Guitar Hero II PlayStation 2

User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 103 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 84 out of 103
  2. Negative: 6 out of 103

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JordanB.
    Nov 11, 2006
    8
    One of my main complaints is that Axel Steel is so much easier to play with than the other guitarists in the game. Also, Freddy Krueger should have been an unlockable character, I mean who can shred better than Freddy, both figuratively and literally. I agree with Seth's comment about the exclusion of Nickelback, I could have lost some of the classic rock songs for a purely One of my main complaints is that Axel Steel is so much easier to play with than the other guitarists in the game. Also, Freddy Krueger should have been an unlockable character, I mean who can shred better than Freddy, both figuratively and literally. I agree with Seth's comment about the exclusion of Nickelback, I could have lost some of the classic rock songs for a purely Nickelback playlist, imagine all the shredding you would be doing at 3 am, waking up the neighbors. To conclude, this is the best console RPG since Bloody Roar 4, ultimately the graphics in Bloody win just because of the animals. Expand
  2. ChopStix
    Nov 18, 2006
    0
    They forget one thing - the music. The song list is horrible. The tunes are boring beyond belief. I want to play rock & roll anthems like Sweet Child o' Mine and YYZ. But sadly there's little of that. In fact, there's very little in terms of guitar solos to dig into and get that rush that was there in the first edition. And what is Cherry Pie doing on there? That song was They forget one thing - the music. The song list is horrible. The tunes are boring beyond belief. I want to play rock & roll anthems like Sweet Child o' Mine and YYZ. But sadly there's little of that. In fact, there's very little in terms of guitar solos to dig into and get that rush that was there in the first edition. And what is Cherry Pie doing on there? That song was garbage back then and it's even worse now. And the grung death metal gets tiresome real quick. The covers themselves are horrible themselves with the exception of Message in a Bottle and YYZ. I suspect this will be their last edition. I wanted to buy to give it as a gift but now, I won't even do that unless I can get the first edition that had some of the great guitar anthems replete with classic licks which filled the first. To their credit, there is a bit more depth to the game itself but the tunes just aren't crowd-pleasing enough. This is a HUGE disappointment and believe me I wanted to like this game. I looked forward to it. But I just don't want to play the garbage tunes that have no great licks that simulate that thrill of playing. I'm talking about tunes like More Than a Feeling, Ziggy Stardust, Texas Flood, Spanish Castle Magic, Bark at the Moon and You Got Another Thing Comin'. Screw you Red Octane and your bleedin demographics. You've lost this customer and my word of mouth advertising. Expand
  3. ErikaJ.
    Oct 1, 2007
    10
    This game is absolutely amazing. Guitar Hero II is harder than the first and offers new exciting songs that are even more fun to play than the ones in Guitar Hero. The new characters are awesome; they even updated them to have two different looks! To me the tracks in the second game are more fun to play, but they are not as modern as the ones in the first, like Take Me Out and No One This game is absolutely amazing. Guitar Hero II is harder than the first and offers new exciting songs that are even more fun to play than the ones in Guitar Hero. The new characters are awesome; they even updated them to have two different looks! To me the tracks in the second game are more fun to play, but they are not as modern as the ones in the first, like Take Me Out and No One Knows as opposed to Ziggy Stardust or War Pigs. Which songs are better is a personal preference. I prefer the songs on GH II, my favorite being Miserlou. The songs are also more challenging so that experienced players will enjoy the step up; however, it Expand
  4. ZackH.
    Jul 4, 2007
    10
    This game is great. a lot of the people complain about the track list but even for the bad songs there is a good fun guitar track. and there are some good tracks like war pigs, beast and the harlot, laid to rest and many other rock classics, the graphics are ok but i always said graphics are the least thing to worry about in games. muliplayer is grea for freinds.
