User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 1711 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. BobB.
    Feb 4, 2005
    10
    One of the best games i have played. I think that it is the best of the grand theft auto series.
  2. PaulC.
    Feb 6, 2005
    10
    WOW!
  3. TaylorC.
    Feb 6, 2005
    10
    Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas is by far the greatest game ever made. If you don't have a copy, I ORDER you to get one. Now!
  4. AlexS.
    Feb 9, 2005
    10
    Very great game.....it was everything I expected.
  5. Travis
    Feb 15, 2005
    10
    Much Better than Vice City and GTA 3 no compare, but much to easy to beat.
  6. Sam
    Feb 15, 2005
    10
    Labeling this game as racist is a statement that needs analyzing. "a discrimination of black people?" come on. Many African Americans contributed to the making of this game. This game could be called historical fiction, because this kind of gang violence among young black men was rampant in LA in the early 90s. This could be difficult for people who have been directly affected by gang Labeling this game as racist is a statement that needs analyzing. "a discrimination of black people?" come on. Many African Americans contributed to the making of this game. This game could be called historical fiction, because this kind of gang violence among young black men was rampant in LA in the early 90s. This could be difficult for people who have been directly affected by gang violence. Rockstar does take things to an extreme level sometimes, but really we all just have to loosen up. The more we bring up a race issue, the bigger the issue becomes, no matter what side you're on. Oh and the game is absolutely awesome. Expand
  7. PaulS.
    Feb 17, 2005
    10
    Top banana.
  8. DavidC.
    Feb 17, 2005
    10
    The best GTA game to date and along with Pro Evolution Soccer 4 probably the best game....Ever!
  9. CarlosG.
    Feb 19, 2005
    10
    The best game ever putos !
  10. CurtisS.
    Feb 19, 2005
    10
    GTA san andreas is the BEST game in tha world. It is so realistic to the real freakin world!!! I rate it 10!
  11. RickoL.
    Feb 22, 2005
    10
    Wow! This is mint!
  12. JJJames
    Mar 3, 2005
    10
    The best game ever.
  13. Kei
    Mar 25, 2005
    10
    One word: Perfect.
  14. DANNYCARLJ.
    Apr 16, 2005
    10
    excellent game amust buy for game fanatics (if ure over 18but who really checks that stuff)if u have one game to buy make it this you wont regret it.
  15. BrandonM.
    Apr 16, 2005
    10
    I think all the gta game's are cool. i hope thay keep on making games like gta.
  16. CoryK.
    Apr 27, 2005
    10
    The ONLY bad thing about this game is the graphics. The levels are huge, the game is very long, the missions are all varied and there is just so much to do. This game will go down as one of the best games of all time.
  17. JohnG.
    May 4, 2005
    10
    All I can say is WOW.
  18. VincentV.
    May 5, 2005
    10
    The best game ever made...until the sequel.
  19. Dante
    Jun 1, 2005
    10
    This is actually the first gta i played - i just wanted to see what all the hype was about - i AM a gamer - perhaps old school - buts thats what make gta:sa all the more impressive. its a classic game and no amount of review copy would do it just - there just arent enough adjectives to mtch the depth of gameplay in the this awsome entertainment package. if you have any type of gamingThis is actually the first gta i played - i just wanted to see what all the hype was about - i AM a gamer - perhaps old school - buts thats what make gta:sa all the more impressive. its a classic game and no amount of review copy would do it just - there just arent enough adjectives to mtch the depth of gameplay in the this awsome entertainment package. if you have any type of gaming console that would support this game - get gta:sa and you will own a defining game of our time - how can a game with such mediocre graphics dominate the PS2? simple - its an incredible game - everything to do and forever to do it. a masterpiece. Expand
  20. JackD.
    Jul 6, 2005
    10
    This was the best game I ever played!
  21. KaceyG.
    Jul 21, 2005
    10
    I CANT BELIEVE that it just got an AO rating. That really sucks, thanks much to Hilary Clinton. The copy i bought when it was still M rated has an error reading the disc, i really hope there will be some kind of store that still will sell it.
  22. SuruR.
    Aug 24, 2005
    10
    Best game ever seen.
  23. BenjiB.
    Aug 29, 2005
    10
    The best gaem i have ever played. It just is the full game shotting missions, basketball mini games car races and much more no other game can challenge Grand theft auto:Sanandreas.
  24. JasonO.
    Oct 18, 2005
    10
    Man after reading all the low voters on this game you must be real weiners. its a game if it was easy it would be no fun.yea its not easy to get used to the controls but stop your complaining its a game that does not come close to the other crap out there.besides its meant to kill time and have fun anyway, learn how to play it enjoy your self with it .once you get used to whats going onMan after reading all the low voters on this game you must be real weiners. its a game if it was easy it would be no fun.yea its not easy to get used to the controls but stop your complaining its a game that does not come close to the other crap out there.besides its meant to kill time and have fun anyway, learn how to play it enjoy your self with it .once you get used to whats going on your hooked.i beat the story part its hard work but a lot of fun doing it. Expand
  25. FredB.
    Nov 7, 2005
    10
    This was awesome!!!! I can play it forever!!!!
  26. JohnQ.
    Nov 23, 2005
    10
    Best game i've ever played.
  27. JohnnyD.
    Dec 7, 2005
    10
    The biggest and best game I've played in a long time.
  28. LukeS.
    Mar 31, 2006
    10
    GTA San Andreas is by far the best in the GTA series, but not for the little ones! even if you aren't a gta player, you should still buy this.
  29. DeanH.
    Apr 27, 2006
    10
    The Biggest and best GTA ever to be released...still there could be a few improvments....one of which could be an instant 2 player thing instead of having to fart around trying to find the hidden 2 player locations....and the fact you cant get into places or do missions with 2 players is Ghey. But everything else in the game is mainly A Grade stuff, well done guys.
