User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 1710 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. OmarMorales
    May 5, 2004
    10
    I mean this game hasn't even hit shelves yet but I already know it going to be a 10. This game is going to be the ultimate game in the grand theft auto series. The only thing i don't like about the grand theft auto series is the cheap graphics and the sudden game stop. Once you pass the game there are no more missions to keep you interested!
  2. PatrickMead
    Jul 10, 2004
    10
    How can you not give it anything but a 10 all the other GTA's have been everything that I excpected them to be but this one I think will be the mother of all GTA's. I think every fan will be blown away and stuned by what you can do in this game it's going to be amazing. I can't wait to play it. It will be the best GTA ever made by rockstar and I hope there will be moreHow can you not give it anything but a 10 all the other GTA's have been everything that I excpected them to be but this one I think will be the mother of all GTA's. I think every fan will be blown away and stuned by what you can do in this game it's going to be amazing. I can't wait to play it. It will be the best GTA ever made by rockstar and I hope there will be more to come in the future guy's keep up the awsome work peace. Expand
  3. ArturoFavela
    Aug 3, 2004
    10
    It kicks ass, the game itself has lots of the things I was looking foward or so I have heared. more over It has an unmached enviroment of the pictures that have been released by rockstar and the diffrent interactive ways that you can use NPC characters. It's quite an amazing game so far, Carl is the new guy and he can swimm yea that is sweet and as far as i know you can pick your lookIt kicks ass, the game itself has lots of the things I was looking foward or so I have heared. more over It has an unmached enviroment of the pictures that have been released by rockstar and the diffrent interactive ways that you can use NPC characters. It's quite an amazing game so far, Carl is the new guy and he can swimm yea that is sweet and as far as i know you can pick your look physical, accesories, and threads. LOL Expand
  4. VladVoinov
    Jul 27, 2004
    10
    Hands down, this will undoubtedly be the best video game, ever! The sheer size and amount of features is staggering. A lot of the things that are used regularly in the game are unheard of in the video game world. Even now, only a fraction of the detail about the game is known, and from what I know, the game is better than any other game out there, as well as many of the games that are Hands down, this will undoubtedly be the best video game, ever! The sheer size and amount of features is staggering. A lot of the things that are used regularly in the game are unheard of in the video game world. Even now, only a fraction of the detail about the game is known, and from what I know, the game is better than any other game out there, as well as many of the games that are yet to come. Rockstar did it again! Expand
  5. dudeerr
    Oct 27, 2004
    10
    whats up with these bitches who don't like the game it is fucken awsome. so much new shit so fun I am only on like the tenth mission and I am loving every bit of it. dumfucks like chimp and john h can go fuck themselves this game is badass
  6. peterskonkwonk
    Nov 11, 2004
    10
    shittin hell m8 since i fucking got this absolutely shittin mint fucking arse rosh fuckin wicked big up ya self im a mirical master Game i cant fucking stop swearing muther fucker, for fucksake get ya fucking shoes on ya fucking feet and fucking shift ya fat shitty arse down the pissin shop and buy this big motherfucking game,
    big up ya self big up ya status.
    P.S fuck fuck arse cabbage.
    shittin hell m8 since i fucking got this absolutely shittin mint fucking arse rosh fuckin wicked big up ya self im a mirical master Game i cant fucking stop swearing muther fucker, for fucksake get ya fucking shoes on ya fucking feet and fucking shift ya fat shitty arse down the pissin shop and buy this big motherfucking game,
    big up ya self big up ya status.
    P.S fuck fuck arse cabbage.

