send hours goofing on the streets killing,destroying or crashing cars , set with an interesting story that will not be forgotten for those that payed attention. GTA III delivers enough to satisfy last generation and current/future generation alike.
  96. Jun 12, 2013
    9
    As a game Grand Theft Auto III certainly has its flaws’, including fairly poor controls as well as some horrendous difficulty spikes. Very few games however claim to be as influential on video game design to the point where, more than a decade after its release, games are still imitating its formula.
  97. Jan 1, 2012
    10
    If someone were to play this game, having played GTAIV and its subsequent add-ons, you would definitely see how dated and sloppy some areas of GTAIII can be. But at the time of its release, it was an absolute landmark in gaming. It set the standard for open world games as know it and introduced game-play elements that are now common ground. It can be hard to appreciate this game as much asIf someone were to play this game, having played GTAIV and its subsequent add-ons, you would definitely see how dated and sloppy some areas of GTAIII can be. But at the time of its release, it was an absolute landmark in gaming. It set the standard for open world games as know it and introduced game-play elements that are now common ground. It can be hard to appreciate this game as much as it should be appreciated, considering it is definitely outdated nowadays, but respect is still deserved for one of the greatest games ever made. Bring on GTA5! Expand
  98. Jul 30, 2012
    5
    This is of course one of the greatest games of all time both in its own merits and for its innovations for gaming as a whole. Unfortunately however, the PS2 controls make this game extremely awkward to play. nlike the PC version, you can't choose between classic and PC-style controls. Obviously this game would be much easier with a mouse and keyboard but despite the auto-aim even the startThis is of course one of the greatest games of all time both in its own merits and for its innovations for gaming as a whole. Unfortunately however, the PS2 controls make this game extremely awkward to play. nlike the PC version, you can't choose between classic and PC-style controls. Obviously this game would be much easier with a mouse and keyboard but despite the auto-aim even the start of the game can be difficult due to the awkward camera (both in car and on foot), clunky movement and looking around. To turn the camera you go into first person and can't do anything, and the sensitivity is too low. The game is an iconic masterpiece but the controls make it almost unplayable. It owuld be nice to at least be able to use the PC style controls with a controller. Expand
  99. Mar 10, 2012
    7
    This Game Is Alright For Gamers. I Would Rather Play This Game If I Had Nothing To Do Though. But It Is A Good Game. i Just Wish The Voice, Sound And Lighting Would Improve.
  100. Nov 7, 2011
    10
    This is an infinitely replayable game that has so much to do. You are crazy if you don't like this game. It is so fun because you can do anything in this game, whether it is free roaming the Liberty City streets or playing the missions.

Awards & Rankings

#3 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2001
#1 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2001
Metascore
97

Universal acclaim - based on 56 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 56 out of 56
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 56
  3. Negative: 0 out of 56
  1. The end-all, be-all of console action games. Period...For me GTA3 is the best action game I have ever played on a console system and I highly recommend it to adults (the intended audience of this game) who know the difference between good and evil.
  2. An insanely deep game that offers a lot to do outside of the 70+ missions. If you understand that it's just a game and that these selfsame actions are not healthy in the real world, you'll enjoy a well-developed world disguised as a deviously fun game.
  3. Next Generation Magazine
    80
    Adding to the frustration is the fact that your targeting system is practically useless, and the vehicle physics model is annoyingly floaty. [Jan 2002, p.78]