  30. DannyN.
    Jun 4, 2006
    10
    This is the absolute best game ever. Unless in some distant country or some planet in the far reaches of space has hidden a game so great that it induces spasms and eye-rupturing visuals, this is the best game. The graphics are behind their time, but I do not even notice that it lacks in anything as I fly through the air with a fighter jet shooting missiles wherever I please. I often walk This is the absolute best game ever. Unless in some distant country or some planet in the far reaches of space has hidden a game so great that it induces spasms and eye-rupturing visuals, this is the best game. The graphics are behind their time, but I do not even notice that it lacks in anything as I fly through the air with a fighter jet shooting missiles wherever I please. I often walk on foot just to get a feel for the scale of this enormous, mystical journey. It has been over a year since I have beat the game's missions, and I still play it because after all the amazing missions, the game really begins. With so many unlockable things and never-before-seen wonders such as the ancient mountain, skyscraping cities, and landscapes on a scale so immense, I want to cry. Needless to say, this is my favorite game and I look forward to the day when a better game causes my head to burst in chunks of joy. Expand
  31. CharlieG.
    Jun 6, 2006
    10
    This is definitely the greatest console game ever. Yeah, it even beats Ocarina of Time.
  32. RileyF.
    Jun 16, 2006
    10
    This is definantly the best Grand Theft Auto title to date. A massive world to explore, hours of side missions, tons of stuff to buy and a plot that outdoes even that of Vice City in it's gritty intensity.
  33. AlexanderH.
    Jul 20, 2006
    10
    I think this is one of the most brilliantly precieved games ever thought of, and one of the best games I have ever played. DOT. There is absolutly no way you can not love, or at least, like, the abiltiy to chooose and do whatever you please whenever you want., including the missions. GTA:Vice City was good. GTA3 was great. (yeah, I thought GTA3 was better than Vice City) This game is I think this is one of the most brilliantly precieved games ever thought of, and one of the best games I have ever played. DOT. There is absolutly no way you can not love, or at least, like, the abiltiy to chooose and do whatever you please whenever you want., including the missions. GTA:Vice City was good. GTA3 was great. (yeah, I thought GTA3 was better than Vice City) This game is unbelievable on all levels. And you have to admit, there is a little control freak in all of us! Expand
  34. MikeG.
    Jul 29, 2006
    10
    one of the greatest games ever. too bad people overplayed III and VC, III got the best score ever for ps2 games, and this has 10xs more content and better controls. if you don't like this game it might be time for you to sell your ps2, buy a gamecube and suck on mario's kiddie themes
  35. StevenH.
    Aug 13, 2006
    10
    hell this game is awesome! i personally think think its the best one! i bought it the day it came out for 70 bucks and i beat it in 2 months.
  36. JamieT.
    Aug 14, 2006
    10
    There is no reason to hate this game! It is the greatest game ever made because it makes you want to play it again and again. It's the greatest game along with Resident Evil 4!
  37. PhilipR.
    Aug 19, 2006
    10
    This should be the #1. Fair enough, it lacks a physics engine. But its so fun that all the bad things are out numbered 999999999:1 by the sheer joy. The 2 player sucked though.
  38. ApocalypseB.
    Oct 28, 2006
    10
    There are many reasons to like/dislike a game. Reasons to dislike this range from being quirky to inhumane morals! Some gamers prefered Gta3 over Vice city as they were emotionally attached to that game. And indeed some prefered Vice city over San Andreas for the same reason. Fair enough, but when some hate this game because the main character is black, that is totally brain-dead! There are many reasons to like/dislike a game. Reasons to dislike this range from being quirky to inhumane morals! Some gamers prefered Gta3 over Vice city as they were emotionally attached to that game. And indeed some prefered Vice city over San Andreas for the same reason. Fair enough, but when some hate this game because the main character is black, that is totally brain-dead! Personally i think this is the best Gta ever made! It has the perfect formula for a sand box game and the play area is absolutely MASSIVE! The terrible voice acting and average graphics are annoying (maybe get actual black people to voice-act?), but the humour is back in effect, which went array in Vice City. Although I can relate to Vice City more (being an eighties man) and is still one of my favourite games of all time. There is no arguement that San Andreas is by far the more advanced and enjoyable game by the sheer weight of things to do! But two player is rubbish! Expand
  39. SarelmB.
    Oct 31, 2006
    10
    This is the best video game on PlayStation 2 ever without a doubt.
  40. TomiB.
    Dec 31, 2006
    10
    It's the TOP of all Grand Theft Autos, why? 'cos it like 3 cites in 1, ya can gamble, play more odd games, (* pool, dancing, eating/drinking, dating, change clothes, hairstyles, even a tattoo if ya like etc...) also your character now swims, parachutes & flys all different types of aircraft...(Vice City afew, GTA3 none if hardly any, plus ya DROWN/die when ya in the water!) It's the TOP of all Grand Theft Autos, why? 'cos it like 3 cites in 1, ya can gamble, play more odd games, (* pool, dancing, eating/drinking, dating, change clothes, hairstyles, even a tattoo if ya like etc...) also your character now swims, parachutes & flys all different types of aircraft...(Vice City afew, GTA3 none if hardly any, plus ya DROWN/die when ya in the water!) Music mostly in the 90's plus more variety like country! Use of more cheats, ya can recruit ANYBODY for your gang member(s), ether with a 9mm or rocket launcher... More FUN! Expand
  41. Kewkat
    Jan 25, 2007
    10
    Remember to drive safely without hitting any cop car, and just in case the clerks don't see "eye to eye" have a plan to visit the pay and spray after your job is done. This should keep those pesky stars off your back while you rob the store of every San Andreas they have, and take them home so you'll be the owner of MANY greatest games of all time.
