Jak 3 PlayStation 2

  • Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Nov 9, 2004
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 55 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 55
  2. Negative: 0 out of 55
Buy On
  1. 96
    If you're looking for art and technical achievement, Jak has it...Jak is it. Characters animate so smoothly it actually makes playing other games painful. Painful, I say! And it never stutters, never glitches, never hitches, and never, ever lets up.
  2. This game simply builds on Jak II's winning formula by adding more weapons and abilities, varied kinds of action, and an interesting and well-told story; in short, all the stuff that made its predecessor a great game.
  3. Game Informer
    93
    Naughty Dog has done a tremendous job of creating multi-layered personalities that really strike a chord, and plot hooks that will keep you guessing and on the edge of your seat up until the explosive finale. [Nov 2004, p.153]
  4. This game looks absolutely gorgeous; it is one of the best looking games out for the Playstation 2. The controls are very responsive and it plays like a dream.
  5. What's genuinely disappointing though is that it's all over so quickly... Jak 3 is much, much shorter than its epic predecessor. Indeed, it took us just 10 hours to achieve a 100 per cent rating.
  6. Though it sticks very closely to the franchise's formula and has a few flaws, the excellent story, great presentation and varied gameplay make this 'final' episode a good one.
  7. 100
    It's all about presentation, and Jak 3 presents the action in an engaging, meaningful way that keeps you glued to the very end. [Dec 2004, p.100]
  8. 80
    At times, Jak 3 seems to be scraping the bottom of the idea barrel...While this final chapter is not the platforming clinic of the first, nor the trendsetter of the second, it is an extremely satisfying finish for the series.
  9. The graphics are buoyed by the exceptional voice acting for the characters in the game.
  10. The variety of missions/gameplay types is refreshing.
  11. With Jak 3 everything seems so passé and normal again, as if the well had run dry and the developers had lost their passion for the franchise.
  12. 80
    The one down side is that the shooting still feels pretty basic. The game is a little shorter than you might expect, but goes well over 10 hours and it wraps up the series' story nicely with a pretty crazy twist.
  13. AceGamez
    100
    Stunning graphics, an amazing range of highly imaginative and sprawling locations, endless variety, engaging and challenging gameplay, loads of mini-games, cool weapons, super powers, vehicles, races, a grand and exciting storyline, great music, superb voice acting and plenty of humour- did I forget anything?
  14. Although this game may also be the most difficult game in the series it also still retains all of the fun and enjoyment that has been with this series since the very beginning.
  15. Play Magazine
    100
    A near 20-hour-long rollercoaster ride that stacks missions of perfectly manufactured platforming, tactical shooting and everything in between. [Dec 2004, p.72]
  16. The game’s mission-based structures makes for a lot of opportunities to show cutscenes, and Jak 3 takes full advantage of this.
  17. By ironing out the wildly unfair difficulty spikes, cutting down on the dullsville between-mission backtracking, and offering kinder, more frequent mission midpoints, Jak 3 (unlike Jak II) succeeds at making you not want to snap it in half.
  18. 100
    Compelling and addictive, and far more fun that we'd have expected after slogging through the confounding Jak 2. This is the action platformer refined to perfection.
  19. After I beat the game I almost cried. Not from disappointment however, because the ending was great and it gave a great conclusion to the epic trilogy.
  20. 85
    It isn't as evolutionary as "Jak II" was but it is still a fun platformer which puts up a great challenge.
  21. Aside from the occasional piece of ropey responsiveness from the game engine, Jak and Daxter's moves are among the slickest on any console.
  22. Nowhere near as tough as "Jak II" is. Those of you who pride yourselves on your old-school hardcore platforming skill may find this disappointing, but it's great news for the rest of us. "Hard" does not necessarily mean "good," and most of us don't like feeling as though a game is trying to give us an aneurysm. [Dec 2004, p.104]
  23. Its identical nature to "Jak 2" may leave a nasty taste in the mouth, especially given that this is the send-off to the comical pair.
  24. Computer Games Magazine
    91
    While it improves upon the chief complaints from the first sequel, it still does not offer much that's fresh besides new weapons and Light Jak powers. [Feb 2005, p.NP-9]
  25. PSM Magazine
    90
    Despite the sweet new weapon upgrades and other new features, Jak 3 didn't have the same impact on me as "Jak II" because it wasn't as fresh - it feels a little too much like extra "Jak II" chapters. It's still great, don't get me wrong - but maybe not as mind-blowingly fantastic as what came before. [Nov 2004, p.70]
  26. The one thing keeping it from breaking 90%, I found the conclusion of the story to be a huge letdown. While several of the threads come to satisfying (And even surprising) conclusions, the major plot thread started in the first game was revealed to be, and I might be getting a little mean here, stupid.
  27. A great game, and it is the best of the Jak series. It is the perfect way to end it all.
  28. Jak 3 can be completed in a weekend, minus the egg missions.
  29. Daxter's shtick notwithstanding (he hasn't made me laugh since the middle of last year's adventure) Jak 3 stands tall and proud as a testament of what polished gameplay and cutting-edge graphics can do when the host system's Emotion Engine is maximized.
  30. Jak 3 doesn't break much new ground, but it is head and shoulders above most of its ilk and is a fitting - and make no mistake, good-looking - send-off for this beloved trilogy. [Dec 2004, p.124]
  31. It's better than Jak II in how it's simpler to move around from place to place. That's a plus. Its range of difficulty has diminished since Jak II. That's a bit of a plus and a minus. The game's more action-oriented than it is platform based. That's a bit more of a minus than it is a plus.
  32. Players may occasionally feel like they are going through the motions, but there is a wide variety of challenges include races, turret blasting, hoverboard trickery, arena combat and an exciting sequence escorting an explosives-laden train.
  33. A truly fantastic game that is without a doubt the best game in the series. However, it is disappointing that the control and camera problems from the last game weren't fixed, and the new focus on vehicles was too overemphasized for my liking.
  34. Official Playstation 2 Magazine UK
    80
    Sublime platform adventure and oodles of varied gameplay. [Jan 2007, p.106]
  35. The keyword here is variety. If you like to try many different things and fight many different ways, then Jak 3 is the game for you.
  36. Offering so many well implemented elements of gameplay into a title along with stunning graphics and nicely set out controls is sure to be a winner and Jak 3 does everything so well you cant help but enjoy it.
  37. The action is incredibly smooth and responsive, the plot is fun and the game-play is quick and exciting. Even when you die, it's no big deal to get back in the action (and you will die, a lot).
  38. Although some found "Jak 2" hard going in places, Jak 3 is better all round, and soundly completes the adventure series.
  39. I like how the game has been tightened up. The new driving missions are much better, the difficulty has been toned down (though maybe a bit too much), and the new weapon mods and Light Jak powers add something new.
  40. Graphics wise Jak 3 is stellar. The backgrounds are fantastic and they seem to go on forever. The player models look grand as well.
  41. Just because there's everything but the kitchen sink doesn't mean it's a good game. Luckily, Jak 3 is a good game.
  42. A far more varied titles than its predecessors.
  43. when I was done I was like… the opposite… I found the game to be extremely amusing and couldn’t really stop playing
  44. If you haven’t played either of the predecessors to Jak 3, it’s highly recommended that you do so before playing through this one, or at least Jak II that is.
  45. I thought the graphics and gameplay were the 2 most outstanding features of the game.
  46. It's fair to say that, despite all its new content, Jak 3 does feel a lot like "Jak II." Many of the animations and sound effects have been recycled, along with huge portions of Haven City.

