Kingdom Hearts PlayStation 2

User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 487 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 25 out of 487

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 21, 2011
    10
    Is Kingdom Hearts a flawed game? Yes it is. The combat is lacking and simple and the set camera is atrocious. But there's a quality to it that can't be explained. The worlds can only be described as magical, the characters are timeless and the story, although just typical Japanese crazyness, is beautiful to behold. Its a package that is much more than the sum of its parts and it gives me aIs Kingdom Hearts a flawed game? Yes it is. The combat is lacking and simple and the set camera is atrocious. But there's a quality to it that can't be explained. The worlds can only be described as magical, the characters are timeless and the story, although just typical Japanese crazyness, is beautiful to behold. Its a package that is much more than the sum of its parts and it gives me a feeling of wonder and serenity that nothing has given me before, let alone a video game. Expand
  2. Jun 24, 2012
    10
    Definately in my top 3 best PS2 games of all time and in probably my top 10 games of all time. This game has a great story, fun platforming mechanics, an interesting Disney/Final Fantasy mixed world, great music, and very well done graphics especially in cut scenes. If you have a PS2 this is definitely a game worth shelling out a few bucks for. Im kind of hoping they have an HD collectionDefinately in my top 3 best PS2 games of all time and in probably my top 10 games of all time. This game has a great story, fun platforming mechanics, an interesting Disney/Final Fantasy mixed world, great music, and very well done graphics especially in cut scenes. If you have a PS2 this is definitely a game worth shelling out a few bucks for. Im kind of hoping they have an HD collection come out for the PS3 sometime and maybe the porting of a couple of the DS and PSP games over to the PS3. Expand
  3. Aug 18, 2012
    10
    One of my favorite games of all time!! I think it's safe to say that this game will stand the test of time!! It's that amazing! A merging of Square and Disney seems unlikely, but once you've played it, you'll be engrossed in this spellbinding adventure. The story is whimsical and heartwarming, traveling to a different Disney world feels wonderful, and the combat, though it may be simple,One of my favorite games of all time!! I think it's safe to say that this game will stand the test of time!! It's that amazing! A merging of Square and Disney seems unlikely, but once you've played it, you'll be engrossed in this spellbinding adventure. The story is whimsical and heartwarming, traveling to a different Disney world feels wonderful, and the combat, though it may be simple, is very fun, though it would be much better with major readjustments to the camera. With that little flaw aside, this is a game that your PS2 cannot be without!! Expand
  4. Jun 3, 2013
    10
    Kingdom hearts is probably one of the best games ever made. The plot initially seems simple but, going forward with the game, it will become more interesting. The mode of the game is really interesting because you can fight with two other computer-controlled characters, the huge variety of department magical abilities (AP) that can be unlocked As you go along and they can improve inKingdom hearts is probably one of the best games ever made. The plot initially seems simple but, going forward with the game, it will become more interesting. The mode of the game is really interesting because you can fight with two other computer-controlled characters, the huge variety of department magical abilities (AP) that can be unlocked As you go along and they can improve in tactical field, the evocations that can be made along with other characters and equipment much pot (you can also equip the other two characters). Interesting that in this game I match put many Disney characters and the world of Final Fantasy. Expand
  5. Jun 27, 2013
    10
    A game so good in both story and gameplay, you have to play it for yourself. The best thing about the game is the story, combined with the huge ensemble of characters, and worlds you explore. The climax of the game is so eerie and exciting, its hard to say it isn't a near-perfect game. The game only gets better and better, and more mature themes are present later in the game. Everything inA game so good in both story and gameplay, you have to play it for yourself. The best thing about the game is the story, combined with the huge ensemble of characters, and worlds you explore. The climax of the game is so eerie and exciting, its hard to say it isn't a near-perfect game. The game only gets better and better, and more mature themes are present later in the game. Everything in the game has payoff, whether it be starting out with a wooden sword, to later calling fire and thunder to wipe out a group of enemies, or seeing the characters change and mature throughout the game. Probably the best PS2 game of all time. Expand
  6. Sep 25, 2013
    10
    This game is by far one of my all time favorite games around! It was the game that actually made me buy a PS2 in the first place. It has such an amazing storyline, fantastic characters, and takes you inside the world of Disney in a very interesting and unique way. I was crazy over this game for so long and still love it to this day. I would rate it so much higher if I was able to. ItThis game is by far one of my all time favorite games around! It was the game that actually made me buy a PS2 in the first place. It has such an amazing storyline, fantastic characters, and takes you inside the world of Disney in a very interesting and unique way. I was crazy over this game for so long and still love it to this day. I would rate it so much higher if I was able to. It deserves any praise it gets. Expand
  7. JakelC.
    Oct 8, 2002
    9
    This game is amazing! You do only have one attack during the beginning of the game but get more as you progress. It has good combat and some challenging things to find out how to do. Also a great storyline! A must see!
  8. CouSeR
    Dec 3, 2002
    9
    A game that links square and disney? Think it sounds kiddy? Think again, its unbelievable how square handled the disney cast. Anyone who likes final fantasy or disney must get this game!
