User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 40 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 40
  2. Negative: 7 out of 40
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. SamuraiSlash
    Jun 20, 2006
    10
    Thies game is GREAT! It's not very deep (pardon the pun) but its HUGE on FUN! The presentaion and graphics are just outstanding. Destroying oil rigs, flipping boats, wrecking boats, eating people, eating other fish (including sharks), is some of the most fun I've had in quite a while. This aint no fish story, this game RULES!!! The feeling of that awesome power and razor sharp Thies game is GREAT! It's not very deep (pardon the pun) but its HUGE on FUN! The presentaion and graphics are just outstanding. Destroying oil rigs, flipping boats, wrecking boats, eating people, eating other fish (including sharks), is some of the most fun I've had in quite a while. This aint no fish story, this game RULES!!! The feeling of that awesome power and razor sharp teeth add up to a completely unique experience that's sure to satisfy your hunger for FUN. Chomp, chomp, dig in. Expand
  2. AlexS.
    Jun 6, 2006
    10
    Awesome game, eating people is a blast, I can tear apart every limb on every body and destroy everything! This is a must have, finally something different thats fun as hell, not to mention the gta like open world.
  3. AdamS.
    Jun 25, 2006
    10
    Jaws can smash boats and helicopters. You can eat dogs, attack killer whales, battle other sharks and kill other underwater predators. Jaws eats people up. If you don't have it, you should get it.
  4. iankirton
    Jan 21, 2006
    10
    if i could i would have given it a 100 out of 10! i awlwase wanted to play as a shark wen i saw the movie jaws i wanted to b able to turn into a 25 foot shark so bad AND NOW I CAN!!!!!!! i also hope that this game will be the key to many animal games. PS: STOP CHANGING THE RELEASE DATE!!!!!!!!
  5. JeffCarter
    Feb 13, 2006
    10
    This game is going to own in 2006.This will be the first to let you play as the shark.It has several modes free roam,story,challenge and others.This has a 25 dismemorent enjine so you can sever your victims peice by peice.Bosses include the Killer Whale,Other Sharks,Crocodiles,Pirannahs,Giant Squids and others.There are over 70 sea creatures ranging from seahorses to giant blue whales youThis game is going to own in 2006.This will be the first to let you play as the shark.It has several modes free roam,story,challenge and others.This has a 25 dismemorent enjine so you can sever your victims peice by peice.Bosses include the Killer Whale,Other Sharks,Crocodiles,Pirannahs,Giant Squids and others.There are over 70 sea creatures ranging from seahorses to giant blue whales you also get to eat dogs.One of the best modes in this game will be stealth in free roam.You can swim underwater unnoticed and then when you poke your fin out people start screaming.You will even be able to beach yourself and take people on the beach.You can see those pictures on gamepro.com Nov 29th.Another interesting aspect on this game is that when you let a lot of blood from your victems other sharks will come in and fight you over them perhaps even other white sharks.The only bad thing is this game keeps getting delayed now it's been pushed back to May 30th.Enough with the delays Majesco release this.It's been delayed since May of last year. Expand
  6. EfeB.
    Jun 19, 2006
    9
    the huge voting gap between the so called game experts and the "real" gamers tells everthing. this is a game reviewers hate and gamers love...because the gameplay is fun, because it is silly, because there is no game like it anywhere. you are jaws, you go eat things...you terrorize people and animals and boats. the free-roaming is cool, but the missions could have been better...some the huge voting gap between the so called game experts and the "real" gamers tells everthing. this is a game reviewers hate and gamers love...because the gameplay is fun, because it is silly, because there is no game like it anywhere. you are jaws, you go eat things...you terrorize people and animals and boats. the free-roaming is cool, but the missions could have been better...some missions are too wacky, like throwing barrels into homes so they burn...huh?...what?...who came up with that idea?...so, some parts of the game feel like the original jaws and the other parts feel like the crapy sequels. what i love the most about this game is the sound...underwater screeming and above the water screeming is done just like the film...the camera freedom is amazing...you never miss anything, if you learn to control the camera well. i love the rag doll like bodies, you can bite and shake and take apart. Expand
  7. RyanB
    Jun 1, 2006
    8
    This is a fantastic game! Don't pay attention to all the negative reviews that the web sites are giving it. Get it for yourself and allow yourself the unadulterated thrills of being the ultimate sea predator as you fly throught the ocean devouring anything that gets in your way. The GTA style of gameply is perfect to let you roar around and take your time stalking your next victim. GoThis is a fantastic game! Don't pay attention to all the negative reviews that the web sites are giving it. Get it for yourself and allow yourself the unadulterated thrills of being the ultimate sea predator as you fly throught the ocean devouring anything that gets in your way. The GTA style of gameply is perfect to let you roar around and take your time stalking your next victim. Go get it its cheap and it gives your hours of good fun gameplay, and the graphics and controls are fine for people with any taste or motor skills. Enjoy! Expand
