User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 39 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 39
  2. Negative: 2 out of 39

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Bobbobbo
    Jan 20, 2008
    10
    The best game I have ever played.
  2. MikeG.
    Nov 10, 2007
    10
    Best of all the guitar hero games, however, there are a few gripes that I have. Why does the game save when you fail a song??!? Why did they put slayer-raining blood on the main setlist(song should have been on the bonus section, if at all), and why can't i take my ps2 online like the wii. Song list is so much better than any other GH, but i wish they'd put down less bonus Best of all the guitar hero games, however, there are a few gripes that I have. Why does the game save when you fail a song??!? Why did they put slayer-raining blood on the main setlist(song should have been on the bonus section, if at all), and why can't i take my ps2 online like the wii. Song list is so much better than any other GH, but i wish they'd put down less bonus tracks and more mainstream songs. P.S. no megadeath song is a bummer. Expand
  3. GarrettG.
    Nov 2, 2007
    7
    I enjoyed it, but it's sticking to me as the least fun and most disappointing of the three main games, at least beating the 80's disk but falling short just about everywhere else. I don't fault the boss battles as much as it seems others are. While there's too much luck in drawing the better powerups involved against the computer, and they're horribly dull against I enjoyed it, but it's sticking to me as the least fun and most disappointing of the three main games, at least beating the 80's disk but falling short just about everywhere else. I don't fault the boss battles as much as it seems others are. While there's too much luck in drawing the better powerups involved against the computer, and they're horribly dull against another person, they are ultimately skippable. Failing or dodging one doesn't ruin the experience. The songlist goes from phenomenally fun rockers to dreary, repetitive endurance exams, and the top-tier songs ramp up the difficulty too much too quickly. But worst of all are the bugs. How does the omission of co-op quickplay make it past QA? It's touted on the back of the frickin' box! What's with the occasional lag and disappearing notes when using star power? The stuttering backgrounds? And what's with the loading screens when restarting a song, or taking the progressive scan option out of the in-game options menu, regressions compared to GH II? Why take out Clive Winston, Eddie Knox, Pandora and the Grim Ripper and replace them with a 4chan fantasy, a fat Elvis clone and a robot? Where are the rhythm guitar parts in co-op? Why force songs to be unlocked only in co-op career? And how the hell does Neversoft - known for the level of customization in letting players make their own characters in the Tony Hawk series - only add some new outfits and skins but nothing else? Why no create-a-rocker mode? Then there's the missed opportunities to tune the gameplay. (How long has Guitar Freaks rewarded greater accuracy on individual notes?) The whole thing is just a marginally better cash cow than Rocks the 80s, and that's mostly because of the better, bigger setlist. I'd say buy it, but not yet - wait for used copies and/or price drops to start showing up. My score's just for the game; I did not buy the new controller. Expand
  4. Regnr8man
    Oct 30, 2007
    6
    Expecting greatness, I am most disappointed in the unnecessarily aggravating boss battles. I would much rather attempt to better a song than to have to continually listen to an annoying, music-less interlude composed by a professional guitarist with the sole intent of screwing you up to delay your progress in the game. It is a jarring interruption in the flow of the game and does not Expecting greatness, I am most disappointed in the unnecessarily aggravating boss battles. I would much rather attempt to better a song than to have to continually listen to an annoying, music-less interlude composed by a professional guitarist with the sole intent of screwing you up to delay your progress in the game. It is a jarring interruption in the flow of the game and does not enhance the Guitar Hero experience at all. As usual, the song list is a mix of a few great songs amidst a conucopia of unlistenable noise. It seems the good folks at Neversoft attempted to pick the worst rock songs ever composed. The graphics are fine, a huge step up from it's predecessors, but face it, no one plays Guitar Hero for it's cutting edge, next-gen graphics. If you're a die hard Guitar Hero fan, like I, you'll play it, but somehow, the magic is gone. Collapse
  5. NickT.
    Oct 30, 2007
    10
    This Game is insane!! it has all new battle mode (extremely fun), brand new tracks (finally more modern), and is is just all around great!! i have no dissapointment whatsoever with this game.
  6. TBONE
    Feb 16, 2008
    6
    This was the first GH i bought. The songs are really what makes or breaks. I guess if you love over 50% of the songs, it's pretty good. I'd say it was marginal for me. Personally, I think Devil Went Down to Georgia sucks balls. Metallica-One is by far the best. Ok there is good GNR and some other good stuff too. Boss battles I really didnt mind. And what's with noThis was the first GH i bought. The songs are really what makes or breaks. I guess if you love over 50% of the songs, it's pretty good. I'd say it was marginal for me. Personally, I think Devil Went Down to Georgia sucks balls. Metallica-One is by far the best. Ok there is good GNR and some other good stuff too. Boss battles I really didnt mind. And what's with no friggin AC/DC? From now on, no AC/DC = I don't buy the game. AND no van Halen. Recipe for success next time: AC/DC Back in Black and Van Halen Hot For Teacher. Expand
  7. CaioK.
    Nov 14, 2007
    9
    The best Guitar Hero ever! The song selection is great! The boss fights are hard, but fun. And the best of all, you can play as Slash! Do I need to say anything else?
