Hitman 2: Silent Assassin PlayStation 2

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 75 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 57 out of 75
  2. Negative: 8 out of 75
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 11, 2012
    5
    Sometimes I wonder why such classics like this get released on platform they're clearly not designed for, with no effort being made with regards to changing the cotnrols to suit console. Hitman 2 is an absolute gem but the controls on PS2 are unbareable in every way. The button layout is random and not logical, senistivity is non-existent, it';s not responsive and overall it's very clunky.Sometimes I wonder why such classics like this get released on platform they're clearly not designed for, with no effort being made with regards to changing the cotnrols to suit console. Hitman 2 is an absolute gem but the controls on PS2 are unbareable in every way. The button layout is random and not logical, senistivity is non-existent, it';s not responsive and overall it's very clunky. The graphics on this game aren't particularly good, but they're hideous on PS2 compared to PC. It's a lazy port to cash in on extra sales from the best-selling console without making any effort to make the game suitable. Expand
  2. MR.47
    Jan 11, 2003
    10
    You bastards who said this was bad WHAT THE HELL ARE YOU TALKING about? you can all kiss my ass.
  3. MicahC.
    Mar 8, 2003
    9
    Disturbingly realistic...i'll pay it.
  4. RIKSTAP.
    Apr 16, 2004
    8
    Very addictive and very satisfying....KILL THEM ALL!!!!
  5. ZiggyStardust
    Nov 7, 2002
    8
    It's strong points include a great concept, awesome music, cool bases to infiltrate and many ways to do so. It's weak points I would say are it's poor sound effects, little replay value, and the high degree of patience it requires. It plays like Max Payne, but with the strategy of Metal Gear Solid 2.
  6. EloiP.
    Oct 5, 2002
    9
    I LOVE this game. The depth is pretty incredible.
  7. L.G.
    Oct 25, 2003
    5
    Got this and Splinter Cell at the same time. Played through Splinter Cell and was blown away. I was ready for another tasty stealth adventure when I popped this in, only to be disappointed. There seems to be little logic in how the enemy goes about blowing your cover. Sometimes sneak by one guard wearing one disguise or another, only for the guard around the corner to get suspicious and Got this and Splinter Cell at the same time. Played through Splinter Cell and was blown away. I was ready for another tasty stealth adventure when I popped this in, only to be disappointed. There seems to be little logic in how the enemy goes about blowing your cover. Sometimes sneak by one guard wearing one disguise or another, only for the guard around the corner to get suspicious and start shooting at you for no good reason. There was much more logic to Splinter Cell's stealth system than to this one's. Expand
  8. JonathanF.
    May 4, 2003
    8
    Coming from the makers of Deus Ex and Tomb Raider I would say this is a mix of both. It has the decide-your-own-fate sort of feel from Deus Ex, and the third-person shooter thing from Lara Croft. It's also quite like Star Wars: Bounty Hunter. Since all these are cool games, I would also say that Hitman 2: Silent Assassin is a cool game too, if not a tad frustrating at times.
  9. IvanG.
    Sep 9, 2004
    10
    I'd like to say hitman 2 is in fact a rather incredible game which u use your mind rather than just playiny through and if u find this game really hard and say it's wack because of the difficulty than u should just quit your bitchin' and stick to mario.
  10. SagacityRecords
    Oct 11, 2002
    5
    It amazes me how so many game companies can take a beautifully designed game and completely ruin it with bad controls. This game is incredible in concept, design, and style. However, the controls are, . . . how can I put this? . . .GARBAGE! A game that requires this much stealth needs precise controls and they offer everything, but precision. It is not like this is the first game in this It amazes me how so many game companies can take a beautifully designed game and completely ruin it with bad controls. This game is incredible in concept, design, and style. However, the controls are, . . . how can I put this? . . .GARBAGE! A game that requires this much stealth needs precise controls and they offer everything, but precision. It is not like this is the first game in this style, why couldn?t they just copy another game that got it right? I just don?t understand how every gamer and reviewer can tell you within 5 minutes of playing a game that the controls stink, but the game designers never seem to notice until it?s too late. There is nothing worse than a trial and error game that causes you to mess up because the character won?t do what you need him to do, when you need him to do it. You have all been there. This is one of those games that will have you throwing your controller over and over. Much more so than a game like Stunt Driver, because of the extremely slow pace. Nothing moves fast in this game. To do it right you must walk almost everywhere. Can you still love this game? Absolutely, but instead of being a game that nearly everyone would love, like GTA 3 (yes, it could be that good), it is a game that only those with extreme patience will enjoy. It really is a shame, because I want to love this game, but I can?t. Expand
