• Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Nov 2, 2004
User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 218 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 38 out of 218

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 19, 2013
    10
    Killzone (PLAYSTATION) attempted to beat Halo (XBOX) and well they are both epic but I prefer Killzone because its really the Sci-Fi genre I like in Video Games. Alot of people don't like Killzone because it tried too much to be the PLAYSTATION version of Halo but after Killzone 2 and 3 came out everybody shuted-up. I see on METACRITIC that K1 got 70/100 and K2 got 91/100 and K3 got 84/100, um I don't care what those guys say for me K1 is the best out of the trilogy, Its campaign is a real challenge, the graphics I'll pass on that one, the characters are Bad Ass and Killzone deserves 10/10. Expand
  2. Oct 27, 2012
    0
    One of the worst FPS ever made. Deemed as a Halo killer years ago Killzone was a game that disappointed the masses. Tremendously bad controls, horrifying AI and superbly bad voice acting are some of the minor problems of this highly touted bust. Campaign is awful, guns are awful, level design is AWFUL. Single player also has occasional frame rate drops and for a game with graphics that aren't that good it's simply astounding that something like this would happen. Expand
  3. Feb 26, 2012
    7
    Killzone, to me, was great because of the story and the characters. The gameplay was a bit wonky, and the graphics were decent. I liked the plot twist, the conflict between Rico and the Hakha. I enjoyed how the ending of the game differed on what you chose and who you chose. At the time, there was not any game like this game and it was unprecedented. Overall it was fun, and enjoyable. Nothing above average, but still a good, decent game. Expand
  4. Dec 27, 2011
    1
    This game is absolutely terrible. The controls feel horrible and I couldn't find a good sensititive for aiming at all. Singleplayer is horrific, giving you absolutely 0 variation with the most linear FPS levels you can see. The story is uninteresting, graphics aren't so good, because it uses very few colours. Multiplayer isin't balanced when it comes down to weapons and it doesn't do anything better than any other game in PS2 era. Avoid this game at all cost. Expand
  5. Aug 3, 2011
    8
    It is obvious that Sony wanted their own halo. They for sure fell short of that, however it has the best fps graphics on Playstation 2. The story is decent, trying to make it very detailed when it actually isn't complex at all. With that being said it has the best controls on ps2, and the best graphics. It would have easily been a 10 with a more in depth story, not to mention it sometimes gets old killing the same masked men from Helgahn over and over. Great game for sure worth owning, you can tell a lot of work was put forth. They did even better with Killzone 2 and 3. Great franchise. Very fun. Collapse
  6. Dec 25, 2011
    5
    Looks like it could have been a good game but they failed. The first thing you will notice is the framerate i lags so much I thought it was just my game but it wasnt thats what ruins the game. The story dont care multiplayer is impossible with the frame rate.
  7. Jan 25, 2012
    8
    This game is best for its graphics and multiplayer both online and offline but you need to know that the gameplay are a bit interesting while an A.I not so much though and the control are so very clunky i mean is hard for me to aim at higs but the game received its award for the Greatest Hits and Platinum because it looks fun and its true i play Killzone 3 at PS3 then i bought Killzone because i wanna how it entertain me so yeah it is entertain me because it looks fun and best for me to play an offline multiplayer with splitscreen even though it received 70 its still popular and as i know it sell more million copies in the world. Expand
  8. Oct 18, 2014
    9
    One of the most memorable FPS games on the PS2 it looked and played amazing. Multiple classes allowed you to replay the campaign story mode different ways like infantry, Support and Spec Ops types. The voice acting was well done and the banter between the characters was a pleasure to listen too.
  9. Oct 9, 2013
    7
    Killzone is an odd game to review. On one hand, you have a good variety of weapons with two firing modes, a lengthy single-player campaign, online multiplayer, local multiplayer, great sound design, and great visual style. On the other, you have a poor framerate, imprecise aiming due to said framerate, dumb as bricks AI most of the time, and a game that looks too good for the PS2 to run, meaning you will spend most of your time watching the uglier models turn into the good looking ones when you're right up on them.

    The story starts as the Helghast army are invading planet Vekta due to resentment built up from an age old conflict. Vekta's defenses go offline just moments before the invasion, and all hell breaks loose. You start the game as Templar, holding off a Helghast invasion on an outpost. After repelling the invading force, you are then sent on a mission to rescue a Helghast spying for the ISA (guys you are with), and find out what went wrong with the air defense systems. It's not exactly the most original tale, but it works. The acting is actually pretty good, and the script has enough humor to keep from being overbearing. All in all, the storyline is a highlight due to its personality.

