User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1547 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 12, 2016
    8
    Um dos melhores jogos do ps2, unico defeito é o enredo meio confuso, a historia do game, porem a jogabilidade e a trilha sonora sao otimas, um jogo onde vc escolhe ate estações de radio pra ouvir e muito bom mesmo.
  2. Aug 10, 2016
    9
    Understandable , entertaining and epic , the playability of the game is very good , history, game modes , characters, I especially like "Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas " and everyone has enjoyed , and surely you you will love.
  3. Jul 29, 2016
    9
    gran juego uno de mi infancia vale la pena enserio jugabilidad grande lo malo los mapas de la venturas los santos y san fierro son muy pequeños la historia muy grande
  4. Jul 25, 2016
    9
    This game is f*cking awesome.
    Graphics are cool but dated.
    The gameplay is fun as all hell.
    The story gets the job done pretty well.
    Now why is this a 9? Not the train mission.

    BUT THE F*CKING RC PLANE MISSION.
  5. Jul 22, 2016
    10
    This is one of my favourite GTA game in the series beside GTA 5. The graphics on my iPad are great for a game from 2004. I'm a huge fan of the GTA series owning GTA LCS, GTA SA, GTA 4 and GTA 5.
  6. Jul 22, 2016
    10
    awesome masterpeice i think it is the best game of all time in the best video gaming franchise it is on a lot of systems best gaming story awesome missons nice open world citites i hope they make a sequal and countine the story and a prequel
  7. Jun 19, 2016
    10
    Ninguém nunca vai encontrar outro jogo de PS2 tão grande, envolvente e divertido. Isso, senhoras e senhores, é o significado de estar a frente de sua geração.
    Esse jogo ganha com facilidade a posição de melhor jogo da 6 geração.
    10/10
  8. May 22, 2016
    9
    One my favourite ps2 games. Story, missions, cities, cars, weapons, cheats... everything is perfect The only bad is graphics, pc version has better graphics.
  9. May 21, 2016
    10
    This is best Game on GTA Series and best PS2 Game . On Android and Ios this game deserves 9/10 , but on PS2 and PC this game deserves 10/10 . This game was born in 2005 and this game is very amazing game for 2005 . This game has got normal graphics for 2005 and amazing storyline . This game even better than Grand Theft Auto 5 and in this game city as in GTA 5 . Very good game . 10/10 .
  10. Mar 10, 2016
    10
    Este jogo é incrível! Eu recebi e ainda não posso parar de jogar. Os gráficos são tão detalhadas para um game e é desafiador, mas divertido e terá que jogar por horas! A história é complexa e profundamente pensado. O melhor jogo que eu já joguei de forma
  11. Feb 14, 2016
    10
    An all around bloodbath of carnage, dirty deeds, and heinous acts, and an absolute masterpiece all at the same time. Goes down in my books as one of my top 10 games of all-time.
  12. Nov 19, 2015
    10
    Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas. Wow, it has been a long time since it came out. GTA SA has the best environment across the GTA series. The storyline is beatifully fracted. The easter eggs, horse shoes and gang wars all give a big bonus on the entire playtime. Theres also a Co-Op mode, but it isnt very good. First off, its hidden, you dont even know there is a Co-Op mode unless you happen toGrand Theft Auto: San Andreas. Wow, it has been a long time since it came out. GTA SA has the best environment across the GTA series. The storyline is beatifully fracted. The easter eggs, horse shoes and gang wars all give a big bonus on the entire playtime. Theres also a Co-Op mode, but it isnt very good. First off, its hidden, you dont even know there is a Co-Op mode unless you happen to find it, and second off, its not splitscreen, and you really need splitscreen on it. The customability is off the charts, you can customise your character, your car and buy houses. And that was off the charts back in 2004. But now that GTA IV and GTA V have came out, should you buy GTA SA? Well if you have never played this game and you are coming from GTA V to GTA SA, then you will propably not like it, but you should still try. Expand
  13. Nov 11, 2015
    10
    melhor jogo da historia pro melhor console da historia,na época em que gráfico não importava e sim a diversão,que nesse jogo tem garantidas centenas de horas de diversão.
  14. Nov 1, 2015
    7
    Muitos consideram GTA San Andreas o melhor, porém, não na minha opinião. O game é divertido, mas as missões são repetitivas. A jogabilidade deu uma melhorada, mas não foi grande coisa, e as vezes era estranha. O estado de San Andreas era grande de se explorar e interessante. Os gráficos tiveram uma evolução até que boa. A trilha sonora tinha uma pegada gangsta'.