    Your Sincerely Peter Skonkwonk
    Expand
  7. JOSETRUJANO
    Nov 19, 2004
    10
    GTA SAN ANDREAS IS THE BEST GAME OUT THERE 4 THE FACT THAT IT IS MORE REALISTIC MAKES IT BETER NOW U COULD SWIM,WORK-OUT,RIDE BIKES MOD U'R CARS CANGE U'R LOOKS GET TAT'S HAIR CUTS JUMP FENCES DO 4 PERSON DRIVE-BYS MAN THIS IS TRULY THE BEST GAME EVER WELL BYE I GOT 2 GO PLAY
  8. ConnerMcleod
    Dec 20, 2005
    10
    a 15 out of 10, sh**t this games kick mayor a**, I normqlly never curse but after playin´ GTASA I gotta say G*dDamn, f*ckin´A. I consider my self a gamer, played all the other Gta and gta´s clones(truecrime) but let me tell U this game will suck U rigth in. There´s nothing like it and belive U me, play it without the cheats you´ll feel the rewards as ua 15 out of 10, sh**t this games kick mayor a**, I normqlly never curse but after playin´ GTASA I gotta say G*dDamn, f*ckin´A. I consider my self a gamer, played all the other Gta and gta´s clones(truecrime) but let me tell U this game will suck U rigth in. There´s nothing like it and belive U me, play it without the cheats you´ll feel the rewards as u get´m, the girlfriend as U find them, u can actually live in the game U can go play at any casino, go to the race track an bet, or play old arcades at any convinience store, but the game itself it´s genuine motherf*cker...give me a hell yeah Expand
  9. AlecBousquet
    Jan 7, 2006
    10
    The best gta eva made! u can do almost anything in this game like swimming,clothes,gym,and bikes. there is a way bigger area then gta3 and vicecity. I bought it the first day it came out and it was worth the $50 and waiting 2hours in line to get it!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  10. kylek
    Jan 20, 2006
    10
    This is a great game, hijack anything except a tram. Fly planes and have dogfights with the army guys. Way better than GTA 3 and vice city, whoever says they didnt improve on anything, your wrong because san andreas give you, swimming, flying, trains, gang recruits, new story and girlfriends. how is that not improving. i hate people that sit back and piss the shit out of a game when it isThis is a great game, hijack anything except a tram. Fly planes and have dogfights with the army guys. Way better than GTA 3 and vice city, whoever says they didnt improve on anything, your wrong because san andreas give you, swimming, flying, trains, gang recruits, new story and girlfriends. how is that not improving. i hate people that sit back and piss the shit out of a game when it is actually brilliant. give credit to game camponies that actually give you the chance to play games. selfish little stuck up dickheads who dont appreciate gaming. san andreas is excellent. 10/10 Expand
  11. Exors1staWalker
    Jul 29, 2006
    10
    This game has so much freedom that's why ten is it's name. Forget what Daitrex says he's just retarded. Of course it's foul languaged and violent well duh it's rated 18. And Sexual Contact what the the hell is that. Just buy it and don't believe Diatrex about his GTA review sure all his other ones are good but this one.......
  12. alexxmarsh
    May 26, 2007
    10
    To all the old fart who complain about the violence, the language, or the sexual content, why dont you morons go jump off a bridge and stfu. This game is a masterpiece of epic propotions to deny it that is to prove your own ignorance. You know what i want when i buy a gta game? Violence, blood, foul language, inconciquencial murder, thats the name of the game if u cant deal with that goTo all the old fart who complain about the violence, the language, or the sexual content, why dont you morons go jump off a bridge and stfu. This game is a masterpiece of epic propotions to deny it that is to prove your own ignorance. You know what i want when i buy a gta game? Violence, blood, foul language, inconciquencial murder, thats the name of the game if u cant deal with that go play a sissy ass mario game or something. If u dont like sa your either an old withered stuck up fart close to death anyhow or a an ignorant hillbilly with a crow bar in your bum. GTA: SA best game of all time period if you dont agree buy your self a 9mm and point it at ur own head, you ignorant hick. If anything i think there isnt enough gore in this game i wanna see more blood like in vice from the chain saw etc. Oh and to the guy who said he cant play this around his child. Your kid is two years old too young and stupid to be impressionable yet. And what kind of a father are your to be playing video games when your child is at a stage in life when he needs human contact and interaction, obviously a very shitty parent, your kid obviously will turn out a pansy little ass because of you.

    good day
    Expand
  13. gabrielmendosa
    Sep 11, 2007
    10
    i think its cool because you get the car name torento turbo and is the fastes car and the best lookin car go to cj house and press x,o,r1,r2,l2,l1and then go to play the videos games in cj house and go to your garage and you will see it there custumise
  14. JohnG
    Oct 1, 2007
    10
    This game was sweet. Everything has been improved. It is a pretty sweet deal when you can wander around the entire landscape without loading. There are hundreds of things you can do which leads to endless hours of fun and chaos. Add in the codes and the fun keeps on going. Long Live GTA!!!
