User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 666 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 41 out of 666
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 21, 2011
    10
    Is Kingdom Hearts a flawed game? Yes it is. The combat is lacking and simple and the set camera is atrocious. But there's a quality to it that can't be explained. The worlds can only be described as magical, the characters are timeless and the story, although just typical Japanese crazyness, is beautiful to behold. Its a package that is much more than the sum of its parts and it gives me aIs Kingdom Hearts a flawed game? Yes it is. The combat is lacking and simple and the set camera is atrocious. But there's a quality to it that can't be explained. The worlds can only be described as magical, the characters are timeless and the story, although just typical Japanese crazyness, is beautiful to behold. Its a package that is much more than the sum of its parts and it gives me a feeling of wonder and serenity that nothing has given me before, let alone a video game. Expand
  2. Jun 24, 2012
    10
    Definately in my top 3 best PS2 games of all time and in probably my top 10 games of all time. This game has a great story, fun platforming mechanics, an interesting Disney/Final Fantasy mixed world, great music, and very well done graphics especially in cut scenes. If you have a PS2 this is definitely a game worth shelling out a few bucks for. Im kind of hoping they have an HD collectionDefinately in my top 3 best PS2 games of all time and in probably my top 10 games of all time. This game has a great story, fun platforming mechanics, an interesting Disney/Final Fantasy mixed world, great music, and very well done graphics especially in cut scenes. If you have a PS2 this is definitely a game worth shelling out a few bucks for. Im kind of hoping they have an HD collection come out for the PS3 sometime and maybe the porting of a couple of the DS and PSP games over to the PS3. Expand
  3. Aug 18, 2012
    10
    One of my favorite games of all time!! I think it's safe to say that this game will stand the test of time!! It's that amazing! A merging of Square and Disney seems unlikely, but once you've played it, you'll be engrossed in this spellbinding adventure. The story is whimsical and heartwarming, traveling to a different Disney world feels wonderful, and the combat, though it may be simple,One of my favorite games of all time!! I think it's safe to say that this game will stand the test of time!! It's that amazing! A merging of Square and Disney seems unlikely, but once you've played it, you'll be engrossed in this spellbinding adventure. The story is whimsical and heartwarming, traveling to a different Disney world feels wonderful, and the combat, though it may be simple, is very fun, though it would be much better with major readjustments to the camera. With that little flaw aside, this is a game that your PS2 cannot be without!! Expand
  4. Jun 3, 2013
    10
    Kingdom hearts is probably one of the best games ever made. The plot initially seems simple but, going forward with the game, it will become more interesting. The mode of the game is really interesting because you can fight with two other computer-controlled characters, the huge variety of department magical abilities (AP) that can be unlocked As you go along and they can improve inKingdom hearts is probably one of the best games ever made. The plot initially seems simple but, going forward with the game, it will become more interesting. The mode of the game is really interesting because you can fight with two other computer-controlled characters, the huge variety of department magical abilities (AP) that can be unlocked As you go along and they can improve in tactical field, the evocations that can be made along with other characters and equipment much pot (you can also equip the other two characters). Interesting that in this game I match put many Disney characters and the world of Final Fantasy. Expand
  5. Jun 27, 2013
    10
    A game so good in both story and gameplay, you have to play it for yourself. The best thing about the game is the story, combined with the huge ensemble of characters, and worlds you explore. The climax of the game is so eerie and exciting, its hard to say it isn't a near-perfect game. The game only gets better and better, and more mature themes are present later in the game. Everything inA game so good in both story and gameplay, you have to play it for yourself. The best thing about the game is the story, combined with the huge ensemble of characters, and worlds you explore. The climax of the game is so eerie and exciting, its hard to say it isn't a near-perfect game. The game only gets better and better, and more mature themes are present later in the game. Everything in the game has payoff, whether it be starting out with a wooden sword, to later calling fire and thunder to wipe out a group of enemies, or seeing the characters change and mature throughout the game. Probably the best PS2 game of all time. Expand