    História: 6/10
    Muitos consideram GTA San Andreas o melhor, porém, não na minha opinião. O game é divertido, mas as missões são repetitivas. A jogabilidade deu uma melhorada, mas não foi grande coisa, e as vezes era estranha. O estado de San Andreas era grande de se explorar e interessante. Os gráficos tiveram uma evolução até que boa. A trilha sonora tinha uma pegada gangsta'.

    História: 6/10
    Gráficos: 9/10
    Jogabilidade: 9/10
    Desempenho: 10/10
    Trilha sonora: 8/10 (uma das melhores dos games).
    Expand
  15. Oct 3, 2015
    9
    Este juego nunca pasara al olvido, es algo fascinante, la historia es demasiado increíble ademas de muy larga y fascinante, se ven pocos juegos como este porque es demasiado completo. Es demasiado realista en cuanto a jugabilidad, los gráficos eran buenos para la época (2004) el sonido excelente y muy innovador.
  16. Sep 30, 2015
    10
    Grand Theft Auto is simply the best game series i have ever played and GTA San Andreas is the best GTA on the PS2.

    GTA San Andreas improved on its already very entertaining predecessor GTA Vice City with adding the possibility for your character to swim and climb, better camera angles and shooting mechanics, a bigger world but most of all: finally a multi-player mode! What can be
    Grand Theft Auto is simply the best game series i have ever played and GTA San Andreas is the best GTA on the PS2.

    GTA San Andreas improved on its already very entertaining predecessor GTA Vice City with adding the possibility for your character to swim and climb, better camera angles and shooting mechanics, a bigger world but most of all: finally a multi-player mode!

    What can be more fun than causing havoc in an open game world on foot, in cars, boats and planes doing dangerous stunts, shooting and blowing up stuff and escaping the police? Right, doing all that with a friend.