  15. MichaelYelland
    Feb 6, 2009
    10
    Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas. Well, What Can I Say Apart From, Amazing, Spectacular And How In The Hell Did Rockstar Create Such An Amazing Video Game That's Even Better Than Vice City And GTA III Put Together. The Plot: You Play As Carl Johnson (CJ), Who Has Just Returned From (The Best City In The Whole GTA Series, Well Was Until This Came Out, I'll Explain Later) LibertyGrand Theft Auto: San Andreas. Well, What Can I Say Apart From, Amazing, Spectacular And How In The Hell Did Rockstar Create Such An Amazing Video Game That's Even Better Than Vice City And GTA III Put Together. The Plot: You Play As Carl Johnson (CJ), Who Has Just Returned From (The Best City In The Whole GTA Series, Well Was Until This Came Out, I'll Explain Later) Liberty City, And Has Come Back To His Home-City, Los Santos (This Is Basically Rockstars Version Of Los Angeles... It's The Best City In The Game) To Find Out That His Mum Has Been Killed. You Are Now Gonna Reunite The Homies, Grab Your "Gats" (Guns In Other Words) And Find Her Killer. (The Plot Isn't Just All About The Death Of CJ's Mum It's A Lot Bigger Than That, Trust Me.) What I Think Of The Plot: The Plot Is Fantastic. It Has Violence, Swearing, Sex And Humour (Not As Much As Other GTA Games But A Lot Of Humour!) AND Plus There's Some Unexpected Twists... Throughout The WHOLE Game. Gameplay: In One Word: Fantastic. You Can Do Just About Everything In This, From Stealing Cars To Buying Guns From The Ammu-Nation, You Can Do Everything. I Would Give You A Whole List, But Then By The Time You've Read It PS2 Would Be Extinct. (It's That Big). There Are Three Cities To Free Roam Around: Los Santos (Los Angeles), San Fierro (San Francisco) And Las Venturas (Las Vegas). Here's A Mini-Review Of Each City: Los Santos: It's Fun And Simple. You Can Recruit Gang Members To Help You Cap Some Cops And Hijack Trains, Without Having To Drive Fifty Miles Out Of Ganton! City Rating: 5/5 San Fierro: It Starts Out In The Country, Which Is Boring When Doing VERY HARD Missions, But If You Keep Playing You'll Get The Trams And All Hippies You'd Expect Too See In San Francisco (If It Was 1992). City Rating: 5/5. Las Venturas: Breathtaking. In This City You Learn How To Fly Airplanes AND You Can Go Gambling! City Rating: 5/5. What I Think Of The Gameplay: (I Don't Really Need To Do This Part But Just For The Sake Of It) GTA: SA Is Just An Amazing Game. It's That Simple. There's Nothing Really Wrong With This Game Apart From The Following: Content Explanations: Violence: Strong (Cartoonish) Bloody Violence Sex: Partial Nudity Strong Sex References Language: Frequent Strong Language (Racist Terms Included) Apart From All That Content There's Nothing Wrong With This Game. Overall: 5/5, The Best Video Game (On The PS2) I Have Ever Played. CJ Is One Of The Best GTA Protaganists To Date. Expand
  16. david(nottherealname)shultz
    May 26, 2009
    10
    All you stupid retarted dumb asses that gave this game anything below a 8 are G A Y shame unto all those poor souls. anyway this gme is bad ass it has more maps it lets you swim i lets you drive a plane it lets you ride a boat. it come with excellent hacks and cheats.it has everything in life you can do in real life and in the video game exept for rape,specific deaths n such anyway. screwAll you stupid retarted dumb asses that gave this game anything below a 8 are G A Y shame unto all those poor souls. anyway this gme is bad ass it has more maps it lets you swim i lets you drive a plane it lets you ride a boat. it come with excellent hacks and cheats.it has everything in life you can do in real life and in the video game exept for rape,specific deaths n such anyway. screw you all that gave this game lower than a 8 screw all you bitches to fuckn hell you stupid dumbasses Expand
  17. AnonymousMC
    Aug 17, 2009
    10
    simply the best itiration of anything inter-non interactive in history 18 MILLION sold on the ps2 alone is nuff said. the total gross for the game would be est. at over 1.1 billion which would place it at #3 best selling movie of all time, maybe 2nd. this is truly a benchmark in gaming history. if the re released this game 4 years from now(from august 17th, 2009 spruced up the graphics tosimply the best itiration of anything inter-non interactive in history 18 MILLION sold on the ps2 alone is nuff said. the total gross for the game would be est. at over 1.1 billion which would place it at #3 best selling movie of all time, maybe 2nd. this is truly a benchmark in gaming history. if the re released this game 4 years from now(from august 17th, 2009 spruced up the graphics to a crysis crushing standard, kept all the original gameplay formula in tact, slightly reduced the cursing, (even though i liked it as is), reworked the audio, added more cars planes, doubled the map size, optimised it for ps4 which will probably feature 100gb bluray capacity and pc with ultimate graphics. then reworked the lighting, textures, flames, made realistic ai, increased the travel options to include trips to small maps of cartels in asia to shop for dope etc. allowed you to recruit gang members, reasign lead member positions, assign members to houses around the city, increase the weapon count, weapon damage, sounds, enviro effects etc. paint cars a wide variety of colors, add aftermarket wheel options, engines, exhaust etc. add competitive kayaking and white water to the ravines, grand canyon, include revised multiplayer, local online co-op, jails, nitrous, add 20+ hrs of main story line, the MY list goes on. i hope and believe that my revised version would come near, match or surpass the original in sales and would be happy to buy the ip if available. your input to new editions to the original is welcome. i also forgot to mention calling up gang members to help you in a fight. Expand
  18. BannaHammic
    Oct 5, 2004
    10
    Its gon be PIMPI'n FO shizzle my dizzo'e fo shiz.