  6. Sep 25, 2013
    10
    This game is by far one of my all time favorite games around! It was the game that actually made me buy a PS2 in the first place. It has such an amazing storyline, fantastic characters, and takes you inside the world of Disney in a very interesting and unique way. I was crazy over this game for so long and still love it to this day. I would rate it so much higher if I was able to. ItThis game is by far one of my all time favorite games around! It was the game that actually made me buy a PS2 in the first place. It has such an amazing storyline, fantastic characters, and takes you inside the world of Disney in a very interesting and unique way. I was crazy over this game for so long and still love it to this day. I would rate it so much higher if I was able to. It deserves any praise it gets. Expand
  7. Jul 11, 2016
    9
    A game i started playing 2 years ago as i always use to watch my brother play it but never gotten in to it until recently,which i'm glad to cause its one heck of a game,you play as Sora,a teenage young boy who got sucked into the disney world cause of hes destiny to become the keyblader,he journeys with Donald and Goofy in the different Disney worlds while trying to find his friends whoA game i started playing 2 years ago as i always use to watch my brother play it but never gotten in to it until recently,which i'm glad to cause its one heck of a game,you play as Sora,a teenage young boy who got sucked into the disney world cause of hes destiny to become the keyblader,he journeys with Donald and Goofy in the different Disney worlds while trying to find his friends who also got sucked into their own destinys,the gameplay is very much fun than the time turns from final fantasy,as the player can move Sora in the battlefield and plays like a hack and slash,although theres still magic and summons in this one.The graphics kinda like Final Fantasy X but i can say they're better and the Disney characters look the same as in the movies.Soundtrack most of them are from Disney and you'll probably recognise it depend on which world you into,but some of them are new in this game which are also very cool to listen like the intro music. A clever idea to merge both square enix and disney in one game and what a heck of a game,no one would wanna miss this one.Whatever which platform you're playing,you won't regret this. Expand
  8. Jan 3, 2017
    9
    Deutsche Review - Kritik

    Der folgende Test ist in 5 Kategorien zusammengefasst. Diese 5 Kartegorien ergeben die Gesamtpunktzahl von 0 - 100 Punkten. Um einen passenden Userscore zu geben wird auf oder abgerundet. Bei 84 Punkten ergibt das einen User Score von 8. Bei 86 einen von Userscore von 9. Falls eine 85 kommt entscheide ich ob ich es eher positiv oder negativ nehme. Regeln
    Deutsche Review - Kritik

    Der folgende Test ist in 5 Kategorien zusammengefasst. Diese 5 Kartegorien ergeben die Gesamtpunktzahl von 0 - 100 Punkten. Um einen passenden Userscore zu geben wird auf oder abgerundet. Bei 84 Punkten ergibt das einen User Score von 8. Bei 86 einen von Userscore von 9. Falls eine 85 kommt entscheide ich ob ich es eher positiv oder negativ nehme. Regeln verstanden?
    Dann sind hier meine Punkte.

    Mein persönlicher Score = 89/100
    Mein User Score = 9/10
    Expand
  9. Feb 27, 2017
    10
    Quando eu conheci esse jogo, ele não parecia ser tão bom quanto é , os personagens são incríveis, a relação criada entre os personagens é algo que eu achei muito bem feito as batalhas são muito boas,o sistema de batalha é algo que a principio eu achei meio complicado, mas com o tempo acostumei e acabei por adorar o jogo
  10. Dec 5, 2016
    9
    Great Game it has some good exploration and interaction between objects and some of the best classical stories that your children can play sure its chessy for adults but its story is more motivated than any other game in the franchise even KH3 :). Combat is quite easy to pick up and the camera is quite rough in some areas but if you got it down you'll experience some of the best Ps2 games to date.
  11. Mar 24, 2017
    10
    The story? Is amazing and emotionally relatable for anyone and everyone its a video game that is mechanically and aesthetically ahead of its time this video game is filled and charged with emotion as Disney usually tries to execute their media with.This game specifically deserves to be in everyone's top 75 video games of all time its a classic and is ever evolving.
  12. JakelC.
    Oct 8, 2002
    9
    This game is amazing! You do only have one attack during the beginning of the game but get more as you progress. It has good combat and some challenging things to find out how to do. Also a great storyline! A must see!