  42. DeondreJ.
    Mar 21, 2007
    10
    It's fun. Has better cars, better weapons and characters look better. You get to do more in here than Vice City.
  43. RichK.
    Dec 26, 2007
    10
    Pretty cool in my vote. I like that cars can actually fly rather then glide. I found a way to make quick money the fun way. Activate car of death cheat and flying cars cheat. it helps if u have a car with nitro but u don't need it. First go really fast on a long strait road. 1ce u start flying keep going up past a layer of clouds. then keep going up until u see some big puffy ones. Pretty cool in my vote. I like that cars can actually fly rather then glide. I found a way to make quick money the fun way. Activate car of death cheat and flying cars cheat. it helps if u have a car with nitro but u don't need it. First go really fast on a long strait road. 1ce u start flying keep going up past a layer of clouds. then keep going up until u see some big puffy ones. then dive bomb strait down. if u do it correctly u can get any were from 1000-7000. it only takes like 30 sec if u go fast enough and u land in a empty area like the red country. Enjoy ! Expand
  44. DereckD.
    Mar 8, 2008
    10
    Played and replayed and played again. PC mods make this infinitely re playable.
  45. KoriR.
    May 22, 2008
    10
    Best game ever.
  46. MatthewC
    Nov 9, 2009
    10
    the game features everything you would want in a GTA game more meyhem,more weapons,and more vehicles.
  47. rickt
    Jan 19, 2010
    10
    how bout the music?!! awesome soundtracks! graphics arent great.. but passable.. story line and play are cool.. quit sniveling wipe your noses cry babies..you are lucky things progressed from atari! if you weren't whining about poor graphics and bad language..you might actually be able to enjoy the good qualities of this history making masterpiece for ps2!!
  48. JamesD.
    Jan 28, 2010
    10
    If San Andreas has made one thing clear, it is that the GTA experience can be enormous. The locations, the characters, the variety, it all makes for a game which is so awe inspiring and entertaining that putting it down is extremely difficult. I can't believe the arrogance of some of these user critics and the NY times. What on earth are you guys saying, are you trying to diss a game If San Andreas has made one thing clear, it is that the GTA experience can be enormous. The locations, the characters, the variety, it all makes for a game which is so awe inspiring and entertaining that putting it down is extremely difficult. I can't believe the arrogance of some of these user critics and the NY times. What on earth are you guys saying, are you trying to diss a game to try and be different from the popular view? Did the New York Times not receive their bribe? Truth and honest says to me that this game is completely defined with one of the best games I have ever played Expand
  49. Bobness
    Oct 12, 2004
    10
    B-E-A-UTIFUL!
  50. Aug 22, 2010
    10
    In an overall fantastic game. GTA: SA puts you in the shoes of Carl Johnson (CJ) as he looks to make a name for himself in the state of San Andreas (based on parts of California and Nevada). The graphics are good, the storyline is epic, with 20+ hours of storyline missions, not to mention side missions, games, races, exploring, having fun, etc., etc., etc. GTA: SA has a little somethingIn an overall fantastic game. GTA: SA puts you in the shoes of Carl Johnson (CJ) as he looks to make a name for himself in the state of San Andreas (based on parts of California and Nevada). The graphics are good, the storyline is epic, with 20+ hours of storyline missions, not to mention side missions, games, races, exploring, having fun, etc., etc., etc. GTA: SA has a little something for everyone (over the age of 17), and it's a fantastic game. One of the most fun that I've ever played. This is like every preceding GTA on steroids, with voice talent including the likes of Samuel L. Jackson, Ice-T, Peter Fonda, and James Woods. The plot is fantastic, and one of the best in video game history. It's a better plot than any preceding GTA, and any one following it, including IV. Hey, the 20 million people who bought this can't be wrong, right? A masterpiece from all accounts. Expand
  51. Nov 25, 2010
    10
    This is one of my favourite games of all time, it really capture los angeles and the california area i reckon, the gameplay was awesome and the story surpasses any other game made during its time, 10/10 yes, grove street for life.