  19. Dude
    Oct 22, 2004
    10
    Rocks my socks!
  20. AtariJaguarFetish
    Oct 27, 2004
    10
    The graphics in this game are so awesome, rivaling Driver 2's on PS1, which is saying a lot. I love the pop-up which brings me back to the days of twitch gaming, where you needed fast reflexes to win. The control almost rivals Syphon Filter 2 and Tenchu 2's control, which we all know had the best control ever. The water effects almost surpass Cobra Triangles water on the NES, The graphics in this game are so awesome, rivaling Driver 2's on PS1, which is saying a lot. I love the pop-up which brings me back to the days of twitch gaming, where you needed fast reflexes to win. The control almost rivals Syphon Filter 2 and Tenchu 2's control, which we all know had the best control ever. The water effects almost surpass Cobra Triangles water on the NES, which still to this day has the best water effects ever. When it rains in the game, it almost looks as good as the rain in Saturn games, which did rain better than even Intellivision. Not even the PS2, Dreamcast nor XBOX can touch the graphics, control and gameplay here. Yes, I would have to say this is the best Atari Jaguar game I've ever played, maybe all month. Expand
  21. Sadie
    Oct 27, 2004
    10
    I waited and waited and waited for this game to come out. I wibbled in my chair as the countdown to the release drew near... I rushed out to Future Shop THE day it came out... yes, in the morning as soon as the doors opened... I paid $68 (CDN) for it and ran, bouncing, out the doors. I got home, and I played. This game was everything I had expected and oh so much more. Very worth the wait I waited and waited and waited for this game to come out. I wibbled in my chair as the countdown to the release drew near... I rushed out to Future Shop THE day it came out... yes, in the morning as soon as the doors opened... I paid $68 (CDN) for it and ran, bouncing, out the doors. I got home, and I played. This game was everything I had expected and oh so much more. Very worth the wait and the money! Expand
  22. RicardoA.
    Oct 28, 2004
    10
    This game is the best ever!!!
  23. [Anonymous]
    Oct 24, 2004
    10
    This will be the best gta yet! You can learn Kung Fu abd it has a new targeting system you can shoot head shots! All you people that hate this masterpiece are stupid.
  24. Osi
    Oct 29, 2004
    10
    Shame on you all damn haters just because Halo did not get a 9.9 or future halo might not get 9.9!. and the fact that the game system is changing in today's life does not means that they are going to make another GTA III, they have to move on or else this series is going to get boring! plus this game might be the best game out YET! so it deserves at least a 9 because of all the Shame on you all damn haters just because Halo did not get a 9.9 or future halo might not get 9.9!. and the fact that the game system is changing in today's life does not means that they are going to make another GTA III, they have to move on or else this series is going to get boring! plus this game might be the best game out YET! so it deserves at least a 9 because of all the effort and all the new stuff no other game has =] Expand
  25. WayneH.
    Oct 29, 2004
    10
    This game is the best car and action game ever.Truly amazing. Anyone who hasnt got it GET IT!
  26. JonW.
    Oct 24, 2004
    10
    This game is fantastic. The graphics and animations are inproved on the previous installments and the story is even more compelling. The game gives you incredible freedom, being able to play videogames in the local pub, play basketball in the street, do stunts on a bmx, go to the gym and no loading screens all add to the experience. I loved vice city and this wipes the floor with it. 10/10
  27. JoelS.
    Oct 24, 2004
    10
    Its gonna be awesome! I took days off work just to play it!
  28. MohamedA.
    Oct 25, 2004
    10
    I ABSOFKNLOUTLEY love it.
  29. Blaze
    Oct 28, 2004
    10
    man what the hell are all you nuts out there who gave this game under a 9 talking about...this game is so damn hard and tops gta:3 and vice city, now im a fan of the gta series and i have to say without a doubt this i by far the best gta game ever i am a madden guy and i have to speak when i say gta trounces madden sorry madden maybe next year def. a $49.99 worthy game...ups to rockstar fa sho.
  30. JayA
    Oct 28, 2004
    10
    Awesome! They have improved the gameplay with each release and this game is even better than Vice City. It deserves a 10 ranking!
  31. JigganisZig
    Oct 10, 2004
    10
    I too think this game will be perfect, but i also think that there's a slight off-chance that with all the new changes that it could be different enough to make it not-so-good. Here is to hoping. i wish i could get it the day it comes... but im 12. cant buy GTA.
  32. WowzerzJ.
    Oct 28, 2004
    10
    This game is amazing. Theres so much to do. Its so addictive, there really needs to be a warning on the box. You start to concentrate so much on Cj's life you forget about your own. Be carefull and take a break!