  9. WhiteWarrior
    Jan 10, 2005
    10
    One of the most absorbing RGP's I have played in a long time. The inclusion of both Final Fantasy and Disney characters was pure genius, mainly because it allows for young and old, rookie and veteran gamers to enjoy while offering easy gameplay and challenge (not to mention a whole lot of goodies for those completionists out there). The storyline is superb and really makes this game One of the most absorbing RGP's I have played in a long time. The inclusion of both Final Fantasy and Disney characters was pure genius, mainly because it allows for young and old, rookie and veteran gamers to enjoy while offering easy gameplay and challenge (not to mention a whole lot of goodies for those completionists out there). The storyline is superb and really makes this game captivating. Not many games today hold your attention and keep you at the controller the way Kingdom Hearts does. Expand
  10. AlexA.
    Apr 3, 2005
    10
    I loved playing this game. also i recommened that anyone who hasnt played the game yet, they should begin to... because the 2nd game comes out in september!!!
  11. AnonymousMC
    Apr 15, 2009
    10
    epic a masterpeice in gaming and truly unique in every sense i love this game with a passion and if i should ever find another copy (other one was sold without my knoledge) i will buy even if its 100$ this game is the best rpg ever made it combines the family friendliness and stories of disney with the godliek awsoem of the final fantasy franchise (appluads)
  12. LizzieP.
    Dec 30, 2002
    10
    I'll admit, I was a little unsure at first about this game. I mean, some kid running around with Disney Characters fighting with a giant key? But after I played for a few...minutes, I loved it!
  13. Sho-langA.
    Dec 5, 2002
    10
    OkayI'm a sucker for this game! well you can't blame me!! the game play is rather a bit dull and interesting but seeing the opening theme song made it all change! I just love it! Utada Hikari is a genius!! Hearing the theme "Simple and Clean" made it all worth while, at least that's really the reason why I play it! O.o!!
  14. BrianK.
    Oct 31, 2002
    9
    This games rules baby! I have upmost respect for disney for collaborating with the greatest RPG gaming company of all time, the concept is slick the innovation is what makes the game, I love the levels its like reliving all my fav disney flicks, the voice acting is superb the graphics and animation are so good its like watching a disney movie sometimes! Only bad part is the camera, it sux This games rules baby! I have upmost respect for disney for collaborating with the greatest RPG gaming company of all time, the concept is slick the innovation is what makes the game, I love the levels its like reliving all my fav disney flicks, the voice acting is superb the graphics and animation are so good its like watching a disney movie sometimes! Only bad part is the camera, it sux and it makes jumpimg a pain in the ass, other than that I give it a 10, just darn good! Expand
  15. SherryM.
    Mar 19, 2003
    9
    Loved the game, but didn't like having to keep going back to worlds I already locked.
  16. NickB.
    May 20, 2006
    9
    Being both a Disney and a Square fan, I really enjoyed this game. The worlds were vivid, the gameplay intuitive, and voiceovers authentic. Unfortunately, the game suffers somewhat from a slight lack of an all-encompassing storyline. I mean, the main story was good, but they could have put more effort into it.
  17. BryanP.
    Dec 15, 2002
    10
    I thought this game was awsome!!! A lot of sqaresoft's (the best game company ever) Final Fantasy characters came out more clear. The battling is awsome and the ending is sad but i like it that way. The only bad thing is that i had a some problems with the camera but besides that it was one of my favorite games ever. KINGDOM HEARTS ROCKS!!!!!!
  18. EduardoR.
    Apr 22, 2004
    10
    Excellent game, one of the best games I have played in my life, very engaging game play and really cool story line, on top of that it has awesome graphics. It filled up the empty space in the PS2 world for action-RPG like Zelda.
  19. AnonymousMC
    Dec 25, 2005
    10
    come on, thsi one of the most amazing master pieces of square soft not square-enix because since squaresoft joins enix his games are such boring only want money , fantasy go away, I wait kingdom hearts ii wil be good and enix dont contaminate and destroy such a great game
  20. HeatherG.
    Dec 26, 2002
    10
    I'm a die-hard Final Fantasy fan and a loyalist to Square, which--in my opinion--is the very best developer in existence. I'm *not* a Disney fan... but that doesn't matter. This game is so breathtakingly beautiful and fun to play that the first time I put it into my PS2, I was gobsmacked (actually, I still am). The fluidity of the characters' movement is incredible, I'm a die-hard Final Fantasy fan and a loyalist to Square, which--in my opinion--is the very best developer in existence. I'm *not* a Disney fan... but that doesn't matter. This game is so breathtakingly beautiful and fun to play that the first time I put it into my PS2, I was gobsmacked (actually, I still am). The fluidity of the characters' movement is incredible, the graphics are gorgeous, game-play is lots of fun and the voice acting is top-notch. Best of all, KH gives Final Fantasy fanatics a chance to catch up with longtime faves (Squall, Aeris, Cloud, Tidus, Wakka, Selphie, Yuffie, etc.), and to actually *hear* those characters speak brings the experience to an entirely new level. If you're an RPG gamer, and especially if you're a Square/Final Fantasy freak, Kingdom Hearts should be a must-have on your list. No gamer's library is complete without it. Expand
  21. NeaH.
    Oct 23, 2002
    10
    I ABSOLUTELY LOVE THIS GAME!!!! I don't think i could part with this one. It has great graphics, song, characters, story, etc. It has to be the best game that disney has ever made or i have ever seen! ^.^
  22. TarikT.
    Sep 30, 2002
    10
    Great game. Don't judge games by their looks, i'm loving this game, those of you who think this game is for p***ys you are wrong, in fact you guys are the sissys for not giving this game a chance its really fun go ahead gove it a rental if you are opened minded to video games and if your not a sissy.