  52. Apr 11, 2011
    10
    Best console game of a generation? Debatable. Best console action sand boxer of a generation? Probably. Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas, at time of writing, is very old. I played it too much upon release, and even today I still find time to boot up my PS2 between next-gen games, and play this classic. Apart from rather bad graphics, which were mostly down to an old engine, aging hardware,Best console game of a generation? Debatable. Best console action sand boxer of a generation? Probably. Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas, at time of writing, is very old. I played it too much upon release, and even today I still find time to boot up my PS2 between next-gen games, and play this classic. Apart from rather bad graphics, which were mostly down to an old engine, aging hardware, and disc limitations of the time, San Andreas would score high on the charts of any generic rating system. It took the already well established, if slightly repetitive formula of it's predecessor, Vice City, and expanded, refreshed, and improved every aspect. Each gameplay detail was refined, although the basic GTA formula stayed in place. This left some core elements some gamers would dislike, but the masses, the critics, and myself, couldn't get enough of the best offering the GTA series had to offer. Storyline, audio, presentation, all packaged into a game where, with a little progression, you could unlock many more locations, vehicles, weapons, and gameplay elements (Who could forget the jetpack in all it's obscure glory?) than many other games of the time, made GTA one of the best games ever developed for the PS2 system. If you've been living on Mars with your hands over your eyes and ears for the past 7 years, or by some miracle missed this title, It's worth picking up on disc for a PC, or preferably console, at bargain prices. You can also download the original Xbox version onto an Xbox 360. Each version has a few differences, but the PC version runs smoothest on most modern PC's. Expand
  53. Apr 29, 2011
    10
    Gangsters, jetpacks, quadbikes, choppers, planes, three big-ass cities AND one of the best sandbox adventures ever created. How can you not love this game? The sequel to the smash hit Vice City improves in every possible way over the previous titles in the series and ten times over. The missions are fun, nicely paced and not hard at all. The graphics look decent for 2004, but still aren'tGangsters, jetpacks, quadbikes, choppers, planes, three big-ass cities AND one of the best sandbox adventures ever created. How can you not love this game? The sequel to the smash hit Vice City improves in every possible way over the previous titles in the series and ten times over. The missions are fun, nicely paced and not hard at all. The graphics look decent for 2004, but still aren't great. Trust me, you'll get your money's worth with this game, with a storyline spanning over 100 missions and on top of that side missions are aplenty. The game is set in the 1990s and you play as Carl Johnson, a gangsta who returns to his home town due to the death of his mother and must regain his respect and work his way up the ladder to become crime boss of the city. The map is huge, and even the most dedicated gamer would take days to fully explore all the locations. There are three large cities each based on Los Angeles, San Francisco and Las Vegas. There is also an impressive countryside and a desert as well. Many characters are featured throughout, some who return from GTA 3 and Vice City. The vehicles are standard GTA fare, but there are also lots of planes, helicopters and many unique vehicles as well such as the army tank, the quadbike and even a fighter plane. In sum, one of the greatest games ever made and the best GTA in the series. Expand
  54. Sep 15, 2011
    10
    The best Grand Theft Auto game Rockstar has ever made. Period. Huge world map; probably the biggest in the series, almost unlimited freedom, huge loads of content that plays with its ridiculously good replay value, very robust character customization and a really good representation of the early 90's west America. Sure, the character designs and set pieces look like crap in today'sThe best Grand Theft Auto game Rockstar has ever made. Period. Huge world map; probably the biggest in the series, almost unlimited freedom, huge loads of content that plays with its ridiculously good replay value, very robust character customization and a really good representation of the early 90's west America. Sure, the character designs and set pieces look like crap in today's standards but that's what adds to the charm of this timeless classic. Expand
  55. Sep 17, 2011
    10
    I have played all the GTA games all the way from GTA III and in my honest opinion out of all GTA games San Andreas is the most largest, most involving and deepest GTA game ever. The game's map is just ginormous consisting of three cities Los Santos (based on LA), San Fierro (based on San Francisco) and Las Venturas (based on Las Vegas). The large map also has forest and desert likeI have played all the GTA games all the way from GTA III and in my honest opinion out of all GTA games San Andreas is the most largest, most involving and deepest GTA game ever. The game's map is just ginormous consisting of three cities Los Santos (based on LA), San Fierro (based on San Francisco) and Las Venturas (based on Las Vegas). The large map also has forest and desert like environments it is amazing how this game captured the feel of three different cities and its citizens but also shows the way the cowboys and villiagers live their loves in the forest and the desert. GTA San Andreas has just a great story which could be confusing early on however the player will understand more and more things as he progresses the game's story is very deep, enthralling and personal also more involving and darker than its predecessors. I also like the main character of this game Carl Johnson he has a very funny. charming and likeable personality a type of person who can be sarcastic and funny along with being a total bada** and serious at the same time. The game also includes some rpg stats unlike 3 and Vice City which include Respect, Fat, Muscle that can change the way CJ looks. The player can also buy different kinds of clothes , different haircuts and tattoos to make the CJ look exactly like he wants, the player can also customize and mod different Vehicles the customization options in this game are just really well done, Sex Appeal, Driving and Gun Skills/Stats have also been implemented in the game the more player drives and the more he uses guns his skills improve and the better the player gets at them for example the player will be able to drive cars easily when his skills improve, and being able to use two SMGS at the same time and move while shooting as the player gets good with guns. The game has so much side stuff that it is impossible for me to cover in all of them in this review but the ones on the top of my head are: car, bike and plane races, car, bike, boat and plane schools, GYMs, girlfriends, gang Wars, Casinos, Quarry missions, some Asset missions as well as Police, Taxi and Ambulance missions thats not even all. The amount of side stuff put the side things in GTA 4 to shame. GTA San Andreas also has great music and songs which are all a great kickback to the 1990s and all the types of music are there Rock Music, Country Music, Rap Music and even talk shows infact the player can just enjoy and have fun in the game driving around in cars and bikes while listening to these Radio Stations alone thats how awesome the Radio Stations are in this game. The voice acting is just perfect there is no other word I can use to describe it, it seems like all the people who are doing the voice acting are deep into their characters. The game's graphics are good considering its ps2, the game is so huge and it came out in 2004 so its graphics are understandable, the environments looks just beautiful, character models are more detailed than previous GTAs but the characters stiff finger attached hands can look really weird at times. There is a multiplayer mode in this game unlike previous GTAs while it is not amazing or anything the player can still have alot of fun with his friends while free roaming with them or doing co-op rampage missions it is not perfect but it is better to have a multiplayer mode which is fun but not perfect than have no multiplayer at all. The game's story is around 25-30 hours long however in trying to do all the sidestuff in this and unlocking all things, getting 100% completion the player can spend hours and hours in this game and completely get lost in it amazing world and atmosphere. GTA San Andreas is a classic and a masterpiece of a game and in my honest opinion the best game in the GTA series and one of best sandbox games of all time. 10/10. Expand
  56. Sep 22, 2011
    10
    There is not much to tell about this great game, just came out in a time that videogames were too stuck, and San Andreas gave a cyber freedom to all ! Even more than GTA 3
  57. Nov 19, 2011
    10
    Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas is a great game, a game most definately worth playing for it is just that great. San Andreas is perhaps the second best game in the GTA series, second only to GTA IV. The plot is very well told and interesting and the freedom that you have in San Andreas is flat out amazing. The graphics are a little messy and not really all that great but that is nothingGrand Theft Auto: San Andreas is a great game, a game most definately worth playing for it is just that great. San Andreas is perhaps the second best game in the GTA series, second only to GTA IV. The plot is very well told and interesting and the freedom that you have in San Andreas is flat out amazing. The graphics are a little messy and not really all that great but that is nothing compared to the rest of the package. The controls are really good but the foot controls are kind of wierd, the gunplay is a little lose and it sucks that there is no cover system but this is all very minor compared to the rest of the game. The characters in San Andreas are all really robust and alive, each with their own qualities that makes them so special and the voice acting and sounds are top of the line well the guns sound more like paintball guns so that is dumb but again just a tiny insignificant error. Overall, San Andreas is a great game that does not dissapoint at all, it is a great GTA game worth your time and it is probably the best game on the PS2. Breakdown for "Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas": Presentation: 9.5, Graphics: 8.5, Sounds: 9.7, Playability: 9.8, Lasting Appeal: 9.8. Verdict: 9.6 out of 10 "Amazing" Expand
  58. Nov 25, 2011
    10
    Missions, side missions, taxi missions, paramedic missions, vigilante missions, freighting, courier missions, tags to spray, snapshots to take, horseshoes to find, oysters to find, gang territories, shops, unique jumps, clothing choices, gym workouts, girlfriends, guns, safehouses, casinos, a HUGE map, and, of course, whatever the heck you want!! My favorite video game of all time, by far...