  8. RyanB.
    May 31, 2006
    8
    This is a great game! Don't listen to what the reviewers are saying if they say its horrible. It isn't as bad as they are making it out to be. The controls are easy to learn, the graphics are just fine, the draw distance is normal, and the fun factor is HUGE! I bought it yesterday, and started playing it and it is a blast. You get to roam around the whole island as the top This is a great game! Don't listen to what the reviewers are saying if they say its horrible. It isn't as bad as they are making it out to be. The controls are easy to learn, the graphics are just fine, the draw distance is normal, and the fun factor is HUGE! I bought it yesterday, and started playing it and it is a blast. You get to roam around the whole island as the top predator, in a GTA free roam environment. You are enormous and overly powerful, which makes it a blast to take down boats and Jet Ski's and such. You can also pretty much eat everything you want that is smaller than you, and you have great moves. I like the ability to increase your skills, and become even more of a beast. My point is that It is a very good game, hasn't crashed or done anything wierd to me as of yet, and the price is great. Big game Big Shark Big fun. Enjoy it! Expand
  9. GianS.
    Oct 22, 2006
    8
    I heard allot of bad things about the game especially from 'Official' reviews and such. But I have always been curious by the game ever since I read about it the first time. So it was delayed here in Europe for almost indefinatley but it finally made it out this weekend. I had to get it regardless. I have to say that 10 out of 10 for originality. The graphics are pretty good too I heard allot of bad things about the game especially from 'Official' reviews and such. But I have always been curious by the game ever since I read about it the first time. So it was delayed here in Europe for almost indefinatley but it finally made it out this weekend. I had to get it regardless. I have to say that 10 out of 10 for originality. The graphics are pretty good too and I love the free camera although you have to have your head, or should I say fins about you to master it when playing. I think it is a great original title and fair play to the developers in giving us something fresh for a change, unlike so many others which always copy and change and release and expect the public to spend their hard earned cash on make overs. Great game! Expand
  10. MikeC.
    May 25, 2006
    8
    fun game a must. play or buy you cant loose i bought and its fun.
  11. May 23, 2015
    8
    It could use a little bit of work. It glitches often, freezes up, and the graphical quality is not the best, but Jaws Unleashed provides a fun open world environment, where you can attack swimmers, animals, and just about everything else in the water. You can find hidden treasure, go on story adventures, or take on challenges throughout the open ocean. But the best part is getting to playIt could use a little bit of work. It glitches often, freezes up, and the graphical quality is not the best, but Jaws Unleashed provides a fun open world environment, where you can attack swimmers, animals, and just about everything else in the water. You can find hidden treasure, go on story adventures, or take on challenges throughout the open ocean. But the best part is getting to play as a great white shark! Expand
  12. Oct 26, 2016
    8
    One of the best damn games I've ever had the joy of playing. I mean, storywise, there's not much there. It's just you and **** Bruce, and you can swim around and eat everyone! I mean everyone who gets in your way! Plus other sharks, dolphins, and you can blow up boats, and the missions are, for the most part, fun and challenging. JAWS: UNLEASHED is a fun, addictive, and bloody awesomeOne of the best damn games I've ever had the joy of playing. I mean, storywise, there's not much there. It's just you and **** Bruce, and you can swim around and eat everyone! I mean everyone who gets in your way! Plus other sharks, dolphins, and you can blow up boats, and the missions are, for the most part, fun and challenging. JAWS: UNLEASHED is a fun, addictive, and bloody awesome game! Otherwise, it's just mediocre. There's not a lot of variety, and the graphics are kind of plain, but regardless, it still does what it set out to do- give you "Grand Shark Auto." You are Jaws (or Bruce), and dammit, the dinner bell is ringing, and it's time to eat! So get off your ass and go play the damn game! Expand

Awards & Rankings

24
#24 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2006
42
#42 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2006
Metascore
52

Mixed or average reviews - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 29
  2. Negative: 15 out of 29
  1. 74
    Though it's correct that JAWS does suffer from a number of bothersome glitches, numerous camera issues, and sometimes-infuriating lock-ups, it also benefits from a number of gruesomely satisfying missions, a large environment to play around with, and unique combat maneuvers that you just can't do in any other game.
  2. Playing Appaloosa's ultraviolent and ultrastupid take on the titular killer shark is about as much fun as having your legs chewed off.
  3. The abstruse design and technical flaws leave us cold, but the sheer potential for savage bastardry makes it undeniably fun.