  13. WhiteWarrior
    Jan 10, 2005
    10
    One of the most absorbing RGP's I have played in a long time. The inclusion of both Final Fantasy and Disney characters was pure genius, mainly because it allows for young and old, rookie and veteran gamers to enjoy while offering easy gameplay and challenge (not to mention a whole lot of goodies for those completionists out there). The storyline is superb and really makes this game One of the most absorbing RGP's I have played in a long time. The inclusion of both Final Fantasy and Disney characters was pure genius, mainly because it allows for young and old, rookie and veteran gamers to enjoy while offering easy gameplay and challenge (not to mention a whole lot of goodies for those completionists out there). The storyline is superb and really makes this game captivating. Not many games today hold your attention and keep you at the controller the way Kingdom Hearts does. Expand
  14. AlexA.
    Apr 3, 2005
    10
    I loved playing this game. also i recommened that anyone who hasnt played the game yet, they should begin to... because the 2nd game comes out in september!!!
  15. AnonymousMC
    Apr 15, 2009
    10
    epic a masterpeice in gaming and truly unique in every sense i love this game with a passion and if i should ever find another copy (other one was sold without my knoledge) i will buy even if its 100$ this game is the best rpg ever made it combines the family friendliness and stories of disney with the godliek awsoem of the final fantasy franchise (appluads)
  16. Sho-langA.
    Dec 5, 2002
    10
    OkayI'm a sucker for this game! well you can't blame me!! the game play is rather a bit dull and interesting but seeing the opening theme song made it all change! I just love it! Utada Hikari is a genius!! Hearing the theme "Simple and Clean" made it all worth while, at least that's really the reason why I play it! O.o!!
  17. BrianK.
    Oct 31, 2002
    9
    This games rules baby! I have upmost respect for disney for collaborating with the greatest RPG gaming company of all time, the concept is slick the innovation is what makes the game, I love the levels its like reliving all my fav disney flicks, the voice acting is superb the graphics and animation are so good its like watching a disney movie sometimes! Only bad part is the camera, it sux This games rules baby! I have upmost respect for disney for collaborating with the greatest RPG gaming company of all time, the concept is slick the innovation is what makes the game, I love the levels its like reliving all my fav disney flicks, the voice acting is superb the graphics and animation are so good its like watching a disney movie sometimes! Only bad part is the camera, it sux and it makes jumpimg a pain in the ass, other than that I give it a 10, just darn good! Expand
  18. SherryM.
    Mar 19, 2003
    9
    Loved the game, but didn't like having to keep going back to worlds I already locked.
  19. NickB.
    May 20, 2006
    9
    Being both a Disney and a Square fan, I really enjoyed this game. The worlds were vivid, the gameplay intuitive, and voiceovers authentic. Unfortunately, the game suffers somewhat from a slight lack of an all-encompassing storyline. I mean, the main story was good, but they could have put more effort into it.
  20. BryanP.
    Dec 15, 2002
    10
    I thought this game was awsome!!! A lot of sqaresoft's (the best game company ever) Final Fantasy characters came out more clear. The battling is awsome and the ending is sad but i like it that way. The only bad thing is that i had a some problems with the camera but besides that it was one of my favorite games ever. KINGDOM HEARTS ROCKS!!!!!!
  21. EduardoR.
    Apr 22, 2004
    10
    Excellent game, one of the best games I have played in my life, very engaging game play and really cool story line, on top of that it has awesome graphics. It filled up the empty space in the PS2 world for action-RPG like Zelda.
  22. AnonymousMC
    Dec 25, 2005
    10
    come on, thsi one of the most amazing master pieces of square soft not square-enix because since squaresoft joins enix his games are such boring only want money , fantasy go away, I wait kingdom hearts ii wil be good and enix dont contaminate and destroy such a great game
  23. HeatherG.
    Dec 26, 2002
    10
    I'm a die-hard Final Fantasy fan and a loyalist to Square, which--in my opinion--is the very best developer in existence. I'm *not* a Disney fan... but that doesn't matter. This game is so breathtakingly beautiful and fun to play that the first time I put it into my PS2, I was gobsmacked (actually, I still am). The fluidity of the characters' movement is incredible, I'm a die-hard Final Fantasy fan and a loyalist to Square, which--in my opinion--is the very best developer in existence. I'm *not* a Disney fan... but that doesn't matter. This game is so breathtakingly beautiful and fun to play that the first time I put it into my PS2, I was gobsmacked (actually, I still am). The fluidity of the characters' movement is incredible, the graphics are gorgeous, game-play is lots of fun and the voice acting is top-notch. Best of all, KH gives Final Fantasy fanatics a chance to catch up with longtime faves (Squall, Aeris, Cloud, Tidus, Wakka, Selphie, Yuffie, etc.), and to actually *hear* those characters speak brings the experience to an entirely new level. If you're an RPG gamer, and especially if you're a Square/Final Fantasy freak, Kingdom Hearts should be a must-have on your list. No gamer's library is complete without it. Expand
  24. Jun 23, 2016
    10
    Kingdom hearts is best ps2 game, it's a crossover between disney and square, sora donald and goofy team up to find kairi and riku after got separated, get kingdom hearts for ps2.