Awards & Rankings

27
10
#10 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2004
18
#18 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2004
User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 272 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 49 out of 56
  2. Negative: 0 out of 56
  1. Dec 16, 2012
    10
    This might just be nostalgia talking, but the game is an amazing game that is very well done. Of course there's going to be flaws, but it's anThis might just be nostalgia talking, but the game is an amazing game that is very well done. Of course there's going to be flaws, but it's an example of a proper third person platforming shooter done to a tee. There's even a good storyline to follow, this series will forever be a huge part of the PS2 library and truly shows the prime of Naughty Dog. Full Review »
  2. May 7, 2012
    10
    One of the best PS2 games of all time. Jak 3 conclude's the epic tale of the series with a few twists. I wish they were still making gamesOne of the best PS2 games of all time. Jak 3 conclude's the epic tale of the series with a few twists. I wish they were still making games like this because its one of the most funniest games I've ever played. Full Review »
  3. Jan 19, 2015
    10
    In my opinion, best of the series. Most memorable music (Josh Mancell and Larry Hopkins know a lot about creative and mindblowing music.In my opinion, best of the series. Most memorable music (Josh Mancell and Larry Hopkins know a lot about creative and mindblowing music. Without exaggeration), story and atmosphere. Horewer, gameplay has changed not so much from previous game, but it is likely more a plus than a minus. After all, what needs for sequels - be based on already established standard and make it better. And Jak 3, again, in my concept, deal with it is just perfect. Full Review »