  5. KolC.
    Mar 3, 2007
    7
    Guitar Hero II's is a step forward and a step back. On the up side, the mutli-player is much improved. Guitar Hero is perfect for playing with friends, so the original's lack of co-op was a big downer during GH parties. Yet, while the new co-op and improved competitive modes are certainly great, GH II's songs are simply not as good, and the quality of the covers is also Guitar Hero II's is a step forward and a step back. On the up side, the mutli-player is much improved. Guitar Hero is perfect for playing with friends, so the original's lack of co-op was a big downer during GH parties. Yet, while the new co-op and improved competitive modes are certainly great, GH II's songs are simply not as good, and the quality of the covers is also down (Mother and War Pigs are espically awful). Of particular note are the songs above teir five, which, with a few exceptions, range from very bad to terrible. The songs are horrible choices, because very few people know them, they're to genre specific (The Beast and the Harlot may be loved by metal fans, but it's nothing compared to Crossroads, which everyone seems to love), and they're to long and repetitive. Yes, they're very difficult, but the point of this game is fun - instead, it seems the developers were only concerned with challenging those few who conquered the first game. I find myself wishing that GH's songs could be combined with GH II's multi-player - that would be a perfect game. Expand
  6. DanW.
    May 29, 2007
    9
    This game has an awsome song selection, it needs more modern songs. This game is very fun with friends seeing who can get a better score. I give it a thumbs up
  7. VinceC>
    Jul 3, 2007
    10
    This game is absolutely amazing and anyone that says otherwise has no idea what they are talking about. The multiplayer was improved sooo much from the first one and personally i think that the songs are better in the second one. I knew 2 or 3 songs from every group and the first 4 groups i knew every single one which made it so much more fun. And after playing for a while you begin to This game is absolutely amazing and anyone that says otherwise has no idea what they are talking about. The multiplayer was improved sooo much from the first one and personally i think that the songs are better in the second one. I knew 2 or 3 songs from every group and the first 4 groups i knew every single one which made it so much more fun. And after playing for a while you begin to like every song, aside from institutionalized and freya(i hate those songs). Even the bonus tracks have a few greats like thunderhorse, gemini, six, and jordan which are all challenging and a lot of fun. Their could be some improvements for the third installment like a pro-faceoff where u dont have to do the same difficulty, and an easier transition from medium to hard would be better. overall i would give this game a 9.8 and it is in my top 5 favorite games of all time. Expand
  8. bills
    Dec 6, 2008
    10
    I have to give this a 10 best game ever, all other games are drink coasters! no but seriously harmonix & crew did the best they could with what they had. it costs real money for actual vocalists to rerecord for the games... and thats for the artists that responded... most bands didnt return the call because they still didnt know what the heck guitar hero even was, let alone know what itI have to give this a 10 best game ever, all other games are drink coasters! no but seriously harmonix & crew did the best they could with what they had. it costs real money for actual vocalists to rerecord for the games... and thats for the artists that responded... most bands didnt return the call because they still didnt know what the heck guitar hero even was, let alone know what it would do to their music/reputation so relax dont overthink this unless youve really read into it! Expand
  9. NoahR.
    Nov 6, 2006
    10
    New content, features and modes in addition to improved gameplay make an already great game better. Perhaps the greatest music/rhythm game of all time.
  10. [Anonymous]
    Dec 12, 2006
    10
    One of the best and most original games of all time. Most of the covers of the songs are absolutely spot on, however there are a couple that are average such as the Foo Fighters Monkey Wrench. The guy who tries to impersonate Dave Grohl doesn't do a very good job and his voice is too deep. Overall, this game is worth every penny and you will not be disappointed!
  11. DaveB.
    Jun 17, 2007
    10
    The absolute greatest rythm game ever made.
  12. NateB.
    Nov 11, 2006
    0
    The sound quality in this game is awful. Everything sounds like it was recorded on an 8 track, and the quality of the covers themselves are terrible (plus it doesn't help the song list is significantly weaker this go around). My biggest complain is the timing of the notes, I'll be holding a note just fine and all the sudden it will mess up for no reason. Also, the notes The sound quality in this game is awful. Everything sounds like it was recorded on an 8 track, and the quality of the covers themselves are terrible (plus it doesn't help the song list is significantly weaker this go around). My biggest complain is the timing of the notes, I'll be holding a note just fine and all the sudden it will mess up for no reason. Also, the notes don't play when you actually play them, sometimes there's this weird delay. Wolfmother, for example, is particularly strange. I'm playing it and everything is spot on, then all the sudden the second part of the main riff is completely messed up or I'll flat out not play a note and it will play on its own. It's not for lack of skill, as I demolished the first guitar hero, or the guitar since guiter hero 1 works fine. It's like they rushed this to release without polishing anything. I hate this game so much and its one of the things I looked foward to most all year. Expand
  13. HotPee
    Nov 15, 2006
    5
    I feel duped. This game is WAY overrated. The covers SUCK!! in this game, which take away, completely, from the overall ability to actually get into the game. It feels more like I'm just trying to hit some buttons, regardless of how loud the stereo is up. The game play has improved, but the the production value has gone way down, from the poor vocals to the horrible sound quality on I feel duped. This game is WAY overrated. The covers SUCK!! in this game, which take away, completely, from the overall ability to actually get into the game. It feels more like I'm just trying to hit some buttons, regardless of how loud the stereo is up. The game play has improved, but the the production value has gone way down, from the poor vocals to the horrible sound quality on guitar. Don't be fooled, rent the game first. Expand
