.hack//Infection Part 1 PlayStation 2

  • Publisher: Bandai
  • Release Date: Feb 10, 2003
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 35 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 35
  2. Negative: 0 out of 35
Buy On
  1. Edge Magazine
    60
    It gains points for plot and the audacity of simulating an online world, and could have scored higher, but its simplicity and inflexible save system drag it down. [Apr 2004, p.108]
  2. A game so fresh and unique, it just begs to be experienced despite its flaws. [Feb 2003, p.138]
  3. 67
    Ugly. It's got a muddled battle system. [Feb 2003, p.44]
  4. The main bulk of the gameplay, which mainly consists of battles in fairly unattractive dungeons is clichéd, and highly repetitive. The graphics as a whole fall a little below average, and for a standalone game, it’s fairly short.
  5. games(TM)
    60
    That it makes no bones about the fact that you're in a game doesn't make it less of an experience - indeed, it's one of the few things that saves Infection from being a run-of-the-mill RPG. [Mar 2004, p.104]
  6. A simple, repetitive experience that's over fairly quickly for an RPG, and its story doesn't go anywhere at all. Nevertheless, it's pretty fun while it lasts, and anime fans probably won't be able to resist it.
  7. It’s all rather tiresome and disappointing in a release that promised something different. But what remains is a bog standard RPG, dressed up as something else but flattering to deceive.
  8. There is no doubt that Bandai has a really, really interesting concept here, but it’s just so unfortunate that things like the camera system and inexcusably repetitive dungeons lower the game’s status to just another mediocre RPG with tons of potential just waiting to be noticed and explored.
  9. If you can forgive it for some plain visuals and don't mind wading through menus - it may be fast-paced, but it's still an RPG - it's worth your time. [Mar 2003, p.58]
  10. I had to muddle through almost half of this 20-hour RPG before .hack really grabbed me... And now, I'm hooked. [Feb 2003, p.100]
  11. By being forced to set-up a premise that MIGHT evolve into something interesting in the long haul, ".hack's" storyline drags and plays second-fiddle to average-at-best (and done better elsewhere), random-dungeon clearing RPG fodder.
  12. The most disturbing thing about .Hack is how short it is. Perhaps the whole series, or at least two of the games, could have easily fit on one disc.

Awards & Rankings

84
43
#43 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2003
64
#64 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2003
User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 65 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 35
  2. Negative: 1 out of 35
  1. Apr 11, 2017
    0
    Sous prétexte d'une pseudo-simulation de MMORPG, voilà une petite daube d'une rare indigence qui ne vaut même pas la peine qu'on marcheSous prétexte d'une pseudo-simulation de MMORPG, voilà une petite daube d'une rare indigence qui ne vaut même pas la peine qu'on marche dessus. Le jeu japonais est en déclin ? avec des pseudo-jeux (et vraies daubes) de ce genre, ça ne m'étonne pas du tout. L'interface a été pensée avec les pieds et la jouabilité a été réglée avec des moufles. L'ensemble niaiseux à n'en plus pouvoir est à vomir des arcs-en-ciel. Full Review »
  2. Oct 6, 2015
    8
    A game that I truly miss, it was entertaining to say the least. The world the designers built was remarkable, even though it had some faults IA game that I truly miss, it was entertaining to say the least. The world the designers built was remarkable, even though it had some faults I didn't really pay too much attention to them. Full Review »
  3. Nov 3, 2014
    10
    Never thought I would play such a unique and amazing rpg what else can I say about this one how about amazing so good best game of all time itNever thought I would play such a unique and amazing rpg what else can I say about this one how about amazing so good best game of all time it was a masterpiece Full Review »