  23. Floop
    Mar 7, 2003
    10
    This game changed my life!!!!! POP!!!
  24. MingC.
    Jun 9, 2003
    10
    Love Disney, love this...
  25. DonaldN.
    Mar 9, 2004
    10
    the most mushiest and best game squaresoft has made. sure the disney thing is so-so, but who doesn't like something crazy.......like a pineapple or a frog.
  26. JudeS.
    Jul 23, 2004
    10
    This is the best game ever made!!!! I love it soooo much!!! It the coolest!
  27. ThamWeiErn
    Mar 4, 2005
    10
    Best GAME Ever Made!!!
  28. BenD.
    Aug 3, 2006
    10
    perfect the most perfect game ever even though i don't have it or a ps2 for that matter.
  29. MateusC.
    Sep 9, 2006
    9
    Very enjoyable action-RPG with lot of fighting and smashing enemies in pure action battles. The Disney worlds are superb with their characters and their charisma; The main characters are very well attractive: Sora, Kairi, Rikku resembling the Chrono Trigger unique characters. The camera isn't that all bad things people say I'm secure to afirm is very well executed and focusing Very enjoyable action-RPG with lot of fighting and smashing enemies in pure action battles. The Disney worlds are superb with their characters and their charisma; The main characters are very well attractive: Sora, Kairi, Rikku resembling the Chrono Trigger unique characters. The camera isn't that all bad things people say I'm secure to afirm is very well executed and focusing in battle system and exploration. Expand
  30. MikeE
    Jan 10, 2009
    10
    I was very reluctant to play this game at first because Disney has this reputation of producing "fluff" material that are supposedly family oriented *cough* Bolt *cough*. However, I was more interested to hear at the time that Squaresoft (at the time) was involved with this project. Once I placed the disc into the system, picked up the controller, title sequence began, I was immediately I was very reluctant to play this game at first because Disney has this reputation of producing "fluff" material that are supposedly family oriented *cough* Bolt *cough*. However, I was more interested to hear at the time that Squaresoft (at the time) was involved with this project. Once I placed the disc into the system, picked up the controller, title sequence began, I was immediately hooked. This game surpassed my expectations. It has squaresoft quality and disney still gets the wholesome message out that is notable. I have read and heard several complaints about the game play. Now, I want you to go online, video game store, or even if you own it look at the case and I want you to read the rating. What does it say? E for everyone for ages 10 and up. Right there! You should already know the demographic for this game. If a game is rated E then you should take in consideration of what the game play might be like. It's going to be something easy and accessible for some youngian to pick and play. Stop being picky and enjoy the game, if that is possible. The cool thing about the game play it's based in real time instead of standing there waiting to attack. It is more refreshing to say the least. The only gripe I really have is the camera angles, which should of been with the right analog stick from the beginning but that was fixed in KH2 thankfully. The characters are completely endearing. Sora is that kid who just wants to hang out and be with his friends and could be considered the underdog in this adventure. Also, he has the innocence to him about having a crush on your closest female friend. It's very relatable. As you embark on your quest your main objective is to find your friends but encountering Donald and Goofy your main objective becomes protecting several disney worlds that have their own theme. Every time you go to a different world more interest is created with the atmosphere of that world and my favorite aspect of the game: the music. It's a wonderful soundtrack, I own all of them as we speak. *Multiple fingers point at him, voices in the background shouting "geek!"* Indeed, lol. Everything about this game seems to be perfect, well scratch that, it's really enjoyable. The game works well with all the elements that have been placed before it. It's a well thought out game and I am not ashamed of saying that I own it in my PS2 collection. If you're one of those folks who thinks that ending is on the verge of propaganda and all that non-sense. Get your heads out of your arses, seriously. It's made to be a positive experience and said a decent message out about friendship and how the light perserveres over darkness. Like I said, think about the rating and the demographic. Fun light hearted game filled with great spectacle values and a great story. Love it. Expand
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 46 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 46
  2. Negative: 0 out of 46
  1. The battles that unfold are as beautful as they are intense, and as difficult as they are easy to manhandle. [Oct 2002, p.76]
  2. To say that Kingdom Hearts is magical is an understatement. As cinematic experiences go, it's exquisite. It's not the finest in terms of action, but overall, it's wonderful. [Oct 2002, p.74]
  3. Has a few flaws, but its unique character pairings and jaw-dropping graphics make this a remarkable RPG.