  59. Mar 10, 2012
    10
    A Really Great Game Who Anyone Whos Enjoys Killing, Violence, Blood, Drugs, Guns, This Will Definitive Work For Them. I Think This Game Is Absolutely Fantastic.
  60. Mar 14, 2012
    10
    This is the best GTA game so far and no other has beat it. I love this game, and it loves me back. We like to cuddle and touch each other in the wrong places, we smell each others bawls, we suck each other, OMG! But really, this games awesome.
  61. Apr 4, 2012
    10
    A perfect game? I'd say so. A great world with a lot of variety, a good story, good characters and an *amazing* soundtrack.

    Fun easter eggs, typical GTA-humour, fairly deep character customization, the many vehicles and weapons, and the many activities will keep you coming back for more.
  62. May 12, 2012
    10
    I suggest getting GTA:SA on PC, because you can play massively multiplayer online!!!
    I remember those old PS2 days, it really brings back my memories! The gameplay and story is more than just awesome, it will also blows your mind that how awesome this game is!!! If you haven't played GTA:SA, try it! Youâ
  63. May 26, 2012
    10
    As a fan of the grand theft auto series since the first and original gta game was released back in 1997, this is by far, and even by todays standard, the most ambitious game I ever have played. I would give this game a higher score than GTA IV. Replay value is extremely high and the games strong sides definitely makes its shortcomings stand in a dark corner, forgotten.
  64. May 27, 2012
    10
    Not a best game in GTA .. but Best game in history of R* .. Seriously .. Hat's Off R* North .. u r my dream Company . Lovable game ....... 1000000000000000000000000000 likes for game
  65. Jun 6, 2012
    10
    When i played a while ago, im not stopping. A great GTA game with top-tier graphics and a great gameplay system, this is a must buy for all fans......
  66. Jul 16, 2012
    10
    For me this is by far the best GTA game (yes, better than GTA IV) because there is so much to do. First off, you start in the city Los Santos, based on LA, then You move to San Fierro, based on San Fransisco, then You end up in Las Venturas, based on Vegas. Each of these cities are very discinct form each other and all have interesting things to do. Moving on, the music is VERY top notchFor me this is by far the best GTA game (yes, better than GTA IV) because there is so much to do. First off, you start in the city Los Santos, based on LA, then You move to San Fierro, based on San Fransisco, then You end up in Las Venturas, based on Vegas. Each of these cities are very discinct form each other and all have interesting things to do. Moving on, the music is VERY top notch in this game. You get things from Eazy E to Soundgarden. The voice acting is superb too. I won't get into story though, due to spoilers. Overall, this is the best in the series and a MUST for anyone who actually still owns a PS2! Expand
  67. Aug 8, 2012
    10
    I absolutely LOVED this game, it was my favorite game around this time, I couldn't get enough of it, the story was great and some of the character interaction was hilarious, not to mention the crazy action you can get yourself into, the controls were easy and the tutorials helped very much with being able to play the game well, and your way, it included mini-games that were also very fun,I absolutely LOVED this game, it was my favorite game around this time, I couldn't get enough of it, the story was great and some of the character interaction was hilarious, not to mention the crazy action you can get yourself into, the controls were easy and the tutorials helped very much with being able to play the game well, and your way, it included mini-games that were also very fun, plus, its fun to mess about with tons of cheats. Collapse
  68. Aug 29, 2012
    10
    God, what a great game! One of the games with the most replay value I've ever played. Just driving around San Andreas on a stolen car feels better than most racing games. The graphics were great for its time. The game starts slow, but when it picks up, you go through the craziest and greatest missions ever, one of which involves jumping from a moving plane to another and getting insideGod, what a great game! One of the games with the most replay value I've ever played. Just driving around San Andreas on a stolen car feels better than most racing games. The graphics were great for its time. The game starts slow, but when it picks up, you go through the craziest and greatest missions ever, one of which involves jumping from a moving plane to another and getting inside it to kill some people. The shooting mechanics borrow from the Z-targeting introduced in Ocarina of Time, so you know they're great. Overall, great game. Worth every penny and even more. Expand
  69. Nov 9, 2012
    10
    The best GTA game yet to be made. One of the best games ever made. The gameplay is polished to the point that its a huge step up from Vice City. You must play it!!!