  33. LordVader
    Oct 28, 2004
    10
    Awesome game, this is easily the best of the GTA games, excellent graphic and fantastic playability but what's with trashing the Xbox? The game is coming to that console as well so what's the big deal? I think some people need to grow up abit.
  34. GraemeL.
    Oct 30, 2004
    10
    This game is the best. it has every game in 1 nearly and it is the best game out.
  35. MarkC.
    Oct 31, 2004
    10
    So much do I wish I didn't have to work.
  36. SidE.
    Nov 1, 2004
    10
    The best game there is out! i cant wait to see what rockstar can conjure up next. Right when you think it can get any better they suprise us again. congratulations its another victory for rockstar!!!!
  37. Solo
    Nov 1, 2004
    10
    Everyone that has rated this game 5 or lower hasn't played this game. This game is one of the best games I have ever played, but there is always those hatin a** nerds that try to find things wrong with a game. Attention all nerds this game is just to cool for you and your pocket protectors.
  38. DeonF.
    Nov 1, 2004
    10
    This game kicks ass. It's the best action adventure game ever. i made sure i picked it up on the first day for my collection.
  39. BigBilly
    Nov 8, 2004
    10
    It's the best game ever.
  40. OGLoc
    Nov 7, 2004
    10
    I personally think that this game is outstanding. i was never able to get into the previous GTA games and actually play them as they were meant with the missions and all. however with san andreas i have not been able to put the game down since i bought it. i think that the game was very well done and the virtual limitless boundries of the game are great. i would highly recommend this game I personally think that this game is outstanding. i was never able to get into the previous GTA games and actually play them as they were meant with the missions and all. however with san andreas i have not been able to put the game down since i bought it. i think that the game was very well done and the virtual limitless boundries of the game are great. i would highly recommend this game to anyone who is not offended by four letter words or general gang language. Expand
  41. DanielM.
    Nov 9, 2004
    10
    Better than the other GTA's and any other crime game.
  42. JoshM.
    Nov 9, 2004
    10
    This game is the best yet!
  43. KieranL.
    Nov 9, 2004
    10
    Brilliant, gang warfare is too tedious and annoying when you are concentrating on the missions.
  44. AndreB.
    Oct 26, 2004
    10
    Great Game! The Best ever made. I didn't think they could've pulled it off, but dammit, I was dead wrong. If u own a PS2 and dont have this in a library, U need a reality check.
  45. JohnS.
    Oct 29, 2004
    10
    This game is the shizzzznittt hecks yea the rocks my socks.
  46. JustinS.
    Oct 29, 2004
    10
    I played this game at a friends house and it was awsome. I am going to buy it as soon as i can get the money for it, it is well worth the $50.00 it cost.
  47. KhanhN.
    Oct 29, 2004
    10
    This game is TIGHT!
  48. BIGSmoke
    Oct 30, 2004
    10
    Best game i have ever played in my life. it is totally different from GTA3 ans vice city. the missions are way more fun and the country and all the tractors and stuff are really fun. there is so much to do. Plus this time you can acually swim!! This game will be the best game ever!! who cares about halo2. can u do a drive by in halo 2 how about ride dirtbike and atvs or have your own Best game i have ever played in my life. it is totally different from GTA3 ans vice city. the missions are way more fun and the country and all the tractors and stuff are really fun. there is so much to do. Plus this time you can acually swim!! This game will be the best game ever!! who cares about halo2. can u do a drive by in halo 2 how about ride dirtbike and atvs or have your own girlfriend or start a gang war. when i played this game my jaw hit the ground and just stared there for a long time.Ps. how could u rate this game a seven?? you must either suck at playing and can't beat the missions or you have x box and are just jealous you cant play GTA SAN ANDREAS!!!!!! Expand
  49. AdamW.
    Oct 25, 2004
    10
    It's the bomb digity fresh.
  50. Carl
    Oct 30, 2004
    10
    GTA San Andreas is the best GTA I've ever played and i played all GTAs except GTA london and the new feature like fat stamina and muscle are very cool and finally u can SWIM this is the coolest new feature in GTA San Andreas i think.
  51. Carl
    Oct 30, 2004
    10
    GTA San Andreas is the best GTA I've ever played and i played all GTAs except GTA london and the new feature like fat stamina and muscle are very cool and finally u can SWIM this is the coolest new feature in GTA San Andreas i think.