  25. Jun 12, 2011
    7
    It kinda grows tedious after a while, but to say that this isn't a decent game is a bit much. The very beginning of the game is extremely boring, but as you get further along it gets much better. Even if it didn't have the involvement of Disney characters but still followed its same basic story this would be a good game, but having DIsney characters and the Disney world makes this gameIt kinda grows tedious after a while, but to say that this isn't a decent game is a bit much. The very beginning of the game is extremely boring, but as you get further along it gets much better. Even if it didn't have the involvement of Disney characters but still followed its same basic story this would be a good game, but having DIsney characters and the Disney world makes this game pretty unique and a whole lot of fun. It's great to see some of your favorite movies and characters and have them as their own worlds that you can explore (it's not necessarily open world, but it's good enough). Collapse
  26. Jul 21, 2011
    7
    At the least- a very uneven game. At the worst? A decent game accompanied by a terrible fan-base full of weird Disney-anime obsessed pasty white tweens that either like the game because it has flashy colors in it- or attempt to justify it as a "deep action rpg with meaningful dialog between a child with gravity defying hair and micky mouse." It has its merits and it also has its boringAt the least- a very uneven game. At the worst? A decent game accompanied by a terrible fan-base full of weird Disney-anime obsessed pasty white tweens that either like the game because it has flashy colors in it- or attempt to justify it as a "deep action rpg with meaningful dialog between a child with gravity defying hair and micky mouse." It has its merits and it also has its boring segments that shouldn't even be in the game. Goofy and Donald duck are an odd duo here and anybody will admit that the melding is a bit strange. The enormous amount of licensed Disney characters included- as well as the lack of original or even "sound-alike" voice actors tells me that this wasn't really a big deal to Disney. They probably knew they could market the crap out this game without even trying: "Final fantasy and disney characters? Kids will eat that **** up!" Thusly Kingdom Hearts was born. Then their was that retarded (but we all loved it) trailer on TV with that catchy 10 seconds of some Japanese song that had been dubbed for the commercial and everyone was suddenly entranced. Its kind of like Pokemon in a way.. even though we get older and stop playing it (most of the sane ones anyway) they keep making them for nostalgic factor. Thats why this game succeeded. No shame in hiding that truth. Expand
  27. Jan 3, 2011
    6
    Kingdom Hearts had some really good things going for it but in the end it just ended up being an ok game, graphics do show age, voice acting is hit or miss (mostly miss), although it does have an amazing soundtrack, the story is EXTREMELY poorly written and really difficult to follow and when it's not that it's garbage, you'll see famous Disney and Final Fantasy characters and not know (orKingdom Hearts had some really good things going for it but in the end it just ended up being an ok game, graphics do show age, voice acting is hit or miss (mostly miss), although it does have an amazing soundtrack, the story is EXTREMELY poorly written and really difficult to follow and when it's not that it's garbage, you'll see famous Disney and Final Fantasy characters and not know (or care) why they are there, gameplay is the games strong point it's controls are good, but you'll mostly just use them for button mashing, and it's hard to get to your spells and potions, it can be a real challenge at times which is a good thing, but the hardest enemy you will fight is the camera which will rarely work with you, all in all it's not the best game out there but if you are willing to overlook these flaws, and are a huge Disney or Final Fantasy fan, and you like the cheesy plots about darkness and love that you will only find in a Anime straight out of Japan, you will find a fun experience. Expand