  14. SethA.
    Nov 8, 2006
    9
    This game is totally larry! I mean, it's no Bloody Roar 4, but it's a big improvement over the first game. The first was like being at a John Mayer concert; this one's like being at a Nickelback concert (by the way, why the hell aren't they in the game?! They're one of the frickin biggest bands in the history of rock and roll!!). You see where I'm coming This game is totally larry! I mean, it's no Bloody Roar 4, but it's a big improvement over the first game. The first was like being at a John Mayer concert; this one's like being at a Nickelback concert (by the way, why the hell aren't they in the game?! They're one of the frickin biggest bands in the history of rock and roll!!). You see where I'm coming from? Basically, that just means that while the first one rocked, this one rocks harder than Freddy Kruger, figuritively and literally. Definately one of the best games of the holiday season... at least until Wii Weather Report comes out. Rock on San Diego!! Expand
  15. Mike
    Nov 9, 2006
    10
    I beat Freebird on expert the other day, this is such a good game. My only complaint is some of the covers are bad, and all the metal songs get repetitive, other than that, it's one of my all-time favorites. The new co-op is so good, and you can your buddies could play forever. There is also a new typ of head-to-head where both players play the same song, without switching inbetween I beat Freebird on expert the other day, this is such a good game. My only complaint is some of the covers are bad, and all the metal songs get repetitive, other than that, it's one of my all-time favorites. The new co-op is so good, and you can your buddies could play forever. There is also a new typ of head-to-head where both players play the same song, without switching inbetween part, you both just play the same thing, it's also a great time. Personally I didn't find the practice mode to be all that helpful, sure, if you wanna play the Freebird solo without playing the first 4minutes, it's good for that, but other than some select songs I didn't use it to much. The game is consistently harder than the first, but there wasn't a single song on the game that had me playing for 2 hours to figure it out, like Cowboys from hell. You will love this game, no matter what typ of game player you are, Hardcore or casual, it's a must buy, I have yet to see a person who hasn't loved this game. Expand
  16. MikeG.
    Dec 16, 2006
    10
    I'm a little biased. I beat every GH1 song on expert (most easily). GH2 is a lot better, more challenge, more options, better gameplay(HO PO).Hard to believe the game was rushed, took a year to release. Please stop complaining about the song list. If you made a game with 55 songs, i'm sure i could find one or two songs i didnt like.
  17. KyleC.
    Dec 29, 2006
    9
    I definitely have a lot more interest in the 2nd one. There is a larger variety in songs and metal bands that are more up to date..im also more satisfied with the hammer-ons and pull-offs change.
  18. KyleF.
    Dec 30, 2006
    10
    The single player is not as enjoyable as in the first game and both the regular and extra song lists could be better, BUT the multiplayer is incredible. Also, kudos for improving the hammer-ons and pull-offs. It makes the fast sections SO much easier! And, to J.L...although they didn't write the song, a cover of Van Halen's "You Really Got Me" is on the game. And, a song worse The single player is not as enjoyable as in the first game and both the regular and extra song lists could be better, BUT the multiplayer is incredible. Also, kudos for improving the hammer-ons and pull-offs. It makes the fast sections SO much easier! And, to J.L...although they didn't write the song, a cover of Van Halen's "You Really Got Me" is on the game. And, a song worse than Cherry Pie? Well, "Institutionalized" by Suicidal Tendencies definitely trumps anything else on both games. Expand
  19. BryanMcCann
    Nov 27, 2007
    9
    it is pritty much the same as the 360 version with the less graphics. it has may more better songs then the 1st and they did not change much so it still is great. I think this is the only Guitar Hero game I still own. I traded in number 1 and 3 because 3 was just horable and one I got sick of.
  20. TonyG.
    Jul 20, 2007
    10
    Sooooo much fun, while there maybe many songs u dont know you get used 2 them as u play them over and over again. Soon the unfamiliar songs become familiar.