  52. KaiserSoze
    Nov 2, 2004
    10
    I'm one of those people who this game evidently won't appeal to because I'm 35. Hello? We were the first generation to grow up on videogames and a prime demographic. My friends and I have killed about 50,000 people on GTA3 and VC. Those who rate the game lower than an 8 haven't played it, haven't played it long enough or are X-Box fetishists. The graphics I'm one of those people who this game evidently won't appeal to because I'm 35. Hello? We were the first generation to grow up on videogames and a prime demographic. My friends and I have killed about 50,000 people on GTA3 and VC. Those who rate the game lower than an 8 haven't played it, haven't played it long enough or are X-Box fetishists. The graphics aren't perfect, but there are limits to the PS2 and the gameplay more than makes up for it. The size and seamlessness is better than any other game on PS2. I still have no idea how they did away with any load times. The missions are outstanding and the game gets much more fun as you progress. You'll be amazed at how much detail has been given to everything, including the countryside, casinos, OTB, working out, getting tattoos and haircuts, controlling your gang, car customization, mission design, etc. There's almost nothing you can't do. The game is just massive. It takes a LONG time to get from one city to another unless you have a plane. Stop yer whining and go buy the thing, even if you have to grow some balls and buy a PS2. They're cheap now. Expand
  53. JuliusP.
    Nov 4, 2004
    10
    This is the best game ever and I can't wait to the next game comes out. I know that it will probably come out when the ps3 is release.
  54. BertH.
    Oct 26, 2004
    10
    No arguments needed....... The Game speaks well for itself. Can't imagine what games will be like in 20 or even 10 years from now.
  55. JasonM.
    Nov 1, 2004
    10
    IT ROCKS.
  56. Brandon
    Oct 26, 2004
    10
    Many complained that Vice City was just GTA 3 in a different city. San Andreas expands greatly on the previous games by adding attributes (like lung capacity, driving skill, respect, etc.) that you have to build up. The ability to swim is a great addition that was desparately needed in the earlier games. The graphics are also greatly improved. They still aren't good but I suppose Many complained that Vice City was just GTA 3 in a different city. San Andreas expands greatly on the previous games by adding attributes (like lung capacity, driving skill, respect, etc.) that you have to build up. The ability to swim is a great addition that was desparately needed in the earlier games. The graphics are also greatly improved. They still aren't good but I suppose that is the trade off for having one of (if not THE) largest seemless world available in a video game. Expand
  57. MarkM.
    Nov 1, 2004
    10
    Anyone who rates this game lower than a 9 either: a.) has not played the other games in the series; b.) has not played this one enough to see the HUGE differences R* has added; c.) is an Xbox homer who has no business rating this game to begin with; and/or d.) is a blithering idiot. There have been numerous changes to this game -- instead of just doing mission after mission, you actually Anyone who rates this game lower than a 9 either: a.) has not played the other games in the series; b.) has not played this one enough to see the HUGE differences R* has added; c.) is an Xbox homer who has no business rating this game to begin with; and/or d.) is a blithering idiot. There have been numerous changes to this game -- instead of just doing mission after mission, you actually have to earn your skills ... there are a TON of odd jobs and mini games ... and the city is so huge as to be ridiculous. Those that think it's the same old, same old, have to be clueless -- it's not anywhere close to GTA3 or VC in terms of gameplay. All in all, perhaps the defining moment of the PS2, just as Halo2 will be for the Xbox. Expand
  58. Kevin
    Oct 26, 2004
    10
    Excellent! The best game in the series and the main character is finally cool unlike Tommy.
  59. MikeL.
    Oct 26, 2004
    10
    I think it's laughable how these Xbox fanboys decide to write negative reviews for GTA:SA and think their motivation appears anything but transparent. It's obvious they're bitter that a game that is available for only the Playstation 2 can challenge the greatness of Halo 1 and 2 ( the blasphemy!!). Also, it's pathetic how you could polarize yourself as either an Xbox I think it's laughable how these Xbox fanboys decide to write negative reviews for GTA:SA and think their motivation appears anything but transparent. It's obvious they're bitter that a game that is available for only the Playstation 2 can challenge the greatness of Halo 1 and 2 ( the blasphemy!!). Also, it's pathetic how you could polarize yourself as either an Xbox fan or PS2 fan much like Republicans and Democrats are doing these days. What's wrong with liking both for god's sake? It's obvious that the GTA franchise and Halo franchise are among the creme de la creme of the gaming world, but unlike you fanboys i'll be enjoying both this holiday season (sorry for the preachiness, just had to get that off my chest). Expand
  60. BobP.
    Oct 26, 2004
    10
    This greatly expands on the last GTA with a landscape six times the size of the last, with no loading in-between areas, most of the missions are of greater depth and quality than the best in vice city. Voice acting is consistent all-around, instead of just the main character. The RPG-like stats system is a nice addition and not just an extra chore to do. The customization of your This greatly expands on the last GTA with a landscape six times the size of the last, with no loading in-between areas, most of the missions are of greater depth and quality than the best in vice city. Voice acting is consistent all-around, instead of just the main character. The RPG-like stats system is a nice addition and not just an extra chore to do. The customization of your character is also extremely well done. The control of vehicles and aiming is about at vice city level to start with, then as you gain stats, it gets better (though I haven't gotten to the point of aircraft yet). The mini-games are all well thought out and implemented. To say its just a rehash just shows you havent really played it or its predecessor. Expand
  61. JoshD.
    Nov 1, 2004
    10
    The sheer quality of the gameplay and graphics make Grand Theft Auto San Andreas the best PS2 game of the year! 10 out of 10. The amount of detail the game goes into is amazing! I definately recommend this game to everyone!