  11. JanJ.
    Oct 17, 2002
    6
    The idea is great, the mood and tension works, but when it comes to stealth and suspense there is nothing in this game compared to MGS or MGS2. Hey, even a game like Syphon Filter has more stealth in it. In Hitman mission 2 and 3 you must run with your sniper riffle in your hands right in front of guards who doesn't recognise you just to make the hit in time. I surely hope that the The idea is great, the mood and tension works, but when it comes to stealth and suspense there is nothing in this game compared to MGS or MGS2. Hey, even a game like Syphon Filter has more stealth in it. In Hitman mission 2 and 3 you must run with your sniper riffle in your hands right in front of guards who doesn't recognise you just to make the hit in time. I surely hope that the game improves in the coming missions, otherwise there is not much "Hitman" but rather bulldozer type of playstyle in this game. Another thing to be aware of are the difficulty in controlling your character almost Max Payne like (without the slowmo), which is severely annoying and troublesome when the guards are alerted and you need to shoot straight. You will die plenty of times due to poor controlling features. The idea is exellent, the lay-out not so good (please let 47 keep his sniper rifle in a guitar case instead of just walking around with a rifle in his hands in front of the guards) and the engine to move the charater sucks big time. If you have a very deep talent to fantasise yourself into a game you might rate this higher than 6, but honestly thats what it's worth. And one more thing please let's get the inflation out of the game reviews, to may poor games get character of 8 (80) and the like. Expand
  12. SamA.
    Dec 17, 2002
    9
    One of the best gams of all time if you are a hard core paserint person coze if you want bang kill shot them up games then you will hate this game it thats alot more skill and stuff then doom or duke3d because the people see you around they surspect you and you have to sneek around and stuff its not everyones cup of tea but it is a cool game for anyone over 16 i think.
  13. FoulCat
    Dec 31, 2002
    8
    Although the controls r a lil tricky at first they r not that hard to get used to. i rate this game an 8 bcuz the graphics r good not great. gameplay is good bcuz of the different levels of expertise u have to have. silent assassin rankings r very hard to come by. i think there should have been more weapons to unlock, cmon only 3. i give this game the ultimate rating...i would spend myAlthough the controls r a lil tricky at first they r not that hard to get used to. i rate this game an 8 bcuz the graphics r good not great. gameplay is good bcuz of the different levels of expertise u have to have. silent assassin rankings r very hard to come by. i think there should have been more weapons to unlock, cmon only 3. i give this game the ultimate rating...i would spend my hard earned cash on it. Expand
  14. XboXerNumbA1
    Oct 29, 2002
    0
    This Game SUX for PS2!!! Im Startin to really See why XBOX is Way Superior!! I also Have it for XboX!! 100Tymes Better, It is So Fun, That I havn't been able to put it Down!!! There Is Such a Difference Jus with the Controls... Not to Mention the Graphics Are Amazingly Better for XBOX!! Well I think it's Tyme to Get rid of this OLD System, & Stck with the Future Of Gaming *XBOX*
  15. Garrett
    Oct 31, 2002
    9
    GREAT game! I love it!
  16. PeterS.
    Oct 4, 2002
    9
    As the review says above PURE CLASS i was in a line waiting for this game along with other fellow fans of hitman series i was there for 2 hours and trust me well worth it i gave it a nine because i hardly give 10s. the mark lost was because of strange controls.
  17. BenN.
    Oct 29, 2003
    8
    Brill game, if a little short an a tad on the 2 easy side, but well worth the buy.
  18. LukeB.
    Mar 16, 2003
    9
    Yeah! its what its all about! im lookin forward 2 plinters cell on PS2!!
  19. PongA.
    May 18, 2003
    10
    For those people who hate this game is nothing but a cold hearted....LOSER!!! This is one game that said it all when it comes to gameplay & stragedy. this game really kick!!!!! awesome, yes awesome......
  20. JohnK.
    May 31, 2003
    9
    This game had a lot of good weapons, and a good plot for a shooter.
  21. DelonG.
    Sep 15, 2003
    3
    Great graphics and storyline, but absolutely ruined by the backwards-ass controls!!
  22. EdB.
    Aug 5, 2005
    10
    You play as a hitman, your bald, you use stealth, guns, shooting, hell you strangle people with fiber wire too... what else do you want from a game? Hard to get controls and hints in maps at first but once you get the hang of it you will replay the levels over and over to improve you execution. You can also save at anytime this is awesome ...cause I hate games with checkpoints that make You play as a hitman, your bald, you use stealth, guns, shooting, hell you strangle people with fiber wire too... what else do you want from a game? Hard to get controls and hints in maps at first but once you get the hang of it you will replay the levels over and over to improve you execution. You can also save at anytime this is awesome ...cause I hate games with checkpoints that make you replay the easy crap over and over. Expand
  23. Andrew
    Apr 11, 2006
    9
    For those who played the game as a straight shooter, you missed out on one of the most tense and exciting experiences in gaming. Played as the title suggests, as a silent, patient assassin, you get some of the best infiiltration and subsequent payoff kills in any video game to date.
  24. VidM
    Jun 9, 2006
    3
    Shoddy AI and level design weigh this game down. I'll admit that I had fun playing it, but I really was far from unimpressed how every mission boiled down to killing everything that moves. Every firefight boils down to heading for the nearest doorway and blasting anyone stupid enough to come through. Oh, yes, rest assured all the bad guys are stupid enough to jump right into that Shoddy AI and level design weigh this game down. I'll admit that I had fun playing it, but I really was far from unimpressed how every mission boiled down to killing everything that moves. Every firefight boils down to heading for the nearest doorway and blasting anyone stupid enough to come through. Oh, yes, rest assured all the bad guys are stupid enough to jump right into that doorway of death, no matter how many corpses they see on the floor. Alert levels are meaningless. Hell, mission objectives are pointless. Just kill everyone, and it'll work out just fine. The end of mission scoring should mean something. For instance it could effect your pay that you use to buy weapons between missions or something...anything. Expand
  25. NaveedD.
    Oct 18, 2002
    3
    I hate this game, the worst game ever!
