I-Ninja PlayStation 2

  • Publisher: Namco
  • Release Date: Nov 18, 2003
Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 39
  2. Negative: 0 out of 39
Buy On
  1. Does what it does very well, offering a decent challenge, a few hearty chuckles, and plenty of personality. Unfortunately, I-Ninja doesn't do a heckuva lot of, well...anything. You can easily beat this game in a few short sessions, and you'll quickly forget about it afterward. [Dec 2003, p.162]
  2. games(TM)
    70
    While I-Ninja has borrowed ideas from practically every classic platformer, it's been done with such wide-eyed innocence that you can't help smiling. [Mar 2004, p.119]
  3. 70
    At the top of the reserves list above Muto, Vexx, and some of the other borderline games, but there are more ambitious titles out there.
  4. PSM Magazine
    70
    A fun title... However, there's not a lot of longevity here, and playing the same level repeatedly with only a minor twist in gameplay - like beating the clock - isn't quite the same as having entirely new levels to play. [Holiday 2003, p.36]
  5. Experienced platform fans will recognise its tricks before they even hit, and they may feel mildly short-changed for it, even if I have a strong suspicion they'll be as happy playing it as I have been.
  6. Electronic Gaming Monthly
    68
    I love what this game offers - classic 3D platforming with a supercool mini-ninja dude. The problem is, I-Ninja doesn't offer a whole heckuva lot of it. You can blast through the entire game in a few sessions. [Dec 2003, p.192]
  7. GMR Magazine
    60
    The schizophrenia works, but just barely, because the game does nothing particularly brilliantly. [Jan 2004, p.72]
  8. 60
    Has its moments, but unless you're thrilled by the prospect of undergoing some tedious repetition to the beat of generic techno music in the name of your ninja training, you'll want to think twice about tasting this rusty, unpolished, ninja steel.
  9. There are some bright points, such as an abundance of moves, and some interesting levels, but this is overshadowed by bland presentation and disjoined gameplay.
  10. By the end of the game, I didn't give a crap about finding any more red coins or killing another 90 enemies, I just wanted out. To have a game transform from something fresh and enticing into another drab, boring, overworked action game is something I've not had the displeasure of watching too many times.
  11. Despite the basic gameplay, there is a reasonable level of satisfaction to be had racking up the combos and unleashing the head-chopping moves on the armies of ninja goons you face off against.
  12. Edge Magazine
    60
    Argonaut's latest platformer is certainly a curious brew. You get the impression that loads of ideas have been thrown into the pot but, unfortunately, none of the weaker ones have been rejected. [Feb 2004, p.101]
  13. Humour has been shoe-horned in there, ranging from the grin inducing, all the way to the stone cold stare.
  14. It isn't a bad game at all, and is fairly entertaining - but it is also very simplistic and has a tendency to annoy you and get repetitive fairly quickly.
  15. 50
    A lackluster, by-the-numbers platformer.

Awards & Rankings

#41 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2003
User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 21 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 8
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 8
  3. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Oct 13, 2014
    9
    I-Ninja is a very fun and engaging platformer that goes above and beyond what you'd originally expect of it, with great diversity in gameplayI-Ninja is a very fun and engaging platformer that goes above and beyond what you'd originally expect of it, with great diversity in gameplay and beautiful graphics. It is definitely a game directed towards children, however, adults should also find a lot of entertainment value here. If you have a kid, this would be a perfect game for them, as it has a lot to offer. Full Review »
  2. Oct 20, 2014
    8
    I've spent many hours on this game, Its a fun plat former. It can get wildly difficult at times, But not enough to prompt me into chucking myI've spent many hours on this game, Its a fun plat former. It can get wildly difficult at times, But not enough to prompt me into chucking my controller at the wall. This is a gem worth picking up, If you didn't pick it up 11 years ago. It's a shame this game has never made a comeback since. Full Review »
  3. Aug 22, 2012
    10
    I have no idea why this game has such a low score!!

    It's a platformer where you can kick back relax and have fun! :)