  70. Dec 4, 2012
    10
    GRAND THEFT **** AUTO: SAN ADNREAS, **** Yeah! It's awesome in so many ways. I could tell you all day about all the great things in this game. It made me glad to play games and not go out and hang with friends.
  71. Dec 12, 2012
    10
    San Andreas has been my greatest game of all time. I got it when it came out on the PS2 and since then I have bought a copy for PC and Xbox. Sure the 2 player on the PS2 is rubbish because you have a certain range for both people to be in. But it does have a good story line with interesting missions like one day I just couldn't stop playing. But it all pays off once you finish theSan Andreas has been my greatest game of all time. I got it when it came out on the PS2 and since then I have bought a copy for PC and Xbox. Sure the 2 player on the PS2 is rubbish because you have a certain range for both people to be in. But it does have a good story line with interesting missions like one day I just couldn't stop playing. But it all pays off once you finish the story so then you can play around with evrything. Expand
  72. Dec 16, 2012
    10
    I wished the Hot Coffee mod still be in the game. Sex sells. Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas is one of the my favorite games before Saint's Row and Sleeping Dogs. But I wished Samuel L. Jackson (a.k.a CJ) could've kill every cop and says "F**k the Police!" Even if activist Jack Thompson was in a GTA video game, he wouldn't mind playing it with his kids. It's like having your own personalI wished the Hot Coffee mod still be in the game. Sex sells. Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas is one of the my favorite games before Saint's Row and Sleeping Dogs. But I wished Samuel L. Jackson (a.k.a CJ) could've kill every cop and says "F**k the Police!" Even if activist Jack Thompson was in a GTA video game, he wouldn't mind playing it with his kids. It's like having your own personal playground having fun go to the TV, put on the PS2 system, and can't go to sleep because you're watching porn movies than playing San Andreas. Controversial or not, I'm still hooked on Grand Theft Auto. I'm thinking a remake? Expand
  73. Dec 29, 2012
    10
    This game is the best PS2 game ever. Cut-scenes are really good and the graphics are absolutely beautiful. All the other PS2 games look like old and classic, though it still not as good as Liberty City on the PSP it has to be the best PS2 game of all time.
  74. Jan 2, 2013
    10
    GTA SAN ANDREAS is my fave GTA game in the series and i'll tell you why. San Andreas takes GTA to a whole new level you can play basketball, go the gym, get new clothes, skydive, go into the mountains and it really steps it up in every way possible the graphics seem better than Vice City but the whole gameplay and activitys and the map is larger, almost everything is great. The badGTA SAN ANDREAS is my fave GTA game in the series and i'll tell you why. San Andreas takes GTA to a whole new level you can play basketball, go the gym, get new clothes, skydive, go into the mountains and it really steps it up in every way possible the graphics seem better than Vice City but the whole gameplay and activitys and the map is larger, almost everything is great. The bad things are the missions they are really screwed up! like there is this one mission where you shoot down these mini airplanes with a minigun, or something like that. GTA SAN ANDREAS IS A MASTERPIECE!!! Expand
  75. Apr 22, 2013
    10
    This game in my opinion is R* BEST WORK. The amount of things you can do in this game is phenomenal. There is just so much replay value in this game. If tired of missions, ride in a tank blowing stuff up. Tired of riding tanks, take to the air.

    R* has taken the best of GTA3 and VC to make one of the best games of all time.
  76. May 16, 2013
    10
    One of my favourite games.Very fun to drive around and explore since the map is so large. The voice acting story and soundtrack are good However, the shooting mechanics are the worst I have ever seen. It's almost impossible to hit someone.best gta game ever.
  77. Jun 5, 2013
    10
    Not only the, besT PS 2 game. Its the best gamr ever. Gta iv was a setback. San andreas is gonna be remember forever.....foreals no Denning it..best story in gta
  78. Jun 19, 2013
    10
    Wonderful game from start to finish. Great characters, story, controls, graphics, everything about this game is wonderful. Easily the best game ever made on the PS2. Wish Rockstart would up the graphics to release on PSN, but again, best game ever made on PS2.
  79. Jun 19, 2013
    10
    This game is perfection and my favorite ps2 game. The multiplayer, the free roam and the story made me spent so many hours of fun in this game, and now i still play it and love it. You could do everything like doing a tattoo or changing your hair style. Having a gang and the cheat codes where also some of the factors for this perfect game. How to describe this game by words, good actionThis game is perfection and my favorite ps2 game. The multiplayer, the free roam and the story made me spent so many hours of fun in this game, and now i still play it and love it. You could do everything like doing a tattoo or changing your hair style. Having a gang and the cheat codes where also some of the factors for this perfect game. How to describe this game by words, good action and great gameplay made this so fun and enjoyable to play to everyone and it's easy to see why everyone love this GTA game in particular. The city was so big and interesting to explore and you just couldn't get enough of it! Expand
  80. Jul 6, 2013
    10
    GTA San Andreas is a masterpiece, I can easily say it is the best game I have ever played. If you have not played this game you must try it. Below I list why I would highly recommend this game.

    Story: This game has a huge and interesting story with excellent voice acting from some famous actors It also has great humour and shocking plot twists. Music: The music selection is excellent
    GTA San Andreas is a masterpiece, I can easily say it is the best game I have ever played. If you have not played this game you must try it. Below I list why I would highly recommend this game.

    Story: This game has a huge and interesting story with excellent voice acting from some famous actors It also has great humour and shocking plot twists.

    Music: The music selection is excellent with amazing music from all genres but specificity 90s gangster rap.

    Gameplay: This is the biggest reason San Andreas is so highly rated, you will never get bored because the story missions never feel repetitive or boring and it includes a huge list of side activities which I cannot list in this review because their is just too much content in this game.