  8. SheilaA.
    Nov 16, 2007
    7
    I've waited...and waited...and waited. Finally purchased the game and the bubble just leaked instead of popping. Never did I think I'd be more disappointed with a GH title more than Rock the 80s, but I have to say the hype is more than it should be. Don't get me wrong, I'm rockin' and doing my thang, but the luster of GH is truly missing from Legends. I agree with I've waited...and waited...and waited. Finally purchased the game and the bubble just leaked instead of popping. Never did I think I'd be more disappointed with a GH title more than Rock the 80s, but I have to say the hype is more than it should be. Don't get me wrong, I'm rockin' and doing my thang, but the luster of GH is truly missing from Legends. I agree with most of the other comments...it's not a "gotta have it yesterday", but it's one true GHers will no doubt buy just because they're loyal to the series...like me. Expand
  9. KevinL.
    Nov 6, 2007
    6
    Not as balanced as the other Guitar Hero games. The difficulty level is very high with very few moments to rest your fingers. Sometimes it is challenging but other times it is downright too difficult on many of the songs--even in medium mode. Too many new menu screens have been added that needs to be traversed just to start the game and there seems to be a lag issue when selecting Not as balanced as the other Guitar Hero games. The difficulty level is very high with very few moments to rest your fingers. Sometimes it is challenging but other times it is downright too difficult on many of the songs--even in medium mode. Too many new menu screens have been added that needs to be traversed just to start the game and there seems to be a lag issue when selecting characters, guitars, etc. I preferred the balance of all the older guitar hero versions. Expand
  10. RT
    Dec 31, 2007
    6
    I own both GH 2 and GH 3 and I have to say I enjoyed the second one a lot more than the third. The selection of songs in GH 3 is just not as good. Also, the difficulty level is too high. I am not a veteran player, but I can beat GH 2 on medium difficulty with no problems. GH 3 is just too challenging and frustrating to be really enjoyable. The battles against a computer are just plain I own both GH 2 and GH 3 and I have to say I enjoyed the second one a lot more than the third. The selection of songs in GH 3 is just not as good. Also, the difficulty level is too high. I am not a veteran player, but I can beat GH 2 on medium difficulty with no problems. GH 3 is just too challenging and frustrating to be really enjoyable. The battles against a computer are just plain dumb and unnecessary. Expand
  11. Sep 23, 2010
    9
    The apex of Guitar Hero's popularity, greatness, and content. Featuring few covers and covering a wide variety of music from the 60s to the present, this is the Magnum Opus by which all other rhythm games are measured.
  12. May 9, 2011
    9
    Legends of Rock is the best Guitar Hero to hit the PS2, and is still worth a buy if you find it at a bargain bin. Pros: Excellent setlist, including classic and modern rock; lots of unlockables; boss battles have improved since Guitar Hero II. Cons: The graphics just look average compared to the PS3 version; it's not exactly a cons against the games, but regardless of whether you like aLegends of Rock is the best Guitar Hero to hit the PS2, and is still worth a buy if you find it at a bargain bin. Pros: Excellent setlist, including classic and modern rock; lots of unlockables; boss battles have improved since Guitar Hero II. Cons: The graphics just look average compared to the PS3 version; it's not exactly a cons against the games, but regardless of whether you like a track or not, you WILL have to play through it in story mode. Expand
  13. Sep 26, 2013
    4
    Later Guitar Hero games on the PS2 sucks hard. The animation is choppy, characters look like stop-motion as well their hair being stiff as a broom, and the loading is longer than any other version. The Xbox 360 and PS3 version were better.
  14. Feb 27, 2015
    8
    There is a lot of content in this game to keep you coming back for more! There is a large variety of songs and its fun playing the classics. Only downside I can think of is that sometimes the buttons I pressed on the guitar wouldn't register so sometimes my score would mess up.
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 24
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 24
  3. Negative: 0 out of 24
  1. You're in for one hell of a good time. [Oct 2007, p.108]
  2. Guitar Hero III: Legends of Rock is undoubtedly the best game in the series. The amazing soundtrack, superb wireless guitar, subtle tweaks, and excellent online multiplayer are exactly what fans have been wanting from the series.
  3. Guitar Hero III ups the ante with increased difficulty and new modes, and though not everything it adds is fantastic, the excellent tracklist and stellar gameplay are sure to keep you hooked.