    I can't rate GTA San Andreas any lower than 10 out of 10. This is without a doubt the best game on the PS2.
    Expand
  17. Sep 28, 2015
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This Is One Of My Favourite Games Of All Time, It Really Captured Los Angeles, And The California Area I Reckon, The Gameplay Was Awesome And The Story Surpasses Any Other Game Made During It's Time, 10/10 Yes Grove Street For Life. Expand
  18. Aug 4, 2015
    10
    This is the best game I've ever played, in 15+ years of gaming. This game had something that new games lack and that is the total feeling of being in the hands of the developers, in their world, in their story, in their imagination. Every single thing in the game is a brand new experience that you take in captivated and unknowing of how the situation will turn out. And it is all fun andThis is the best game I've ever played, in 15+ years of gaming. This game had something that new games lack and that is the total feeling of being in the hands of the developers, in their world, in their story, in their imagination. Every single thing in the game is a brand new experience that you take in captivated and unknowing of how the situation will turn out. And it is all fun and entertaining, the exact point of it all in the first place. Expand
  19. Jun 17, 2015
    10
    O melhor game que Rockstar Investiu dando todo esse Sucesso , uma coisa FODASE a mídia , o jogo tem elenco pra dar e sobrar mano , ROCKSTAR Parabéns pela Obra
  20. Jun 7, 2015
    9
    This game is a true open world adventure. Filled with side quests and things to do it never is a bore. The story is interesting and takes place 5 years after Gta 3, the graphics are not good anymore and there are some minor flaws such as: Hovering dead bodies, pop in, and minor glitches. The story is full of betrayal and you must pick sides. The modding capablity is great on pc , with tonsThis game is a true open world adventure. Filled with side quests and things to do it never is a bore. The story is interesting and takes place 5 years after Gta 3, the graphics are not good anymore and there are some minor flaws such as: Hovering dead bodies, pop in, and minor glitches. The story is full of betrayal and you must pick sides. The modding capablity is great on pc , with tons of cool mods to get. It's a really good game and stands to the test of time gameplay wise. Car driving does somewhat feel shallow, and not good. The game itself has really interesting characters which you begin to learn their back story during part of the game. The AI in this games does feel somewhat dumbed down compared to newer games. It still a must own title for ps2,pc,and xbox. For all players alike, once you get over these issues its a fun ride from there. The game is a total must buy! Expand
  21. May 11, 2015
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I do not have to say anything more. But i need to write one hundred and fifty characters. i think my score can describe it............................ Expand
  22. Apr 29, 2015
    10
    There is no game that can represent today's social reality of Western civilization, as GTA San Andreas has been able to do. I remember very well when this game came out: everyone talked about it, everyone praised it, everyone wanted it, and everyone had it. Many players had appreciated San Andreas because you could do what you wanted and because it was full of cheats. I agree about theThere is no game that can represent today's social reality of Western civilization, as GTA San Andreas has been able to do. I remember very well when this game came out: everyone talked about it, everyone praised it, everyone wanted it, and everyone had it. Many players had appreciated San Andreas because you could do what you wanted and because it was full of cheats. I agree about the freedom the game give you, and yes, cheats were really beautiful and fun.

    But what lies beneath San Andreas is something much deeper and bigger. The setting was magnificent, set in the fictional state of San Andreas. Not to mention the historical context of the early 90s (it was set in 1992), with a fantastic background of uses and costumes, such as music, vehicles, weapons and clothes of that time. The plot was magnificent, rich in actuality as gang warfare, drugs, corruption, shootouts, bank robberies and even more that slowly drag the player down to the slums of the 90s. Among other things, the plot was rooted upon real events as the "East Coast-West Coast hip hop rivalry" and the "Rampart scandal". Things that still today have their weight on culture and on contemporary history.

    The gameplay of San Andreas was great: you could do whatever you wanted, right from the start. You could go where you wanted, and turn around the entire map, which was also quite large. You had to eat and drink, or you could go to the gym, or you could gamble, or you could have a girlfriend, or you could kill anyone you wanted also. You could change your clothes and also (and this is not possible in other GTA games) change your appearance, become leaner, more fat, more muscular. You could develop your skills with weapons or driving vehicles. Indeed, from a point of view of gameplay, San Andreas is the deeper and complete chapter of the entire serie, and it felt just like a real rpg-game.

    The graphics of San Andreas was not as beautiful as God of War and Metal Gear Solid, however, was more than acceptable and some views as the one of Vinewood were really fascinating.

    What else to say? Nothing, except that I recommend this game to anyone, and I consider him a true timeless masterpiece and an important legacy of the early 2000s. Many say that Grand Theft Auto is too violent or that it ruins young minds. I simply say that they should not criticize what they can not understand.
    Expand
  23. Apr 20, 2015
    8
    One of the best Grand Theft Auto games, also one of the Best Play Station 2 games.... This game was our childhood for most of us... Great game, awesome game...
  24. Apr 16, 2015
    10
    Also just cuzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz i can
  25. Apr 8, 2015
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas is the best of the series 4 me with awesome story line great game play and RPG elements mixing it up, Jet packs and bicycles, horse racing and girlfriends, **** and Drugs, strippers and Gambling Yep this games a must. Love gangster territory take overs and the Leveling up system for weapons and your guy.

