Jak and Daxter: The Precursor Legacy Image
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 35 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 228 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Jak and Daxter are quite a comic duo! Jak's the strong, silent type of hero, while Daxter's the obnoxious comic nut! The adventure takes place across a massive piece of continuous coastline - you can explore freely, with no loading screens and no waiting time. All characters andJak and Daxter are quite a comic duo! Jak's the strong, silent type of hero, while Daxter's the obnoxious comic nut! The adventure takes place across a massive piece of continuous coastline - you can explore freely, with no loading screens and no waiting time. All characters and environmental elements exist in real time and have incredibly smart A.I.; you can't ignore or hide from enemies, they will follow you everywhere. ("Which is supposed to be a good thing?") [Sony] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 35
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 35
  3. Negative: 0 out of 35
  1. Good lord, is this a beautiful game. [Jan 2002, p.124]
  2. Offers up the kind of gaming experience that you will never forget.
  3. Its charismatic cast, wonderful voice acting, drop dead beautiful graphics, and awesome level design make Jak and Daxter one of the best platform/adventure games I've ever played.
  4. 90
    Its premise is straightforward, yet there’s so much to do and see, along with some sizeable challenges that will test even the brightest adventure veterans.
  5. Moving from one area to the next is the smoothest I have ever seen in any game. From a technical standpoint, this is truly revolutionary.
  6. If a game like "Devil May Cry"'s a double espresso, heavy on the sugar, then Jak and Daxter's a nice soothing cup of tea. One offers non-stop thrills, but is over almost before it starts; the other's everything you'd expect, and it won't get you especially worked up, but lasts much longer.
  7. It is Daxter who gives the game its flavor—more so than the relatively anonymous Jak. This flavor is ultimately what sets Jak And Daxter apart from a lot of the other platform games out there.

See all 35 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 72 out of 79
  2. Negative: 2 out of 79
  1. Jul 14, 2012
    10
    So many colors! i love how many colors they put in this game, and how beautiful it is watching it turn from day to noon to evening to night,So many colors! i love how many colors they put in this game, and how beautiful it is watching it turn from day to noon to evening to night, killin' enemies,platforming and collecting stuff. than collect stuff and sell it to get more stuff, killing enemies to unlock stuff that unlocks more stuff to get more stuff. beautiful...just...beautiful. Expand
  2. Nov 14, 2011
    10
    Never will you find a platformer with more charm, intuitive, diverse gameplay, well-constructed story and loveable characters. The world ofNever will you find a platformer with more charm, intuitive, diverse gameplay, well-constructed story and loveable characters. The world of Jak and Daxter is beautifully and thoughtfully designed, with each area having its own unique charm and flare, collecting all 2000 precursor orbs and all 101 Power Cells will never come close to feeling tiring, and the game never presses you into doing something you don't want to do, or forcing you to continue prematurely, you play at your own pace, Jak and Daxter will accommodate for you, also, this is one of the funniest titles you'll play on PS2, that's guaranteed Expand
  3. Jul 22, 2013
    10
    The first time I reviewed this I was a bit harsh. An 8 on the beginning game that started one of my favourite video game franchises of allThe first time I reviewed this I was a bit harsh. An 8 on the beginning game that started one of my favourite video game franchises of all time. Granted the storyline is a bit cliché but everything else about this game is AMAZING. The characters, the missions (while a bit infuriating at times though mostly brilliant), the areas (Precursor Basin anyone? Or Misty Island?), the music, the Zoomer sections, DAXTER!, the insane amount of stuff to collect (I collected every Power Cell, Scout Fly and Precursor Orb. It made me feel good!) and the Eco mechanic. While they absence of no after-game story is a downer, it doesn't need an after-game story (aside from the VERY disappointing secret ending!) While Jak 3 is definitely my favourite of the trilogy, Jak and Daxter: The Precursor Legacy just comes in at second! Expand
  4. AladdinS.
    Jan 8, 2002
    9
    The only real negative I can find with this game is a little slow down here and there. It's so awesome that there is no loading ever The only real negative I can find with this game is a little slow down here and there. It's so awesome that there is no loading ever during gameplay. It's such a massive world. It's closely resembles Mario 64, although not quite as much of a classic. Expand
  5. Sep 18, 2014
    9
    Very good and unique, I understand why this game was so impressive when it came out, and it is a lot of fun to play. Wish it was longerVery good and unique, I understand why this game was so impressive when it came out, and it is a lot of fun to play. Wish it was longer though, it can be completed in a couple of days even if your aiming for 100% completion. Expand
  6. Oct 7, 2011
    9
    Don't listen to me if I say otherwise, this was my FAVORITE childhood game. Without a freaking doubt, a fantastic platformer, designed forDon't listen to me if I say otherwise, this was my FAVORITE childhood game. Without a freaking doubt, a fantastic platformer, designed for kids as a slapstick comedy, and insanely fun. The story is pretty deep, the characters were good, and the dialog is humorous, if you're below the age of 8. If you've got a kid looking for a first game, this is just the best way to go. Once you finish, you'll have to go through again to try and get EVERYTHING in the whole world. It will give you so much fun, even if you don't even play it for long. It's truly a beautiful game. Expand
  7. [Anonymous]
    Apr 3, 2002
    0
    It sucks.

See all 79 User Reviews