    Expand
  81. Aug 1, 2013
    10
    La mejor versión de GTA, por lejos. Emocionante, cambiante, tirante y divertida. Sobre la amistad, las traiciones, la vida del pandillero. Excelente!!
  82. Aug 10, 2013
    10
    I'm shocked that anyone can give this game a negative score. I've been gaming since gaming began, and let me tell you, this is the best game ever created, a true masterpiece. Playing this over Christmas 2004 was my fondest ever gaming memory, it was just so so cool and a memory i will always treasure dearly. I still fire it up from time to time 9yrs on, it never gets old!
  83. Sep 29, 2013
    10
    Lo inmejorable ha sido mejorado en este increíble y un de mis juegos favoritos de todos los tiempos y de muchos también: "Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas" es uno de los videojuegos más impresionantes de todos los tiempos, Rockstar se lució como ninguna otra compañía: gráficos mejorados e impresionantes, mejor jugabilidad, impresionante mapa (que es gigante) y puedes hacer cualquier variedadLo inmejorable ha sido mejorado en este increíble y un de mis juegos favoritos de todos los tiempos y de muchos también: "Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas" es uno de los videojuegos más impresionantes de todos los tiempos, Rockstar se lució como ninguna otra compañía: gráficos mejorados e impresionantes, mejor jugabilidad, impresionante mapa (que es gigante) y puedes hacer cualquier variedad en ese estado que abarca Los Santos, San Fierro y Las Venturas. San Andreas es pura pasión y llorarás de la majestuosidad de este tan deseado videojuego. Expand
  84. Oct 5, 2013
    10
    sniff sniff... memories...
    you can do anything. You can be a gangsta. Be a terrorist. Be a psycho. Be a thief. Be ANYTHING.
    JUST FRIGGIN LOVE THIS GAME!!!!! AND YOU CAN REALLY SWIM!!!! YAY!!!!
  85. Dec 26, 2013
    10
    Another fun game from Rockstar. Unlike its predecessors, GTA: SA has new features and a larger map. You can exercise and date girls. This game includes 3 different cities with different things. This game is worth buying, and it is one of the greatest games of all time.
  86. Jan 1, 2014
    10
    To this day GTA San Andreas is one of the best videogames ever made. It's extremely memorable, endlessly enjoyable and has the best radio in GTA ever!. You definitely have to play this before you die.
  87. Feb 4, 2014
    10
    Mas de 100 niveles, por lo menos unas 60 horas, una ciudad fantastica, una historia que a pesar de no ser tan grandiosa como el Vice City, se recompensa con sus personajes, la gran variedad de opciones que te da el juego, es sin duda el GTA que marco un antes y un despues.
  88. Mar 24, 2014
    10
    GTA:SA Is massive, there's so much content. The PS2 shouldn't have been able to run this game, Rockstar Games are wizards. The XBOX/PC version is probably better, but the PS2 being able to play this beast is more impressive.
  89. Jun 1, 2014
    10
    I´ve been playing this game since it came out (and this is 2014), and guess what? Still playing it. The game is a legend. Even some books (all kind of) refers to them. This game is a game, that probably started the (WHOLE) thing with being interested in making RPG Games like this. Everytime im playing this, im always think "Sigh.. Where are all the good GTA Games like this anymore?" AndI´ve been playing this game since it came out (and this is 2014), and guess what? Still playing it. The game is a legend. Even some books (all kind of) refers to them. This game is a game, that probably started the (WHOLE) thing with being interested in making RPG Games like this. Everytime im playing this, im always think "Sigh.. Where are all the good GTA Games like this anymore?" And this game, even if it´s 10 years old, it still beats GTA V. Expand
  90. Nov 19, 2015
    10
    Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas. Wow, it has been a long time since it came out. GTA SA has the best environment across the GTA series. The storyline is beatifully fracted. The easter eggs, horse shoes and gang wars all give a big bonus on the entire playtime. Theres also a Co-Op mode, but it isnt very good. First off, its hidden, you dont even know there is a Co-Op mode unless you happen toGrand Theft Auto: San Andreas. Wow, it has been a long time since it came out. GTA SA has the best environment across the GTA series. The storyline is beatifully fracted. The easter eggs, horse shoes and gang wars all give a big bonus on the entire playtime. Theres also a Co-Op mode, but it isnt very good. First off, its hidden, you dont even know there is a Co-Op mode unless you happen to find it, and second off, its not splitscreen, and you really need splitscreen on it. The customability is off the charts, you can customise your character, your car and buy houses. And that was off the charts back in 2004. But now that GTA IV and GTA V have came out, should you buy GTA SA? Well if you have never played this game and you are coming from GTA V to GTA SA, then you will propably not like it, but you should still try. Expand
  91. Jul 2, 2014
    10
    GTA: San Andreas - Well, it is a long I played this game for the first time, yea, it's already 10 years. I completed this game 3 times(that's not much, but it's enough), I play this game even now sometimes, mostly multiplayer, so you probably already guess it's not a common game for me.
    It's the best game I have ever played.
    The story, the gameplay, the graphics, well I shouldn't talk
    GTA: San Andreas - Well, it is a long I played this game for the first time, yea, it's already 10 years. I completed this game 3 times(that's not much, but it's enough), I play this game even now sometimes, mostly multiplayer, so you probably already guess it's not a common game for me.
    It's the best game I have ever played.

    The story, the gameplay, the graphics, well I shouldn't talk about the graphics since it's 10 years old game, but they are definitely not boring, everything's so clear and nice. Since it's an open-world game you may travel through cities, farms, forests, deserts, and you enjoy it again and again.

    You are a bad gangster and you kill another bad gangsters, just what's the whole GTA series about. You will definitely enjoy the game even now.