  28. JoeM.
    Feb 9, 2003
    5
    The gameplay is enjoyable to a point, but... if you heard that nagging little voice in the back of your head saying to you, "Square... and DISNEY?", heed it. It is an unholy pairing which, in the end, drains from the game its possible greatness and drags it down to the level of insipid commercial stupidity. You are fighting side by side with the noble knight... GOOFY! And DONALD DUCK! The gameplay is enjoyable to a point, but... if you heard that nagging little voice in the back of your head saying to you, "Square... and DISNEY?", heed it. It is an unholy pairing which, in the end, drains from the game its possible greatness and drags it down to the level of insipid commercial stupidity. You are fighting side by side with the noble knight... GOOFY! And DONALD DUCK! These are such well-known commercial icons that any sense of otherworldliness or removal from the here and now is completely shattered. They may as well have made the shops into 7-11s and had the cast eat Reeces Pieces to restore health. Blech! The Disney world is not about imagination, it is an entity in and of itself. Hell, you can actually GO there! It's in Florida! I really can't conceive how this did not contaminate the game completely for any of the reviewers I have read. And this is without even getting into the uninspired music and the totally USELESS and INFANTILE Gummi ship sequences. This product cannot even hold the SHADOW of a candle to FFX but, due to its unfortunate success, Square is sure to make another. THAT one I will at least know better than to purchase. So much for trusting the critics. Or the general public, who willingly swallowed this turkey. Definately not recommended if you are over 12 years of age. Quite a disappointment. Expand
  29. PhilQ.
    Aug 27, 2007
    5
    I really wanted to like this game. I endured the bad---infuriating---camera and control response and button-mashing, but gave up at the Little Mermaid level. No way could I take any more when the already bad control/camera scheme was plunged underwater. I picked this up a year later for another try---the game art and cutscenes are just so inviting and I really wanted to like this game. I really wanted to like this game. I endured the bad---infuriating---camera and control response and button-mashing, but gave up at the Little Mermaid level. No way could I take any more when the already bad control/camera scheme was plunged underwater. I picked this up a year later for another try---the game art and cutscenes are just so inviting and I really wanted to like this game. But I gave up even sooner than before with renewed distaste for the gameplay. Too bad. It looks so good. I fully believe this is the most overrated game of all time. Expand
  30. AnonymousMC
    Dec 30, 2005
    0
    Here are the pros of Kingdom Hearts:
    - It has good graphics.
    - The Disney characters' voices are authentic. The cons of Kingdom Hearts: - "Gameplay" consists of mashing buttons in the general direction of enemies, which appear way too often. - Knowing what to do/where to go at any given time is impossible due to the poorly executed story sequences - Stages are LIFELESS and
    Here are the pros of Kingdom Hearts:
    - It has good graphics.
    - The Disney characters' voices are authentic.

    The cons of Kingdom Hearts:
    - "Gameplay" consists of mashing buttons in the general direction of enemies, which appear way too often.
    - Knowing what to do/where to go at any given time is impossible due to the poorly executed story sequences
    - Stages are LIFELESS and utterly mind-numbingly boring.
    - The inter-world trasportation mini-game adds nothing to the game and is unfathomably annoying.
    - There are so many mini-games in this game that are completely unrelated to one another and add very little if anything to the rest of the game.
    - Parts where the story is revealed are few and far between, and they certainly don't make all the work of getting through the various worlds worth it.

    I love Square, but I think this game is a clear indication that they are abusing the fame that they have earned in the past with games that are actually GOOD. It is a chore to play, with little reward. Don't get it.
    Expand
  31. Jun 12, 2011
    7
    It kinda grows tedious after a while, but to say that this isn't a decent game is a bit much. The very beginning of the game is extremely boring, but as you get further along it gets much better. Even if it didn't have the involvement of Disney characters but still followed its same basic story this would be a good game, but having DIsney characters and the Disney world makes this gameIt kinda grows tedious after a while, but to say that this isn't a decent game is a bit much. The very beginning of the game is extremely boring, but as you get further along it gets much better. Even if it didn't have the involvement of Disney characters but still followed its same basic story this would be a good game, but having DIsney characters and the Disney world makes this game pretty unique and a whole lot of fun. It's great to see some of your favorite movies and characters and have them as their own worlds that you can explore (it's not necessarily open world, but it's good enough). Collapse

Awards & Rankings

21
2
#2 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2002
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 46 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 46
  2. Negative: 0 out of 46
  1. Game Informer
    95
    The battles that unfold are as beautful as they are intense, and as difficult as they are easy to manhandle. [Oct 2002, p.76]
  2. Play Magazine
    80
    To say that Kingdom Hearts is magical is an understatement. As cinematic experiences go, it's exquisite. It's not the finest in terms of action, but overall, it's wonderful. [Oct 2002, p.74]
  3. Has a few flaws, but its unique character pairings and jaw-dropping graphics make this a remarkable RPG.