    Where the storyline shines, the gameplay falters a bit. The game just looks too nice to run smoothly, leading to very frustrating framerate drops, which hinder the gameplay a lot more than they should. Aiming is a chore due to this (and the PS2's stiff analog sticks). Aside from the aiming issues, the AI in this game is borderline retarded. Every now and then they will throw grenades, flank, and everything they should. More often than not they will just stare you down while you unload bullets. Other times they will stand there and shoot while you unload bullets. No matter what the case, it's usually just them standing there, waiting to die. That doesn't mean the difficulty in this game takes a large hit, though. There's enough enemies that even though they are stupid, they can still take away large chunks of your health. When you are shot, your health regenerates up to a point. The further your health goes down, the further your overall health does too, until you pick up a medkit. Sounds forgiving, and it is to a point, but in the later levels this game can really get tough. One well placed grenade from a Helghast will kill you, and there's plenty of them going off in the later levels.

    One unique thing about Killzone's gameplay is the character selection. After a few missions, you will eventually have four characters to play as. Templar, Luger, Rico, and Hakha. Templar is your standard soldier, good all around, with missions that have a normal amount of enemies. Luger is a Shadow Marshal, which is basically a spec op. Her levels revolve around stealth, and her life goes down much faster than everyone else's. The worst part about being Luger is that the level design can get pretty pathetic at times, since the AI is almost ALWAYS facing away from you, making it easy to just walk up and stab every Helghast in the entire level. Rico, on the other hand, is a heavy weapons expert. You'll start his levels with a heavy machine gun, and most of the levels are just walking around blowing away hundreds of Helghast. Simple, fun, but monotonous after a while. Hakha is about like Templar, but since he is a Helghast, he knows how to use the weapons better, leading to less recoil among other things.

    Graphically, Killzone is simply stunning if everything loads correctly. The animations in the game are even great by today's standards, and environments ooze atmosphere. Everything from a broken building, to the Helghast, to the weapons looks very detailed, with great textures. This is simply one of the best looking PS2 games. There are a lot of annoyances, however. The pop-in is terrible. The death animations are awkward. Character animations for teammates and enemies are a little jerky.

    Overall, Killzone is a fantastic shooter held back by hardware limitations and a few bad design choices. The PS2 simply can't handle the detail. The AI is braindead most of the time. The missions can be a little monotonous. But, despite all of that, it still manages a great story, with great weapons, great graphics, and fun shooting sections.

    +Good weapons, with two firing modes for each.
    +Great storyline.
    +Great sound effects.
    +Great atmosphere.
    +Great graphics (when they load correctly).
    +Fun shootouts.
    +Fun multiplayer with a lot of game modes and maps.
    -Framerate.
    -Jerky, glitchy animations for allies and enemies.
    -Slightly monotonous levels.
    -Stealth sections can be a little TOO convenient sometimes.
    -Difficulty spikes towards end.
    -Terrible AI

    Overall: 7/10
    Expand
  10. Jul 6, 2014
    9
    Do not compare Kill-Zone to Halo: Combat Evolved or Halo 2. They're two completely different games that have only one thing in common, and that's the fact both Halo 2 and Kill-Zone have online play and wanted to have a focus on such. Not much to brag about today, though during the Play-Station 2 days, Kill-Zone is quite the amazing first person shooter. Some small technical problems are existent, though it's nothing game-breaking. Kill-Zone's gun-play is top-notch and the vast variety of modes with A.I. and a lengthy campaign will have you coming back for more. Expand
  11. Aug 3, 2011
    0
    It is obvious that Sony wanted their own halo. They for sure fell short of that, however it has the best fps graphics on Playstation 2. The story is decent, trying to make it very detailed when it actually isn't complex at all. With that being said it has the best controls on ps2, and the best graphics. It would have easily been a 10 with a more in depth story, not to mention it sometimes gets old killing the same masked men from Helgahn over and over. Great game for sure worth owning, you can tell a lot of work was put forth. They did even better with Killzone 2 and 3. Great franchise. Very fun. Collapse
Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 67 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 67
  2. Negative: 3 out of 67
  1. The innovative controls for the sniper rifle don't allow the player to pull off precise headshots when they're needed most, which leads to rising frustration.
  2. If the gameplay matched the atmosphere, Killzone would be a real winner.
  3. Killzone was worth the wait, and matches the hype. It hits the mark in so many ways, it's baffling; they promised us we'd experience fugture war, and we have...and come away shaking. [Holiday 2004, p.70]