  62. KyleK.
    Nov 2, 2004
    10
    WHAT THE! Im blown away at how there is so many things to do and it's long. This is way better than GTA 3 So what the hell are the metacritic people doin, 96 score c'mon its way better than gta 3 anyway u do ur stupid calculations but san andreas is the best. I know y u put GTA 3 so high because it was a new "revolution" in the GTA series. But again i say it's the best in WHAT THE! Im blown away at how there is so many things to do and it's long. This is way better than GTA 3 So what the hell are the metacritic people doin, 96 score c'mon its way better than gta 3 anyway u do ur stupid calculations but san andreas is the best. I know y u put GTA 3 so high because it was a new "revolution" in the GTA series. But again i say it's the best in its genre. Wicked game. Expand
  63. Bill
    Oct 26, 2004
    10
    All the people who are saying this game is just a rehash of the previous ones are obviously uninformed. The game has gained a massive list of additions ranging from RPG like character development to social interactions to squad leadership. The game is 5 times the size of VC with well over 5 times as much to do, no loading times in the entire outdoor area, and the ability to customize your All the people who are saying this game is just a rehash of the previous ones are obviously uninformed. The game has gained a massive list of additions ranging from RPG like character development to social interactions to squad leadership. The game is 5 times the size of VC with well over 5 times as much to do, no loading times in the entire outdoor area, and the ability to customize your character 's outfits, abilities, appearance, and social behavior to your hearts content. Those of you who think IGN is biased, Gamespot gave it a 9.6. Is this a massive industry wide conspiracy? I think not. Get a life. Expand
  64. 64J.
    Nov 2, 2004
    10
    It kicks ass.
  65. JamesP.
    Oct 26, 2004
    10
    The Return of the King!!! without a doubt the best game alongside the long awaited Half Life 2. What's with the people who keep giving 1 for every superb title? Sort your lives out idiots.
  66. TimS.
    Nov 1, 2004
    10
    The best video game ever produced! Period.
  67. GotIt
    Oct 25, 2004
    10
    Hey, I just decided to rub it in. It's 6:00 on the 25th and I GOT SAN ANDREAS. My EB games started releasing it early. In your face you PRE_ORDERERS. HAHA
  68. QJFRESH
    Oct 27, 2004
    10
    I Bought it yesterday the best game I ever played if you dont have it you need to get it.
  69. BradB.
    Oct 25, 2004
    10
    Just picked this game up tonight and it is outstanding!! Great graphics, excellent west coast music and the story seems great so far.
  70. JohnCross
    Oct 27, 2004
    10
    This is one of the best games I played in a long time.
  71. ChadJB.
    Nov 3, 2004
    10
    I have seen the face of God and it is San Andreas.
  72. DaDefJam
    Oct 26, 2004
    10
    It's a timeless classic, even better than Vice City.
  73. AndyW.
    Nov 3, 2004
    10
    Best game eva made u can do woteva u like and shud last ages.
  74. RaoulC.
    Oct 20, 2004
    10
    I LOVE THIS GAME!!!!
  75. JoeA.
    Oct 26, 2004
    10
    The very best of gaming large and great real life characters a great guest appearances.
  76. Wongit
    Nov 7, 2004
    10
    What else is there to say, i can go ahead and say the same stuff everyone else said while reviewing this game, ull be reading the same stuff. by far the greatest game ever.
  77. RicardoA.
    Nov 9, 2004
    10
    This game is the best ever!!!
  78. IvaP.
    Oct 27, 2004
    10
    My closest friend lost his marriage because of the GTA series, but he wouldn't have it anyway. He won't be remarrying for the next 2 years after the release of San Andreas. I've played it too... great graphics and that non-linear gameplay that makes you never want to touch a linear game again. Better than sex! Not that i've had it before. :)
  79. Ertert
    Nov 9, 2004
    10
    I havent actually bought the game yet, its sold out everywhere!!!! do many girls play this game?? i absolutely love it but i know no other girls that do.
  80. JJJames
    Oct 27, 2004
    10
    The best game ever.
  81. EasyE
    Oct 27, 2004
    10
    THIS GAME IS DA SH.T!
  82. FarhadA.
    Nov 8, 2004
    10
    It's the best game i have ever played
  83. AB
    Oct 27, 2004
    10
    This game is freakin' amazing. They improved on every aspect of Vice City (which was already a great game to begin with). Every PS2 owner should buy this game. Now. And as for Jigganis Zig: since you're only 12 you should wait for Ratchet and Clank: Up Your Arsenal and Metroid Prime 2 Echoes; they're going to be awesome too!