  21. CaioK.
    Sep 28, 2007
    8
    Good game, but not as good as the first. The track list is not as good, there are a lot of songs that most of the people never heard about, and some of the covers are in a lower level compared to the previous game. But still a very fun game, and some of that bands that I missed on the first one are there, like Guns and Roses and Aerosmith.
  22. AlexHeim
    Jun 29, 2008
    7
    Although very fun casually, this game lacks any sort of gameplay worth committing to. I am a big fan of classic rock and still this game disappoints me. I'm afraid hype has given this title too much credit. If you are a casual gamer this is a perfect game for you. It has simplistic, easy to learn gameplay that can entertain you for hours. If you aren't a casual gamer you mayAlthough very fun casually, this game lacks any sort of gameplay worth committing to. I am a big fan of classic rock and still this game disappoints me. I'm afraid hype has given this title too much credit. If you are a casual gamer this is a perfect game for you. It has simplistic, easy to learn gameplay that can entertain you for hours. If you aren't a casual gamer you may want to pass this title up for something that will be more worth the price Expand
  23. WesleyW.
    Nov 12, 2006
    10
    Guitar Hero was a hellride. When I played Guitar Hero 2 it was a demon hellride. It yelled at me, I yelled at it back. When I was on the road with the Fiasco band I played Guitar Hero 2 to lose weight after the first time I got fat when I went to Rock'n'Roll McDonald's. I told them I am sorry I got fat, I will slim down. Guitar Hero 2 is good for whoopin' that mule Guitar Hero was a hellride. When I played Guitar Hero 2 it was a demon hellride. It yelled at me, I yelled at it back. When I was on the road with the Fiasco band I played Guitar Hero 2 to lose weight after the first time I got fat when I went to Rock'n'Roll McDonald's. I told them I am sorry I got fat, I will slim down. Guitar Hero 2 is good for whoopin' that mule with a belt. It has tremendous replay value and rivals almost all modern games in terms of fun factor. Rock over London! Rock on Chicago! Wheaties! Breakfast of champions! Expand
  24. Jimbo
    Nov 10, 2006
    8
    A solid addition to the original, although I think the original had a better song list given its larger variety of genres and eras. The mutliplayer is definately an improvement, but other than that, the makers stuck to the same gameplay formula that made the original a success (with the addition of the occasional 3 finger chord, and hammer ons/ offs are MUCH easier to do). Some decent A solid addition to the original, although I think the original had a better song list given its larger variety of genres and eras. The mutliplayer is definately an improvement, but other than that, the makers stuck to the same gameplay formula that made the original a success (with the addition of the occasional 3 finger chord, and hammer ons/ offs are MUCH easier to do). Some decent modern rock to increase the variety of songs would of made this a 10. Expand
  25. LarryF.
    Nov 18, 2006
    10
    The sound quality and covers in this game are actually very good, despite claims others have made here. The parts have been meticulously reproduced and, aside from a couple of songs, are pretty much perfect. I think Nate's problems may be with a defective guitar or lack of skill, but most likely stupidity. If there's a delay in sound you can also correct it in the options menu. The sound quality and covers in this game are actually very good, despite claims others have made here. The parts have been meticulously reproduced and, aside from a couple of songs, are pretty much perfect. I think Nate's problems may be with a defective guitar or lack of skill, but most likely stupidity. If there's a delay in sound you can also correct it in the options menu. But whatever, I guess you can't please everyone. The game must just rock him too hard. Expand
  26. Xavier
    Nov 27, 2006
    10
    First, I wanan sya that the G4 TV website gives this game 5/5 stars A.K.A. a 100. So change that score. Second, the covers in this are just as good or better than the original(case in point: Search and Destroy). I like it being harder, but not like Cowboys From Hell hard. There arent as many good bonus song as the last GH(what's wiht all the heavy metal?) This is the most flawlessFirst, I wanan sya that the G4 TV website gives this game 5/5 stars A.K.A. a 100. So change that score. Second, the covers in this are just as good or better than the original(case in point: Search and Destroy). I like it being harder, but not like Cowboys From Hell hard. There arent as many good bonus song as the last GH(what's wiht all the heavy metal?) This is the most flawless game anyone will play for the next decade(except for GH3,4,etc...). Expand