  26. [Anonymous]
    Oct 21, 2002
    2
    The controls completely ruin the game! Its terrible!
  27. KyleB.
    Dec 12, 2002
    8
    This game is actually really underrated. I cannot remeber the last time I sat down and enjoyed a game for almost 4 hours strait. This game is not made to have a story, people who don't like a game with a poor story should really avoid this game. But the game play is very solid offering many enertaining ways to complete a mission. More than offten there are about 3 different ways to This game is actually really underrated. I cannot remeber the last time I sat down and enjoyed a game for almost 4 hours strait. This game is not made to have a story, people who don't like a game with a poor story should really avoid this game. But the game play is very solid offering many enertaining ways to complete a mission. More than offten there are about 3 different ways to complete. The weapons are fairly original as far as realistic weapons go and the AI is good enough to keep you enertained for a long time. The freedom that this game offers is rarely found in video games and the whole stealth aspect is very well done. In retrospect I do regret that so many people do not like this game, they miss out on a lot of fun and I pity people who cannot sit down for about 20 minuets to get the controls down pat. the misisions dont offer a whole lot of change but in the world of a Hired Hit Man what can you expect? Expand
  28. AnonymousMC
    Dec 18, 2002
    9
    I don't understand how someone can give a game a score of a 0 just for a couple control issues and then praise the exact same game (excluding graphical and control differences) for a different system. Ignore "Xboxer NUmba1"'s comment. This is still a great game on this platform as well, very fun and suspenseful. Check it out, even if you do have problems with the controls theyI don't understand how someone can give a game a score of a 0 just for a couple control issues and then praise the exact same game (excluding graphical and control differences) for a different system. Ignore "Xboxer NUmba1"'s comment. This is still a great game on this platform as well, very fun and suspenseful. Check it out, even if you do have problems with the controls they are very easy to get used to. Expand
  29. MP
    Nov 18, 2003
    10
    Totally Cool... MUST try.
  30. AkshayB.
    Oct 27, 2003
    10
    This game is just the best game u will eva play so buy it if u like shooting games.
  31. TyC
    Feb 23, 2004
    9
    This is by far, the best assassin related game there is. I love the controls, and Best of all.........The WEAPONS!!!!!!!! Fantastic to blast people away.
  32. Hades
    Dec 16, 2002
    9
    Perhaps people had to have played the first Hitman to truly appreciate the 2nd. If you are interested in Hitman 2 dont let these negative user scores deter your craving to play it. I would AT LEAST rent the game. But on with the review: Hitman 2 is a Stealth Action game, while not perfect, it is still a great game. The graphics in the game are good, not outstanding or amazing but they are Perhaps people had to have played the first Hitman to truly appreciate the 2nd. If you are interested in Hitman 2 dont let these negative user scores deter your craving to play it. I would AT LEAST rent the game. But on with the review: Hitman 2 is a Stealth Action game, while not perfect, it is still a great game. The graphics in the game are good, not outstanding or amazing but they are by no means bad. A reason i rate them the score i do is because of how realistic it is when you shoot someone and their limbs twitch up, its a neat little effect to mess around with. 8/10 The sound effects and music are also quite good, fitting the game setting perfectly. 8/10 Gameplay can either be stealthy or all out rampage depending on what you want, while this is good that you can choose, you can easily take the rambo approach and pass levels easily, which detracts from the games overall feel. 9/10 or 7/10 (with the "rambo" approach) Replay value, if you like the game, is quite high, due to all of the different approaches, ratings, and weapons you can collect throughout the levels. However there are not many extras to unlock at all. Which is unfortunate. Again, to reiterate, if you are interested in seeing what hitman 2 is all about id give it a try, it might not be everyones favorite but youll never know if youll like it till ya try it. Overall a great stealth action game. Expand
  33. Dec 15, 2014
    5
    Played and finished the game on PS3 on expert difficulty. The controls are terrible and AI is even more terrible, it's frustrating. The game clearly haven't aged well, Metal Gear Solid 2: Sons of Liberty(2001) is like from the other planet. If you want to play old sneaking game with amazing story, play MGS 2.

Awards & Rankings

#17 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2002
#33 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2002
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. 84
    While the awkward controls and trial-and-error gameplay design might deter some gamers, Hitman 2 is deep with the kind of gameplay that stealth and shooter gameplayers have been craving for on PS2.
  2. Electronic Gaming Monthly
    90
    I was utterly addicted the moment I started playing Hitman 2. [Dec 2002, p.204]
  3. Smart gameplay couples with intelligent AI to make sure you're kept on your toes at all times through this deep, stealthy shooter.