    Great Game play,
    Awesome RPG elements ,
    Hilarious story line ,
    Beautiful Open world.
    Expand
  26. Jan 5, 2015
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The best GTA game I`ve experienced after GTA 5. What sets it apart from other GTA games for me is the gang wars where you take over territories which provide a lot of entertainment outside of missions and the ability to customise vehicles and your character Expand
  27. Jan 1, 2015
    10
    This is the best GTA out of all of them, great story, great gameplay and still enjoyable 10 years later. A must have if you can get your hands on it.You play as CJ a small time gangster in a small time gang called grove street families. You have to play this a least once before you die it's a classic.
  28. Dec 2, 2014
    9
    Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas is everything you want in a GTA game. Easily one of the best games of it's generation, and maybe even the generations to follow.
  29. Nov 22, 2014
    10
    okay... this game is so good!!! this was the first GTA Game i ever played. I never stopped loving this game i STILL love it!!! well... i can't really say anything else!!! i mean... we all know why this game is god-like and there's no point in me accentuate it any longer!!!
  30. Nov 3, 2014
    4
    This game gets a lot of praise from people purely because of its open world. Its open world is why people like it. And now the point is...Grand Theft Auto San Andreas is a bad game. It can be fun sure, but the game is designed very badly. This game is unfocused, which is a very bad thing.
    Gta has a very large story, missions built around these stories that you must do to unlock more of
    This game gets a lot of praise from people purely because of its open world. Its open world is why people like it. And now the point is...Grand Theft Auto San Andreas is a bad game. It can be fun sure, but the game is designed very badly. This game is unfocused, which is a very bad thing.
    Gta has a very large story, missions built around these stories that you must do to unlock more of the open world...thats the game. Running around, jacking cars and shooting hookers is not the game. Sure you can do it but thats because the game is designed poorly. If this game was just story and nothing else this game would not have gotten a 95, maybe a 70 at best. If you like this game you like the open world and breaking the game with cheats. Thats another thing, if a developer puts cheats in their game pretty much confirms that they know themselves that the game isnt satisfying enough and need to add more stuff to keep you interested.
    San Andreas is very much like Gta 5 and suffers from the same problem. The story is not its strong point, its the open world and they dont work together unfortunately because the world is so unfocused and far from the missions that players just dont care for the story and end up cheating, resulting in a rebellious mood towards the game which is one of the worst things to have.
    Just Cause 2 is the perfect example of how to make Story, missions, open world and fun all work together. Gta does not do that well and the results are a messy, unfocused game with a huge open world that tricks you into thinking its a good game.
    Overall? Vice City is the best Gta to date, focused, simple and can still be fun. San Andreas and gta 5 are same. They can be fun sure but its not a good game.
    Expand
  31. Dec 12, 2012
    0
    San Andreas has been my greatest game of all time. I got it when it came out on the PS2 and since then I have bought a copy for PC and Xbox. Sure the 2 player on the PS2 is rubbish because you have a certain range for both people to be in. But it does have a good story line with interesting missions like one day I just couldn't stop playing. But it all pays off once you finish theSan Andreas has been my greatest game of all time. I got it when it came out on the PS2 and since then I have bought a copy for PC and Xbox. Sure the 2 player on the PS2 is rubbish because you have a certain range for both people to be in. But it does have a good story line with interesting missions like one day I just couldn't stop playing. But it all pays off once you finish the story so then you can play around with evrything. Collapse

Awards & Rankings

#1 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2004
#1 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2004
Metascore
95

Universal acclaim - based on 80 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 79 out of 80
  2. Negative: 0 out of 80
  1. The amount of things to do in the cities of Los Santos, San Fierro, and Las Venturas is absolutely staggering... In my opinion there’s no excuse to not have a “save anywhere” feature included.
  2. 90
    San Andreas's chief advantage over "Vice City" is size. And for many players, that's good enough. But another group of fans will come to quietly understand that, at least for the time being, "Vice City" remains the high point of the GTA series.
  3. 95
    There's so much to do in this game that it's outside of my range of imagination to be able to picture me reaching a 100% complete. Unfathomable.