  27. MatthewB.
    Nov 28, 2006
    10
    In a world where almost every game is either sports, spy or rpg where you shoot or axe people to death, this game is a breathe of fresh air. I still rent video games about once a week, but I've probably bought one video game in the last five years because I'm bored with them now. This game, however, was an easy decision to spend $80 on because it's so much fun. Like one In a world where almost every game is either sports, spy or rpg where you shoot or axe people to death, this game is a breathe of fresh air. I still rent video games about once a week, but I've probably bought one video game in the last five years because I'm bored with them now. This game, however, was an easy decision to spend $80 on because it's so much fun. Like one reviewer said, unless you hate rock music, you'll love this game. This is the first time my LEGS are sore from playing a video game so much. I have to stand when I'm a rock hero! Expand
  28. FredD.
    Nov 6, 2006
    10
    Every night I go to sleep wishing this game is all life is. I'm... I'm barely human anymore...
  29. ChrisC.
    Nov 9, 2006
    10
    This is the best game Ive ever played on the ps2 this game will never get old I give it a 2-thumbs up.
  30. J.L.
    Dec 20, 2006
    6
    I had high hopes after GH1, and as good as the gameplay (still) is, unfortunately the song list just dosent stack up to the first version. It really needed more guitar rock anthems like the first. Wheres the AC/DC? Wheres the Van Halen? Wheres more Stones? (Thats the best song in the list btw). And whats with Cherry Pie? I dont think I could think of a worse song.
  31. MikeM.
    Dec 28, 2006
    7
    Compared to the first one, GHII has truly enjoyable multiplayer and a useful practice mode. But in a game based on music, the songs will be the make-or-break factor, even moreso here where it's centered around a specific instrument and (one would think) genre. That's where GHII really drops the ball. Much of it seems to be an homage to the 80's, and I don't mean good Compared to the first one, GHII has truly enjoyable multiplayer and a useful practice mode. But in a game based on music, the songs will be the make-or-break factor, even moreso here where it's centered around a specific instrument and (one would think) genre. That's where GHII really drops the ball. Much of it seems to be an homage to the 80's, and I don't mean good 80's. There are many songs that fit with the design intention of the series, but this time around there are too many others that are just not very fun to play. And that's the crux of it. There are hundreds of songs from dozens of bands I've liked from over the decades, but a sizeable percentage just aren't the type that should go in a game which purports to make the player feel like a guitar hero. To be fair, by the same token there are songs I've either never heard or never much cared for that have turned out to be really enjoyable to play, both in this one and the original. Along with a weaker overall selection, there are some truly bad "sound-alikes" doing vocals. A few would even be laugh-worthy, assuming you got the game for half price. I figure the additions to gameplay are worth at least 2 points, so a straight comparison leaving out those additions would net this one a 5, or about half what I'd rate the original. Expand
  32. JayE.
    Nov 25, 2006
    5
    Comparing to the first: + More songs + More options for dual players + More states - Many songs are muted guitar - Most of the songs don't draw you in (unless you are into the off-beat punk style rock) - Medium is MUCH easier than the 1st, Hard is MUCH harder than the 1st - Many songs appear to have guitar "notes" in odd-ball places (aka ... no corresponding sound) - Appears to be a Comparing to the first: + More songs + More options for dual players + More states - Many songs are muted guitar - Most of the songs don't draw you in (unless you are into the off-beat punk style rock) - Medium is MUCH easier than the 1st, Hard is MUCH harder than the 1st - Many songs appear to have guitar "notes" in odd-ball places (aka ... no corresponding sound) - Appears to be a quick release just to get the game out ... I go back to the first Expand
  33. MartyM.
    Dec 24, 2006
    9
    The songs aren't the greatest, but the game play if unbeatable, I haven't tried it multi player yet and I've already had tons of fun. Definitely recommended.
  34. MichaelO.
    Dec 29, 2006
    9
    I was a newbie with Guitar Hero II and loved it, but when I bough Guitar Hero I, it was so much easier to learn.
  35. ThomasP.
    Dec 29, 2006
    10
    If you like music, play the guitar, or just want to pretend this game is for you.
  36. Jul 23, 2011
    10
    GH 1 proved that the Music genre had a niche and that it could expand in the horizon of games. GH2 was even better than the predecessor and made what it made it good, into a juggernaut in the last couple years. The musics start getting nicer and more taste for more varied ways. Guitar Hero 2 is addicting and fun, but also the best in the GH big list.