    10/10 Best Game EVER
    Expand
  92. Jul 17, 2014
    10
    Wow just wow....this game was probably the most legendary game of all time and the cheats were insanely fun I was STILL playing gta :San Andreas when GTA IV came out you can't say you've lived until you've played this game
  93. Jul 24, 2014
    10
    The best game on the Playstation 2 for me, a all time classic and a very special memory of my childhood, sure the graphics look dated now and there are probably some flaws in game but at the time it was special, it was brilliant and it made the way for all the great games to follow, and one thing is for sure, the grand theft auto series wouldnt be as good as it is now without San andreas.
  94. Sep 12, 2014
    10
    Easily one of the best Grand Theft Auto games ever made, there are lots of fun things to do IN THE HOLE San Andreas area and who doesn't love the main character CJ, he is a gangster. But more of a down to earth gangster, and who doesn't like flying around in a Jet pack.
  95. Sep 12, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I don't really hand out 10s, but this game deserves it.
    3 cities, (Los Santos, San Ferrio, and Las Vanterusas) really they really captured the state of California. And Rockstar Games did it in 13.9 square miles. That's small, however the destiny makes it feel massive. The drawn distance did really ruin the experience though. The gang mechanics were sort of spot on (Had it's flaws) but it's a game from 2004, so I'm not complaining. The customization was taken to the next level. No GTA so far has been able to match the customization of San Andreas. From weight lifting, to abilties, to gaining weight losing weight, to learning new fighting styles, to customizing your car, different types of clothing, etc. I would say the customization was the best part of the gang. It sets in 1992 Carl Johnson coming home from Liberty City, to bury his mother and no one really wanted him to be there really captured the moment. When his brother Sweet went to jail, and he was ran out of LOs Santos he went all over the state to get him out and kill Officer 10 penny, and his friends that betrayed him. It has it's cons, but that doesn't matter the games great.
    Expand
  96. Sep 25, 2014
    10
    San Andreas is Grand Theft Auto at its best, the perfect combination of freedom in a huge open-world game, a story full of surprises and own characteristics, making it unique, a map perfectly portrayed and a fluid and frantic gameplay makes Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas a masterpice in the open-world genre and in between all genres, 10/10 isn't to much? Well, just analyse how San AndreasSan Andreas is Grand Theft Auto at its best, the perfect combination of freedom in a huge open-world game, a story full of surprises and own characteristics, making it unique, a map perfectly portrayed and a fluid and frantic gameplay makes Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas a masterpice in the open-world genre and in between all genres, 10/10 isn't to much? Well, just analyse how San Andreas is important for the gaming industry and then tell me, is 10/10 worth? I guess the answer is yes. Expand
  97. Oct 5, 2014
    10
    He to me is one of the best games ever made! is perfect! a huge map to explore! a great story! rather that it is a game Sensational! A large amount of weapons! * - *, Good game? no, no, no, the game is not good, it is an AMAZING game!
  98. Oct 19, 2014
    10
    Five years ago Carl Johnson escaped from the pressures of life in Los Santos, San Andreas... a city tearing itself apart with gang trouble, drugs and corruption. Where filmstars and millionaires do their best to avoid the dealers and gangbangers. Now, it's the early 90s. Carl's got to go home. His mother has been murdered, his family has fallen apart and his childhood friends are allFive years ago Carl Johnson escaped from the pressures of life in Los Santos, San Andreas... a city tearing itself apart with gang trouble, drugs and corruption. Where filmstars and millionaires do their best to avoid the dealers and gangbangers. Now, it's the early 90s. Carl's got to go home. His mother has been murdered, his family has fallen apart and his childhood friends are all heading towards disaster. On his return to the neighborhood, a couple of corrupt cops frame him for homicide. CJ is forced on a journey that takes him across the entire state of San Andreas, to save his family and to take control of the streets. Expand
  99. Nov 22, 2014
    10
    okay... this game is so good!!! this was the first GTA Game i ever played. I never stopped loving this game i STILL love it!!! well... i can't really say anything else!!! i mean... we all know why this game is god-like and there's no point in me accentuate it any longer!!!
  100. Jan 1, 2015
    10
    This is the best GTA out of all of them, great story, great gameplay and still enjoyable 10 years later. A must have if you can get your hands on it.You play as CJ a small time gangster in a small time gang called grove street families. You have to play this a least once before you die it's a classic.
  101. Aug 8, 2012
    10
    I absolutely LOVED this game, it was my favorite game around this time, I couldn't get enough of it, the story was great and some of the character interaction was hilarious, not to mention the crazy action you can get yourself into, the controls were easy and the tutorials helped very much with being able to play the game well, and your way, it included mini-games that were also very fun,I absolutely LOVED this game, it was my favorite game around this time, I couldn't get enough of it, the story was great and some of the character interaction was hilarious, not to mention the crazy action you can get yourself into, the controls were easy and the tutorials helped very much with being able to play the game well, and your way, it included mini-games that were also very fun, plus, its fun to mess about with tons of cheats. Collapse

Awards & Rankings

1
1
#1 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2004
1
#1 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2004
Metascore
95

Universal acclaim - based on 80 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 79 out of 80
  2. Negative: 0 out of 80
  1. The amount of things to do in the cities of Los Santos, San Fierro, and Las Venturas is absolutely staggering... In my opinion there’s no excuse to not have a “save anywhere” feature included.
  2. 90
    San Andreas's chief advantage over "Vice City" is size. And for many players, that's good enough. But another group of fans will come to quietly understand that, at least for the time being, "Vice City" remains the high point of the GTA series.
  3. 95
    There's so much to do in this game that it's outside of my range of imagination to be able to picture me reaching a 100% complete. Unfathomable.