  84. JOEI.
    Oct 27, 2004
    10
    This game will have you putting GTA3 and Vice City up on your shelf for the next year at the least. Not only is this game tweaked waay more than the past GTA games, its a blast! You would think this type of gameplay would get old, but why would you think that? Do you get sick of mario? I didnt think so. He's been around for 20+ years. My only complaint is the graphics are a little This game will have you putting GTA3 and Vice City up on your shelf for the next year at the least. Not only is this game tweaked waay more than the past GTA games, its a blast! You would think this type of gameplay would get old, but why would you think that? Do you get sick of mario? I didnt think so. He's been around for 20+ years. My only complaint is the graphics are a little stale although they are somewhat improved. Im forgiving this problem though due to the fact Rockstar had to cram so so much into this game. I wonder if they ever thought of using two discs? They could improve the graphcis with out a doubt then. Expand
  85. PaulD.
    Oct 27, 2004
    10
    This game is absolutely awesome... The graphics are outstanding...gameplay A+... everything about this game is great.
  86. StevenV.
    Nov 11, 2004
    10
    The best video game ever made since vice city.
  87. MichaelV.
    Nov 12, 2004
    10
    Man to all your losers complaining about the game i think this is the best GTA game that has come out yet. It deserves a ten but the only downside to this game is that its soooo big. oh yea!
  88. JJJames
    Nov 12, 2004
    10
    The best game ever.
  89. JamesS.
    Oct 22, 2004
    10
    Bloody good.
  90. MichaelP.
    Nov 10, 2004
    10
    Kickass game to cool makes it feel like your actuallythere killing, robbing, and working for the mafia.
  91. Flydude
    Nov 10, 2004
    10
    This is the most g'd up game ever dawg its of the hizzle fo shizzle.
  92. Elliott
    Oct 27, 2004
    10
    Plenty of new stuff, it's actually overwhelming how great this game is.
  93. JohnQ.
    Oct 27, 2004
    10
    Best game i've ever played.
  94. FilipeS.
    Nov 11, 2004
    10
    This is the best game of all my life!
  95. HugoFusion
    Nov 14, 2004
    10
    K two words this game rocks. man u can get hair cuts. and i think u can grow a beard well yeah umm yes umm well yeah of course it gets a ten it is the biggest and best game that was ever introduced to the world.
  96. AdamH.
    Nov 13, 2004
    10
    People who give this game any rating lower than a nine is out of thier mind. Just because you are whining about not having a ps2 to play it on doesnt mean you have to diss the game u you xbox loving halo 2 f***ers.(Lets go blast aliens whith my laser gun)
  97. UmarM.
    Oct 29, 2004
    10
    Holy holy damn this game is sooooooooo wicked.
  98. AndrewT.
    Oct 29, 2004
    10
    This game is the best thing that RockStar North has ever created. I play this game day and night and now i think i turned into those people with no life.
  99. RaheelG.
    Nov 13, 2004
    10
    No doubt rockstar does it again with another smash hit. If this game was a women i would have married it already.
  100. JoeG.
    Nov 15, 2004
    10
    I have never seen a video game better than this. This game beats Halo 2 by an inch. I thought Driver 3 was good, driver 3 is Pong compared to this.
  101. Aug 8, 2012
    10
    I absolutely LOVED this game, it was my favorite game around this time, I couldn't get enough of it, the story was great and some of the character interaction was hilarious, not to mention the crazy action you can get yourself into, the controls were easy and the tutorials helped very much with being able to play the game well, and your way, it included mini-games that were also very fun,I absolutely LOVED this game, it was my favorite game around this time, I couldn't get enough of it, the story was great and some of the character interaction was hilarious, not to mention the crazy action you can get yourself into, the controls were easy and the tutorials helped very much with being able to play the game well, and your way, it included mini-games that were also very fun, plus, its fun to mess about with tons of cheats. Collapse

Awards & Rankings

1
1
#1 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2004
1
#1 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2004
Metascore
95

Universal acclaim - based on 80 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 79 out of 80
  2. Negative: 0 out of 80
  1. The amount of things to do in the cities of Los Santos, San Fierro, and Las Venturas is absolutely staggering... In my opinion there’s no excuse to not have a “save anywhere” feature included.
  2. 90
    San Andreas's chief advantage over "Vice City" is size. And for many players, that's good enough. But another group of fans will come to quietly understand that, at least for the time being, "Vice City" remains the high point of the GTA series.
  3. 95
    There's so much to do in this game that it's outside of my range of imagination to be able to picture me reaching a 100% complete. Unfathomable.