  37. Nov 21, 2011
    7
    Guitar Hero II is bounds better than Guitar Hero. Though the addition of encores is a superfluous addition that only wastes time in the long run, a larger set list, an improved practice mode, two-player simultaneous modes, a vastly improved hammer on system, and superior charting leave little to argue against the upgrade for fans of the original excepting preference of songs. Today, thisGuitar Hero II is bounds better than Guitar Hero. Though the addition of encores is a superfluous addition that only wastes time in the long run, a larger set list, an improved practice mode, two-player simultaneous modes, a vastly improved hammer on system, and superior charting leave little to argue against the upgrade for fans of the original excepting preference of songs. Today, this game is outmoded by other rhythm games except for the guitarist who wishes to test his mettle against Jordan. Expand
  38. Jul 30, 2012
    8
    This game is amazingly addictive. My ps3 fried and i got a ps2 and played this game. This game is almost ps3 worthy...i hope they remake it in ps4. the notes are a little off and the song selection (being almost all of them are covers) is a little off...then again my music liking may be a little different then Red Octane. The graphics are 8/10 for a ps2...the cartoon artwork was a veryThis game is amazingly addictive. My ps3 fried and i got a ps2 and played this game. This game is almost ps3 worthy...i hope they remake it in ps4. the notes are a little off and the song selection (being almost all of them are covers) is a little off...then again my music liking may be a little different then Red Octane. The graphics are 8/10 for a ps2...the cartoon artwork was a very good move they didn't really keep in GH 3 :( Expand
  39. Nov 22, 2014
    9
    I love everything about this game, except the hammer-on and pull-off system.

    I am pretty sure that i suddenly miss a note for no reason. I hit the notes at the right timing, but still losing my multiplier and destroys my accuracy stats! It's almost impossible to hit every note on this game when you are strumming very fast, because the game wont register everytime you strum. Overall,
    I love everything about this game, except the hammer-on and pull-off system.

    I am pretty sure that i suddenly miss a note for no reason. I hit the notes at the right timing, but still losing my multiplier and destroys my accuracy stats! It's almost impossible to hit every note on this game when you are strumming very fast, because the game wont register everytime you strum.

    Overall, this is one of my favourite Guitar Hero games ever made. It makes so many good memories.
    Expand
  40. Jan 10, 2015
    9
    An awesome sequel to the first Guitar Hero game. The setlist is really good and filled with songs which most of them covers which some are not really good like the Laid to Rest and the Killing in the Name covers, in my opinion they should've just gotten the masters and censored them instead of covering it. The graphics are good but really didn't change from the first game and theAn awesome sequel to the first Guitar Hero game. The setlist is really good and filled with songs which most of them covers which some are not really good like the Laid to Rest and the Killing in the Name covers, in my opinion they should've just gotten the masters and censored them instead of covering it. The graphics are good but really didn't change from the first game and the difficulty is just right for Hard and Expert so if you want a challenge try those two difficulties, for a 8 year old game it does feel outdated but still a lot of fun to play. Expand
  41. May 30, 2015
    10
    Ahh, so many good memories i made with this game. I loved those animations, the setlist and the career mode. This was a revolutionary game (and Guitar Hero 1 of course), and i am still addicted to the Guitar Hero franchise, especially this game. One thing i don't like about this game, and that is the HOPO-system. You must be Very accurate to hit every note, but you will learn that one day.Ahh, so many good memories i made with this game. I loved those animations, the setlist and the career mode. This was a revolutionary game (and Guitar Hero 1 of course), and i am still addicted to the Guitar Hero franchise, especially this game. One thing i don't like about this game, and that is the HOPO-system. You must be Very accurate to hit every note, but you will learn that one day.

    This is a game i never will forget.
    Expand
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 69 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 68 out of 69
  2. Negative: 0 out of 69
  1. Exceeds the previous title in every way..."Guitar Hero" was a staple of the parties I throw at my house, but it looks like Guitar Hero II has stolen the crown!
  2. The original's head to head multiplayer wasn't vital enough to make the expense worthwhile, but this time the co-op play is so integral to the game's appeal that most will find it irresistible...This is an absolutely stellar release, with too much variety, originality, rewards, and pure fun to even think about missing out on.
  3. You can play any given song at any of four speeds (Normal, Slow, Slower and Slowest), and you have the ability to select what portion(s) of the song you'd like to play. That has proven ridiculously useful as I continue in my Quixotic quest to complete "Free Bird" on Expert.